124 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Bottom

Financial Are property prices going to drop? V2, The heated debate continues

azamreeves
post Jun 6 2011, 04:10 PM

68 posts

in Singapore they called it HDB flat but actually the size and the quality similar to condo in Malaysia

and it is cheap too (compared to a private flat)

we can't compare here and Singapore, a lot of difference

They set different priority
lucerne
post Jun 6 2011, 04:18 PM

1,946 posts

if all young graduate are not picky and opt for old apr/condo (dirty as claimed by some) , demand of new condo/taman taman will drop and the developers will not build so many expensive prop, then they will be less speculation and kl housing will be more matured. so the speculation is partly cause by the strong demand of youngsters. same in china, hte housing is so strong coz the young gals always want thier partner to own a house b4 marry to him. so the gorenger knew this and prepare to goreng even more.
TheDoer
post Jun 6 2011, 04:19 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Jun 6 2011, 02:28 PM)
i tot 1% only success over the times..
Being optimistic, to get the picture across. wink.gif

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Jun 6 2011, 05:38 PM
sampool
post Jun 6 2011, 04:33 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jun 6 2011, 05:18 PM)
if all young graduate are not picky and opt for old apr/condo (dirty as claimed by some) , demand of new condo/taman taman will drop and the developers will not build so many expensive prop, then they will be less speculation and kl housing will be more matured. so the speculation is partly cause by the strong demand of youngsters. same in china, hte housing is so strong coz the young gals always want thier partner to own a house b4 marry to him. so the gorenger knew this and prepare to goreng even more.
is that simply.. just bought a house got a wife... I doubt.

With a bit financial intellegent... prop rally due to speculator... US is printing USD like no tmrw...created such bubble to mankind... stop print mean market crash.. no $ to use, continue print mean hyperinflation, $ become toilet paper. Oil could reach $150 above.. wat happen next... crisis loh sweat.gif print or no print end up same result.....

lucerne
post Jun 6 2011, 04:35 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(azamreeves @ Jun 6 2011, 04:10 PM)
in Singapore they called it HDB flat but actually the size and the quality similar to condo in Malaysia

and it is cheap too (compared to a private flat)

we can't compare here and Singapore, a lot of difference

They set different priority
HDB is smilar to low cost flat in msia, also similar to OLD apt/condo in Msia which is more affordable to most msian..
But Sg did not feel shy if a young, just married couple live in HDB, in fact many young couple Q-ing up HDB b4 marry.

compare to Msia, if govt will build new low cost flat/apt, young couple will not go for it. if they qualify for a low cost flat , ofcoz they will still buy it but rent it out to Indon..they still prefer to buy new condo, landed prop etc. this is the different..

there is no private flat in sg- either HDB or condo
HDB - no surrounding wall/gate, no guard, no facilities
condo - with gate, guard, facilities
in between they call it executive apartment (still a HDB but better quality)

TheDoer
post Jun 6 2011, 04:37 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jun 6 2011, 04:18 PM)
Yeah, so given the 2 factors (referring to the same prop).

1.) Youngesters want to buy a comfortable home.
2.) Rich uncle, aunty want to invest to make lots of $$$$.

Which do you think should cease?

The irony is, those who invest, will hold on to those new props, keep it until it's "Old enough" then sell it to the innocent young ones. What's the rationality behind this??

Let me tell you guys straight off hand, there's this old prop that I had been eyeing, which look like crap. The only reason it was so appealing, was because of the location which was unique to my family.

The owner stayed firmed and asked for 30-50K above market rate (advised by the realtor). (Even though he would have already made a killing with the current market rate)

The house was abandoned by the previous renter whom, raked up a large bill, and destroyed the interrior of the house (eg. broken ceiling). The mentality of speculators. Optimistic to the bitter end. Either they win or lose, the buyer is always the loser.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Jun 6 2011, 04:40 PM
lucerne
post Jun 6 2011, 04:51 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Jun 6 2011, 04:33 PM)

With a bit financial intellegent... prop rally due to speculator... US is printing USD like no tmrw...created such bubble to mankind... stop print mean market crash.. no $ to use, continue print mean hyperinflation, $ become toilet paper. Oil could reach $150 above.. wat happen next... crisis loh  sweat.gif  print or no print end up same result.....
to own a house is the pre requisite to get a wife/gf in china but not neccesary sure get a wife lah..

