34 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

News Intel finds Sandy Bridge chipset design flaw

Trance4eva
post Feb 1 2011, 06:54 PM

1,801 posts

Since Samsung offered to replaced their laptop for free do you think Lenovo will???
Can't seem to find any news on their website bout this.
astria
post Feb 1 2011, 06:55 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

well, in another word, it's a hardware design fault that can only be fixed by hardware means... driver (software) won't fix the problem...

dun see how it can affect performance... it's not a performance issue in the first place, it's more of a quality issue...

Added on February 1, 2011, 6:56 pm
QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 1 2011, 06:54 PM)
Since Samsung offered to replaced their laptop for free do you think Lenovo will???
Can't seem to find any news on their website bout this.
so far all i see is that Gigabyte and MSI has stopped shipping their desktop boards and have instructed distributors to stop selling...

the whole issue can only be resolved completely by April when Intel resumes full production of the chipsets...

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 1 2011, 06:56 PM
HarDiE
post Feb 1 2011, 06:59 PM

208 posts

ok understand nod.gif

thought they re-design can gain more performance tongue.gif
astria
post Feb 1 2011, 07:00 PM

22,158 posts

btw, full Intel statement on the issue here: http://newsroom.intel.com/community/intel_...enting-solution

SANTA CLARA, Calif., Jan. 31, 2011 - As part of ongoing quality assurance, Intel Corporation has discovered a design issue in a recently released support chip, the Intel® 6 Series, code-named Cougar Point, and has implemented a silicon fix. In some cases, the Serial-ATA (SATA) ports within the chipsets may degrade over time, potentially impacting the performance or functionality of SATA-linked devices such as hard disk drives and DVD-drives. The chipset is utilized in PCs with Intel's latest Second Generation Intel Core processors, code-named Sandy Bridge. Intel has stopped shipment of the affected support chip from its factories. Intel has corrected the design issue, and has begun manufacturing a new version of the support chip which will resolve the issue. The Sandy Bridge microprocessor is unaffected and no other products are affected by this issue.

The company expects to begin delivering the updated version of the chipset to customers in late February and expects full volume recovery in April. Intel stands behind its products and is committed to product quality. For computer makers and other Intel customers that have bought potentially affected chipsets or systems, Intel will work with its OEM partners to accept the return of the affected chipsets, and plans to support modifications or replacements needed on motherboards or systems. The systems with the affected support chips have only been shipping since January 9th and the company believes that relatively few consumers are impacted by this issue. The only systems sold to an end customer potentially impacted are Second Generation Core i5 and Core i7 quad core based systems. Intel believes that consumers can continue to use their systems with confidence, while working with their computer manufacturer for a permanent solution. For further information consumers should contact Intel at www.intel.com on the support page or contact their OEM manufacturer.

For the first quarter of 2011, Intel expects this issue to reduce revenue by approximately $300 million as the company discontinues production of the current version of the chipset and begins manufacturing the new version. Full-year revenue is not expected to be materially affected by the issue. Total cost to repair and replace affected materials and systems in the market is estimated to be $700 million. Since this issue affected some of the chipset units shipped and produced in the fourth quarter of 2010, the company will take a charge against cost of goods sold, which is expected to reduce the fourth quarter gross margin percentage by approximately 4 percentage points from the previously reported 67.5 percent. The company will also take a charge in the first quarter of 2011which will lower the previously communicated gross margin percentage by 2 percentage points and the full-year gross margin percentage by one percentage point.

maybe TS can post it on the first post...

Added on February 1, 2011, 7:09 pmIntel's blog advising end users wat to do: http://blogs.intel.com/technology/2011/01/...design_flaw.php

How do I know if my PC contains the affected part? If you purchased your system before January 9th, 2011 you do not need to do anything else.

I’ve confirmed that my PC contains the part affected in this announcement. What should I do next? If you believe you may be affected by this issue, please contact your place of purchase or your PC manufacturer. Intel is working with our PC manufacturing partners on a warranty return solution.

What is the specific technical problem identified? The parts that contain this potential problem includes the Intel® 6 Series (and the Intel® C200 Series Chipset). In some cases, the Serial-ATA (SATA) ports within the chipsets may degrade over time, potentially impacting the performance or functionality of SATA-linked devices such as hard disk drives and DVD-drives. This issue does not affect the processor but only affects the supporting chipsets. Intel has implemented a silicon fix to this problem.

