115 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V9, save RM200 from 16 February - 31 March !

g5sim
post Mar 14 2011, 01:23 PM

5,752 posts

omg. Unifi totally down. No dsl n internet light on the btu. Even the phone cannot be used. Im in Serdang. Posted from Symbian digi
ahpaul82
post Mar 14 2011, 01:31 PM

.:保罗:.
3,795 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 14 2011, 01:09 PM)
extension cable for powering all the devices laaa ahpaul... you got many wall socket power point meh?
that should be good..  smile.gif
i thought he said other extension cable.
in fact my house do have many power point socket tongue.gif

Unifi staff called back,
and i have confirmed the installation time,
mana tao he said still need to check with technician,
technician will confirm place/time with me doh.gif laugh.gif
VerM
post Mar 14 2011, 01:57 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Mar 14 2011, 01:31 PM)
i thought he said other extension cable.
in fact my house do have many power point socket tongue.gif

Unifi staff called back,
and i have confirmed the installation time,
mana tao he said still need to check with technician,
technician will confirm place/time with me  doh.gif  laugh.gif
well its too good to be true... biggrin.gif
g5sim
post Mar 14 2011, 02:07 PM

5,752 posts

ok already . tongue.gif
gotdamsg
post Mar 14 2011, 02:15 PM

380 posts

How to configure the DIR-615 to block any torrent app? I am searching it on the manual but found nothing.

This post has been edited by gotdamsg: Mar 14 2011, 02:15 PM
VerM
post Mar 14 2011, 02:58 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Mar 14 2011, 02:15 PM)
How to configure the DIR-615 to block any torrent app? I am searching it on the manual but found nothing.
I am no network expert but i think torrent apps use many different ports, so you cannot block by port, and you cannot block by ip-address either, so you might need an additional tool to block it, which could use packet inspection or similar technique.
gotdamsg
post Mar 14 2011, 03:00 PM

380 posts

yes thats what I am thinking now.. the ports always changing. Google might be able to help smile.gif
ljf123
post Mar 14 2011, 03:12 PM

1,061 posts

cant load facebook well la...
hackwire
post Mar 14 2011, 03:31 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 14 2011, 09:19 AM)
my installation is also upstairs (no tv upstairs, trying to do point2point ap downstairs)... in my case i have no trouble getting connected anywhere in my house; downstairs, kitchen, outside....

the supplied wifi router is already preconfigured for optimum wifi coverage... there is not much the contractor can do...

to have wifi equally covered in all areas in the house depends on various factors (including faulty router)...

TM has no responsibility to make sure every where in the house get connected, they already mentioned here
If you read closely, wifi coverage is an additional benefit... meaning, TM only ensure that you get the unifi connectivity properly (speed, iptv and phone) but not what you intend to do with it...
Thanks a lot and truly understand their terms now... I have no other choices also since i have gone through all the details in this thread and i have figured out to connect my RG from my backroom due to extra cost and hacking work . After getting helps from most of you here, i thought i could solve the Wifi Coverage Area downstairs with Homeplug by TP-link . Initially, i was quite happy with this solution proposed by some of you than when i get deeper into the detail about this tech, this device have two requirements.

1) plug point must be require to be terminated at the same fuse if 3 phase (mine is 3 phase)
2) The device must be connected direct to the wall and must be dedicated by itself or it will not achieve optimum .
(i only have one plug point for the RG and don't have extra point for Homeplug)

Sigh! Anyone had this problem as mine and have it solve for optimum coverage?
BlueHeng
post Mar 14 2011, 03:38 PM

1,604 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 14 2011, 03:31 PM)
Thanks a lot and truly understand their terms now... I have no other choices also since i have gone through all the details in this thread and i have figured out to connect my RG from my backroom due to extra cost and hacking work . After getting helps from most of you here, i thought i could solve the Wifi Coverage Area downstairs with Homeplug by TP-link . Initially, i was quite happy with this solution proposed by some of you than when i get deeper into the detail about this tech, this device have two requirements.

1) plug point must be require to be terminated at the same fuse if 3 phase (mine is 3 phase)
2) The device must be connected direct to the wall and must be dedicated by itself or it will not achieve optimum .

