If you receive calls that you feel is suspicious or you got conned, please report here by stating the number, detail description of the conversation and I 'll list them out below.
Suspicious Number - Beware. Do not disclose any personal information.
alexwsk - one simple fact to highlight: banks will never call from hp number
A.1. 03-78491000 - asking about EON Bank CC (Gen-X), post #17 - claim they Public Bank on insurance (joey85), post #63 - claim they from Prudential shatteredmeteora, post#69, MAYBANK CC AMEX She told me bla bla bla.. i say, please speak in english, she hung up!!! whojen, Got a call from.. Had my full name, credit card type. Offered free fraud insurance lohmaikai.
A.2. 03-78491300 - post#22 claim they MBB card protection yflai1
A.3. 03-79649600, post#70, claiming to be from CIMB and introduced CIMB AirAsia account... Searching through google and found in cari forum that many claimed suspicious jack2.
A.4. 03-78625622, post 75, claimed he's from Mastercard sales and Marketing department, offered HLA saving insurance as thanks for using Master card service.I knew that this is definitely a scam as I don't have credit card at all! Added to this, he need my age & BMI to check whether I meet the criteria for this insurance _BG_
A.5. 03-78625680, post#61, claiming from HLA for mastercard holder offering PA insurance and after checking with bank there is no such deal for mastercard holder johnnyc.
A.6. 03-2252 4408 - post#36, Maybank Credit Card Holder Beware. I got a call from a predictive dialing machines (or IVR you may call it) speaking in Mandarin and saying "Dear Customer your credit card statement balance RM XXXX.XX was overdue. please pay the necessary. For further information please press zero "0"). This is a machine who speak to me not a human being. I quickly call MBB CS and they confirm i dont owe them $$$ and CS also said they dont have predictive dialing to call customer for outstanding reminder ak1977
A.7. 03-27727300. post#66, this morning, claiming she is from pengurusan kad palsu, Bank Negara Malaysia...telling I have a Aeon credit card which already being used up the CL of 10k and did not make any payment since 3 months ago JJBerry.
A.7.a. 03-20267949, post#94, Miss wu from AEON Credit Card Center KL, she said that i "have" a gold card with credit limit 10k haven't paid for 3 month and AEON wanna sue me if i not pay.... but it got suspicious when, i said i wanna make a police report 1st since my ic is used in this application...miss wu kept telling me to call 03-27727300the dept of c.card fraud of Bank Negara. so that bank negara can issue a letter to cancel this card...I was like... can u just cancel the card... she kept saying kenot...need BNM approval... so was like... since when?...then she change subject... called aeon.... my ic number is not even in their database. Lord_darkslide
A.8. 03-22977700 post#43, claim from OCBC (leongal), post#51, claim they from MBB (pawnx) & post#46, it is a research company ophilia
A.9. 03-20371666 post #155&156, always played missed call for several times!!!!! (jack2. This one also claim to be from AIA! Take database from AirAsia insured Darkmage12
A.10. 0321712421 and 0323339295 post#213, these two numbers told me on zest vip car.d. called me non stop wher got cc centre call ppl crazy. wayfeel
A.11. 0376267000 and 0376266800 post#215, claimed selling card protection service for my maybank 2 cards... guy explains they provide protection if my card lost just for rm118/year. he said maybank paid them to do this. he explains so many things until he asked me to copy 2 numbers and later i will see the transaction is billed under my card.xxx306. Post#224 Same numbers, same offer, but is a she. Still calling this morning. From this website: http://www.cppasia.com.my/eng/what/protection.htm
but when i click on the Logo " CPP Protection" (suppose to be home button), its jump to a U.K. website "http://www.cpp.co.uk/". mnIghtz
A.12. 03-23801961 & 0193992665 post #226 The 03 no. called me up and said from Takaful Amanah collaborate with Maybank Mastercard. They know my name and home address.... Said want to send my PA Insurance policy...They said, they don't sell, they just wanna activate only, RM300/year. (DAMN! here they got me lost). They ask for my next of kin, so I said my mom. They want her IC no, but I somehow forgot (LUCKY huh?). They ask for CC no. said want to confirm, then ask for exp date and num on back. DAMN IT, I give them the details. Then he said someone will confirm it with me. (FUNNY, we should at least here a music when we pass phone to our co-worker, but seem like he just pass it to next person). Later, I call Maybank Center to tell them about the Takaful Amanah and my "CARELESS" and he said MB never have these collaboration and he automatically cancel my card and MB will send replace card to my desire MB branch. Later on, the 019 no call me back asking of I already got my CC, he said my card is not valid (HAHAHA!). WTH!! Then I just said I don't want the PA. Just cancel it out. He said he will look into the matter. Then hours later, the 03 no. keeps calling me, I just ignore and turn on silent mode. smaelz83
A.13 03-23326983 & 03-23326984 post#247...promote MayBank VIP Credit Card...selected to apply this SPECIAL CC...asking the credit card expiry date...Second question, she asking my 16 digits number, I was numb. Thinking again, BANK should have all my information.danieltan
A.13a 23326984 post#274...Medic Lifestyle Card...straight away asked that which BANK is your VISA or MASTERCARD..ask for CC number, expiry date, and registered number (No. pendaftaran), i assume NRIC ck23
A.14 03 21741515 post#251 wants to confirm...my cards are still active..from service card centre kl offering...special protection card...they offer to courier it to my office address. Initially he only asked for: office address and ic number for verification..then he asked for my card expiration date. ah yes, the scammer even generous enough to give the so called Service Card Centre KL number : 03 22825786 AND his cell phone number 012 2359657 (alif) cyra
For Mobile Numbers Items B to D, please refer to Post #11 of this page.
