Need recommendation/advise for my caraudio system, pls use this thread in the future

mADmAN
post Aug 9 2005, 11:08 AM

10,530 posts

u listen to metal and u dont wan boom boom...u want soft type of bass...

dude...i listen to the same exact thing u do. metallica (gods notworthy.gif notworthy.gif), cradle of filth, devildriver, all those metal songs.... n trust me....u WANT the boom boom when ur blasting. soft type of bass just doesnt do it la... i tried before. n listening to metal n dont blast means better listen to michael learns to rock where hes still learning how to rock....sudah how many years oso still havent passed yet...hehhhhehe

anyway....since u already have the front comps and the player.... i would suggest the following for you...

1/ comp sets for the rear
2/ 12" woofer
3/ 2x 2 channel amps
4/ x-over/ preamp if your player has only 1 pair preout

DO NOT GET 6x9...itll spoil the bass coming from ur woofer.. they are only to be used when no woofer is in the setup.

setup....

use 1x2 channel for the front comps and the other 2 channel bridged for the woofer. rear comps run directly from player. good enough for rear fills. this setup would give u good sound staging..and itll also be easier to setup the staging.

alternatively....u could run the front and woofer off a 4 channel amp. but have to make sure its a good strong one...

i did that and i ended up buying a monoblock because during high bass/loud sections of a song it tends to die due to lack of power.

hope this helps...n i think 2k is a rather ok budget. might be able to fit in all those depending on what brand u buy.

good luck and keep us updated when ur done....
mADmAN
post Sep 11 2005, 04:43 PM

10,530 posts

soulfly..... metal aint an SQ setup ler.... its more to SPL.... but if u can get good SPL with good SQ then notworthy.gif

@Dani
1k for amp and woofer? well... u could try getting the JBL BP600.1 monoblock. i managed to get a brand new set from someone who imports it in from SG. found the feller online on lelong.

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/DetailSa...oductID=2058586

this amp is good.... managed to pecah the bauschmann woofer in my sig in less than a month....hehehehhe.

as for the woofer....i cant comment on the mohawk or the kicker since ive never heard them before...but i kinda like the bass produced from the American Autocraft 12" woofers when i was using them before... for myself....trying to find the time to go hunting for an Adire Brahma 12" woofer brows.gif (PS - anyone know where to find the Adire Brahma 12" in PJ? n wat kinda price tag it has?) ...if cannot find the brahma then dunno which one to go for sad.gif

setup wise....i recommend this...

front 2 channel amp connected to front comps.
bp600.1 - for subwoofer (duh! tongue.gif)
rear speakers - get good 2-way coaxial speakers and connect directly to the player.... this is so it wont damage your sound staging.

eerr....same way i suggested earlier lah! hehehhe

good luck n as i said earlier....let us know how it goes....

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 11 2005, 04:51 PM
mADmAN
post Sep 11 2005, 10:41 PM

10,530 posts

soulfly.....for my ex-EF i took out the entire door panel and installed my 6 1/2" comps... u running on EF9 door panels or EF3? mine i think was the suede door panels from a CRX EF8

be careful about the magnets though....you might have to put some sort of 'washer' for the speaker screws to avoid the magnet hitting the glass (depending on the size of your magnets la)....i did mine using cut outs from carton boxes....looked fugly as hell without the door panels biggrin.gif

oh and the standard holes might not be fit with the comps as well....prepare some self tapping screws and a cordless drill

@Dani1010
a forumer PMed me regarding this sub a few days ago...saying he has a friend in cheras who wants to sell it....according to him this is a superb SPL sub...im actually interested in it...but i gotta go back to my installer and see what can be done regarding my woofer first....less than one month pecah liao so should still have warranty. dont wanna go wasting money just like that *sigh*. btw, ive never heard this sub before so i cant comment on it....looks nice though biggrin.gif

EDIT: and yeah...i totally agree with the SP and SPL balance in metal music....i think it happens to be one of the hardest kinda music to tune nicely.... with my old setup in the EF i was constantly fiddling around with the preamp as diff songs has diff settings

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 11 2005, 10:42 PM
mADmAN
post Sep 12 2005, 12:49 AM

10,530 posts

@ingjoo
imagine ur at a concert.....ur facing the stage....the sound will be coming from your front right? when u go to a concert of course u wanna face the stage....u dont want the stage to be behind you where the sound will be coming from behind....

same thing goes for car audio.... u want the sound to come from the front. installing the rear speakers to an amp will make the speakers volume either equal/louder/less than the front depending on ur tuning. less is of course better as the rear speakers wont overpower the front in terms of volume.

but louder is a definite no no... coz when u drive ull be hearing most of the sound from the back....especially when the vocals kick in.

equal volume will get u confused....like me tongue.gif sometimes it comes from the front...sometimes it comes from the back....sometimes its all around...depending on the section of the song. the same effect can happen when you rear is just slightly louder than your front....

alot of people tend to disconnect the rear speakers entirely just for the sake of staging. but connecting the rear directly to the player instead of the amp will almost guarantee proper staging and provide the rear passengers with something to listen to other than the boom boom boooooooooommmm from the woofer.

hope that helps

EDIT: just to add another benefit to NOT connecting the rears to an amp.... lesser power consumption lor biggrin.gif hehehe

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 12 2005, 12:51 AM
mADmAN
post Sep 12 2005, 02:27 AM

10,530 posts

dani...of course cables are different.... and prices can differ..... some speaker cables can be RM3 per metre or like my stinger speaker cables are rm 5 per FEET.

