709 Pages « < 609 610 611 612 613 > » Bottom

SSPN, Skim Simpanan Pendidikan Nasional

leanman
post Mar 7 2024, 02:30 PM

Da LYN Man
2,251 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Mar 7 2024, 02:03 PM)
I have maxed out 8k every year (mostly 16k since both for myself and wife) since opening accounts when the kids were babies.

If you're asking whether the tax relief of 8k is worth it.... it's about RM2k less I have to pay to government at my tax bracket. And its not like every other tax relief where you actually have to spend and buy something, its literally putting aside savings for your kid's education. The dividend used to be decent too, now seems a bit worse, but lose 1% on there is not an issue when gaining 2k every year from tax relief plus additional 1% on full amount during ganjaran kesetiaan month.

Roughly calculating, definitely the dividend + ganjaran over the years is 20+k so far. Income tax benefit slightly more, maybe 25k between me and spouse. That's total roughly one third of the amount I had in the account as of 31st December 2023. Most of the ganjaran is from pumping a few hundred k just for those months la, but as you can see the income tax benefit is more worth (obviously, it's at 26% for me, compared to ganjaran 1%, but ganjaran is much much higher cap).

Another way of putting it, I saved X amount for my kids over the past 10 years, and due to income tax benefit and dividen and ganjaran I now have X+50% saved up. Bitcoin/AAPL/NVDA would have given more of course, but this is savings not investment.
one more way of looking at at is you deposit the whole RM 8k at mid of Dec yearly and by early Apr (around 3.5 months later ) you actually getting a one off 25% return, also based on the above mentioned tax bracket. Subsequently, you will be getting the standard return of about 3+%
mikeeeee
post Mar 7 2024, 09:19 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Mar 7 2024, 02:30 PM)
one more way of looking at at is you deposit the whole RM 8k at mid of Dec yearly and by early Apr (around 3.5 months later ) you actually getting a one off 25% return, also based on the above mentioned tax bracket. Subsequently, you will be getting the standard return of about 3+%
Based on your example, you don't get 3%

What you get is 3/12 of 3% and you only get that on next year dividend

For the deposit during mid Dec last year, u get no dividen.
leanman
post Mar 8 2024, 08:56 AM

Da LYN Man
2,251 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Mar 7 2024, 09:19 PM)
Based on your example, you don't get 3%

What you get is 3/12 of 3% and you only get that on next year dividend

For the deposit during mid Dec last year, u get no dividen.
you are right on that for that year but i mentioned "subsequently" obviously is for next year. There is no such good deal where you deposit in Dec and you are entitle to a whole year's dividend biggrin.gif
togekiss
post Mar 8 2024, 09:13 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Mar 7 2024, 02:03 PM)
I have maxed out 8k every year (mostly 16k since both for myself and wife) since opening accounts when the kids were babies.

If you're asking whether the tax relief of 8k is worth it.... it's about RM2k less I have to pay to government at my tax bracket. And its not like every other tax relief where you actually have to spend and buy something, its literally putting aside savings for your kid's education. The dividend used to be decent too, now seems a bit worse, but lose 1% on there is not an issue when gaining 2k every year from tax relief plus additional 1% on full amount during ganjaran kesetiaan month.

Roughly calculating, definitely the dividend + ganjaran over the years is 20+k so far. Income tax benefit slightly more, maybe 25k between me and spouse. That's total roughly one third of the amount I had in the account as of 31st December 2023. Most of the ganjaran is from pumping a few hundred k just for those months la, but as you can see the income tax benefit is more worth (obviously, it's at 26% for me, compared to ganjaran 1%, but ganjaran is much much higher cap).

Another way of putting it, I saved X amount for my kids over the past 10 years, and due to income tax benefit and dividen and ganjaran I now have X+50% saved up. Bitcoin/AAPL/NVDA would have given more of course, but this is savings not investment.
thanks for sharing the numbers & calculations.
aubergine6958
post Mar 8 2024, 02:36 PM

214 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by aubergine6958: Mar 8 2024, 02:58 PM
Jack&Guild
post Mar 8 2024, 08:25 PM

631 posts

QUOTE(sagethesausage @ Mar 7 2024, 12:17 PM)
I just did it.

Very long. 14 business days.

