5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Buying Gold As Investment V2, 2011 Gold Rush From Oil Hype

lustman
post Jul 7 2011, 09:38 PM

256 posts

always remember, buying gold or silver is not investment. it's to preserve your wealth.

the price of gold yes will goes up but the value is still the same. buying low and sell high is just a bonus for you. once you sell and want to buy again usually it will be higher than you sell.

you have to wait some time to go down again and it may also won't go down, so you have no choice to buy high.

if you want to invest, go for future gold/silver trading, just like forex or stock market.

my 2 cents.

Added on July 7, 2011, 9:40 pm
QUOTE(FrancescoTop8 @ Jul 6 2011, 11:44 PM)
1.) Heard rumours that Kijang Emas produced from Malaysia`s very own gold, not imported from other country.
And, Malaysia`s gold are high quality compared to others.
E.g : Malaysia, Brunei & Libya oil are very high quality compared to Saudi`s.  Mostly used for aeronautical & sophisticated engineering.
When U.S attack Libya, oil supply were halted although Libya only exported small percentage of world`s oil consumption.
That because, Libya`s oil are real gem of oil(The black gold). Get the ideas why U.S & Europe hit Gaddafi like crazy.
2.) Kijang Emas & Dinar Kelantan also from virgin gold, not scrap gold like several manufacturers.
I do own Turkiye gold but after suspicious that it not from virgin gold, i release most of my Turkiye gold. I also heard the same case from private manufacturers like Public Gold. 

3.) Owning a Kijang Emas like owning a real value of Malaysia.
Since most wealthy countries backed their currency with gold reserves, thus owning Kijang Emas means u have part of Malaysia harta. brows.gif

4.) Kijang Emas also rarely manufactured because it only used gold from Malaysia soil.
Same like Dinar Kelantan which only produced from Kelantan`s very own gold. 
That`s the reason why kijang Emas & Dinar Kelantan not easily available.

Bear in mind that all of my statements above are rumours/hearsay and not backed by facts. icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
FYI, Kelantan Dinar is not produced in Kelantan but Dubai Emirates Gold.

This post has been edited by lustman: Jul 7 2011, 09:40 PM
lustman
post Jul 8 2011, 10:54 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Jul 8 2011, 08:46 AM)
If U R not familiar with future trading, don;'t go. Especially if you go on margin, it 's a guarantee way to lose all your $$$.

The only sure way to beat Precious Metal is by doing your own business.
E.g. expand your restaurant business, h/p business etc.
I 2nd that but still need to do lots of due diligence. Many people fail in business (all kinds).

lustman
post Jul 9 2011, 12:43 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(smokymcpot @ Jul 8 2011, 03:52 PM)
Anyone know where I can find a reputable site or person that sells 5gm gold bars? Thanks
http://www.nubex.com.my/index.php?cPath=1

http://www.kfh.com.my/kfhmb/
lustman
post Jul 9 2011, 09:44 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(wysiwyg17 @ Jul 9 2011, 06:05 PM)
wow, now at usd 1500... how fwr it will go? isn't it too expensve to buy?
it's never too expensive to buy. I've learned that very valuable lesson 3 years ago.
lustman
post Jul 10 2011, 09:31 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(wysiwyg17 @ Jul 10 2011, 08:25 AM)

think of gold coins at UOB or Maybank... low spread... new... original... avoid counterfeits... just went to UOB and TO geT some gold... bought AUSSIEs... the maple come is plastic wrap... the officer said, make sure the plastic cover is not DAMAGE,torn, poked etc. or they will not accept when u want to exchaNGE BACK TO CASH... wwwaaaaaa..... for those having maple be careful aaahhhhh laugh.gif
Do the Australian Nuggets come with plastic seal?
lustman
post Jul 11 2011, 10:24 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(FrancescoTop8 @ Jul 11 2011, 05:59 PM)
OUB
7/7/2011  : Bank Selling (RM150/g)...... World Gold Price : USD1528
11/7/2011 : Bank Selling (RM150.9/g)... World Gold Price : USD1543
- Difference RM0.90 for USD15 world gold price appreciate.

KFH
7/7/2011  : Bank Selling (RM153.18/g)...World Gold Price : USD1528
11/7/2011 : Bank Selling (RM154.61/g)... World Gold Price :USD1543
- Difference RM1.43 for USD15 world gold price appreciate.

