Acer Aspire 5750G, Malaysia's 1st Sandy Bridge laptop

apek1989
post Feb 22 2011, 08:38 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(djzen @ Feb 22 2011, 02:24 AM)
i recovered it from not responding at all - sometimes it will turn on LOL (about 5% chance??)

anyway.. since then I downgraded to bios 1.02, working fine now.

but still, the nvidia BSOD problem is a pain. why stupid nvidia sells gt540m but doesnt make a driver for it!?!?
haha..+1 for this..=="
getting pissed play play 2-4minutes game then BSOD..
vmad.gif
mdnurman
post Feb 22 2011, 11:28 PM

738 posts

i think i will just change the mobo.... the mobo should be new, cannot be recond. and according to acer, that will take 3 days, of other options, will takes few weeks... i cant live without my laptop

lakost
post Feb 23 2011, 01:30 AM

270 posts

QUOTE(mdnurman @ Feb 22 2011, 11:28 PM)
i think i will just change the mobo.... the mobo should be new, cannot be recond. and according to acer, that will take 3 days, of other options, will takes few weeks... i cant live without my laptop
i will just wait.if the swap option takes weeks i might as well just change the mobo.
ping0613
post Feb 23 2011, 09:24 AM

Look at all my stars
2,974 posts

yup, me too. wait for the mobo change enuf
apek1989
post Feb 23 2011, 08:41 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 19 2011, 05:39 PM)
If they just swap the mobo, then the GPU also replaced..
i just ask the ACER..they say the motherboard replacement do not include the GPU..
im so devastated now..should i juz sell this laptop..=x
mdnurman
post Feb 23 2011, 08:44 PM

738 posts

get full refund
tonyvyp
post Feb 24 2011, 08:21 AM

420 posts

QUOTE(apek1989 @ Feb 23 2011, 08:41 PM)
i just ask the ACER..they say the motherboard replacement do not include the GPU..
im so devastated now..should i juz sell this laptop..=x
wat u can do ks to lodge a warranty claim (for the gpu, ststing frequent bsod while gaming) while u send it back to highpoint
angelbratz
post Feb 24 2011, 04:31 PM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

yeah...when giving them the laptop just do a warranty claim as wwell...kill 2 birds with 1 stone...
djzen
post Feb 24 2011, 05:42 PM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

sorry - what is the warranty claim for?

the hardware is not broken - all 5750G GPU are experiencing BSOD right? so if claim warranty will they fix the software?
apek1989
post Feb 24 2011, 06:26 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(tonyvyp @ Feb 24 2011, 08:21 AM)
wat u can do ks to lodge a warranty claim (for the gpu, ststing frequent bsod while gaming) while u send it back to highpoint
BSOD problem can claim the warranty??

Added on February 24, 2011, 6:28 pm
QUOTE(djzen @ Feb 24 2011, 05:42 PM)
sorry - what is the warranty claim for?

the hardware is not broken - all 5750G GPU are experiencing BSOD right? so if claim warranty will they fix the software?
i think not all..juz few of the laptop got defect..but dunno can clain warranty or not.. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by apek1989: Feb 24 2011, 06:28 PM
djzen
post Feb 24 2011, 07:10 PM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

Oh ok. So only some 5750G laptop has GPU BSOD problem? Im one of them then.. arghhh
jkwanness
post Feb 24 2011, 07:17 PM

smileypic.gif
1,147 posts

5750g owner reporting in...

So far having no problems with BSOD... but having problems with COD4 punkbuster restricted drivers... Though this may be more of a software problem...

I would like to point out that I hate NVIDIA Optimus.... I don't get to set my graphic settings High in certain games, as they detect only Intel GPU present...

And NV Optimus doesn't allow for linux direct rendering... I'd rather buy laptops without optimus from nowonwards...

Do you guys think its better to swap motherboard when its available?
djzen
post Feb 24 2011, 07:31 PM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

I get BSOD with some games only - NFS hot pursuit and when I on back from sleep mode. So maybe you havent triggered BSOD yet. Care to test? Thanks..
tonyvyp
post Feb 24 2011, 10:12 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(apek1989 @ Feb 24 2011, 06:26 PM)
BSOD problem can claim the warranty??

Added on February 24, 2011, 6:28 pm

i think not all..juz few of the laptop got defect..but dunno can clain warranty or not.. hmm.gif
y not? for my case the BSOD not due to software or driver problem, tried 3 version of gc driver stil the same case...confirm its hardware problem ady

QUOTE(djzen @ Feb 24 2011, 07:31 PM)
I get BSOD with some games only - NFS hot pursuit and when I on back from sleep mode. So maybe you havent triggered BSOD yet. Care to test? Thanks..
not all 5750g will ecperience BSOD...its juz us unlucky few
apek1989
post Feb 25 2011, 12:16 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(tonyvyp @ Feb 24 2011, 10:12 PM)
y not? for my case the BSOD not due to software or driver problem, tried 3 version of gc driver stil the same case...confirm its hardware problem ady
not all 5750g will ecperience BSOD...its juz us unlucky few
huhu..okok..tmr i will try call acer see how..hope can clain warranty..=="
tonyvyp
post Feb 25 2011, 04:52 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(apek1989 @ Feb 25 2011, 12:16 AM)
huhu..okok..tmr i will try call acer see how..hope can clain warranty..=="
i oso sent an email to Highpoint Australia ady...asking bout the chipset replacement + warranty claim for GPU...lets see how they response
yu_vvj
post Feb 26 2011, 01:58 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(ping0613 @ Feb 23 2011, 09:24 AM)
yup, me too. wait for the mobo change enuf
does the full refund option still available ?
skeleton202
post Feb 26 2011, 02:41 AM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

is tis laptop is a hotcake rite now?

always out of stock around my place yow!!
eugenechiuu
post Feb 26 2011, 03:06 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(skeleton202 @ Feb 26 2011, 02:41 AM)
is tis laptop is a hotcake rite now?

always out of stock around my place yow!!
because they haven't re-release the fixed version yet ar... The previous ones all kena recalled back already
abless
post Feb 26 2011, 03:06 AM

Maybe BSOD is because the power supply just 90Watts,that is not sufficient when i7-2630+Nvidia 540M under full load?
it's seem other i7+dedicated graphics card has 120W power supply.

70 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:10 AM