Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Is this laptop or desktop first? Theres not even i5 SB's yet
eugenechiuu
post Feb 1 2011, 06:59 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(lakost @ Feb 1 2011, 04:36 AM)
This is bad.i might give Acer service centre a call regarding this issue.dammit.
I doubt the Acer in Malaysia would even know about such issue whistling.gif
eugenechiuu
post Feb 1 2011, 12:08 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 1 2011, 12:00 PM)
Haha, again our sifus here are much faster than them Tech Services  sweat.gif

Added on February 1, 2011, 12:01 pm

...and eventually all the other brands if they don't do anything about this haha  laugh.gif
What do u expect of Acer Malaysia??

This just happened yesterday and the only SB laptop they have currently is only 5750G... Compared to their many other laptops, they would be least concern about this..
eugenechiuu
post Feb 1 2011, 07:55 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Didn't u read the article astria just posted? It says processors are not affected @.@
eugenechiuu
post Feb 19 2011, 07:41 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(puchuu @ Feb 19 2011, 07:38 AM)
guys may i know a specific date for new fixed sandy bridge will be release? cuz i desperately need a notebook for my graphic work, but i can wait a lil bit more days if it will release in early March.
No specific date but earliest would also be early-mid march..
eugenechiuu
post Feb 19 2011, 09:26 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Feb 19 2011, 09:17 PM)
I think intel purposely release faulty SB chipset, then recall afterwards so their older Core i could be fully cleared. lolz
And bear a lost of millions and their reputation on the line? No way lol

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Feb 19 2011, 09:26 PM
eugenechiuu
post Feb 24 2011, 01:43 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

There's A53Sv for RM2599 also (exact same specs as N53Sv).. I am sure A52Jv gonna be drop price like hell next month...

But the rm200 is totally worthed it for N series.. Much better speakers and build quality, only downside is heavier...

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Feb 24 2011, 01:45 AM
eugenechiuu
post Feb 24 2011, 03:24 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Feb 24 2011, 02:54 AM)
okay...lets settle it once and for all XD

N53SV
A52JV
A53SV

btw i must get it this week.

possible to get the sandy bridge proc laptops this week?
Dun think it's possible..
eugenechiuu
post Feb 24 2011, 03:32 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Feb 24 2011, 03:27 AM)
Then A52JV will be the best pick for the time.

Its for a girl by the way , she cant wait , oh well , they just use it for normal tasks which i3 will handle smoothly anyway lol
Hmm... Do you wanna consider getting a cheaper laptop then? 15 inch is quite heavy for a girl if she wanna bring it around.. 540M is totally overkill for someone who doesn't game..
eugenechiuu
post Feb 24 2011, 03:57 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Feb 24 2011, 03:46 AM)
hahah just wanna get her the best for the time , as she need it urgently smile.gif
Haha... If it were me, I would get a girl 3820TG lol.. Long battery life FTW and 1.8kg only.. Only around Rm2100

Anyways, ur call man, u know ur fren/gf best
eugenechiuu
post Feb 24 2011, 05:48 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Feb 24 2011, 04:04 AM)
She wants an asus smile.gif

And the A52JV outlook is similar to all the A52J series right?
Yup..

For her, N43Jf is a better choice if u can still find it..
eugenechiuu
post Feb 24 2011, 09:16 PM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Feb 24 2011, 03:40 PM)
Wooohoooo i bought n43jf jz nowww
Congratz! I am sure ur gf would be very satisfied and love u even more! Haha
eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 12:49 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Apple is really efficient, they managed to release the new fixed SB way before any other manufacturers, I was impressed by this fact but disappointed with the new specs though
eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 01:19 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(metaloid @ Feb 25 2011, 01:08 AM)
i think the most disappointing part would be the HDD no? especially for that kinda price.
Isn't is stupid that MBP 13 inch using GPU weaker than previous 320M and resolutions is lower than MacBook air 11 inch
eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 01:32 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(metaloid @ Feb 25 2011, 01:28 AM)
agreed its as though they are telling us the sandy bridge integrated ones are good enough so they wont add discrete gpus. Heck, even the 6490M and 6750M on the bigger models are no big deal.
Both of them are DDR5, I really wonder how HD6490 fairs, I think it's not as good as 330M, it seems like apple is focusing their Market very specifically, HD6750 is really impressive though! It's a top mid-level GPU but I think the price for it is even more impressive lol
eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 04:08 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(metaloid @ Feb 25 2011, 02:04 AM)
its good that apple is being specific and customizable, every single upgrade puts a dent in your wallet sad.gif i think the hd6490 is disappointing, seems to be weaker than 330M and we could get a 540M with the same processor on an Asus for example. but yea compared to other brands, with mbp's price we can easily get a top notch gaming system.
Lol no one ask u compare to normal laptops... But it was disappointing even when I compare to their previous line and other macbooks
eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 08:08 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ Feb 25 2011, 07:51 AM)
Haha, yeah I understand your point. Even so, the SB adds to battery life already without the addition of the integrated GPU. A more efficient architecture leads to better usage of power, or a better way of saying, more battery smile.gif But I guess, we are all greedy humans who want everything in one package, be it the integrated GPU or the batteries.