* Means u are RM0.53 richer per gram if u invest in KFH ?  hmm.gif

UOB are low in spread, but they not really justify world gold price appreciation.
Frankly u have no choice but to buy from them, if u want to buy physical gold. u can also buy from many other places. i believe all banks/companies do practice the same which they don't really follow the gold's price. they claimed they do and i've been following very closely and they do not. my opinion just buy from bot of them and i did (going to buy from OUB this month)
lustman
post Jul 12 2011, 07:12 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(smokymcpot @ Jul 12 2011, 06:29 AM)
999 Dinar vs 999 Gold bar. Which would you guys choose and why?
my 2 cents, forget abt those 2 at the moment and get some 1 oz coins, e.g OUB & KFH, like many ppl suggested. Later when u have more money to buy then buy the bars, preferably pamp suise. i think the dinar and bar is by public gold, maybe u could get kelantan dinar.

p.s. ar-rajhi now selling gold bar

Added on July 12, 2011, 10:02 am
QUOTE(FrancescoTop8 @ Jul 12 2011, 12:18 AM)
Respect your opinion, but i think i get enough with UOB.
Low spread offered by UOB not really tempted because i`m hunting for most transparent provider.
Will go back to KFH or maybank, since my plan is for long term.

BTW, Kuwait Finance House(KFH) currently organizing lucky draw, "Gold Discovery II", first price is 1KG gold  notworthy.gif
http://www.kfh.com.my/kfhmb/ep/kfhContentV...contentId=12290
called up OUB today. they said u can open gold savings account at all branches. correct me if i'm wrong, i think the rate and spread beat all others.

here's today's rate http://www1.uob.com.my/jsp/finance/fin_gia...=500&height=400

This post has been edited by lustman: Jul 12 2011, 10:02 AM
lustman
post Jul 14 2011, 10:33 AM

256 posts

The most safest (btw, there's nothing safe today) way to buy gold is to buy at banks or jewellery shops (the most expensive in the world). This will definitely protect you from being con, if you're afraid someone wants to con you.

No worrying (unless price drop), no due diligence and believe it or not you'll sleep much better (unless you hide the gold under the pillow). You can also buy gold account where I believe UOB offer is good. Myself I did it with Kuwait Finance ( because very near-by).

By doing this I managed to save myself from balding and grey hair (worrying too much).

Just my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by lustman: Jul 14 2011, 10:36 AM
lustman
post Jul 15 2011, 07:07 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(TruthHurts @ Jul 15 2011, 12:14 AM)
Walauuu ... Gold price jack up larr .. how to buy like this .. cry.gif So expensive even to buy just a few gram.
again and again and again, there's NO such thing as expensive to buy gold. If it is, then all jewellary shop will close shop.
lustman
post Jul 16 2011, 11:26 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(TruthHurts @ Jul 16 2011, 05:51 AM)
Which bank are you refering to? They do have bank charges but need to read the Rules and regulation.
Like Public Bank, you need a minimum 20g to start with when opening the gold account and minimum gold purchase is at 5g.

Added on July 16, 2011, 5:56 am

You should know that your prediction need more convincing. Price up again !!!
i don't do prediction. it's called intuitive decision making - knowledge through education, so i don't need to convince anyone.

for me, buying gold and silver is a no brainer. if i do thorough research and asking to many questions, i'll never ever going to buy.
lustman
post Jul 16 2011, 03:59 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Jutawan @ Jul 16 2011, 02:12 PM)
Would it be better to diversify my buying of various gold weight and buy when low periodically rather than buying in lump sump?

Next question?

Which is the best Gold Bullion Coin to buy from UOB bank? Is there many available unlike Kijang Emas in Maybank that always out of stock?
with 5K you can only buy i piece of 1oz gold coin, so go to UOB and get the aussie nuggets. maples out of stock.

a wise man says, first buy silver then only gold unless you have lots and lots of money where you can buy both at the same time.

don't ask me why but it make sense to me.
lustman
post Jul 17 2011, 08:47 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(PatEagle @ Jul 17 2011, 08:09 AM)
Gimmicks?  doh.gif
Read all the articles below in the section In The Media:
- Genneva sells gold and is not a ponzi scheme, says firm – The Star
- Watch Video: Interview with Genneva Director Tan Liang Keat – TV1¹s Selamat Pagi Malaysia
- Dr. Mahathir galak rakyat simpan emas – Utusan Malaysia
- Apa kata Dr Mahathir tentang Dinar – Berita Harian Metro
- Jongkong Emas Pelaburan Terbaik? – Mingguan Malaysia
- Investing in Gold Pays – OSAiM

Cheers!
Just like mike maloney said, always, i mean always buy physical gold and not "funny" gold. Then put them aside. Don't you dare even for a second take a peak. (my own saying).

By doing this I can guarantee anyone here will NOT get "conned".

Secondly,always get yourself educated. Even a child knows.

nuff said.

P.S. - don't ever trust the newspapers or tv news, mostly they report to the public what they want the public to hear aka fake/make-up news. they are also being paid to report news regardless truth or false, as long they are being paid. it's just business, so they claimed.

P.P.S. - funny money means any other types other than physical gold/silver, period!

