prophetjul
post Aug 18 2011, 09:57 AM

12,269 posts

QUOTE(lustman @ Aug 18 2011, 09:47 AM)
did you know.....

yes, there's no income from gold BUT the capital gain itself is much higher than other investment instruments UNLESS if you're talking about a million ringgit worth, then i'd diversify some to properties.

what do you think?
You mean the returns on investment is higher?

Why a million ringgit worth? What if a million is only 10% of your net worth? biggrin.gif
GoldChan
post Aug 18 2011, 10:24 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(jimmyay @ Aug 18 2011, 09:15 AM)
What is Bank Negara policy on GIA? Does the bank need to buy certain % of gold to back the amount of GIA deposit they have?

I still go for paper gold for many reasons. And the main reason for physical gold is when uncertainty happen such as war/govt collapse/bank collapse/etc. Like many already said, if those events happened... we have much BIGGER THINGS to worry about.
I do agree that if our banking system fails, all things will crumble. What is going to happen to Ringgit Msia? What is going to happen to our money in the bank (FD/Current & so so). If Msia govt can't save the bank, how certain PIDM can save us?
I doubt one can ever find out the % of gold backing for GIA. If one can provide the info + proof, I give away RM100/- straight away. First Come First Served.
GIA maybe just hedge by paper gold held in foreign exchange.

FYI, GIA is not protected under PIDM.

Added on August 18, 2011, 10:32 am
QUOTE(trumpfnx @ Aug 17 2011, 06:18 PM)
they say there will be a correction in coming and the gold price will drop to $1600/$1650 per oz.

Anyone knows what's the correction ?

and found this article
http://www.mineweb.com/mineweb/view/minewe...tail&pid=102055

also saying gold price will be at $1600 level in Q4 2011.
I think CME will raise the gold future contract margin from 4-5% now to about 6-8% at 23-26th August 2011 when the gold contract delivery is about to expiry. Current margin for silver is about 10%. This will cause gold price to go down.
I could be wrong.

This post has been edited by GoldChan: Aug 18 2011, 10:33 AM
poyol
post Aug 18 2011, 10:34 AM

481 posts

erm..this might be a daft question..but what does the term "spread" mean?

EDIT: ok nvm i found out already..lol

This post has been edited by poyol: Aug 18 2011, 10:42 AM
1host.my
post Aug 18 2011, 10:56 AM

65 posts

deleted.

This post has been edited by 1host.my: Aug 18 2011, 10:56 AM
azizulego
post Aug 18 2011, 11:09 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(jimmyay @ Aug 18 2011, 09:15 AM)
What is Bank Negara policy on GIA? Does the bank need to buy certain % of gold to back the amount of GIA deposit they have?

I still go for paper gold for many reasons. And the main reason for physical gold is when uncertainty happen such as war/govt collapse/bank collapse/etc. Like many already said, if those events happened... we have much BIGGER THINGS to worry about.
I do agree that if our banking system fails, all things will crumble. What is going to happen to Ringgit Msia? What is going to happen to our money in the bank (FD/Current & so so). If Msia govt can't save the bank, how certain PIDM can save us?
Very easy to save bank from collapse... Just print more Ringgit.... and bail out the bank(like the US did).
PIDM... easy... how much much your lost? Just print more Ringgit....

At the end people will suffers the most. With current Malaysian Leader even make me lost faith...

trumpfnx
post Aug 18 2011, 11:11 AM

59 posts

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../INV-Investment

Better Protection: Investments in MGIA are fully backed by physical gold deposited in PAMP S.A.

Maybank GIA is protected by PAMP deposit as stated. How true is that, I have no idea. However so far only Maybank state this statment in their page, other banks like Public Bank / UOB did not mention at word about physical gold.

Added on August 18, 2011, 11:38 amYou can print more paper money, however you cannot "create" more gold.. (ok, you can create paper gold). That's why gold has value there. When a day comes where human no longer demands for gold, the gold's value will be like a paper money too..

But, will human ever lost interest in gold ? Gold is treated as luxury item every corner in the world, and by this, we give value to the gold.

This post has been edited by trumpfnx: Aug 18 2011, 11:39 AM
insaint708
post Aug 18 2011, 01:06 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(trumpfnx @ Aug 18 2011, 11:11 AM)

Better Protection: Investments in MGIA are fully backed by physical gold deposited in PAMP S.A.

Maybank GIA is protected by PAMP deposit as stated. How true is that, I have no idea. However so far only Maybank state this statment in their page, other banks like Public Bank / UOB did not mention at word about physical gold.

Added on August 18, 2011, 11:38 amYou can print more paper money, however you cannot "create" more gold.. (ok, you can create paper gold). That's why gold has value there. When a day comes where human no longer demands for gold, the gold's value will be like a paper money too..

