28 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

SS2 mall is a failure since it open begin 2011, (the % taken up is low, almost 1/2 year)

sonycamera
post Jun 3 2011, 10:20 AM

274 posts

there is a feng shui article on the mall in Star today.........
stevenX
post Jun 3 2011, 10:40 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(sonycamera @ Jun 3 2011, 10:20 AM)
there is a feng shui article on the mall in Star today.........
got link ?
rentroom2012
post Jun 3 2011, 02:49 PM

93 posts

http://www.starproperty.my/PropertyGuide/FengShui/12382/0/0

ss2 mall looks good based on the review..
71ers
post Jun 3 2011, 03:01 PM

467 posts

i am a bit confused, which part is the front of the mall ?
PRINZE
post Jun 3 2011, 03:31 PM

I'm 1337..
2,404 posts

that place lack of anchor tenants.. bring in cinema, karaoke..surely boom.. btw, at least got Chatime which no need to queue up.. smile.gif
TSlowyat888
post Jun 5 2011, 08:38 PM

596 posts

wont last long
jolmy
post Jun 6 2011, 12:08 AM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Jun 3 2011, 09:59 AM)
Yea and it almost follow the sequence on how you describe it.

I worked nearby and heard rumors after rumors by different people the last 2 years.

First I "heard"  Jusco (from 1u) will move to ss2 mall  rclxub.gif  because they have a fallout with the tenant there (SHC). I only listen with a HUGE bottle of salt .

Then I heard its going to be Giant, and finally Cold Storage.

Currently I guess its just tenanted by a virtual shop called "habuk pun tarak".
AEON (Jusco) will sign 9-year leasing agreement with 1U. Jusco will be in 1U at least until August 2020. Of course after that, they can always go back to the negotiation table to renew their lease.. and after 9 long years, expect Jusco to undergo renovation again after the current one.

Added on June 6, 2011, 12:12 am
QUOTE(accetera @ Jun 3 2011, 10:14 AM)
AEON (Jusco), Isetan, Uniqlo, Daiso and Best Denki - 5 major Japanese retailers in Malaysia will be in 1Utama under one roof.

Hoorayyy!
I don't really see how these 5 retailers can compete one another

1) Daiso - RM5 shop
2) Best - electrical shop
3) Uniqlo - their in-house brand
4) Isetan - departmental store with up-market brands
5) Jusco - departmental store with a mix of affordable + some up-market brands & a supermarket, Wellness pharmacy, La Boheme bakery.

so in a way, instead of competing, I say they complement each other. There's something for everyone in 1U with these 5 Japanese retailers.

If there is any competition, perhaps Isetan & Parkson could be competing against each other in 1U.

Jusco & Cold Storage Supermarkets? Well, again their target market are different.

I personally prefer to shop in Jusco for both dept store & supermarket. Well, since I heard Uniqlo's pricing also affordable, I should consider this as well.

This post has been edited by jolmy: Jun 6 2011, 12:12 AM
accetera
post Jun 6 2011, 12:52 AM

Ambassador of ChatHouz AI
10,777 posts

from Skyscrapercity Forum

someone mentioned Tesco is opening in The Paradigm Mall Kelana Jaya
yhtan
post Jun 6 2011, 01:46 AM

8,652 posts

QUOTE(rentroom2012 @ Jun 3 2011, 02:49 PM)
http://www.starproperty.my/PropertyGuide/FengShui/12382/0/0

ss2 mall looks good based on the review..
are they getting pay for promoting?

seriously the top management have to secure big name retailer to get into before the opening, which is crucial for attracting crowd, they failed on the beginning

i was surprise Empire Subang could make it, end up they are doing better than i think, it is facing Federal Highway hence many people will curious about it, their opening did well by securing some of the big name retailer

Added on June 6, 2011, 1:49 am
QUOTE(StrayBullet @ Jun 2 2011, 05:38 PM)
Hi Guys. I am one of the tenants in SS2 Mall.

From my point of view, the location is good, but the management is very bad. Typical Singaporeans cant just come into Malaysia and run a business here. They don't know about the market here. Unless it's capital land we are talking about. That's a different storey.

Reasons that they fail:
1. They are holding very tightly to their rental prices Rm9-RM15/feet². They think they are Pavillion for holding on to that price. KFC wanted to come in and wanted 2 years free rental. SS2Mall said no.

2. The current management (3rd one) is not doing any activities in the weekends. The community there came in and take a look and then walks out because there's nothing to see.

3. They bluffed the current that there are lots of anchor tenants already 80% so it's time to come in. We all naik kereta already..

4. They failed to bring in the any big supermarket into the mall. After confirming us so many names like; Jusco, Giant, Jaya Grocer, Village Grocer.. The last one they confirmed was My Fresh. Even Posted on a few Newspapers. Still now change again to Urban Food. @,@

This month they want to collect rental. I'm planning to moveo out because It is unfair. They don't do activities and want to collect rental. No one coming in so cannot do business. I'm not wasting my time here because of some Singaporeans Kiasuness.
oh that's bad sweat.gif

QUOTE(accetera @ Jun 3 2011, 10:14 AM)
AEON (Jusco), Isetan, Uniqlo, Daiso and Best Denki - 5 major Japanese retailers in Malaysia will be in 1Utama under one roof.

