Need recommendation/advise for my caraudio system, pls use this thread in the future

hushymushy
post Jul 25 2008, 02:02 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 13 2008, 11:27 AM)
I'm planning to get the whole set..Anyone please recommend good seller and installer in PJ area..Money not a problem. Thanks
Since money not a problem

here's my recommendation:

HU: McIntosh MX5000 with MDA5000 = RM15,000.00
Front components: Alpine F1 3way = RM8500.00
Subs: Seas Reference 12" = RM1800.00
Front amps: Celestra VA210 = RM10,000.00
Sub amp: TRU Hammer = RM7,000.00

Power cables: Monster Cables 0 AWG with gold plated fuses, RM60 per meter. Total about RM300.
Battery: Optima Red Top / Yellow Top. RM1300

Speaker Cables: XLO Ultra 2, RM300 per meter. With this kind of setup, 18meters. RM5400.00
Sub cable: Monster Z1R: RM30 per meter

RCA: XLO Ultra 2, RM300 per meter. With this kind of setup, RM3,000.00

Capacitor: 1F high grade like Mundorf or Brax. RM1200 per unit x 2

Voltage stablizer: Pivot Megaraizin: RM380.00

Total: RM55,080.00

Added on July 25, 2008, 2:05 amprepare about 65k, which includes sound proofing, tuning, scoping and so on.

This post has been edited by hushymushy: Jul 25 2008, 02:05 AM
hushymushy
post Jul 28 2008, 09:24 PM

1,708 posts

join mycarhifi.com.....most of the top end fellas are there...
wanna c...join our TT....some of the sifus have this

some of the items above is in my car too.....those u see rmxxx.xx
hahahahahahahaha

but these r not fantasized setups...i've seen and heard them...

hushymushy
post Jul 29 2008, 10:47 AM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Jul 28 2008, 10:19 PM)
Thanks for the reply, would like to ask have u been to KF audio and KKlau? Which do you recommend? or both equally carry high end stuff
both are good....i personally go to KK Lau since i've been a regular there....in terms of service quality...both r good

Added on July 29, 2008, 10:49 am
QUOTE(athlonxp @ Jul 28 2008, 11:36 PM)
got a question to ask

if i have a 4channel amp and a dual voice coil sub

can i bridge 4 channel of the amp and connect it to the sub independently?

means ch1 & ch2 bridge to 1 of the voice coil, ch3 & ch4 bridge to another voice coil?
lets say the amp is 4x75w @ 4ohm, 4x100w @ 2ohm, 2x150w bridge @ 4ohm

will the woofer get 300w rms(2x150w bridge @ 4ohm)?

sorry for the stupid question  doh.gif
theoritically u can...but you have to measure the output of the amp to make sure the its similar.
you cannot have different output going to different voice coil.....it may spoil the coil itself

This post has been edited by hushymushy: Jul 29 2008, 10:49 AM
hushymushy
post Aug 2 2008, 01:41 AM

1,708 posts

first of all....it depends on the sub specs....

u would use a 150watts amp to power a 300watts woofer right...
rule of thumb....
minimum would 1watt to 1watt ratio
ok would be 1watt woofer to 1.5watts on amp
best would be 1watt woofer to 2watts on amp....thats going to give u the control and headroom

stratos idea is good as well....
but i suggest u to check through all the specs b4 buying....

recommending is one thing...but as mentioned earlier...
better for u to audit first....one man meat is another man's poison

hushymushy
post Aug 13 2008, 10:27 PM

1,708 posts

aisey pisces....wat else u wan?
Luxman or Musy?
hushymushy
post Aug 14 2008, 08:36 AM

1,708 posts

Celestra is nice too...but very picky on the components
hushymushy
post Oct 9 2008, 09:25 PM

1,708 posts

its subjective and like all other goods stuffs....they dont come cheap
so wat's ur budget?
hushymushy
post Oct 15 2008, 06:49 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(kenlimfornication @ Oct 15 2008, 03:09 PM)
Yes dyns are good stuff
hah bro...ur signature oredi tells me u r dyna fan oredi
hehehehehehehe

Esotar series launched new ones wor!
hushymushy
post Oct 21 2008, 12:52 AM

1,708 posts

rule of d thumb

1Farad to 1000watt RMS

i'm using 1 Farad for my 2 amps.....although mnkh recommended me two
heheheheheheh cut cost mar

the thing is this...dont belief in cheap caps...go for quality
hushymushy
post Oct 21 2008, 12:54 AM

1,708 posts

can try Mundorf & Helix
Brax yup...pricey

Stinger also not too bad
hushymushy
post Nov 10 2008, 06:05 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(ace4828 @ Nov 10 2008, 01:37 PM)
any suggestions to change the ICE???

budget around 3k
what car do u drive and what is installed currently?
hushymushy
post Dec 10 2008, 11:35 PM

1,708 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Dec 9 2008, 10:39 PM)
my first question over this section :

dilemma in between Pioneer 3050UB, 4050UB, 5050UB and 5950IB (someone selling quite ok price in forum)

if i'm going to get 6.5" or 6x9" 3-way speaker,
which HU should i go with ?

and if i wanna go for component set + woofer,
which HU recommend ?

component set can put behind ?
because my front door panel doesn't come with any speaker holes.
and i don't wish to cut any hole.

how much do they charge for installation normally ?
does better wiring make difference ?  hmm.gif

i don't want later installation cheap cheap RM30 but wiring+other item cost me RM2xx,
then i must  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
i hv no comments on ur HU....but if u want alternative....go for Eclipse
all HU, power rating is only 15watts per channel there abouts....so dont expect much from HU
be it Alpine/Pioneer/Eclipse or watever the brand is...dont expect built in amps to power everything
high end HUs dont even hv built in amps. pure decks.

so the answer to question 1.....any HU will do if u dont have budget for amp

to answer question 2.....u can get active woofer...but improvement on bass only...at my level...considered 10% improvement

question 3....component set can put behind??? can.....if it fits.....but y? when u listen to music shouldn't it be front stage?
door panel dowan to cut hole...susah abit.....up to u

installation?
varies with type of HU, complexity and quality
wiring....do more research
get the installer to quote and ask him to lay down all costs including cables and full labour charge

go to TTs, look at how ppl install their system
hushymushy
post Dec 11 2008, 12:15 AM

1,708 posts

mana poison...merely spreading at all...kekekekeke
but u n i r different

i try to spread poison to ppl..but no one take my poison
but ppl come to u for poison directly
hushymushy
post Dec 11 2008, 09:47 AM