Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V9, save RM200 from 16 February - 31 March !
kiwlm
Mar 21 2011, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 21 2011, 03:45 PM) what kind of game you are hosting? Do you know what port it uses? Dynamic assigned port or specific port number? if it is dynamic like mesengger or torrent then make sure UPNP is enabled... I am hosting a openvpn server, UDP port 1194. I tried the configurations (Advanced Port Forwarding section) using SSH tcp port 22 as well. Both doesn't work when I use Advanced Port Forwarding, it worked when I use DMZ. This post has been edited by kiwlm: Mar 21 2011, 04:13 PM
VerM
Mar 21 2011, 04:15 PM

QUOTE(kiwlm @ Mar 21 2011, 04:12 PM) I am hosting a openvpn server, UDP port 1194. I tried the configurations (Advanced Port Forwarding section) using SSH tcp port 22 as well. Both doesn't work when I use Advanced Port Forwarding, it worked when I use DMZ. i'll take a look at it...
death_nite
Mar 21 2011, 04:52 PM
im gonna be unified this coming thursday.
so heard can replace dlink router with tplink wr841n?
how much is it?
can get at lowyat plaza?
hazairi
Mar 21 2011, 05:37 PM
Just installed unifi in my apartment in Lagood Perdana, Bandar Sunway. 1st, got problem with the phone room. My apartment management forgot where is the key for that room.. So, i insist on wanna install, they kasi pecah the lock. LOL After a few hours of finding the best port for the unifi, finally I'm unified! Here are the latest speedtest:  Added on March 21, 2011, 5:45 pmHere's the latest torrent speed. I didn't wait for it to go max.. LOL This post has been edited by hazairi: Mar 21 2011, 05:45 PM
ytchoong
Mar 21 2011, 06:15 PM
I have my unify installed in prima setapak last week and everything work flawlessly ! I'm on VIP20 and managed to get around 19mb to 25mb down speed; up speed only upto around 12mb. Tested download speed upto 2.2mb from apple server, pretty good huh  ! And able to watch 1080 HD YouTube, with PPS running with few other devices connecting to YouTube simutenously, whole family very happy with it. I don't face any down time or disconnect problem yet. Hope everything work just fine without any interruption !!
Neptern
Mar 21 2011, 07:09 PM
QUOTE im gonna be unified this coming thursday.
so heard can replace dlink router with tplink wr841n?
how much is it?
can get at lowyat plaza? Yea it should be available at lowyat(i got it at digital IT mall PJ).The router should be around rm89 and i recommend you got get it then go to klseet's website to get the beta firmware,flash the router and you're good to go.Make sure you get the unifi password from the installer and reserve some cash to pay for 'other' installation fees(so much for free installation  ). This is for LANDED PROPERTY.If you are using vdsl then you might have use other methods cuz they might be problems with vdsl.
death_nite
Mar 21 2011, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(Neptern @ Mar 21 2011, 07:09 PM) Yea it should be available at lowyat(i got it at digital IT mall PJ).The router should be around rm89 and i recommend you got get it then go to klseet's website to get the beta firmware,flash the router and you're good to go.Make sure you get the unifi password from the installer and reserve some cash to pay for 'other' installation fees(so much for free installation  ). This is for LANDED PROPERTY.If you are using vdsl then you might have use other methods cuz they might be problems with vdsl. other installation fees? u pay directly to the contractor izzit? yeah. heard that contractor ask extra money for normal installation which are not suppose to happened at 1st place. so how much u pay? and for what? and yeah. its landed property. ftth.
VerM
Mar 21 2011, 07:50 PM

QUOTE(Neptern @ Mar 21 2011, 07:09 PM) Yea it should be available at lowyat(i got it at digital IT mall PJ).The router should be around rm89 and i recommend you got get it then go to klseet's website to get the beta firmware,flash the router and you're good to go.Make sure you get the unifi password from the installer and reserve some cash to pay for 'other' installation fees(so much for free installation  ). This is for LANDED PROPERTY.If you are using vdsl then you might have use other methods cuz they might be problems with vdsl. If u have been charged other installation fees, kindly let us know what, why and how much... As far as i know (ftth), from the greenbox to fibre termination box (ftb) should be free... from ftb to btu there is a limit in terms of length, and contractor should advised what is the limit and recommend a suitable location to put the devices... in my case, i have two options, either upstairs or downstairs where the tv is located... upstairs the distance is shorter and no bending the fibre around the house... downstairs the fibre have to bend around the house... i chose upstairs... This post has been edited by VerM: Mar 21 2011, 07:52 PM
Neptern
Mar 21 2011, 08:00 PM
QUOTE If u have been charged other installation fees, kindly let us know what, why and how much...
As far as i know (ftth), from the greenbox to fibre termination box (ftb) should be free... from ftb to btu there is a limit in terms of length, and contractor should advised what is the limit and recommend a suitable location to put the devices...
in my case, i have two options, either upstairs or downstairs where the tv is located... upstairs the distance is shorter and no bending the fibre around the house... downstairs the fibre have to bend around the house... i chose upstairs... QUOTE other installation fees? u pay directly to the contractor izzit? yeah. heard that contractor ask extra money for normal installation which are not suppose to happened at 1st place. wink.gif so how much u pay? and for what?
and yeah. its landed property. ftth. Climbing the ceiling cost rm100 and wiring cost rm300.It might be a con job from my assigned contractor but who knows.What's done is done and not going to think about it. Anyhow before installation just negotiate with the installer the pricing first before installing.At least this way there's no arguement later on.They do tell me something about changing wifi password need to wait 2 months if not cannot use crap.Just change to damn default router to tp link(or you might wanna go the mikrotik way) and you are homefree(and stress free too). This post has been edited by Neptern: Mar 21 2011, 08:01 PM
VerM
Mar 21 2011, 08:14 PM

