then kudos to the sgs devs @ xda. Darkyy from xda said he will be porting his sgs rom over to sgs 2. That's the excitement for us who is getting the sgs 2.
Samsung GALAXY S II Official thread V1, Reviews/FAQ/Tips/Accessories/Apps
Feb 23 2011, 03:50 PM
2,114 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
then kudos to the sgs devs @ xda. Darkyy from xda said he will be porting his sgs rom over to sgs 2. That's the excitement for us who is getting the sgs 2.
Feb 23 2011, 04:18 PM
2,844 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
So apparently the SGS2 has a single port that can be used either for USB or HDMI.
Samsung Galaxy S II first with MHL port for dual-purpose USB or HDMI out |
Feb 23 2011, 04:27 PM
753 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Feb 23 2011, 04:18 PM) So apparently the SGS2 has a single port that can be used either for USB or HDMI. yes,Samsung Galaxy S II first with MHL port for dual-purpose USB or HDMI out it has been discussed on SGSII news thread before. The new MHL port will act as Multimedia port that support HDMI/USB port(converter).. |
Feb 23 2011, 09:22 PM
1,239 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ/Malacca |
MHL port is another win feature that puts it on par (or better overall package?) to the Atrix.
I have been drawn towards the S2 lately. Initially I was so convinced of getting the Atrix due to it's specs and the laptop dock. Then came the killer blow: ridiculous price of the dock I knew that the S2 also has killer specs, but decided to ignore it due the bad press from it's predecessor (lagfix & lousy GPS). Now I'm giving Sammy a chance with the S2 but still not fully decided between the S2 & Atrix. Will wait for pricing & complaints of either phone to flood in before buying. Just a question on the Galaxy phones. Since they do not have a Search button, is there another workaround to quickly get the search function up, like holding the physical home button maybe? (I'm referring to the S1, since the S1 & S2 has only 3 buttons, I assume they would function the same) |
Feb 23 2011, 09:37 PM
1,398 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
by default, holding down menu button = search button
Feb 24 2011, 01:52 AM
961 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Msia |
QUOTE(scpt @ Feb 23 2011, 09:22 PM) MHL port is another win feature that puts it on par (or better overall package?) to the Atrix. to top up, a real fuked up shit they gave me on my vibrant on 2.2I have been drawn towards the S2 lately. Initially I was so convinced of getting the Atrix due to it's specs and the laptop dock. Then came the killer blow: ridiculous price of the dock I knew that the S2 also has killer specs, but decided to ignore it due the bad press from it's predecessor (lagfix & lousy GPS). Now I'm giving Sammy a chance with the S2 but still not fully decided between the S2 & Atrix. Will wait for pricing & complaints of either phone to flood in before buying. Just a question on the Galaxy phones. Since they do not have a Search button, is there another workaround to quickly get the search function up, like holding the physical home button maybe? (I'm referring to the S1, since the S1 & S2 has only 3 buttons, I assume they would function the same) it was almost impossible just to root. so people, dun complain about motorola atrix, if u havent gone to hell with the rooting of a vibrant in 2.2 BTW, I think Sgs2 is sooner then we thought. even its tablet is coming on march to portugal, yeah im looking at u grey importers!!!! http://www.engadget.com/2011/02/23/samsung...l-in-march-for/ This post has been edited by oldKyoo: Feb 24 2011, 01:54 AM |
Feb 24 2011, 02:35 AM
345 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Malacca |
Feb 24 2011, 09:51 AM
24 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: seoul |
Feb 24 2011, 10:17 AM
289 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Wow... Feel like getting rid of my DHD for SGS2!!!
Feb 24 2011, 11:08 AM
27,801 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Johor |
QUOTE(gzero @ Feb 24 2011, 02:35 AM) Link updated in post#1Added on February 24, 2011, 11:09 am QUOTE(Princess90 @ Feb 24 2011, 10:17 AM) In the words of NIKE : JUST DO IT !This post has been edited by benny888: Feb 24 2011, 11:09 AM |
Feb 24 2011, 11:14 AM
Think I'll wait for it to come to our shores officially instead of pre-ordering. I'm worried about warranty claiming.
Feb 24 2011, 11:28 AM
2,013 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(gzero @ Feb 24 2011, 02:35 AM) |
Feb 24 2011, 11:38 AM
961 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Msia |
wow, noobie buying 2 units??? damn rich....
Feb 24 2011, 12:09 PM
2,114 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Feb 24 2011, 12:30 PM
360 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
This demo video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUowqvuG_BQ Gosh, looks slightly disappointing. Not as responsive as expected, it seems. |
Feb 24 2011, 12:43 PM
1,991 posts Joined: May 2008 From: OuTeR sPaCe!! |
QUOTE(clutch31 @ Feb 24 2011, 12:30 PM) This demo video: Crap, obviously lag http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUowqvuG_BQ Gosh, looks slightly disappointing. Not as responsive as expected, it seems. |
Feb 24 2011, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(clutch31 @ Feb 24 2011, 12:30 PM) This demo video: I think it's only the home screen with all the useless widgets that lags (as in almost every Android phone).http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUowqvuG_BQ Gosh, looks slightly disappointing. Not as responsive as expected, it seems. I bet most people here will install alternative home launchers or use the widely-praised Darky's ROM that will be ported from SGS. The main attraction is the hardware, the software can be fixed. |
Feb 24 2011, 12:53 PM
1,991 posts Joined: May 2008 From: OuTeR sPaCe!! |
I'm more concern on the GPS lock time.
SGS doesn't do justice given it's price. Hopefully early adopters of SGS2 can give us a short review after hands on. |
Feb 24 2011, 12:57 PM
2,910 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Melaka |
This phone catch my eyes
Feb 24 2011, 01:09 PM
7,338 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cybercity of Cyberjaya |
last time when SGS first launch, people complained a lot when seeing youtube videos. but most of them believed it just a matter of changing home screen.
but in fact, the file system is the one that makes SGS buggy like heck. so I'm not really sure changing launcher will fix SGS2 .. |
| Change to: | 0.0273sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:25 PM |