if china youngters start to rent (even after married) , then the demand will drop and prop price will drop too.

same if msia youngster not so picky and buy old apt/condo, demand will drop too. of coz demand of old apt will increase (and price will increase slightly) but the supply is so much out there and so the price will not go so crazy. when most msian ok to live in old apt, indon will have to pay higher rent coz the supply is lesser now. understand some old apt with 3 rooms rented at oni for rm200/month. that is why so many illegal indon like to come to msia. (even no work, or part time can still survive easily). p/s; some area is even free rental eg ghost town in kelang, rawang, bkt sentosa, bkt berugi, tasek puteri etc. if the demand of old apt picked up. there will lesser auctions prop in that area.
sulifeisgreat
post Jun 6 2011, 04:54 PM

1,121 posts

we r near to stagflation but economies of world still growing & corporate earnings still up

federal reserve trying not to repeat mistake of previous action
1929 federal reserve restricted money supply = recession
1980s fed res increase int rate to kill inflation = recession
2008 fed res reduce int rate, inc money supply but inc inflation = u r living the moment & can tell ur cucu the outcome thumbup.gif

once economies of world stop growing & corporate earnings start falling, then its time for the bubble to MELETUP rclxms.gif

http://economics.about.com/od/useconomichi...stagflation.htm
http://www.themarketoracle.biz/Article4075.html
http://blackswaninsights.blogspot.com/2010...-for-1970s.html
http://www.moneycafe.com/library/primeratehistory.htm

QUOTE(sampool @ Jun 6 2011, 04:33 PM)

With a bit financial intellegent... prop rally due to speculator... US is printing USD like no tmrw...created such bubble to mankind... stop print mean market crash.. no $ to use, continue print mean hyperinflation, $ become toilet paper. Oil could reach $150 above.. wat happen next... crisis loh  sweat.gif  print or no print end up same result.....
This post has been edited by sulifeisgreat: Jun 6 2011, 04:55 PM
lucerne
post Jun 6 2011, 05:06 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(TheDoer @ Jun 6 2011, 04:37 PM)
Yeah, so given the 2 factors (referring to the same prop).

1.) Youngesters want to buy a comfortable home.
2.) Rich uncle, aunty want to invest to make lots of $$$$.

Which do you think should cease?

The irony is, those who invest, will hold on to those new props, keep it until it's "Old enough" then sell it to the innocent young ones. What's the rationality behind this??

Let me tell you guys straight off hand, there's this old prop that I had been eyeing, which look like crap. The only reason it was so appealing, was because of the location which was unique to my family.

The owner stayed firmed and asked for 30-50K above market rate (advised by the realtor). (Even though he would have already made a killing with the current market rate)

The house was abandoned by the previous renter whom, raked up a large bill, and destroyed the interrior of the house (eg. broken ceiling).  The mentality of speculators.  Optimistic to the bitter end. Either they win or lose, the buyer is always the loser.
why bother if ex owner has made lot of profit?? (they do take risks when they bought it some 10yrs ago, it is also their fortune/luck if they can now made profit). just buy if the apt is still afforfable and within your means. if the condition is bad, just go for another unit or next apt/condo. if u do not have enough $ to renovate in one go , just live with it, do it little by little when u hv saved enough. some ppl die die must go renovate like a palace. (poisoned by tv, ad, movie etc)

p/s: at least u r not the one die die must own a new condo type of person. so u can see how much price different/can save btw the old and new?
TheDoer
post Jun 6 2011, 05:30 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jun 6 2011, 05:06 PM)
why bother if ex owner has made lot of profit?? (they do take risks when they bought it some 10yrs ago, it is also their fortune/luck if they can now made profit). just buy if the apt is still afforfable and within your means. if the condition is bad, just go for another unit or next apt/condo. if u do not have enough $ to renovate in one go , just live with it, do it little by little when u hv saved enough.  some ppl die die must go renovate like a palace. (poisoned by tv, ad, movie etc)

p/s: at least u r not the one die die must own a new condo type of person. so u can see how much price different/can save btw the old and new?
The fact that he already makes money if he sells it now (at market rate) isn't the issue. The issue is that his greed is preventing him from doing so.

