34 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

News Intel finds Sandy Bridge chipset design flaw

TS24seven
post Feb 1 2011, 12:38 AM, updated 15y ago

98 posts

A problem requiring a "silicon fix" is bad news in the chipset business, and sadly that's what Intel is announcing. Its new Intel 6 Series chipset, Cougar Point, has been found to have a flaw, something to do with the SATA controller. Intel is indicating that the ports can "degrade over time," leading to poor i/o performance down the road. All shipments have been stopped and a fix has been implemented for new deliveries, but it sounds like recalls will be starting soon for those with this ticking time bomb silicon within. It isn't a critical problem right now, though, so if you own a Sandy Bridge Core i5 or Core i7 system keep computing with confidence while looking for a recall notice, but it is bad news for Intel's bottom line: the company is advising a $300 million hit to revenue.

Source: http://www.engadget.com/2011/01/31/intel-f...pments-stopped/

OMG!!!!

Will this effect those who have already bought sandy bridge laptops? And if it does, does that mean they will be recalled? Will this also affect upcoming laptops like the ASUS N53SN's release date? cry.gif cry.gif
astria
post Feb 1 2011, 12:46 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(24seven @ Feb 1 2011, 12:38 AM)
A problem requiring a "silicon fix" is bad news in the chipset business, and sadly that's what Intel is announcing. Its new Intel 6 Series chipset, Cougar Point, has been found to have a flaw, something to do with the SATA controller. Intel is indicating that the ports can "degrade over time," leading to poor i/o performance down the road. All shipments have been stopped and a fix has been implemented for new deliveries, but it sounds like recalls will be starting soon for those with this ticking time bomb silicon within. It isn't a critical problem right now, though, so if you own a Sandy Bridge Core i5 or Core i7 system keep computing with confidence while looking for a recall notice, but it is bad news for Intel's bottom line: the company is advising a $300 million hit to revenue.

Source: http://www.engadget.com/2011/01/31/intel-f...pments-stopped/

OMG!!!!

Will this effect those who have already bought sandy bridge laptops? And if it does, does that mean they will be recalled? Will this also affect upcoming laptops like the ASUS N53SN's release date? cry.gif  cry.gif
problem with new tech... laugh.gif

i think chance of recall is pretty low... OEMs would juz wait for the rig to OEM and then they replace the mobo...

so yeah, call up the svc center and ask them wat's their solution...
TS24seven
post Feb 1 2011, 12:51 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 1 2011, 12:46 AM)
problem with new tech... laugh.gif

i think chance of recall is pretty low... OEMs would juz wait for the rig to OEM and then they replace the mobo...

so yeah, call up the svc center and ask them wat's their solution...
Thank god the N53SN hasn't arrived in Malaysia yet. If not I would have bought it. Blessing in disguise. biggrin.gif
Do you think they would fix the problem by then?
eugenechiuu
post Feb 1 2011, 12:55 AM

Gadget/Food Enthusiast
2,909 posts

Is this laptop or desktop first? Theres not even i5 SB's yet
astria
post Feb 1 2011, 12:58 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Feb 1 2011, 12:55 AM)
Is this laptop or desktop first? Theres not even i5 SB's yet
well, most, if not all, the articles i read only mention abt desktops (quad core i7 and i5, so yeah)... but i won't be surprised to see reports of Sandy Bridge laptops with SATA ports failing... it's the same family of chipset afterall...
TS24seven
post Feb 1 2011, 01:02 AM

98 posts

So... we are better off not buying any lappies for now?
astria
post Feb 1 2011, 01:08 AM

22,158 posts

well, Intel said the revised chipset will start shipping again in Feb, and expect to run at full capacity again in April...

so if u really must wait, dun buy until it's May... laugh.gif

i think for now juz call up the svc center and see wat's their stand on it... basically as far as the OEMs are concerned, it's a repeat of the GeForce 8M incident, except that Intel has admitted there to be a fault and is willing to corrext it...