RCA cables depends on length...around rm30 is the usual price for normal good rca 1.5m in length. my stinger RCAs costed me rm150 per pair.

best to put aside rm200 for labour + cables + fuse charges.
mADmAN
post Sep 13 2005, 12:59 AM

10,530 posts

if u using EF9 side panels then should be ok la....the design is the same as my ex-EF only thing mine was suede...

speaker cables abit leceh...its true....but u can push them through the same route that ur power window cables and your central locking cable.

in my case the cables were wrapped in a black tube kinda thing between the door and the car which was located at the hinges.....but my friend didnt bother and just followed the path outside the tube... didnt have any effect oso....but i advise u to go through the tube la...neater

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 13 2005, 01:00 AM
mADmAN
post Sep 14 2005, 12:29 AM

10,530 posts

ok...ive been doing the recommendations in this topic...now its my turn to ask a question.....

i need a good 12" SPL sub. budget around 800. to be paired with my JBL BP600.1 monoblock. gonna be used to constantly blast metal music. and im talking LOUD metal music. also one that doesnt require a big box...something that i can reuse my box with....the box i have is big enough to sit between the 2 stock kelisa rear speakers.

prefer brand spanking new ones.

i was interested in the adire brahma....until i found out it costs 2k for a new one....basket. anyway, pls suggest me a woofer to get. gonna ask my installer to order it as a replacement for my broken BM sub biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 14 2005, 12:31 AM
mADmAN
post Sep 14 2005, 05:36 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Sep 14 2005, 02:55 PM)
again...wat is ur budget??
errr....pls read my post again whistling.gif

kicker CVR eh? hhhmmm..... got me thinking now....sigh..but still cant do jack yet as im too busy with work....dammit.

and HEY!!! THIS TOPIC HAS BEEN PINNED!!! hehehhehe
mADmAN
post Sep 16 2005, 12:45 PM

10,530 posts

actually the hio-lo conveter aint that bad ler.... signal loss is minimal one... i used to use one in my car and also in my previous car. it actually helped get rid of that stupid 'wheeee' engine noise. so dont worry too much about the converter. u aint gonna masuk competition right?

mADmAN
post Sep 16 2005, 02:03 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Dani1010 @ Sep 15 2005, 08:34 AM)
I think Kicker CVR should be my only choice now.. smile.gif
i think ill probably go the same way as u dude.... u got lubang? how much is the woofer actually? u know the price ah?

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Sep 16 2005, 01:08 PM)
but it's better if u can use 2 seperate amp to prevent any overheat problem
i totally agree with this....i tried using the 4ch way n the amp kept cutting off during loud sections of a song....thats why i got a monoblock for the woofer....hehe

my superior in the office is also doing the same thing.... it overheated and cuts off...what he did was add an 80mm fan to blow on the amp...it worked actually...but i still wouldnt recommend it.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 16 2005, 02:04 PM
mADmAN
post Sep 16 2005, 05:27 PM

10,530 posts

eh?? kicker CVR which price? 580 or 330? and is yohannes' set a new one or used?

whats the price for a brand spanking new 12" Kicker CVR ?

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Sep 16 2005, 05:28 PM
mADmAN
post Sep 20 2005, 06:54 PM

10,530 posts

thats why la bro.. u should have taken down his number when u went to the site.....hehhee

lucky for u i went browsing my phone book and i havent deleted his number yet tongue.gif

016-641 4433 his name is michael. this is the same dude i bought my bp600.1 from.

good luck
mADmAN
post Sep 22 2005, 05:03 PM

10,530 posts

yo dani...hows ur ICE setup coming along man??

curious to know ler biggrin.gif
mADmAN
post Sep 24 2005, 09:30 PM

10,530 posts

hahaha....take ur time dude.... and do some research

as for me... befor i bought the amp i went online and read some user reviews..... out of 30 reviews, i only found about 4 or 5 bad ones...and those were mostly because of faulty units.. heh
mADmAN
post Sep 26 2005, 08:18 PM

10,530 posts

MBQ?? havent heard before man....

but if its an MB Quart.... get it man....reputable brand.

but i wouldnt know how good they are as ive never heard them before. same goes for that amp....
mADmAN
post Oct 6 2005, 11:17 AM

10,530 posts

i used to have that in my previous car....what i did was....ignored it...since it didnt damage anything i just leave it alone lor...besides it wont bother me during songs....

but then...just in case...i would like to know a solution oso...might come in handy... so anyone knows?
mADmAN
post Dec 27 2005, 07:49 PM