Where might I find more information about this issue? Intel is committed to communicating openly with our valued customers and partners regarding this issue. To better respond to your questions, we have implemented a live chat feature on our Intel Customer Support page. You are also encouraged to contact your PC Manufacturer for more information on any warranty return process.

for the paranoid ones, u can chat with an Intel Support Agent: http://www.intel.com/support/chipsets/sb/CS-032263.htm

and for the hardcore users, a webcast explaining the issue: http://phx.corporate-ir.net/phoenix.zhtml?...eventID=3711144

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 1 2011, 07:09 PM
Trance4eva
post Feb 1 2011, 07:35 PM

1,801 posts

so are the processors in Laptops affected???
Acid_RuleZz
post Feb 1 2011, 07:52 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 1 2011, 07:35 PM)
so are the processors in Laptops affected???
only the Chipset. More specifically the Sata port. MOAR specific port 2 and over
eugenechiuu
post Feb 1 2011, 07:55 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Didn't u read the article astria just posted? It says processors are not affected @.@
Trance4eva
post Feb 1 2011, 08:25 PM

1,801 posts

sry i meant chipsets.......will the chipsets in the laptops be affected. I read some article claming only desktops models are affected and other articles claiming all models sold after 9th Jan have problems
astria
post Feb 1 2011, 10:07 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 1 2011, 08:25 PM)
sry i meant chipsets.......will the chipsets in the laptops be affected. I read some article claming only desktops models are affected and other articles claiming all models sold after 9th Jan have problems
aren't the chipsets the center of the problem? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 1 2011, 10:23 PM
Heroez
post Feb 1 2011, 11:35 PM

163 posts

Hi , is the Asus G73SW affected ?
astria
post Feb 1 2011, 11:41 PM

22,158 posts

for the third time...

yes, it's using 6-series chipset...
Heroez
post Feb 1 2011, 11:43 PM

163 posts

oh crap , i was wanting to buy new lappy wif Sb ...huhu
soublele
post Feb 2 2011, 12:42 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(Heroez @ Feb 1 2011, 11:43 PM)
yeah me too.. this is a total pain in the butt mad.gif
Acid_RuleZz
post Feb 2 2011, 01:28 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(Heroez @ Feb 1 2011, 11:43 PM)
QUOTE(soublele @ Feb 2 2011, 12:42 AM)
yeah me too.. this is a total pain in the butt  mad.gif
why so serious? you still can buy it now if the lappy u bought only use sata port 0 and port 1 nod.gif

astria
post Feb 2 2011, 01:42 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Feb 2 2011, 01:28 AM)
why so serious? you still can buy it now if the lappy u bought only use sata port 0 and port 1  nod.gif
well, but can u be so sure abt it???
djzen
post Feb 2 2011, 01:43 AM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Feb 2 2011, 03:58 AM)
why so serious? you still can buy it now if the lappy u bought only use sata port 0 and port 1  nod.gif
how do I check if the laptop is using port 0 and 1 only?
astria
post Feb 2 2011, 01:47 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(djzen @ Feb 2 2011, 01:43 AM)
how do I check if the laptop is using port 0 and 1 only?
Intel Rapid Storage can tell u that...

other programs include PC Wizard and Everest...
djzen
post Feb 2 2011, 02:11 AM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

port 2 in on ATAPI device (DVD drive)

at least hard disk is on port 0.. so not affected

sad.gif so one day my dvd drive will stop working..
Acid_RuleZz
post Feb 2 2011, 06:27 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

from TomsHardware
- If you've bought a Sandy Bridge system, you may be entitled to a free replacement.

Manufacturers told us that revised motherboards and notebooks based are unlikely to appear until at least April of this year, and Intel probably won't be supplying new chipset revisions until early to mid-March. However, replacements are unclear as manufacturers are informing us that details need to be worked out with Intel on how customers will be handled.

Intel claims that only 5-percent of Sandy Bridge owners will experience the flaw. But speaking with manufacturers, we were told that numbers appear to be far greater than that. Some companies told us that this is definitely a "panic-mode" situation for them.

Motherboards that you already have today will still work, but you may see performance drop over time.

- If you're thinking about a Sandy Bridge system, you will have to wait until at least April.

Clearly, buying a Sandy Bridge system isn't what anyone should be doing at this moment.

- Desktops, notebooks, servers are all affected.

This is a widespread problem affecting all products that are based on Sandy Bridge. Notebooks and up-coming Xeon-based servers may take longer than motherboards to see replacements become widely available.

- Expect delays in new availability.

Some companies told us that there is some shortage of copper and other materials from the manufacturing side. This could further introduce delays beyond an April time frame.

- Sandy Bridge updates.

Intel is expected to hold several conference calls with major manufacturers today and let them know how the situation will be handled. We'll have more details for you later this afternoon.

sauce: http://www.tomshardware.com/news/sandy-bri...ta-error-sata-3
Dell2011
post Feb 2 2011, 10:19 AM

64 posts

...............what a twist :|

I am literally infront of Lowyat plaza right now haha.....I am gonna skip buying a lappy....atleast till they sort this mess out

have a good day guys, much love

34 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:19 AM