36 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Suspicious Telephone Calls on CC matters, Report here & Read this if you got a CC

bingozero
post Nov 11 2011, 07:26 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

Here my story that face in a great 11/11/11 day.
Received call from 0376268899 from Hong Leong bank clam that I have 3 month didn't paid my credit card bill about RM7086.
I strongly argue with she since that I didn't have any credit card belong to Hong Leong bank and the staff told me the credit card number 5142 1932 4450 5899 and it is a gold master card.
My name and IC number was correct and my address is not correct.
And she tell me that did you swap at Johor City Square for RM7086 amount? Just told her I didn't have any credit card with Hong Leong bank and how do I swipe it? Then she quiet for few second.
Finally she block my card and I say I will contact to Bank Negara on this issue.
What did she do is she can direct convert me to Bank Negara Helpline, I am stock at the time since when this Hong Leong bank become more efficient?
Few seconds later, one man answer my phone ask my name and my phone number, told me that he need to check from the system and he will call bank and do not switch off the phone!
After hangup the call, quickly I call my friend to find out what is the phone number of Hong Leong bank customer service center, what I am get from my friend the number was 0376268899, I told my friend to double check it and my friend was say yes! That the Hong Leong bank customer service number!!!!
I use my phone call the 0376268899 and I give the credit card number to the staff and she said this card was not in the system. And the staff told me maybe it is a scam.
Hangup the call and received 4 miss call from 0326988044
Later go to report police.

Who I want to believe?
What they want from me?

Call from 0376268899, name Miss Phoon

Miss call from 0326988044

Human Nature
post Nov 11 2011, 08:08 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

^ thanks for the detailed information.

If you refer to the first post E.1, the modus operandi is the same.

They can now make phone calls and it will appear as though the number is legit (in this case HLB number). This matter is getting rampant day by day.

I am sure their next step was to ask you to transfer your money to their 'safe' account.

He said under the Macau Scam (involving spoofing), prospective victims were approached by people posing as police or bank officers. They would inform the victims that their bank accounts or credit cards had been hacked by third parties. The victims were warned that if they did not transfer their cash to "safe" accounts, they risked losing all their money.
Read more: Beware of 'bank officers' out to con you - General - New Straits Times http://www.nst.com.my/local/general/beware...-con-you-1.4157

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Nov 11 2011, 08:12 PM
TSGen-X
post Nov 12 2011, 12:40 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Nov 11 2011, 08:08 PM)

They can now make phone calls and it will appear as though the number is legit (in this case HLB number). This matter is getting rampant day by day.

I am sure their next step was to ask you to transfer your money to their 'safe' account.
Read more: Beware of 'bank officers' out to con you - General - New Straits Times http://www.nst.com.my/local/general/beware...-con-you-1.4157
this time the got HLB number right :scary: nowadays cannot be sure if calls are genuine or not.
bingozero
post Nov 12 2011, 07:04 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 12 2011, 12:40 AM)
this time the got HLB number right :scary: nowadays cannot be sure if calls are genuine or not.
Hi Gen-x, can you post it at front page, it is very serious issue that they use those HLB helpline to scam!!
bingozero
post Nov 12 2011, 07:07 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Nov 11 2011, 08:08 PM)

Don't think I will fall in their trap since don't have the credit card account with them.
But will be more curious next time when received their call nod.gif

TSGen-X
post Nov 12 2011, 09:56 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Nov 12 2011, 07:04 AM)
Hi Gen-x, can you post it at front page, it is very serious issue that they use those HLB helpline to scam!!
Bro, I already posted it at 1st page before you even posted above.

But sometimes I wonder what is the point of me updating the 1st post when Seniors fellow credit card users like you don't even read it or read other poeple's post here.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 12 2011, 09:58 AM
bingozero
post Nov 12 2011, 02:11 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 12 2011, 09:56 AM)
Bro, I already posted it at 1st page before you even posted above.

But sometimes I wonder what is the point of me updating the 1st post when Seniors fellow credit card users like you don't even read it or read other poeple's post here.
The case is about the same, but most critical part is they use the phone number that same with the HLB Customer care line, thats why need to highlight for it.
TSGen-X
post Nov 12 2011, 03:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Nov 12 2011, 02:11 PM)
The case is about the same, but most critical part is they use the phone number that same with the HLB Customer care line, thats why need to highlight for it.
Yah lah, you not the first person received such calls, several members reported same case as yours in last 2 pages. Even got actual police station number. And from the very first case posted in this thread (item E.1), highlighted by Human Nature the post at kopitiam, those who read it would know it is Caller ID Spoofing and would not be surprise if they receive a call that shows a genuine number.

And I agree that it must be highlighted that your case showed a genuine number from HLB; AND if you had read the first post before you posted, I did mention this. My point is, how many Senior here actually read this thread regularly.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 12 2011, 03:59 PM
jimmykho
post Nov 15 2011, 02:24 PM

19 posts

Just received similar call as bingozero, also from HLB customer service number. As I am staying in JB (they have my address correct) their story was the card was applied at KL Damansara and swipped at Poh Kwong in Mid-Valley and 1-Utama. I almost fell for it until the Bank Negara part. They say they will help to lodge a report at BNM and someone will me call (first, they say within the next 15 days, then become next 15 minutes) I asked for the BNM number just in case I don't receive the call and they gave me 03-26988044, then they say they will transfer the call to BNM and ask not to hang up (this is the give way, since when can bank transfer call to BNM).

