(M)otorola DEFY Official Thread V2, A tough phone for Android

figure8
post May 23 2011, 08:17 AM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ May 23 2011, 02:16 AM)
oh..motoblur slow yea.??? i never try it but kindda interested with its function..
try it 1st, later sure u wanna get rid all "blur" apps/features.
scott-lim
post May 23 2011, 10:11 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ May 22 2011, 06:53 PM)
notworthy.gif
wellcome2.

1. i think 2.1 dun have tether rite?
2. battery, so far without 3g ( wifi only) can last me nearly 18-20h moderate-heavy usage
3. software.. personal choice.. lor.. for me ebuddy is a must.. (YM,Fb,gtalk,msn), GPS.. papago x5, camera360®, MoboPlayer®, QuickPic®, Picsin®, Photowonder®,TubeMate®,Dolphin HD®, TuneIN®, Tape-a-Talk®, ES File Explorer®, MyQuran®, Dua Azkar®, Ultimath®, BrainwaveTuner®
and some more.. but thats above is a must  biggrin.gif

4. MIUI is a great2 ROM to go.. wont regret choose it.  thumbup.gif
thanks for reply...

1) yes i had used thther.. and can be connected to internet
2) yesterday i took the phone out full charge at 2pm... and it only last me till 1030... (kind of sad)
3) Software.. still checking.. i see my friend using MSN DROID X on Galaxy S but i cant find on andriod market
4) MIUI... have to check..

Added on May 23, 2011, 10:13 am
QUOTE(kysham @ May 22 2011, 08:12 PM)
Use as modem like tethering using USB cable? Try PDAnet. If not, can use the built-in 3G wifi app.  thumbup.gif
thanks bro... already solved the problem

Added on May 23, 2011, 10:17 am
QUOTE(tyenfei @ May 22 2011, 08:29 PM)
Welcome bro  biggrin.gif  Name added to owner list

My answer to your question as below  laugh.gif

1. Wifi Hospot always work, but if u mean using USB cable then need something like "PDAnet".

2. Hm.. this really depend on personal usage, but new phone new battery performance will increase after 1~2 week of usage. Of cause upgrade to froyo 2.2, GingerBread 2.3 and some tweak will increase the battery power also.

3. For me .. hmm.gif  "must have software" is titanium backup, papago x5, 3D gallery, Quickoffice, WhatsApp, AdFree, Talking Hippo and more more more ...  laugh.gif

4. Got official update but not here .. and most of us here doesn't care much coz some of us tasted GingerBread jor  thumbup.gif
thanks bro..

1) Solved d...
2) Intersted to find out more.. can't wait for official 2.2
3) i have papago x5 pre install. will it be using more battery ?
4) tell me more about 3.0 or 3.1... defy can support?

This post has been edited by scott-lim: May 23 2011, 10:17 AM
TAGreptiles
post May 23 2011, 10:28 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

Anyone has the GSM Fix for malaysian baseband? for CM7?
blackwhitechipsKL
post May 23 2011, 10:38 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(scott-lim @ May 23 2011, 10:11 AM)
thanks for reply...

1) yes i had used thther.. and can be connected to internet
2) yesterday i took the phone out full charge at 2pm... and it only last me till 1030... (kind of sad)
3) Software.. still checking.. i see my friend using MSN DROID X on Galaxy S but i cant find on andriod market
4) MIUI... have to check..

Added on May 23, 2011, 10:13 am

thanks bro... already solved the problem

Added on May 23, 2011, 10:17 am

thanks bro..

1) Solved d...
2) Intersted to find out more.. can't wait for official 2.2
3) i have papago x5 pre install. will it be using more battery ?
4) tell me more about 3.0 or 3.1... defy can support?
Gingerbread is 2.3, not 3.0 or 3.1, and it's already out there with CM7. you can wait for official 2.2, but frankly speaking, unless you are uneasy with all the techno stuffs, learn how to flash and install new ROMS.

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 23 2011, 10:28 AM)
CM7 has a baseband switcher built-in. switch it to UK or some region with the same band
TAGreptiles
post May 23 2011, 11:15 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

keep losing 3G signal la. which UK one you guys use that is stable? One that does not lose 3G signal once in a while.