There is a solution but it's not going to be cheap. Go do some research on repeaters. They're like the middleman to boost signals in between places. Good luck.

http://compnetworking.about.com/od/wireles...elessgear_7.htm
youliang
post Mar 14 2011, 03:46 PM

Aficionado
1,178 posts

QUOTE(VerM @ Mar 14 2011, 02:58 PM)
I am no network expert but i think torrent apps use many different ports, so you cannot block by port, and you cannot block by ip-address either, so you might need an additional tool to block it, which could use packet inspection or similar technique.
block all ports and only allow whichever ports that you want to use? biggrin.gif
jaaroquai
post Mar 14 2011, 04:31 PM

109 posts

Hi

a bit blur. is the TP Link provided or need to buy on our own to change the DLink DIR one. I also read that not everybody have got an issue with the DLink one. Or am I missing something? and this only for wireless connections right? for cable should not have any problem right?

i also read that its better to select the channel manually for a better wireless signal. so how do we test to know the best channel?

and also i read about homeplug. is it possible to channel the cabling from 1st floor to ground floor. a bit confused and if anyone care to explain would be great or maybe a link or two about this. for the iptv as well as cabled connections for pc/laptops. or is it only for the iptv.

as for vip 5, should we getting above 5mb for dl and ul or slightly lower than 5mb.

thanks.

This post has been edited by jaaroquai: Mar 14 2011, 04:33 PM
VerM
post Mar 14 2011, 04:34 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Mar 14 2011, 03:00 PM)
yes thats what I am thinking now.. the ports always changing. Google might be able to help smile.gif
carry on.... nod.gif

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 14 2011, 03:31 PM)

I'm not homeplug fan (never use one before)... so perhaps others can help with this...

QUOTE(youliang @ Mar 14 2011, 03:46 PM)
block all ports and only allow whichever ports that you want to use? biggrin.gif
technically yes but practically no since torrent this days can use port 80 as well...

furthermore the technique 'deny all except ones i use' requires normal user to understand about well-known basic TCP/UDP ports and its use
i.e. 80, 21,22, 25, 53, 143, 110, 953, 993, 995, etc...

Added on March 14, 2011, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(jaaroquai @ Mar 14 2011, 04:31 PM)
Hi

a bit blur. is the TP Link provided or need to buy on our own to change the DLink DIR one. I also read that not everybody have got an issue with the DLink one. Or am I missing something? and this only for wireless connections right? for cable should not have any problem right?

i also read that its better to select the channel manually for a better wireless signal. so how do we test to know the best channel?

and also i read about homeplug. is it possible to channel the cabling from 1st floor to ground floor. a bit confused and if anyone care to explain would be great or maybe a link or two about this. for the iptv as well as cabled connections for pc/laptops. or is it only for the iptv.

as for vip 5, should we getting above 5mb for dl and ul or slightly lower than 5mb.

thanks.
TP link is for advanced users who want more control with their Unifi over the standard Dlink...

If you have many heavy user in the house and experience problem with the Dlink then you should consider about it...
as for me, I dont have any problem with Dlink for the time being...(since I'm the only heavy user, err not physically)...

homeplug is an alternative way for connecting to your network besides wifi and utp cables...
what it does is actually using electrical wire (in the wall) as the data transmission medium from one electrical socket to another..
for places where laying UTP cable is not an option (messy) and/or wifi signal can reach/penetrate (too much interference) then homeplug is a good option.

in Unifi case, if your installation is upstairs or in a store room or in bedroom and the tv is on different room or downstairs then homeplug can be used to get the iptv connectivity...

This post has been edited by VerM: Mar 14 2011, 05:20 PM
jaaroquai
post Mar 14 2011, 04:54 PM

109 posts

ic.. thanks a bunch.

So that means to exchange to TP Link is free? And is it possible to go to TM Point for the exchange? or do one need to apply and wait for the technician to come by?

and you mentioned advanced.. what so advanced? most that i read are poor wifi signal. for control, i see that the DIR also have tweaking menus.

and what about the speed? usually is it over the 5mb range or somewhere in between (4+mb - 5mb) for dl and ul as i see some are over and some are lower. does 4+mb is acceptable?
hackwire
post Mar 14 2011, 05:06 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(jaaroquai @ Mar 14 2011, 04:54 PM)
ic.. thanks a bunch.

