113 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V10, FREE Installation Fee & SAVE RM200!!!

guardioo
post Jun 7 2011, 09:16 AM

360 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jun 6 2011, 10:11 PM)
Could you try it for a few days and post some feedback?
I'm particularly interested to know if the download station is switch on 24/7 for BT, does it affect stability?
Also if it is possible for the download station to store to NAS instead of attaching a HDD to it.
Let me get you the feedback.

If you hit 1-2 TB in just 1 week.

Good luck by getting throttle to 1MB.

My friend recently hitting 3-4 TB in just 1 week and 3 days, and he does get throttle by heavily abuse using torrent.

Please do note this is just rumor as i had no idea why become like this.
Icehart
post Jun 7 2011, 09:18 AM

14,897 posts

TM unifi called me just now for installation but sadly my house is not fit and ready for installation yet sad.gif
BuFung
post Jun 7 2011, 09:19 AM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jun 7 2011, 09:18 AM)
TM unifi called me just now for installation but sadly my house is not fit and ready for installation yet sad.gif
why? ur house in reno?
aaronlim
post Jun 7 2011, 09:25 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jun 7 2011, 09:19 AM)
why?  ur house in reno?
Ya lo..why? if reno, did they called you 2 days before coming..asking you whether yr house under reno?
fx_53_xt
post Jun 7 2011, 10:19 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(aaronlim @ Jun 7 2011, 08:37 AM)
FX,
I've yet to put in the custom firmware to the Asus.  Initially I planned to use this Asus for torrenting using ext HDD via USB.  But it is just USB 2.0. wish it is 3.0.

From KLSeet's site, it only download not upload.

Then I decided to have a NAS which has bittorrent built-in. Today is the 4th day.  Being using it with stock DIR 615 24/7 without any problem. (with fan of course)

Since I got the Asus, I will use this and the DIR 615 as spare.

From the manual, it seems the Asus download master can be used with USB attached.  not to NAS.

Vegas,

So far I can see is Torrent can have 500+kbs of download speed.. anyone can get higher?
It also depends on number of seeds avail and also if using local pc, best to use wired or wireless N.

Will try out the usb and let u know.
I dont really mind about the USB 2.0. Heck i doubt even if the RM180 router comes with USB 3.0, it is capable of read/write to the HDD that fast. I've thought about NAS with BT capabilities. But the price blows my budget.

QUOTE(guardioo @ Jun 7 2011, 09:16 AM)
Let me get you the feedback.

If you hit 1-2 TB in just 1 week.

Good luck by getting throttle to 1MB.

My friend recently hitting 3-4 TB in just 1 week and 3 days, and he does get throttle by heavily abuse using torrent.

Please do note this is just rumor as i had no idea why become like this.
funny your feedback does not help answering my question a single bit but mocking out of nowhere.
and just to humour you, i'll be damn happy if TM cap me at 1MBps for VIP5. And no, even with 20Mbps running at 24/7 at full speed, he wouldn't be able to download more than 2TB in 10 days.

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Jun 7 2011, 12:20 PM
bizness
post Jun 7 2011, 10:23 AM

✓ Always Closing
1,562 posts

TM just reached my house and I brought them to my room for installation but they told me we going to use VDSL2 since my area not yet pull fiber optic..

I was like WTF!..lol

I'm getting 20Mb package cause I need to some hosting and they wanna use VDSL2?..The ping will definitely be high right guys?..

Anyway let them install if im not satisfied im gonna screw TM for giving me VDSL2 instead of FTTH..

Thanks smile.gif
aaronlim
post Jun 7 2011, 11:06 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jun 7 2011, 10:19 AM)
I dont really mind about the USB 2.0. Heck i doubt even if the RM180 router comes with USB 3.0, it is capable of read/write to the HDD that fast. I've thought about NAS with BT capabilities. But the price blows my budget.

What is yr budget? I think single bay NAS from Dlink will cost about 130 and 1TB hdd abt 170. But not sure this one has bittorrent....
fx_53_xt
post Jun 7 2011, 11:06 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(bizness @ Jun 7 2011, 10:23 AM)
TM just reached my house and I brought them to my room for installation but they told me we going to use VDSL2 since my area not yet pull fiber optic..

I was like WTF!..lol

I'm getting 20Mb package cause I need to some hosting and they wanna use VDSL2?..The ping will definitely be high right guys?..

Anyway let them install if im not satisfied im gonna screw TM for giving me VDSL2 instead of FTTH..