UK got

Which one to use?
blackwhitechipsKL
post May 23 2011, 11:30 AM

330 posts

you're talking about sbf base or baseband?? i'm using 3.4.3-111 base but i'm using uk baseband for signal.

open your apps drawer, look for Defy baseband, and then set your baseband to UK and see if it helps.
TAGreptiles
post May 23 2011, 12:14 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

the problem is there's 3 UK basebands.

UK 34.0.3
UK 34.0.114
UK 2.51.1

and there's also T-mobile 3 basebands

Added on May 23, 2011, 12:16 pmhmm. I just updated to the nightly build and there's a new version of baseband switcher. so i use 900mhz/2100mhz then should be ok?

This post has been edited by TAGreptiles: May 23 2011, 12:16 PM
scott-lim
post May 23 2011, 12:19 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ May 23 2011, 11:38 AM)
Gingerbread is 2.3, not 3.0 or 3.1, and it's already out there with CM7. you can wait for official 2.2, but frankly speaking, unless you are uneasy with all the techno stuffs, learn how to flash and install new ROMS.

i heard that will spoiled the warranty, besides.. i am really not a techno savvy person.. unless i have a sifu beside me then i dare to try..
TAGreptiles
post May 23 2011, 12:22 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

Just do only la. Some of the users here on LYN even send in a unit for warranty with custom rom, the tech people just close one eye.
TStyenfei
post May 23 2011, 12:54 PM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 23 2011, 12:14 PM)

UK 34.0.3
UK 34.0.114
UK 2.51.1

Added on May 23, 2011, 12:16 pmhmm. I just updated to the nightly build and there's a new version of baseband switcher. so i use 900mhz/2100mhz then should be ok?
try the UK 2.51.1

i'm using HK/ Europe 2.51 for froyo 2.2
efariz
post May 23 2011, 02:14 PM

Network Engineer To Be
1,030 posts

hi..anyone know where can i get dock for my defy.???
eveready
post May 23 2011, 03:41 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 23 2011, 10:28 AM)
For me, I just adb push manually the files reside in /system/etc/motorola/bp_nvm_default/ (then change the permission chown 644 all those files)
the files taken from SEA 2.59 sbf.
I believe that is what the baseband app do.
blackwhitechipsKL
post May 23 2011, 04:54 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 23 2011, 12:14 PM)

UK 34.0.3
UK 34.0.114
UK 2.51.1

haha, sorry didnt realise it. i was actually using tmobile 3.4.4 but switch to international 2.51 but at the end of the day, just switch and see how lor. no problem then use lor, if problem, switch to another one. no worries!

**worst case, flash again!! tongue.gif
iamKiet
post May 23 2011, 04:54 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ May 23 2011, 11:15 AM)
keep losing 3G signal la. which UK one you guys use that is stable? One that does not lose 3G signal once in a while.

UK got

Which one to use?
2.51.1 works best for me thumbup.gif
LeoWillis
post May 23 2011, 06:44 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(theBigO @ May 23 2011, 01:41 AM)
Just loving Miui rom....
[attachmentid=2229911][attachmentid=2229912][attachmentid=2229914][attachmentid=2229916]
So MIUI better or CM7 ?? rclxub.gif

i'm thinking of flashing one of them.
adz83
post May 23 2011, 07:13 PM

424 posts

guys. my apologies if i missed it. but i dun find any real-life reference on the camera performance by LYN user. most of the review was on how tough the phone was but none about the camera performance. either using stock ROM or custom.
thanks in advance and my apologies again. notworthy.gif
blackwhitechipsKL
post May 23 2011, 07:28 PM

330 posts

camera is not really good on Defy. iPhone camera is far superior
adz83
post May 23 2011, 08:01 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ May 23 2011, 07:28 PM)
camera is not really good on Defy. iPhone camera is far superior
u mean it's not acceptable at all? hmm.gif
blackwhitechipsKL
post May 23 2011, 08:09 PM

330 posts

not acceptable at all is too strong lah. it's ok, but if you expect good camera, then cannot lah. under good lighting, camera works well, but under low light condition, you have to flash it, or pictures will be dark. and of course, i personally hate taking pictures with flash as it washes out the ambience and everything. iphone has very good low light picture capabilities
Long88
post May 23 2011, 08:18 PM

On my way home
1,416 posts

its ok la..iphone 4 is not as tough as this phone..
ive seen review that some people use iphone then change to defy..
and they love it..thats is why i buy defy too..

both phone have pros and cons..so chill!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Long88: May 23 2011, 08:19 PM

113 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0284sec    1.05    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:03 PM