Throughout the "ordeal", I just thinking I have no banking relationship with HLB except when I was looking for a home loan about a year ago. If it was true, I already know who steal my id and I was going to call up and bash the loan officer who served me (I didn't end up taking the home loan with HLB). Luckily I googled up Hong Leong Bank credit card fraud and end up at lowyat.net smile.gif

samsungXP
post Nov 16 2011, 01:58 PM

5,284 posts

03-80738700 belong to alliance bank?i call back they say from alliance bank hunting lines.person in charge will call me back.but i only got apply pl from them 6 month ago and the application ord reject.so why they calling me?
MilesAndMore
post Nov 16 2011, 08:21 PM

9,301 posts

**post modified

Was reporting a possible scam just now but turned out it wasn't. The number is 03-2772 0300 and really belongs to a Maybankard credit card department. Thought something was fishy because when i called the number, i received an automated message saying that this number is not in service. However, when i called Maybank just now, i was given two numbers and one is the number written above sweat.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 16 2011, 08:31 PM
alexwsk
post Nov 16 2011, 10:30 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 16 2011, 08:21 PM)
**post modified

Was reporting a possible scam just now but turned out it wasn't. The number is 03-2772 0300 and really belongs to a Maybankard credit card department. Thought something was fishy because when i called the number, i received an automated message saying that this number is not in service. However, when i called Maybank just now, i was given two numbers and one is the number written above  sweat.gif
so u need to replace ur card?
MilesAndMore
post Nov 16 2011, 10:58 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Nov 16 2011, 10:30 PM)
so u need to replace ur card?
No. I don't have to because the telephone number indeed belongs to the Maybankard department. It's very weird that if you call the number, it says that this number is not in service. Anyway, i already confirmed with Maybank by calling them myself and this number indeed belongs to them sweat.gif

TSGen-X
post Nov 17 2011, 12:38 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 16 2011, 08:21 PM)
**post modified

Was reporting a possible scam just now but turned out it wasn't. The number is 03-2772 0300 and really belongs to a Maybankard credit card department. Thought something was fishy because when i called the number, i received an automated message saying that this number is not in service. However, when i called Maybank just now, i was given two numbers and one is the number written above   sweat.gif
The number mentioned above 03-27720300 is almost similar to the 03-27727300 reported in item A.7 and A.7a.

Did you just missed your chance to win the Audi tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 17 2011, 12:39 AM
MilesAndMore
post Nov 17 2011, 01:03 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 17 2011, 12:38 AM)
The number mentioned above 03-27720300 is almost similar to the 03-27727300 reported in item A.7 and A.7a.

Did you just missed your chance to win the Audi  tongue.gif
Audi ? Man... i wish but i did not spend that much. No chance for that cry.gif

Anyway, the lady who claimed to be from Maybank (well, turned out she really is after i checked with Maybank) asked if i have received the letter asking me to submit my latest payslip and i answered yes. I did. So she asked me when am i going to fax the payslip over to them. This question caught me by surprise as i thought i do not have to submit my payslip anymore after they found out yesterday that they overlooked my account details and i was not supposed to receive the letter in the first place. I told her that her colleague called me yesterday, admitted that it was their fault and i can ignore the letter. She paused for a second and told me i do not have to submit it actually but somehow my name ended up in the earning below RM36,000/pa and below name list. She then confirmed with me that this case is considered done and they won't ask for my latest payslip anymore biggrin.gif

TSGen-X
post Nov 17 2011, 01:13 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 17 2011, 01:03 AM)
Audi ? Man... i wish but i did not spend that much. No chance for that  cry.gif

Anyway, the lady who claimed to be from Maybank (well, turned out she really is after i checked with Maybank) asked if i have received the letter asking me to submit my latest payslip and i answered yes. I did. So she asked me when am i going to fax the payslip over to them. This question caught me by surprise as i thought i do not have to submit my payslip anymore after they found out yesterday that they overlooked my account details and i was not supposed to receive the letter in the first place. I told her that her colleague called me yesterday, admitted that it was their fault and i can ignore the letter. She paused for a second and told me i do not have to submit it actually but somehow my name ended up in the earning below RM36,000/pa and below name list. She then confirmed with me that this case is considered done and they won't ask for my latest payslip anymore  biggrin.gif
OIC, wah, what you mentioned shows the banks really serious and will even follow up.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 17 2011, 01:45 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 17 2011, 01:13 AM)
OIC, wah, what you mentioned shows the banks really serious and will even follow up.
Yeah. They are very serious and firm with it. In the letter i received, it says that someone will keep in touch soon after we receive the letter (in my case which they already did). It also says that should they do not hear from us before the dateline (30/11/11), they will either reduce our credit limit or cancel the card altogether. So it's like contact us cepat or don't cry if you cannot use your card anymore laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 17 2011, 01:49 AM
sil3ntHunt3r
post Dec 7 2011, 11:36 AM

S.H.I.E.L.D
877 posts

Just now received call from 016-2120605, stating that they wanna offer some card for visa, mastercard user which they claim have some sort of link with Ministry of Tourism and Touch n Go. I did not wait long, just said not interested (he ask why, said wasted if not joining blablabla). Hang up.

Try searching this number, but cannot find any complaint yet. Anyone else received the same call before?
jinaun
post Dec 19 2011, 04:04 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

just got a call from 019-3987520

claiming from some card centre. asking whether i have commercial visa card or something to that extend.. its very noisy background (alot of ppl talking)

i said that i do not have any , and she hangs up.
TSGen-X
post Dec 19 2011, 05:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

I also got a call today from 011-10699906 informing that they are banks' out source centre asking if I want to convert to installment plan.

If it is a mobile number, just don't entertain them.

36 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:57 PM