10,530 posts

sidewinderz.... cmon man...uve been around here for a very long time....state ur budget la tongue.gif

also state what kinda music u listen to. and also whether or not u want a sub woofer in ur car. basically what u aim for in ur ICE

anyway...a good setup for kelisa would be something like in my sig. in a kelisa oso.... could probably save up to 1k if u go for the pioneer instead of the alpine. and mebbe a few hundred more if u get cheaper component speakers.
mADmAN
post Dec 28 2005, 01:57 AM

10,530 posts

@sidewinderz
in total (cables, upgrades, etc etc) ive spent around 7k+ on my ICE. but the stuff in my sig will come up to roughly 5k+. so meaning ive spent around 2k changing this n that. heheh did most of it in CV Audio in uptown.

for 700 i would recommend it to be used for player only. i guess the best for ur budget (and datto's) would be the pioneers judging by their bang-for-buck reputation. not really familiar with mp3 players in that price range. and ive never had any experience with pioneers...ever. my previous player was the cheapest kenwood in the market (at the time rm428). cant even play mp3s

but for speakers if u want clarity with good bass... then i suggest u get 2-way 6" components in the front and 3-way 6x9 in the rear. bear in mind u wont get the thumping bass with this setup. just something a little extra than the stock speakers. once u decide to go the subwoofer way, then dump the 6x9 and replace them with another pair of components. coz the 6x9 will ruin the bass from the woofer(s).

@datto
ur soundstream components are actually alright. dont ever regret buying them. even though most of the forumers here and also in autoworld forum (including myself) would recommend at least 1k for front comps, urs is actually alright. if u regret buying them than ull regret it even more buying those 150-250 speakers. trust me...been there done that.

as for ur player... i have no idea dude. but i can say something about my old kenwood. it was one of the most reliable players ive ever had. i was almost reluctant to sell it off after 3 years of perfect runs. never had a single problem with it. cd skipping was only on hard hard bumps. and that actually says something coz the car the player was on had friggin hard absorbers. n i mean friggin hard. comfort was totally sacrificed for handling.

sound quality wise....it was actually good enough for me. not as clear as the alpine im using of course but then again u cant expect too much from a bottom of the line player.
mADmAN
post Dec 28 2005, 10:42 AM

10,530 posts

this is 2-way 6" components. (this is also the same exact speaker im using up front)

component speakers consists of a pair of mid-range/mid-bass, tweeters and passive crossover. 2-way meaning the tweeters and the mids. 2 diff sound levels senang cerita. the crossovers function is to seperatre the audio frequencies and distribute it to the correct speaker.

n this is 3-way 6x9

notice the oval shape? thats the 6x9. as for the 3-way, its explained in the pic.

as for brand recommendation....cant think of any ler.... hehehe...mebbe u could try the mohawks? or mebbe the soundstreams or the jbl or alpine or mtx or.....wahlau...damn alot weh.

for the front components comfirm can fit....just have to make sure the magnet doesnt hit the glass.... and i can guarantee that the alpine type-R will hit the glass even with a 'washer' (known as a baffle) installed. alpine type-s with the baffle no problemo! so find one that can fit...most shops will let u test whether u like ther sound or not or whether can fit or not biggrin.gif as for the 6x9....have to cut the rear speaker board a little more to fit.

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Dec 28 2005, 08:12 AM)
another question i wanna ask..if i'm gonna setup my sound system to my kelisa? would it mean that my chances of thiefs breaking into my car will increase? cause somehow this seem like a chain reaction...after upgrading my sound system, i gotta beefed up my car security...sad.gif any idea on how to curb thiefs from coming to my car? after all, its just a kelisa (you can imagine the security system on the car biggrin.gif)
ps: you really are a car enthusiast...hehe...
hahahahaha...of course the risk is higher.... as for me, i only blast when im on the move... i dotn blast in my housing area or in the carpark near my office. dont want people to know i can go boom boom. when im on the move no one around much... security will be up to u bro

P/S - yeah im a car enthusiast... drop me a vtec and ill be jumping with orgasms...hwahahahha

EDIT:changed type-x to typre-r....typo error...heard that the alpine type r can fit in the kelisa front door

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 31 2005, 02:06 PM
mADmAN
post Dec 28 2005, 02:07 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Dec 28 2005, 11:56 AM)
hehe...the 3-way 6x9 means i dun need a tweeter up front already? so when they say 3 way means there is bass, mid range and tweeters build into it..right? hmm...normally how much do they charge for installation? the speakers you use up front, do you need to modify it? or it has been tested to fit the kelisa? wat brand is that speaker? and how much it cost? unsure.gif looks quite high end laugh.gif

hmm...when parking, do you dismount your head unit? or you just leave it there? blink.gif
3-way has built in tweeters...but still need tweeters up front to get the sound up front ma. as for the fronts.. didnt modify the speaker itself...just added the baffle (something like a thick washer for the speakers la) to give clearance from the window. brand is alpine model is type-s...cost me rm800 including installation.

when parking i normally take out the face plate of the player...but today i forgot to....sheesh....later have to go down and take it out...heheh..

0.0429sec    1.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:37 PM