Thanks smile.gif
why would VDSL2 causes high latency?
VDSL/FTTH is just method of delivery. performance wise its all up to TM's backbone.
mdlan
post Jun 7 2011, 11:34 AM

123 posts

TM technician has come and fixed my unifi problem, the problem is cable and the box outside my home..
my current speed

extra 9mb/s speed for the download?? but seem upload speed to be slow..
fx_53_xt
post Jun 7 2011, 11:46 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(aaronlim @ Jun 7 2011, 11:06 AM)
What is yr budget? I think single bay NAS from Dlink will cost about 130 and 1TB hdd abt 170.  But not sure this one has bittorrent....
i've read really aweful performance on the D-link NAS, and no it doesn't have BT. i gotten myself a seagate NAS for RM299 including HDD but it was without BT too.
I was thinking to hook up my old atom netbook for downloading but then Asus came out with this interesting firmware biggrin.gif
anechoic
post Jun 7 2011, 11:53 AM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jun 7 2011, 11:06 AM)
VDSL/FTTH is just method of delivery. performance wise its all up to TM's backbone.
vdsl will have higher ping due to copper wire use..just abit more lor 10-20ms..

vergas
post Jun 7 2011, 11:58 AM

1,488 posts

QUOTE(aaronlim @ Jun 7 2011, 08:37 AM)
Vegas,

So far I can see is Torrent can have 500+kbs of download speed.. anyone can get higher?
It also depends on number of seeds avail and also if using local pc, best to use wired or wireless N.

Will try out the usb and let u know.
Isn't 500+kbs reasonable for VIP 5? Say 5Mb / 8 = 625kbs, say at 80% = 500kbs?
bizness
post Jun 7 2011, 12:15 PM

✓ Always Closing
1,562 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jun 7 2011, 11:06 AM)
This is my speedtest...

Abit dissapointed on the ping..I need to call TM now and inform them about this..

The ping is way higher than my Streamyx 1Mbps package..

Thanks smile.gif
aaronlim
post Jun 7 2011, 12:28 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(vergas @ Jun 7 2011, 11:58 AM)
Isn't 500+kbs reasonable for VIP 5? Say 5Mb / 8 = 625kbs, say at 80% = 500kbs?
I just try on 5 torrents at 1 go.. one of the torrent went up to > 300kbs for a while..but average total 500+... later I would try > 5 torrents. It depends on the seeds too.. last nite.. download 1 torrent of 8 gb. finish within 12hrs.
fx_53_xt
post Jun 7 2011, 12:30 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(bizness @ Jun 7 2011, 12:15 PM)
This is my speedtest...

Abit dissapointed on the ping..I need to call TM now and inform them about this..

Thanks smile.gif
Here's mine on fiber. Did you turn off all networking programs when doing the test?
dimenxion
post Jun 7 2011, 12:39 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(bizness @ Jun 7 2011, 12:15 PM)
This is my speedtest...

Thanks smile.gif
what numbers do u expect to appear in ping result?
Icehart
post Jun 7 2011, 12:49 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jun 7 2011, 09:19 AM)
why?  ur house in reno?
Yalo, stupid contractor delay the renovation.

QUOTE(aaronlim @ Jun 7 2011, 09:25 AM)
Ya lo..why?  if reno, did they called you 2 days before coming..asking you whether yr house under reno?
They called me today, the actual installation date is on 11th June. Any penalty if I postpone the installation? Will I still be eligible for the promotion of free installation and one month waive?
shyghost
post Jun 7 2011, 12:59 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(ping325 @ Jun 6 2011, 07:27 PM)
finally i can install my unifi this thursday....my original appointment is supposed to be july @@ ....have to pay insider to get the job done ... rclxm9.gif
Pay insider? They called me twice for an early installation but i declined, no payment invovled... My appointment is on the 1st of July.
sg999
post Jun 7 2011, 01:14 PM

1,027 posts

TM PPL is putting the fiber distribution box up to telephone pole now. kinrara area. last 2 week the FDB was just hanging halfway. 2day they "officially" put up.haha.dun know when can use.
anechoic
post Jun 7 2011, 02:11 PM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jun 7 2011, 12:49 PM)
Yalo, stupid contractor delay the renovation.
They called me today, the actual installation date is on 11th June. Any penalty if I postpone the installation? Will I still be eligible for the promotion of free installation and one month waive?
Inform them early if you want to change date. Else they may penalise you.

113 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:24 AM