SS2 mall is a failure since it open begin 2011, (the % taken up is low, almost 1/2 year)

jolmy
post Jun 6 2011, 12:08 AM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Jun 3 2011, 09:59 AM)
Yea and it almost follow the sequence on how you describe it.

I worked nearby and heard rumors after rumors by different people the last 2 years.

First I "heard"  Jusco (from 1u) will move to ss2 mall  rclxub.gif  because they have a fallout with the tenant there (SHC). I only listen with a HUGE bottle of salt .

Then I heard its going to be Giant, and finally Cold Storage.

Currently I guess its just tenanted by a virtual shop called "habuk pun tarak".
AEON (Jusco) will sign 9-year leasing agreement with 1U. Jusco will be in 1U at least until August 2020. Of course after that, they can always go back to the negotiation table to renew their lease.. and after 9 long years, expect Jusco to undergo renovation again after the current one.

Added on June 6, 2011, 12:12 am
QUOTE(accetera @ Jun 3 2011, 10:14 AM)
AEON (Jusco), Isetan, Uniqlo, Daiso and Best Denki - 5 major Japanese retailers in Malaysia will be in 1Utama under one roof.

Hoorayyy!
I don't really see how these 5 retailers can compete one another

1) Daiso - RM5 shop
2) Best - electrical shop
3) Uniqlo - their in-house brand
4) Isetan - departmental store with up-market brands
5) Jusco - departmental store with a mix of affordable + some up-market brands & a supermarket, Wellness pharmacy, La Boheme bakery.

so in a way, instead of competing, I say they complement each other. There's something for everyone in 1U with these 5 Japanese retailers.

If there is any competition, perhaps Isetan & Parkson could be competing against each other in 1U.

Jusco & Cold Storage Supermarkets? Well, again their target market are different.

I personally prefer to shop in Jusco for both dept store & supermarket. Well, since I heard Uniqlo's pricing also affordable, I should consider this as well.

This post has been edited by jolmy: Jun 6 2011, 12:12 AM
jolmy
post Jun 6 2011, 04:12 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(lowyat888 @ Jun 6 2011, 11:18 AM)
in order to be successful, have to rely on hypermarket. look at jusco in 1 utama have been closed for renovation for few months, and just look at the people there. its have been reduced tremendously, alot of parking. since it closed for renovation

it cannot depends on the stores/shops, the stores/shop is additional items. majority of the people will go for essential items.
Luckily for 1U, there is still some crowd as Jusco's supermarket is still opened while renovation is ongoing.

Heard that they will close for a few days to facilitate their relocation to the new location at the end of the Old Wing prior to the reopening which is tentatively slated for August 22.
jolmy
post Aug 2 2011, 10:12 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(0106127 @ Jul 29 2011, 11:17 PM)
cant have pub open air or disco. its a residential area and resident complain kao kao
No cinema, no anchor tenant which is a supermarket/hypermarket & dept store - FAILURE!
jolmy
post Oct 22 2011, 08:02 PM

Meow
1,182 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Oct 19 2011, 06:24 PM)
Look at Tropicana City Mall, large parking space and light assist to search for parking, and the parking is cheap enough. I wonder how do the management able to survive with low visiting customer flowing in.
Tropicana City Mall could survive, thanks to the GSC Cinemas there. Without the cinema, they would probably suffer the same fate as SStwo Mall.

0.0187sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:09 PM