So that means to exchange to TP Link is free? And is it possible to go to TM Point for the exchange? or do one need to apply and wait for the technician to come by?

and you mentioned advanced.. what so advanced? most that i read are poor wifi signal. for control, i see that the DIR also have tweaking menus.

and what about the speed? usually is it over the 5mb range or somewhere in between (4+mb - 5mb) for dl and ul as i see some are over and some are lower. does 4+mb is acceptable?
just to assist some sifus here who had helped me so they are not exhausted with noob like us. TP Link modem is not free. I think you need to purchase it. Where did you read or heard of that TPlink is given Free? Somebody gave u wrong info?

yeah , i also need to know what advance means for TPLink ( a third party modem). What i believe by advance is probably one have to tweak the modem for the UNIFI to function as it need to go into the setting . Im not the best in this.

VerM
post Mar 14 2011, 05:16 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(jaaroquai @ Mar 14 2011, 04:54 PM)
ic.. thanks a bunch.

Nope... TP Link is just another product... you replace it on your own and its DIY configuration... TM is not supporting this change
its the same thing if you want to change your streamyx modem to a different one than the TM supplied...(even though i still think Kasda 318D is the best)

advanced here mean you've got to know what to configure and where to configure... mostly you will get the Internet connectivity but end-up having problem with iptv...its two separate vlan and you need to map it to two separate network port (or do vlan tagging)...most basic wifi router in the market does not come with this feature..

the DIR 615 tweaking or precisely advanced menu is fairly limited (from my point of view) and honestly i did not touch anything from the day i get connected to unifi..

As for poor wifi signal (2x2dBi antenna), well different people have different house, mine is two-storey 5 bedrooms with build-up almost 3000 sq feet and i have not experience any significant difference in term of signal strength anywhere in the house...
(i have better APs, really powerful but i dont have the mood yet to do any tweaking or hacking...)

the only problem I face with the DLink is sometimes the SSID is missing i got connected to other SSID... but i can live with that knowing the limitation of the wifi router...

This post has been edited by VerM: Mar 14 2011, 05:22 PM
gotdamsg
post Mar 14 2011, 05:26 PM

380 posts

Regarding the p2p/torrent blocking, I've Googled and yet found nothing about DIR615 that can block the ports.

The solution is to add a hardware firewall to control the p2p. Can you guys suggest a good firewall for this? I need advise.
VerM
post Mar 14 2011, 05:31 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Mar 14 2011, 05:26 PM)
Regarding the p2p/torrent blocking, I've Googled and yet found nothing about DIR615 that can block the ports.

The solution is to add a hardware firewall to control the p2p. Can you guys suggest a good firewall for this? I need advise.
if you dont mind, where exactly you want to deploy this? Home or office?
tigerporc
post Mar 14 2011, 05:37 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Mar 14 2011, 05:26 PM)

Disable UPNP and enable the DIR-615 firewall... shouldn't that meet your requirements?

Added on March 14, 2011, 5:38 pm

Unless the ppl you are trying to block the P2P usage has your DIR-615 login too?

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Mar 14 2011, 05:39 PM
jaaroquai
post Mar 14 2011, 06:07 PM

109 posts

woahh thanks VerM. i think i read it wrongly hehe.. so its another unit this TP and need to get it ourselves. thanks. I will stick to the DIR as for now because, i've tried most part of the house and the signal is good! will see how it goes in a month or two as it will be on 24/7.

the only thing was at the initial stage after the installation was done, the signal was like 2 bars even at close range. after restart my laptop, its all good. full bar.

and yes the setting are enough for me for now as i only use it for small torrenting (port forward and dmz are enough) as i mainly stream from the net plus online gaming.

thanks for your info VerM. really appreciate it man!

cheers!

hackwire - maybe i read wrongly

This post has been edited by jaaroquai: Mar 14 2011, 06:09 PM

115 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0569sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:27 AM