And MacbookPro? HAHA. Sorry. Were there any official announcements regarding their release of the new laptops?
It's already out since10 hours ago lar... Check apple website LOL
eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 09:22 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(This is a Lamp @ Feb 25 2011, 08:12 AM)
I'm not a fan of Apple...so I rarely check their site.

Any traces of Apple programs in my PC, I delete haha.
Aww.. I love iTunes, they have the best search function for songs IMO
eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 09:52 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(Trance4eva @ Feb 25 2011, 09:36 AM)
Guys now its already confrim Lenovo y560p confirm 100% no switchable graphics. They lied to me......
All,

Thanks for your patience and for working with James and Cleo over the last several weeks as we researched this through engineering and development.   

In the end, it appears that the website was in error - the Y460p and Y560p models do not support switchable graphics even though there may be references to the feature in the preload and / or in some documentation that was common across several models of systems.   

Engineering indicates that this is not supported as implemented in the hardware design of these systems, and that it cannot be resolved through BIOS or driver update. 

The system board updates that will be provided through the Intel Series 6 Chipset program will be the same type of board, with an updated version of the affected Intel chip to correct that port 2-5 design flaw and will not provide additional features / functions such as the enablement of switchable graphics.

This was an error in documentation of the system's features, and it has been corrected on the website.    I understand that this will be disappointing news for those of you who wanted to make use of this feature.   

If you wish to return the system, please contact Lenovo web sales - they should be able to work with you on a refund, or any available options to move to a different system.

Apologies,

Mark
NEVER BUY FROM LENOVO!!!!! unless IBM buys back their company
Chill man lol.. Still rememeber u're so PRO Lenovo when u first bought the laptop, hahah now totally ANTI ar?

Anyways, Lenovo is still doing a good job managing the former IBM Thinkpad lines.. Good QC, build and everything, u gotta give them credits for that... Other laptops have no relation to IBM at all, they're all originally from Lenovo
eugenechiuu
post Feb 25 2011, 10:02 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 25 2011, 09:52 AM)
Apple is sort of forced to use Intel chipset instead of NV...

Intel has juz settled with NV regarding the use of DMI by NV on the Nehalem architecture... there has been no NV chipset for Intel platform after Core 2... so that means, NV can't produce anything at all, and it will take time for them to come up with a working prototype...

i won;t blame Apple for moving back to Intel chipset... it's not like they have a choice... wat boggles me is that they went back to AMD/ATi for GPU instead... seems to me Apple has been using NV in the past juz becuz they use the GeForce mobo and to keep things consistent...
I've been trying to understand Apple's strategy for quite a while and I came up with a guess is that they probably found out the fraction of Mac users who actually use their laptop for serious gaming...

For instance, a serious Mac gamer would probably get the one with higher end processors so this is the reason they eliminated discrete GPU in MBP 13..

A serious Mac user without any gaming would be needing a good processor to do heavy programs such as photoshops and stuffs, so they need a bigger screen n the Quad processor, hence the lower end HD6490 for cheaper price tag...

Then HD6750 is really a big jump from HD6490 in terms in GPU power, hence the option to upgrade in an MBP 15...

Well MBP 17, can't think of any reasons, probably for ppl with unlimited budget hahah

This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Feb 25 2011, 10:03 AM

0.0315sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:13 PM