QUOTE(Neptern @ Mar 21 2011, 08:00 PM) Climbing the ceiling cost rm100 and wiring cost rm300.It might be a con job from my assigned contractor but who knows.What's done is done and not going to think about it. Anyhow before installation just negotiate with the installer the pricing first before installing.At least this way there's no arguement later on.They do tell me something about changing wifi password need to wait 2 months if not cannot use crap.Just change to damn default router to tp link(or you might wanna go the mikrotik way) and you are homefree(and stress free too).  hmm... climbing the ceiling? I thought for high rise, unifi uses existing building's copper wire (hence the use of vdsl2)...each unit should have phone socket right? perhaps i should raise this issue to the appropriate personnel...
ahpaul82
Mar 21 2011, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Mar 21 2011, 10:52 AM) Added on March 21, 2011, 10:57 amAny "Dir-615" expert here? I wanna ask how to setup QoS or to divide the bandwidth equally for a number of users connected? My friend is always downloading with xunlei. I asked him to limit the speed to around 300kB because i dare not to ask him to lower it further down. Surfing is not to say lag but when watching youtube vid then it'd lag for sure... I want to do something in the router side to cap his download speed and for all of us too. Means when 5 users connected, I want a equal bandwidth among 5 of us which is 1Mbps per user, on VIP5. Is that possible? i would like to know also if the router able to do this... This post has been edited by ahpaul82: Mar 21 2011, 08:31 PM
Mikeshake
Mar 21 2011, 09:01 PM

My unifi was down 3 days, I call them and they fixed it on the 18 th. on the 20th down again ! I finally got the line this afternoon and they fixed it wth is happening ?
CrayonsEater
Mar 21 2011, 09:19 PM
Hi lyn bros. I'm subscribing to unicoolpack currently and i applied unifi thru <www.unifi.my> this afternoon. do i have to go to tm shop to cancel off my unicoolpack or they will cancel the unicoolpack on my behalf automatically? besides, if my appoinment with technician falls on april, will the installation fee waiver apply to me as well? As it's stated on the site 15th Jan to 30th of March, but i dont really understand how it works. Thanks.
IwanAGP
Mar 21 2011, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(CrayonsEater @ Mar 21 2011, 09:19 PM) Hi lyn bros. I'm subscribing to unicoolpack currently and i applied unifi thru <www.unifi.my> this afternoon. do i have to go to tm shop to cancel off my unicoolpack or they will cancel the unicoolpack on my behalf automatically? besides, if my appoinment with technician falls on april, will the installation fee waiver apply to me as well? As it's stated on the site 15th Jan to 30th of March, but i dont really understand how it works. Thanks. 15th to 30th means the time u actually subscribed, not depending on the date of installment. On ur first question, I got no idea. You can only call up tm or go to tm point to check out. It won't be automatically terminated. Just wondering whether tm will charge u for that or not since it's not normal package in which it comes with a free netbook. haha
outlife11
Mar 21 2011, 09:35 PM
gossssshhhhhhhhh.... speed less than 100kb now @usj
wahkiz
Mar 21 2011, 10:10 PM
Hey guys. Anyone having problems with their Motorola DECT phone provided with the Unifi? My motorola dect phone sot sot 1, after awhile it will become jammed and nomatter what button you press it won't respond, some buttons will trigger the backlight but does nothing else.
I tried removing the batteries, and around a few hours putting it back seems to be able to reset the phone to working again. This is FRUSTRATING~~@!
Neptern
Mar 21 2011, 10:12 PM
QUOTE hmm... climbing the ceiling? I thought for high rise, unifi uses existing building's copper wire (hence the use of vdsl2)...each unit should have phone socket right?
perhaps i should raise this issue to the appropriate personnel... That's for landed property ceiling.
charymsylyn
Mar 21 2011, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Mar 21 2011, 10:52 AM) Any "Dir-615" expert here? I wanna ask how to setup QoS or to divide the bandwidth equally for a number of users connected? My friend is always downloading with xunlei. I asked him to limit the speed to around 300kB because i dare not to ask him to lower it further down. Surfing is not to say lag but when watching youtube vid then it'd lag for sure... I want to do something in the router side to cap his download speed and for all of us too. Means when 5 users connected, I want a equal bandwidth among 5 of us which is 1Mbps per user, on VIP5. Is that possible? Unfortunately, the QOS function on the DIR615 is not advanced enough to do exactly what you want above. You can look into DD-WRT if you still want to use the DIR615.
stevenlys
Mar 21 2011, 11:36 PM
SUper slow in USJ damn it~!
charymsylyn
Mar 21 2011, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(kiwlm @ Mar 21 2011, 11:10 AM) I am still having problems setting up port forwarding with the DIR 615 router, any sifus can help me out here? The problem is when I set up in the Advanced Port Forwarding area, it doesn't work, I can't connect to my server externally. I can connect if I set up as a DMZ but I do not want to open all the ports into my pc. How do you guys configure to be able to host games? Port forwarding not working is a known issue with stock firmware DIR615. The only way to reliably port forward without DMZ is using uPnP. Added on March 21, 2011, 11:39 pmQUOTE(CrayonsEater @ Mar 21 2011, 09:19 PM) Hi lyn bros. I'm subscribing to unicoolpack currently and i applied unifi thru <www.unifi.my> this afternoon. do i have to go to tm shop to cancel off my unicoolpack or they will cancel the unicoolpack on my behalf automatically? The most reliable way is to fill up termination form and submit at TMpoint. There is a 14 days processing period. This post has been edited by charymsylyn: Mar 21 2011, 11:39 PM