Only someone like me would be tempted to buy it. And the reason is because of the location significance it has to my family. I find that house, and that area strategic for me. Even though not in a prime area.

I'm not thinking about the renovation costs now, I'm asking myself, what greed would make a person raise his prices like this.

The irony is it could've been easily a win-win situation.

Now his got this crappy house on his hands... He tried to rent it out, and his tenant ruined it further. What's he waiting for now? For the house to mellow abit longer? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Jun 6 2011, 05:37 PM
lucerne
post Jun 6 2011, 05:40 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Jun 6 2011, 04:54 PM)
we r near to stagflation but economies of world still growing & corporate earnings still up

federal reserve trying not to repeat mistake of previous action
1929 federal reserve restricted money supply = recession
1980s fed res increase int rate to kill inflation = recession
2008 fed res reduce int rate, inc money supply but inc inflation = u r living the moment & can tell ur cucu the outcome  thumbup.gif

once economies of world stop growing & corporate earnings start falling, then its time for the bubble to MELETUP  rclxms.gif

http://economics.about.com/od/useconomichi...stagflation.htm
http://www.themarketoracle.biz/Article4075.html
http://blackswaninsights.blogspot.com/2010...-for-1970s.html
http://www.moneycafe.com/library/primeratehistory.htm
the economy today is credit like economy. (borrow and spend)
developing countries (3rd world) to ensure employment, push up productions, and then lend $ to developed countries and wish them to spend/ use as many finished goods they manufactured. the 3rd world will continue to exploit their natural resources, commodities to create enough $ to lend to the developed nations. the music will go on until no more resources/commodities to continue the cycle..

when 3rd world dried up and no more resources/$ to lend, developed nations will stop consuming, unemployment in 3rd world will increased. riot begin and war started. developed nations will then rule again. so it is better than old days where 1st world conquer/colonize the 3rd world and steal their resources and slaved their ppl. They use a new way to slave the 3rd world. (north korea is smarter they build nuclear weapons not commodities)

Added on June 6, 2011, 5:45 pm
QUOTE(TheDoer @ Jun 6 2011, 05:30 PM)
The fact that he already makes money if he sells it now (at market rate) isn't the issue.  The issue is that his greed is preventing him from doing so.

Only someone like me would be tempted to buy it.  And the reason is because of the location significance it has to my family.  I find that house, and that area strategic for me.  Even though not in a prime area.

I'm not thinking about the renovation costs now, I'm asking myself, what greed would make a person raise his prices like this.

Now his got this crappy house on his hands... He tried to rent it out, and his tenant ruined it further. What's he waiting for now? For the house to mellow abit longer?  laugh.gif
if he has the holding power, $ etc, he has no rush to sell to u now.
he can renovate and then rent at a better rental. (maybe he has now learnt how to choose the right tenants from the past mistakes)

so for u, either accept the price or find another unit/area

This post has been edited by lucerne: Jun 6 2011, 05:45 PM
ChampDog
post Jun 6 2011, 05:47 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jun 6 2011, 05:40 PM)
developing countries (3rd world) to ensure employment, push up productions, and then lend $ to developed countries and wish them to spend/ use as many finished goods they manufactured. the 3rd world will continue to exploit their natural resources, commodities to create enough $ to lend to the developed nations.  the music will go on until no more resources/commodities to continue the cycle..

when 3rd world dried up and no more resources/$ to lend, developed nations will stop consuming, unemployment in 3rd world will increased. riot begin and war started. developed nations will then rule again. so it is better than old days where 1st world conquer/colonize the 3rd world and steal their resources and slaved their ppl.  They use a new way to slave the 3rd world.  (north korea is smarter they build nuclear weapons not commodities)
Are you saying North Korea doing a right thing then? Interesting...
tigana
post Jun 6 2011, 05:50 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(TheDoer @ Jun 6 2011, 05:30 PM)
The fact that he already makes money if he sells it now (at market rate) isn't the issue.  The issue is that his greed is preventing him from doing so.

Only someone like me would be tempted to buy it.  And the reason is because of the location significance it has to my family.  I find that house, and that area strategic for me.  Even though not in a prime area.