Never keep emergency money in sspn.
So long waiting time nowadays. Last year we could cash out online and received the money on the next day.
guy3288
post Mar 9 2024, 01:43 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Jack&Guild @ Mar 8 2024, 08:25 PM)
So long waiting time nowadays. Last year we could cash out online and received the money on the next day.
fastest way is transfer tru bank islam instantly
Barricade
post Mar 10 2024, 09:43 AM

4,147 posts

How do we know which deposit is reflected? We deposit from shopeepay/kiplepay etc but all came out the same description in the statement? How do we troubleshoot in case deposit is missing?
MGM
post Mar 10 2024, 10:51 AM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 10 2024, 09:43 AM)
How do we know which deposit is reflected? We deposit from shopeepay/kiplepay etc but all came out the same description in the statement? How do we troubleshoot in case deposit is missing?
Use diff amount like 990,991,992....999 for same day transaction. Now more difficult cos no longer stated transaction date.

This post has been edited by MGM: Mar 10 2024, 10:54 AM
winmxbb
post Mar 10 2024, 02:15 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 10 2024, 10:51 AM)
Use diff amount like 990,991,992....999 for same day transaction. Now more difficult cos no longer stated transaction date.
1st day 999
2nd day 999

when only in 999, u also dun know who
guy3288
post Mar 10 2024, 02:52 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 10 2024, 09:43 AM)
QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 10 2024, 10:51 AM)
QUOTE(winmxbb @ Mar 10 2024, 02:15 PM)
1st day 999
2nd day 999

when only in 999, u also dun know who
bro i dont know why you guys said cannot identify which deposits from shopee and
which is from kiple..funny

i login mine, i can see there stated kiple etc

i can even tell you which date i did transaction which date system recorded it.
no issue at all

issue now is how dividend calculated when system recorded them later and not transaction dates
Say only...you believe them ? dividend calculation will use actual transaction date, mana ada logic?

Barricade
post Mar 10 2024, 03:56 PM

4,147 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 10 2024, 02:52 PM)
bro  i dont know why  you guys said cannot identify which deposits from shopee and

i  login mine, i can see there stated kiple etc

i can even tell you which date i  did transaction which date system recorded it.
no issue at all

issue now is how dividend calculated when system  recorded them later and not  transaction dates
Say only...you believe them ? dividend calculation will use actual transaction date, mana ada logic?
Cause we are checking from mobile app. Didn't know website has different view. Thanks for sharing.
MGM
post Mar 10 2024, 04:19 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 10 2024, 02:52 PM)
bro  i dont know why  you guys said cannot identify which deposits from shopee and

i  login mine, i can see there stated kiple etc

i can even tell you which date i  did transaction which date system recorded it.
no issue at all

issue now is how dividend calculated when system  recorded them later and not  transaction dates
For me I couldn't be bothered much about dividend cos of this issue. Would do deposits together then withdraw all n put in other interest generating tools many of which r giving 3 to 4%.

This post has been edited by MGM: Mar 10 2024, 04:20 PM
LostAndFound
post Mar 10 2024, 10:03 PM

6,262 posts

Is Kiplepay SSPN topup now limited to 499?
Barricade
post Mar 10 2024, 10:44 PM

4,147 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Mar 10 2024, 10:03 PM)
Yes
cybpsych
post Mar 11 2024, 09:18 AM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Mar 10 2024, 10:03 PM)
started this month

if you wash RM1k cc to sspn, do 2 times lor. suffer 2xRM1 fee only.

by the time we keep abusing this ewallet, sooner or later, they reduce to RM100 bye.gif mega_shok.gif

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Mar 11 2024, 09:18 AM
ronnie
post Mar 11 2024, 09:56 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Mar 11 2024, 09:18 AM)
started this month

if you wash RM1k cc to sspn, do 2 times lor. suffer 2xRM1 fee only.
by the time we keep abusing this ewallet, sooner or later, they reduce to RM100  bye.gif  mega_shok.gif
agree....soon no more.
virtualgay
post Mar 11 2024, 10:07 AM

3,268 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 11 2024, 09:56 AM)
agree....soon no more.
still got shopee but we will see when they take action lo...
kochin
post Mar 11 2024, 11:04 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

what is the advantage of topping up using shoppee?
cybpsych
post Mar 11 2024, 11:37 AM

---------------------
65,283 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Mar 11 2024, 11:04 AM)
what is the advantage of topping up using shoppee?
utilize coins?

709 Pages « < 609 610 611 612 613 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:18 AM