♠ Samsung Galaxy Ace S5830 ♠ Official Thread V2, mid range phone ,released date feb 2011
TSstupiak07
Apr 19 2011, 05:01 PM
For short. rooting let you gain access administrator right that is locked by the phone company by default. by rooting let you able to modify the system which suppose to be locked to avoid people mess up the system and render it useless. The most common thing for people to root it is for moving those app/games that can't be moved to memory card by default which.eat up main storage which is phone inner storage. some people wanted to used custom/personnel rom that suite their usage and even some people want to use custom theme for the phone. by right, for those don't know to use it should avoid it as it will void your phone warrany if you mess up. You no need to root if you are a normal users.
Add on: even if you moved your application to your memory card doesn't mean will free up all the phone memory as there will be package data left over at phone memory for it to run.
This is what I know about rooting. it may vary from the actual info
Posted from SGA.
This post has been edited by stupiak07: Apr 19 2011, 05:26 PM
jass80
Apr 19 2011, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(tracy_jad @ Apr 19 2011, 04:52 PM) I email them, they replied & ask me send my phone to nearest service center. -.- waaaa...just like dat meh? at least explain la abit coz everybody (can i say most) here is having this nightmare..i am also eager to know why now just i am ready to buy this phone but this SOD prob brings me to HOLD.
xDragonZ
Apr 19 2011, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(jass80 @ Apr 19 2011, 05:09 PM) waaaa...just like dat meh? at least explain la abit coz everybody (can i say most) here is having this nightmare..i am also eager to know why now just i am ready to buy this phone but this SOD prob brings me to HOLD. Ya.I email them another problem that my kies can't update My phone they also say like this .
lee82gx
Apr 19 2011, 05:15 PM
If you send it in to the service center you'll be asked to leave the phone there for as long as it usually takes for the SOD to occur...or 1 day whichever is first.
I balked at that and just ask them to reflash to older firmware.
breaker84
Apr 19 2011, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(breaker84 @ Apr 19 2011, 11:10 AM) ARG!!!!!!!!!!!!! MY PHONE CAN'T ON RIGHT NOW!! WHY????? Added on April 19, 2011, 11:13 amok, its on now.... i'm taking out the battery 1st... is this what you guys called SOD??? ARHHGGGGGGGGGGGG....!!!!!! WTF man.... it happen again.... jahanam casing aku.... baru tak sampai 1 minggu pakai... who should i blame, Samsung or Samsung G Ace or me???
tracy_jad
Apr 19 2011, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(jass80 @ Apr 19 2011, 05:09 PM) waaaa...just like dat meh? at least explain la abit coz everybody (can i say most) here is having this nightmare..i am also eager to know why now just i am ready to buy this phone but this SOD prob brings me to HOLD. yup. memang like that only... i also =_=" when i saw the email. I rather find solution by myself than sending my samsung to service center....
TSstupiak07
Apr 19 2011, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Apr 19 2011, 05:15 PM) If you send it in to the service center you'll be asked to leave the phone there for as long as it usually takes for the SOD to occur...or 1 day whichever is first. I balked at that and just ask them to reflash to older firmware. Of course that they need to do that as they need to know what causing it for future preference. Cause it not happened on every sga unit only some of it. Posted by SGA. This post has been edited by stupiak07: Apr 19 2011, 05:24 PM
tracy_jad
Apr 19 2011, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(breaker84 @ Apr 19 2011, 05:17 PM) ARHHGGGGGGGGGGGG....!!!!!! WTF man.... it happen again.... jahanam casing aku.... baru tak sampai 1 minggu pakai... who should i blame, Samsung or Samsung G Ace or me???  why blame yourself. everytime i take out my battery, I'm thinking sooner or later i think the casing will break by me... lol
infinityjc
Apr 19 2011, 05:31 PM

QUOTE(stupiak07 @ Apr 19 2011, 05:01 PM) For short. rooting let you gain access administrator right that is locked by the phone company by default. by rooting let you able to modify the system which suppose to be locked to avoid people mess up the system and render it useless. The most common thing for people to root it is for moving those app/games that can't be moved to memory card by default which.eat up main storage which is phone inner storage. some people wanted to used custom/personnel rom that suite their usage and even some people want to use custom theme for the phone. by right, for those don't know to use it should avoid it as it will void your phone warrany if you mess up. You no need to root if you are a normal users. Add on: even if you moved your application to your memory card doesn't mean will free up all the phone memory as there will be package data left over at phone memory for it to run. This is what I know about rooting. it may vary from the actual info Posted from SGA. Thank bro for your such good explanation. I think I would not go for rooting after you explain. Quite risky...lol Added on April 19, 2011, 5:32 pmwhat doe it mean by SOD? This post has been edited by infinityjc: Apr 19 2011, 05:32 PM
xDragonZ
Apr 19 2011, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(breaker84 @ Apr 19 2011, 05:17 PM) ARHHGGGGGGGGGGGG....!!!!!! WTF man.... it happen again.... jahanam casing aku.... baru tak sampai 1 minggu pakai... who should i blame, Samsung or Samsung G Ace or me???  Want try do some experiment? Uninstall all your downloaded apps and see got SOD happen again or not
breaker84
Apr 19 2011, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(xDragonZ @ Apr 19 2011, 05:48 PM) Want try do some experiment? Uninstall all your downloaded apps and see got SOD happen again or not All..??? Ok2, i'll try remove it one by one... According date/time install...