Now his got this crappy house on his hands... He tried to rent it out, and his tenant ruined it further. What's he waiting for now? For the house to mellow abit longer?  laugh.gif
There has been cases like yours. People like him perhaps are in no hurry to sell. Maybe he is already loaded and can afford to "fish" for a better price. Maybe you should find out a bit about his background. Does he look like he is a motivated seller? I was interested in a old house once and tried to bargain with the seller. Found out was very loaded and did not pursue. Its like that.
property101
post Jun 6 2011, 07:09 PM

1,830 posts

not only developer first hand property quickly snapped by connected people, even in subsales is not easy as owners tend to think if they sell now, will not be able to get back property at such price.
chabalang
post Jun 6 2011, 08:00 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jun 6 2011, 04:35 PM)
HDB is smilar to low cost flat in msia,  also similar to OLD apt/condo in Msia which is more affordable to most msian..
But Sg did not feel shy if a young, just married couple live in HDB, in fact many young couple Q-ing up HDB b4 marry.

compare to Msia, if govt will build new low cost flat/apt, young couple will not go for it.  if they qualify for a low cost flat , ofcoz they will still buy it but rent it out to Indon..they still prefer to buy new condo, landed prop etc. this is the different..

there is no private flat in sg- either HDB or condo
HDB - no surrounding wall/gate, no guard, no facilities
condo - with gate, guard, facilities
in between they call it executive apartment (still a HDB but better quality)
HDB flat is NOT similar to low cost flat in M'sia but yes, HDB flat is relatively affordable (despite some complaints from fresh graduates that the new HDB flats are getting unaffordable). It is not low cost but a PUBLIC housing. Some HDB flats in good location can easily fetch more than SGD500,000...an extreme example (offer price of SGD900,000 - still low cost???) http://www.asiaone.com/Business/My+Money/P...331-207846.html

In S'pore, HDB was set up to provide public housing for the masses (around 80% of population). The other main category are called Private housing - apartments/condos or landed properties. In between Public/Private, there is a category called Executive Condo (the term is a misnomer (i.e. nothing executive about it) there are certain restrictions on this type of housing and only fully converted into a private condo after 10 years). In the past, there used to be another category called HUDC (most of them are now converted to private estates).

The key difference between M'sia and S'pore public housing is the upkeep or maintenance. In M'sia, our public housing flats (mainly low cost) are like slums (what those I have visited). In S'pore, the HDB maintenance is comparable to our condo (or even better than some of our condos).
sulifeisgreat
post Jun 6 2011, 08:25 PM

1,121 posts

wah, u better cut down on ur tom clancy novels shakehead.gif
anyway, we r living in interesting times blink.gif
some take advantage, some dun, while some just watch it passes by shocking.gif

assuming ur ww3 teori is correct
where would u wanna place ur real hard cash savings? developing or developed nations brows.gif
I bet u choose north korea biggrin.gif

QUOTE(lucerne @ Jun 6 2011, 05:40 PM)
developing countries (3rd world) to ensure employment, push up productions, and then lend $ to developed countries and wish them to spend/ use as many finished goods they manufactured. the 3rd world will continue to exploit their natural resources, commodities to create enough $ to lend to the developed nations.  the music will go on until no more resources/commodities to continue the cycle..

when 3rd world dried up and no more resources/$ to lend, developed nations will stop consuming, unemployment in 3rd world will increased. riot begin and war started. developed nations will then rule again. so it is better than old days where 1st world conquer/colonize the 3rd world and steal their resources and slaved their ppl.  They use a new way to slave the 3rd world.  (north korea is smarter they build nuclear weapons not commodities)

Added on June 6, 2011, 5:45 pm

if he has the holding power, $ etc, he has no rush to sell to u now.
he can renovate and then rent at a better rental.  (maybe he has now learnt how to choose the right tenants from the past mistakes)

so for u, either accept the price or find another unit/area
celicaizpower
post Jun 6 2011, 09:59 PM

Race : ☐ Malay ☐ Chinese ☐ India ☑ /k/tard
1,177 posts

Hi Guys,

I have heard around and saw "The Star" commenting that the current house price is bubling and that it will drop in a matter of a few more years 3-5. Is that true?

based on what The Star mention that they did a research that most of the condos that are RM 400K and above are almost quite empty where by the occupancy rate are like 5% or less.