But, will human ever lost interest in gold ? Gold is treated as luxury item every corner in the world, and by this, we give value to the gold.
It is good to have protected.. but Maybank's spread is much higher..
Up to you whether you want to be protected or pay high spread hmm.gif
cybermaster98
post Aug 18 2011, 01:46 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(lustman @ Aug 18 2011, 08:22 AM)
for you to ponder.....

"there is no income from gold; it is all capital gain/loss. History shows that the reinvestment of dividends can add a significant turbo boost to returns in the long run. However gold offers no such addition to capital gain and, unless it goes up in price, you make a loss in real terms."

so, what do you think?
Yes gold doesnt give you interest like other investmen schemes. So unless gold appreciates, your money is stuck. But u must also remember that returns on gold based on the past 10 years, have been significant. Gold prices have appreciated 30% since i bought 1 year ago. No other legitimate investment gives you such high possibility of returns. Of course with these returns there also comes high risk in the volatility of the gold price. So like i said earlier, dont put all your eggs in 1 basket.

jimmyay
post Aug 18 2011, 03:02 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(trumpfnx @ Aug 18 2011, 11:11 AM)

Maybank states :-
The maximum amount of gold that can be sold by me/us(Maybank) will be limited to the actual balance of the gold for the time being held in my/our MGIA as recorded in the Bank’s books and records, so that no gold shall be oversold by me/us and my/our MGIA shall never be allowed to show any oversold balance.

Hmm... only Maybank is saying that huh... wink.gif
FrancescoTop8
post Aug 18 2011, 06:15 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 18 2011, 01:46 PM)
Yes gold doesnt give you interest like other investmen schemes. So unless gold appreciates, your money is stuck. But u must also remember that returns on gold based on the past 10 years, have been significant. Gold prices have appreciated 30% since i bought 1 year ago. No other legitimate investment gives you such high possibility of returns. Of course with these returns there also comes high risk in the volatility of the gold price. So like i said earlier, dont put all your eggs in 1 basket.
Kencana petroleum unit trust yields almost 30% per year.

It`s all depends on your stomach.
If your stomach cannot churn much risks or volatility, go for diversity or play safe.

For adventurous and Gung-ho player, high risks = high profit.
All eggs in a basket not bad at all, depends on your preference and blood(most important). flex.gif

echoesian
post Aug 18 2011, 06:30 PM

3,294 posts

Tomorrow FGJAM increases to RM210/gm haha
monsta2011
post Aug 18 2011, 06:35 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(FrancescoTop8 @ Aug 18 2011, 06:15 PM)
Kencana petroleum unit trust yields almost 30% per year.
er I thought Kencana Petroleum is a stock?
TruthHurts
post Aug 18 2011, 07:23 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(azizulego @ Aug 18 2011, 11:09 AM)
Very easy to save bank from collapse...  Just print more Ringgit.... and bail out the bank(like the US did).
PIDM... easy... how much much your lost? Just print more Ringgit....

At the end people will suffers the most. With current Malaysian Leader even make me lost faith...
The more they print, the more its value drop. Same like the US, bail out cash printed but then the USD value drop.
Not long our RM will be like Rupiah. a Lot and Worthless.
nick.woocs
post Aug 18 2011, 08:06 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 18 2011, 06:30 PM)
wait till i buy another 100g 1st drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
lustman
post Aug 18 2011, 08:34 PM

256 posts

what FGJAM price has got to do with buying gold bullion unless you want to buy jewelleries rclxub.gif

totally irrelevent doh.gif

This post has been edited by lustman: Aug 18 2011, 08:36 PM
spikyz
post Aug 18 2011, 08:50 PM

1,341 posts

anyway, an animation about US debt..however it does mention about the worthless fiat paper as well.. and it potray what i say earlier..which is.

u know d danger is coming, public and other investor know as well->many of you rush to bank to change ur gold paper to physical->bank didnt grant ur permission and closed their branch that day. heck i dont think each branch have gold in their vault anyway. and if u go to HQ, is there any guarantee they have enough for all of you?

k-bkeat
post Aug 18 2011, 08:51 PM

2,201 posts

now is the right time to buy gold? btw where u guys bought it?
TruthHurts
post Aug 18 2011, 08:52 PM

653 posts

Of course la. When the gold sell at rm150/g the sold their gold at rm180/g. Now the gold is about rm172/g the price of rm210/g is set incase the gold rise to rm180/g.. me thinks their spread is rm30.
jun16
post Aug 18 2011, 09:05 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Aug 18 2011, 08:51 PM)
now is the right time to buy gold? btw where u guys bought it?
+1 will u guys loaded up at this price?i planning to open an account 2moro at uob...
monsta2011
post Aug 18 2011, 09:30 PM

432 posts

I still cant imagine living in a world without the use of paper money. How inconvenience is that? blush.gif How are we going to buy a 30cen stamp with gold? 1g is already worth RM172. RM0.30 = 2 mili grams, when a small wind comes the next thing u know is..... wala bye bye biggrin.gif

121 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:02 AM