9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Nokia and Microsoft enter strategic alliance !, Symbian will be phased out, Meego stays

SUSgogo2
post Feb 11 2011, 09:46 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(iipohbee @ Feb 11 2011, 09:44 PM)
Nokia is definitely going downhill.

It makes sense that their next route would be MS WP7 which centers around the Indian software community and Nokia users are mostly Indians.

If you look at Windows Phone Ads the front screen shows an Indian photo album!

While Android development community is more Chinese oriented. Google Android Lab is based in Taipei.
Google establishes Android team in Taiwan
http://news.cnet.com/8301-1035_3-10194652-94.html
racist people detected. this is not kopitiam bro.

This post has been edited by gogo2: Feb 11 2011, 09:47 PM
DJFoo000
post Feb 11 2011, 09:47 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 11 2011, 09:41 PM)
not really bro. XBox success because the multiplayer experience is great.

Not interestingness because got WP7 get bad treatment from manufacturer of phone such as HTC.
HTC allowed to customise but cannot use their sense UI. HTC Hub was added as differentiation product.
Not sure what's the "yay" for though.
What I'm saying is the HTC Hub is the most HTC can 'customise' their version of WP7. You also said HTC was apparently allowed to 'customise' and all they get to do was add HTC Hub. The 'yay' was an awkward celebration for the existence of an apparent ability to customise WP7 by manufacturers.

In case my overuse of the word "apparent" confused you, apparent means "something that does not exist". Apparently means "thought to be so but wasn't".

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 11 2011, 09:50 PM
SUSgogo2
post Feb 11 2011, 09:51 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 11 2011, 09:47 PM)
What I'm saying is the HTC Hub is the most HTC can 'customise' their version of WP7. You also said HTC was apparently allowed to 'customise' and all they get to do was add HTC Hub. The 'yay' was an awkward celebration for the existence of an apparent ability to customise WP7 by manufacturers.
I did not say that HTC can customise. Please point out where ???
So its kinda weird you put yay too. Apparently in the link I give you, it say HTC cannot customise.

You start to talk weird now. sweat.gif
stimix
post Feb 11 2011, 09:53 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

One bad things on Symbian currently & in the past is slow boot-up time, Not so good multi-touch comparing wth ifon, and also the worst Internet browser compare wth others..

Hopefully wth WP7, they can posper more and solve those mysteries..Their superb ovimaps covering almsot everywhere in the world, superb GPS chipset & the superb camera are Nokia good point during Symbian era...
DJFoo000
post Feb 11 2011, 09:55 PM

3,000 posts

Read the bolded part. You said it yourself.

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 11 2011, 09:41 PM)
not really bro. XBox success because the multiplayer experience is great.

Not interestingness because got WP7 get bad treatment from manufacturer of phone such as HTC.
HTC allowed to customise but cannot use their sense UI. HTC Hub was added as differentiation product.
Not sure what's the "yay" for though.
In July 2010 HTC said the same about them being given the green light to 'customise'. HTC Hub was all they can do.

http://www.biggtech.com/mobile/htc-will-cu...sense_2308.html

What link are you talking about?

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 11 2011, 09:57 PM
SUSgogo2
post Feb 11 2011, 09:56 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 11 2011, 09:53 PM)
One bad things on Symbian currently & in the past is slow boot-up time, Not so good multi-touch comparing wth ifon, and also the worst Internet browser  compare wth others..

Hopefully wth WP7, they can posper more and solve those mysteries..Their superb ovimaps covering almsot everywhere in the world, superb GPS chipset & the superb camera are Nokia good point during Symbian era...
thats why in the new alliance, Ovi Map is ported in to WP7.
GPS and camera no need to say is from Nokia.

While Microsoft provide the OS for multi touch, fast boot, and great internet browser experience...

All I can say is ....

THIS IS FULL OF WIN!!!!

Added on February 11, 2011, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 11 2011, 09:55 PM)
Read the bolded part
In July 2010 HTC said the same about them being given the green light to 'customise'. HTC Hub was all they can do.

http://www.biggtech.com/mobile/htc-will-cu...sense_2308.html

What link are you talking about?
This means that HTC cakap besar saying they can customize.

But Nokia is different. This is alliance. Integrating software between two manufacturer.

This is gang up bro. Different with HTC putting in WP7 into HD2 to become HD7 and tweak a bit of the hardware.

That's why Microsoft hate all the WP7 manufacturer. They need a partner. And Nokia came along....

ITS JUST SO FULL OF WIN

This post has been edited by gogo2: Feb 11 2011, 09:59 PM
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Feb 11 2011, 10:01 PM

151 posts

at the moment & long term future, joining forces of 2 titans nokia and windows mobile represent de greatest threat to android.
in a few years once their partnership is established, high-end smartphone market will be dominated by apple wt IOS and nokia with Windows phone.

android is like a headless chicken, initially going fast & everywhere but very soon will die easily.
simply bcoz de android marketplace is too lousy.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 11 2011, 10:04 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(CELCOM.AXIATA @ Feb 11 2011, 10:01 PM)
at the moment & long term future, joining forces of 2 titans nokia and windows mobile represent de greatest threat to android.
in a few years once their partnership is established, high-end smartphone market will be dominated by apple wt IOS and nokia with Windows phone.

android is like a headless chicken, initially going fast & everywhere but very soon will die easily.
simply bcoz de android marketplace is too lousy.
true true...

Also, if you read this http://blogs.hbr.org/cs/2010/11/did_google..._own_enemi.html

Google probably will not earn money in the future... lol
DJFoo000
post Feb 11 2011, 10:10 PM

3,000 posts

Google made so much money from else where they can buy companies and put their products up for free, and in the process make even more money.