Hoorayyy!
1 utama do have a better bargaining power, those retailer come up for them laugh.gif

This post has been edited by yhtan: Jun 6 2011, 01:49 AM
TSlowyat888
post Jun 6 2011, 11:18 AM

596 posts

in order to be successful, have to rely on hypermarket. look at jusco in 1 utama have been closed for renovation for few months, and just look at the people there. its have been reduced tremendously, alot of parking. since it closed for renovation

it cannot depends on the stores/shops, the stores/shop is additional items. majority of the people will go for essential items.
jolmy
post Jun 6 2011, 04:12 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(lowyat888 @ Jun 6 2011, 11:18 AM)
in order to be successful, have to rely on hypermarket. look at jusco in 1 utama have been closed for renovation for few months, and just look at the people there. its have been reduced tremendously, alot of parking. since it closed for renovation

it cannot depends on the stores/shops, the stores/shop is additional items. majority of the people will go for essential items.
Luckily for 1U, there is still some crowd as Jusco's supermarket is still opened while renovation is ongoing.

Heard that they will close for a few days to facilitate their relocation to the new location at the end of the Old Wing prior to the reopening which is tentatively slated for August 22.
accetera
post Jun 6 2011, 04:23 PM

Ambassador of ChatHouz AI
10,777 posts

see hoy chan talks about 1Utama in newspaper today...

1 more hotel and 2 more office towers to be built....
urb7
post Jun 8 2011, 07:38 PM

664 posts

I'd give 1 year free rental to a big anchor like Jusco, Cold Storage, even Jaya Grocer just to get things going!

It's confirmed that Urban Food will be the Anchor tenant, saw a banner from Tropicana City Mall towards SS2.

Also confirmed here:
http://sstwomall.com.my/shop-directory/

From the banner, it looks like a 50 cents supermarket.
post Jun 8 2011, 09:01 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(urb7 @ Jun 8 2011, 07:38 PM)
I'd give 1 year free rental to a big anchor like Jusco, Cold Storage, even Jaya Grocer just to get things going!

It's confirmed that Urban Food will be the Anchor tenant, saw a banner from Tropicana City Mall towards SS2.

Also confirmed here:
http://sstwomall.com.my/shop-directory/

From the banner, it looks like a 50 cents supermarket.
will those big guys come in even with 1 year rental???

they spend millions to start operations there.
shyhhua
post Jun 11 2011, 12:05 AM

265 posts

SS2 mall will benefit from the phase two of the road upgrade project from Jaran Harapan to Sprint Highway.

The Star
“The project is being carried out in phases to ease congestion. Phase Two of the project is expected to start in March next year,” she said.

The first phase, costing RM4.2mil, also includes installing traffic lights at the T-junction of Jalan Harapan and Jalan 19/8.

“An additional lane will be added to both the roads, as well as to Jalan 19/1 and Jalan Universiti leading to the roundabout.

The second phase to link Jalan Harapan to Sprint Highway would cost RM5.3mil.

stevenX
post Jun 11 2011, 10:08 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(shyhhua @ Jun 11 2011, 12:05 AM)
SS2 mall will benefit from the phase two of the road upgrade project from Jaran Harapan to Sprint Highway.

The Star
“The project is being carried out in phases to ease congestion. Phase Two of the project is expected to start in March next year,” she said.

The first phase, costing RM4.2mil, also includes installing traffic lights at the T-junction of Jalan Harapan and Jalan 19/8.

“An additional lane will be added to both the roads, as well as to Jalan 19/1 and Jalan Universiti leading to the roundabout.

The second phase to link Jalan Harapan to Sprint Highway would cost RM5.3mil.
i dont see any direct benefit from this upgrade ..
do u ever went there before ? the road to go in ss2 mall from rothman round about is good enaugh

the main reason from this project is to reduce the traffic jam at that area .. not to lure ppl go to in there
shyhhua
post Jun 11 2011, 10:24 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(stevenX @ Jun 11 2011, 10:08 AM)
i dont see any direct benefit from this upgrade ..
do u ever went there before ? the road to go in ss2 mall from rothman round about is good enaugh

the main reason from this project is to reduce the traffic jam at that area .. not to lure ppl go to in there
yes, u r right. to reduce traffic jam is the main point. but if u think of the effect from it, with the opening of the new road, people will use the road to go to sprint from jln harapan to escape the jam at SS2. or from sprint to jln harapan, escape jam at tropicana city mall every working evening. with that traffic, people will notice this SS2 mall, increases its visibility. nod.gif

u can see from previous posts, people not even know where is the entrance of this mall, or not even know about the existance of the mall! i believe the business in that area will boom after the opening of the road. smile.gif

kelvyn
post Jun 21 2011, 02:38 PM

3,173 posts

Was there last week. Everything looks like it is just getting ready to open or something like that. Did not know that it was open 1/2 year ago. There are still so many vacant shop lots...
JRZ
post Jun 22 2011, 11:48 AM

202 posts

had lunch @ uncle lim's last weekend, they complained that monthly sales only 20k (<700/day) compared to ikano & subang parade 200k/month.
only oldtown & killiney are breaking even, rest of F&B tenants are running at a loss since opening.
seanooi880327
post Jun 22 2011, 11:52 AM

seven heaven !!!
2,841 posts

i think chatime doing quite a good sales over there, i went there on evening but still have to wait for 15 - 20 mins....

28 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:03 AM