backislan
Apr 19 2011, 06:01 PM

if i buy a new sd card, can i just cut n paste the old data to the new one? can it still work?why is it i see that my memoray card now has so many folder?so messy...is it like this?
TSstupiak07
Apr 19 2011, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(backislan @ Apr 19 2011, 06:01 PM) if i buy a new sd card, can i just cut n paste the old data to the new one? can it still work?why is it i see that my memoray card now has so many folder?so messy...is it like this? yes
xDragonZ
Apr 19 2011, 06:43 PM
Guys I remember I read some article before. Google apps also give some problem in some phone. So anyone out there who had sod did you use gmail or gtalk or any apps things that sync? I don't use gps any gmail or social hub or fb sync or email and no use 3g no use packet data and turn off sync only wifi I use and have no sod.
I try do some experiment today.
Posted via sga
This post has been edited by xDragonZ: Apr 19 2011, 06:50 PM
sheng2
Apr 19 2011, 06:57 PM
Guys,new user here.Basically I have the SOD problem too.. Currently I have installed facebook for android,foursquare and angry bird.and I used gmail and on wifi.I rooted my phone but I haven't install move2sd... FYI,I have not yet insert my sim card n SD card.and this problem happened twice...so..perhaps wifi problem?
jass80
Apr 19 2011, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(breaker84 @ Apr 19 2011, 05:17 PM) ARHHGGGGGGGGGGGG....!!!!!! WTF man.... it happen again.... jahanam casing aku.... baru tak sampai 1 minggu pakai... who should i blame, Samsung or Samsung G Ace or me???  oh snap  again... now i am suddenly thinking want to buy HTC Wildfire...lolz at least dun have this prob
TSstupiak07
Apr 19 2011, 07:04 PM
here is my application list to help out hose whose has SOD that trying delete 1 by 1 application to find the reason causing SOD » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Apk installer 250+ Solitaire Sudoku Super Task Killer Move2SD Enabler App2SD free Adobe Reader Angry Bird Angry Bird Rio Art of Glow BasketBall Shot Camera 360 Pro ebuddy Find it: Super Mario Flashlight Fruit Slicer Gem: Dig Deeper GPS Test Guns'n'Glory Paid Version non-ads Evangelion Clock Instant Heat Rate Jewels Kid Doodle Leave Evil Alone HD Market Enabler Code Market History Cleaner Market Enabler Maxis Movie Mini Info NeonPics Ninja Rush Ninja Go! Ninja Kaka Ninja Rush Deluxe NinJump PapagoX5 Photovault QR Droid Quickoffice Pro Ringdroid Super Call Faker Super Sms Faker SD speed Increase SD Tools SPC StumbleUpon TubeMate U.S. Army Survival Book xScope Browser YooNinja Free Multicon Zenonia Paid Ver Zenonia 2 Paid Ver Bejeweled 2 Illusia Hyper Jump CaligoChasen Super Jump 2 This post has been edited by stupiak07: Apr 19 2011, 07:05 PM
tbing
Apr 19 2011, 07:10 PM
i also have sod problem..but i think is because of wifi these 2 days i didn't on wifi and so far it's normal. before that i on my wifi more than 8 hours per day.
TSstupiak07
Apr 19 2011, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(jass80 @ Apr 19 2011, 06:58 PM) oh snap  again... now i am suddenly thinking want to buy HTC Wildfire...lolz at least dun have this prob  if wildfire, why don't try SE x10 second handed since it is gettin android 2.3 at june?
jass80
Apr 19 2011, 07:30 PM
doesnt it offer OTA OS update like HTC?