What my previous post was saying is Nokia probably made the same slip of tongue about customisability. And in what article did you read that Microsoft hated the other WP7 manufacturers? Do you know what consequence that would lead to in terms of partnership opportunity? Or you just made that up?
SUSgogo2
post Feb 11 2011, 10:17 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 11 2011, 10:10 PM)
Google made so much money from else where they can buy companies and put their products up for free, and in the process make even more money.

What my previous post was saying is Nokia probably made the same slip of tongue about customisability. And in what article did you read that Microsoft hated the other WP7 manufacturers? Do you know what consequence that would lead to in terms of partnership opportunity? Or you just made that up?
Slip tongue? Nope.. this is different bro... you dunno how this partnership is???? its so huge...and deep

Apple dun need partnership opportunity. So microsoft and Nokia dun need others too.

Microsoft + Nokia will just come out with 1 device to pawn all Android device like what Apple is doing.
DJFoo000
post Feb 11 2011, 10:26 PM

3,000 posts

lol you're putting your hopes too much in the future, while the a lot of us are looking at the track record. I have presented what I came to present. Have fun hoping for that copy and paste feature on the Nokia WP7.
SUSgogo2
post Feb 11 2011, 10:28 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 11 2011, 10:26 PM)
lol you're putting your hopes too much in the future, while the a lot of us are looking at the track record. I have presented what I came to present. Have fun hoping for that copy and paste feature on the Nokia WP7.
Its not hoping bro. Its coming out in March.

Of course we hope for the future.

Looking at track record is only for fanboy bro.... we look at what the manufacturer come out and buy accordingly...

you're not buying business bro... u just buy gadget.. track record is not determine what you buy in the future... icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSCELCOM.AXIATA
post Feb 11 2011, 10:46 PM

151 posts

it is like this.
nokia possess capability to produce phones wt great design and hardware, but their weakness is software eco-systyem.
while windows 7 mobile possess great potential in software.
this is best partnership especially considering the resources of both companies.
Andrew Lim
post Feb 11 2011, 11:24 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

I'll believe a WP7 Nokia phone will be a success only when it happens. I have too many doubts about that coming true now.
Reasons:
- WP7 is still immature, missing a lot of features (e.g. copy and paste, multi-tasking) that exist in iOS and Android.
- Nokia has said they'll need time to make a WP7 phone. I expect earliest you can see one at the end of this year. But that time Android would be entrenched even further with more high end phones and Ice Cream Sandwich released.
41LY45
post Feb 12 2011, 12:29 AM

Flipping out..
1,500 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Feb 11 2011, 11:24 PM)
I'll believe a WP7 Nokia phone will be a success only when it happens. I have too many doubts about that coming true now.
Reasons:
- WP7 is still immature, missing a lot of features (e.g. copy and paste, multi-tasking) that exist in iOS and Android.
- Nokia has said they'll need time to make a WP7 phone. I expect earliest you can see one at the end of this year. But that time Android would be entrenched even further with more high end phones and Ice Cream Sandwich released.
QFT.

lch78
post Feb 12 2011, 12:41 AM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Now is still too early to argue about the impact of Nokia WP7 in the future. Let Nokia comes out a WP7 phone first.

IMO, Vic Gundotra might be wrong about "two turkeys do not make an eagle". If Nokia WP7 is successful, Nokia will be the turkey, and MS is the eagle dining the turkey.

SUSgogo2
post Feb 12 2011, 12:47 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Feb 11 2011, 11:24 PM)
Reasons:
It depends. Nothing last forever. Last time we also dun think Nokia will fall like this.
Now you dun think Android will die. But believe me. Next year, Nokia WP7 will conquer the
word. That time you'll eat back your own word.

QUOTE(lch78 @ Feb 12 2011, 12:41 AM)
Now is still too early to argue about the impact of Nokia WP7 in the future. Let Nokia comes out a WP7 phone first.

IMO, Vic Gundotra might be wrong about "two turkeys do not make an eagle". If Nokia WP7 is successful, Nokia will be the turkey, and MS is the eagle dining the turkey.
I believe Nokia and MS become eagle while Android is turkey.
Quantum_thinking
post Feb 12 2011, 03:55 AM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 11 2011, 09:53 PM)
One bad things on Symbian currently & in the past is slow boot-up time, Not so good multi-touch comparing wth ifon, and also the worst Internet browser  compare wth others..

+1.

Now, Nokia is taking a very big gamble to turn around the tables. While i am still quite skeptical about the decision, but only god knows what Nokia and Microsoft can roll out.

The issue bugging me about migrating to Android is because of the hardware manufacturer. Each of them have the cons that i am not yet ready to accept it fully and they are expensive.
cy97
post Feb 12 2011, 09:54 AM

1,140 posts

As the CEO mentioned in his speech, Nokia discount Android due to the fact that Nokia is too late to adopt Android n the difficulty in term of differentiation ! To me it is all bullshit why would u dump something good because due to ur own mistake in getting it earlier! When it is good, you should embrace it no matter how late. As Indians still dominate Microsoft, you would never see great thing come out of it. I m sure the CEO will lose his job come next year! Let's wait n see!

I still believe Nokia should do it themselves like Apple did! Put more effort to develop Meego n not hide below the shadow of another loser, Microsoft! Put two losers together u get what?

Sony Erricsson is a good example!
iipohbee
post Feb 12 2011, 11:16 AM

603 posts

This alliance is nothing without the support of the East Asian countries - China, Taiwan, South Korea and Japan.
Nokia has never gain much entry there and Android is always their preferred mobile OS platform.

While with the console market Microsoft can pump in enough money to overtake the Playstation, the Android is another story,

Behind the Android is giant Google, Samsung, Sony, HTC, China Inc.

This post has been edited by iipohbee: Feb 12 2011, 11:17 AM

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:34 AM