BEWARE - Calling ID Spoofing. Please read below posts for your own good.
E.1 07-511282620 and 07-5561222, claiming from HLB and a police officer, posted at kopitiam by Yong_5290 Click here to read his story. If you read his thread, the number, the second number 5561222 really belongs to the police in Skudai!?? post#176 - said hong leong bank johor bahru, operation centre...tell me i got master card and default 3 months payment. but made mistake by saying RM XXXX.00 (zero sen, where got zero sen if didn't pay 3 months, don't charge interest ka? call hong leong and they couldn't find my information on their system. cannot call back this number. badai
Read also Post #181, bingozero got same type of call but with actual HLB CS number showing!
E.2. 03-26177722 post#207, from so call MBF bank that mention I had an outstanding of RMXXXX from my credit card which I don't have any credit service from MBF. I just check with BNM and there's is no such credit service and I assume it was a scam and I would like to inform LYN members to aware of such scam. PUPUMAMA . Post#200, I was spammed by this number 3 weeks ago. I have to tell you that the caller sounded so professional and I actually believed what he said. I was given a number to call , alleged Bank Negara number to lodge a formal complaint on credit card fraud. Luckily, I called up bank negara number from their official website, and they told me this is a spam. soul2soul
E.3. Post#231 - Got a call this morning from 60326128121 clams I have a outstanding witha UOB gold visa. own them rm8999. card issue jan, card no 5142193244505899. Card apply from pj up-town...... even ask me to drop by Jln raja laut to collect account info and make a police report. I call card center again 603-2612 8100(got this number online for lost or stolen card). no such account, double check with my ic I have no account with them. dreign
Repeat - A.7.a. 03-20267949, post#94, Miss wu from AEON Credit Card Center KL, she said that i "have" a gold card with credit limit 10k haven't paid for 3 month and AEON wanna sue me if i not pay.... but it got suspicious when, i said i wanna make a police report 1st since my ic is used in this application...miss wu kept telling me to call 03-27727300the dept of c.card fraud of Bank Negara. so that bank negara can issue a letter to cancel this card...I was like... can u just cancel the card... she kept saying kenot...need BNM approval... so was like... since when?...then she change subject... called aeon.... my ic number is not even in their database. Lord_darkslide
post#100 - some sort what smart card protection center under maybank.... lucky one chosen to get subscribed our services for free.... protect each of your cards privileges ...if i interested i will go to your main office apply....tak boleh encik, mana u pergi???? u tau mana office kita?? apa nama office kita?? ... but just now u said u under maybank so i'll call up maybank to ask ur office whereabout...tak boleh encik, kita bukan dari maybank, maybank tak tau mana kita punya office, kalau u nak subscribe u kena subscribe sekarang....(bahkutt3h).
Please read links below too posted by Malvo and janson_kaniaz post#13.
Please also read mikicun post#30 where his wife got an "Unknown" number stating that got problem with her transaction.
Please continue reading Post#11 for more numbers.
Take note - many people receiving calls regarding insurance e.g. Takaful. DO NOT release any personal info to anyone that calls you over the phone.
Click here to read my artilce Fraud Calls Relating To CC.
This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 11 2013, 11:29 PM
Suspicious Telephone Calls on CC matters, Report here & Read this if you got a CC
Apr 8 2011, 08:27 PM, updated 10y ago
0.0343sec