I am planing to buy a house to stay, it would also be great if it can generate cash along the way but it is really scary to read such an article.
sulifeisgreat
post Jun 6 2011, 10:28 PM

1,121 posts

there r 3 camps & u wil hav to make a stand & choose either one. the profit, loss or nothingness belongs to u & ur destiny tongue.gif
BBB mode drool.gif
sell, take profit & await crash brows.gif
wait & see, built up huge cash reserve whilst inflation munching their cash at same time laugh.gif

1 Sep 2010 Malaysian billionaire Robert Kuok to pay 1.29 billion Hong Kong dollars ($165 million) at the government’s land auction Tuesday for a site in one of the city’s higher-end locales.
http://www.superbuy.com.sg/?tag=li-ka-shing

May 09, 2011 Tycoon Li Ka-Shing's Cheung Kong Group is believed to have won a bid to buy the three TMW Asia Property Fund's shopping complexes put up for sale in Malaysia
http://www.iproperty.com.my/news/3571/HK-g...s-bid-for-malls

if u play the economic cycle theory of crash every 10yr
yr1, the probability to make $$$ is 9/10
yr2, the probability to make $$ is 8/10
& so on cool2.gif
WannaGetBuffed
post Jun 6 2011, 11:11 PM

983 posts

Selangor Pakatan too hawks cheap houses to capture youth vote
Jun 07, 2011

The battle for Selangor’s young, urban vote is shaping up with its Pakatan Rakyat (PR) government set to build affordable houses in the country’s wealthiest state, joining the race initiated by Barisan Nasional (BN).

Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim’s announcement on Friday comes just months after the Najib administration launched its My First Home scheme, against the backdrop of soaring property prices and an increasingly pro-opposition urban electorate around the federal capital.

Both schemes aim to provide affordable homes to first-time owners who find it increasingly more difficult to get their foot on the property ladder.

“The Housing and Property Board (LPHS) and PKNS have been instructed to make sure that only those who qualify own these houses,” a statement from the Selangor Mentri Besar’s Office said.

“The state government does not want a repeat the failures of the previous administration, where those who could afford bought low-cost houses and then rented them out to others,” it added.

Selangor’s own programme will see state development arm Selangor Development Corp (PKNS) build affordable flats costing under RM100,000, beginning with 124 units in Bandar Baru Bangi.

The state government has identified five other sites for low-cost developments — Antara Gapi, Kota Puteri, Taman Sains Selangor 2, Bernama Jaya and Gombak — but was quick to add that the scheme will be expanded to the rest of Selangor in time.

Priority will be given to families earning between RM2,500 and RM5,000 per month, single mothers and families with no fixed income.

Under the My First Home scheme, young adults earning less than RM3,000 per month can obtain 100 per cent financing from selected financial institutions for houses costing between RM100,000 and RM220,000, with a repayment period of 30 years.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak later said the government would also launch affordable quality houses costing below RM220,000 in the Klang Valley to complement the scheme.

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said last week the housing scheme could be extended to other states, including Penang, where he said the PR government did not appear interested to build houses.

The new schemes are different from Putrajaya’s Syarikat Perumahan Negara Berhad (SPNB) which was set up in 1997 to provide affordable housing for the lower income group earning less than RM2,000 a month.

The Malaysian Insider understands that the Najib administration believes affordable housing in urban areas is critical to getting support from city dwellers who cite high rents and rising cost of living as reasons not to vote BN.

But PR parties who won both Selangor and Penang have to now compete with BN to get the youth vote in order to keep the two states, which are among the most industrialised in the country. – Malaysian Insider

Sos Kicap
lucerne
post Jun 7 2011, 09:24 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(ChampDog @ Jun 6 2011, 05:47 PM)
Are you saying North Korea doing a right thing then? Interesting...
dun get me wrong, i didnt said north korea is doing the right thing. i said north korea know how to protect themself from the superpowers.

but lately NK also planning to follow China to build more productions to feed their people/unemployment...not sure if they will play the same music with USA. They is no right or wrong answer here. --"we are living in interesting times" -- the weaks are the prey of the strongs

124 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:37 PM