This post has been edited by lustman: Jul 17 2011, 04:05 PM
lustman
post Jul 18 2011, 08:52 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Jutawan @ Jul 18 2011, 04:48 PM)
To have the appropriate investment knowledge is important right + diversification. cool2.gif

At the end of the day, we profit form our investment + calculated risk.

p/s : Gold price is rising like 'hell' this week... waiting for the next drop.

p/s 2: Nobody knows about Dinar Kelantan here???
These may shed some light...

http://www.dinarkel.com/

http://www.nikmaheran.com/v1/attachments/0...INAR-Maidin.doc
lustman
post Jul 19 2011, 06:31 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(khun_khun @ Jul 19 2011, 12:24 PM)
guys...... what is procedure buy gold bullion coin from UOB?

and which branch in KL has selling gold?
only the jln raja laut branch sells physical but gold savings account you can open at any branches.
lustman
post Jul 24 2011, 10:28 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Debuantu @ Jul 24 2011, 02:12 AM)
Does it matter where the gold is produced from? There seems to have gold bars/coins that are 'branded' and are produced by different companies. Will the branding of gold affect the resale price? I thought the price is only based on the weight and purity of the gold.

Also, should I go for the gold bars or the bullion coins?
the safest way to decide which gold to buy is to follow the authority figures, e.g. mike maloney and many more. they have been doing analysis and research for years and they know what they are doing.

simply put, get international regconized gold e.g. kijang emas (malaysian govt backed), ASE, maple leaf, nuggets, pamp, etc.

to me, yes it does matter where the gold is produced.

why would you want to buy gold if you're thinking to resell? why would you want to buy gold at the first place?
lustman
post Jul 24 2011, 07:22 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Debuantu @ Jul 24 2011, 01:56 PM)
Thanks for the reply. I thought everyone here is buying gold for investment and so am I. If it matters where the gold is produced then it is wise for me to go for the well recognised gold. By the way which one do you recommend, the bars or the bullions?
as mentioned by quackpack :

"Gold is not meant to be an investment but hedging against inflation."

my opinion this is what it should be, period.

the word "investment" is coined by unscrupulous so-called gold agents where they put you into "make-believe" state-of-mind so that you'll be sold on the idea of making money. the equation investment = make money. this is sales old trick. moreover without sales there's no commission, right?

if you really want to invest then go for precious metal ETF, futures, junior mining stocks. simple as that.

i don't know much about physical gold bullion bcos i bought them all at Kuwait Finance. if i have the extra money i'll go to UOB jalan raja laut and get myself a few of 1oz autralian nugget gold coin that cost you around 5K each. i think maples is out of stock. you can also get pamp suisse gold bar.

now i'm focusing on silver which is much cheaper and have the same "buying purpose" as gold.

just my 2 cents.

lustman
post Jul 25 2011, 05:49 PM

256 posts

based on my research, there are individuals, private companies dan goldsmiths (usually higher) selling pamp gold. so it's quite easy to get. 2 weeks ago i saw a goldsmith at giant shah alam (forgot the shop name) selling 5g pamp. the pretty amoy tried to seduce me to buy bcos they're on sale but it was a few ringgit higher than others.
lustman
post Jul 26 2011, 10:31 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 26 2011, 09:20 AM)

Jewellery prices are like 20 to 30% higher!  Thats what that Genneva use to sucker their agents.  nod.gif
that's a good one but playing with fire rclxms.gif

lustman
post Jul 26 2011, 11:19 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(seanooi880327 @ Jul 26 2011, 10:57 AM)
i bought based on market price..

For exp, market price is rm177 per gram, 10 gram will be Rm1770.... thats the price i paid. no extra workmanship or other charges...
the fact is when the smaller the size of the bar, the higher the price per gram. e.g. 5g bar is higher than 50g

so when you're buying a heavier bar it should be cheaper, so don't let anyone tells you otherwise.

This post has been edited by lustman: Jul 26 2011, 11:21 AM
lustman
post Jul 26 2011, 01:43 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jul 26 2011, 01:20 PM)
Buy from the bank. That the best. Nothing to worry.
You can buy using their Gold Investment or Savings account.
Alternatively, you could get the gold coins  smile.gif
yes that's good advice.

there are a few banks you can choose. i go to kuwait finance myself bcos it's just a stone throw away. they also sell gold bars if you want to keep them under your pillow.

Added on July 26, 2011, 1:45 pm
QUOTE(chengcheng @ Jul 26 2011, 12:21 PM)
I am new... Almost bought something from Poh Kong last weekend.
It was RM 183/gram.It 999 gold.

Where to buy cheaper gold for investment?

Read in a book that we will need to buy and sell at same place.

Is that true?

Please help!!

the weirdest thing i've ever heard shocking.gif

P.S.

just saw this in facebook. price quote by one of many pamp dealers.

PAMP Pure Gold Bar Ingot - Lady Fortuna

We Sell:
1gram = RM 200
5 gram = RM 870
10 gram = RM 1,710
20 gram = RM 3,387
31.1 gram = RM 5,219
50 gram = RM 8,364
100 gram = RM 16,608
(Last updated 26/07/11 12:00 PM)

This post has been edited by lustman: Jul 26 2011, 02:58 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top