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 1 2011, 01:09 AM
Hakimi90
post Feb 1 2011, 01:16 AM

152 posts

Hrm.. are these chipset problem causing my friend lappie bought last month ( HP- core i3) only alive just 2 days and die.
He then go back to shop and the shop consider - DOA - Dead On Arrival -...
Luckily he got 1 to 1 exchange on the spot ...
astria
post Feb 1 2011, 01:16 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Hakimi90 @ Feb 1 2011, 01:16 AM)
Hrm.. are these chipset problem causing my friend lappie bought last month ( HP- core i3) only alive just 2 days and die.
He then go back to shop and the shop consider - DOA - Dead On Arrival -...
Luckily he got 1 to 1 exchange on the spot ...
nope, that's a 5-series chipset that ur friend's laptop has...

it has got nothing to do with this issue...
Kyozen
post Feb 1 2011, 01:20 AM

577 posts

omg....thank god asus delay n53sn!!!!!!!
Hakimi90
post Feb 1 2011, 01:23 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Feb 1 2011, 01:16 AM)
nope, that's a 5-series chipset that ur friend's laptop has...

it has got nothing to do with this issue...
thanks for da info.
But untill now i'm still wondering why my friend lappie just alive only 2 days rclxub.gif
astria
post Feb 1 2011, 01:26 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Hakimi90 @ Feb 1 2011, 01:23 AM)
thanks for da info.
But untill now i'm still wondering why my friend lappie just alive only 2 days   rclxub.gif
well, it's electronic that we re dealing with...

it can break the very next day u buy it (like ur friend's case), but it can also last so long such that u want it to die it also won't die... laugh.gif

Added on February 1, 2011, 1:28 am
QUOTE(Kyozen @ Feb 1 2011, 01:20 AM)
omg....thank god asus delay n53sn!!!!!!!
dun see the delay has got to do with this issue...

if it's shipped in March, mean the latest time it gets produced is Feb... and Intel only starts shipping the revised chipset in Feb, and reaching full production capacity by Apr...

only in May then u should start feeling safe...

This post has been edited by astria: Feb 1 2011, 01:28 AM
Acid_RuleZz
post Feb 1 2011, 01:37 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

i read the comments, only QM67 and P67 chipset are affected. most SB lappy in the market are using HM65 right? sweat.gif
djzen
post Feb 1 2011, 01:47 AM

Startup life!
2,873 posts

so for people who bought a laptop with this processor, what does this mean?

have to return n wait for them to fix it?
Acid_RuleZz
post Feb 1 2011, 02:47 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

In essence, Intel identified a problem with the SATA 3 Gb/s on its Cougar Point chipsets last week. SATA 6 Gb/s ports are unaffected. The issue is hardware-related and requires a silicon-based fix at the metal layer, which of course means that all of the currently-shipping P67- and H67 –based motherboards are affected. It’s severe enough, especially for the enthusiast community most likely to be populating multiple SATA ports and pushing heavier I/O workloads that we’d want to recommend holding off on Sandy Bridge-based builds until boards with a fixed version of the chipset ships out. This will happen within “weeks,” according to Intel, as motherboard vendors will start getting updated core logic in late February for a full volume recovery in April.

sauce: http://www.tomshardware.com/news/cougar-po...idge-sata-error

so SB lappy like HP DV6 using HM65 is not affected amirite?
[G]ooD_DaY
post Feb 1 2011, 02:48 AM

1,450 posts

hmm.gif So does it mean that my Acer 5750G is not affected since it is using HM65 chipset?
Zhezhe
post Feb 1 2011, 03:00 AM

71 posts

So how bout alienware m17x-R3 ? I just place an order yesterday. Will it be affected?
lakost
post Feb 1 2011, 03:13 AM

270 posts

dammit.will my 5750G be affected by this?
TS24seven
post Feb 1 2011, 03:20 AM

98 posts

http://www.linuxfordevices.com/c/a/News/In...r-Point-recall/

According to this, it seems HM65 is also affected. Maybe those who have already bought Sandy Bridge laptops will be able to claim warranty when it fails.

To identify those laptops that have problems, look at the chipset number. For example, H67, HM67 etc. etc.

This post has been edited by 24seven: Feb 1 2011, 03:23 AM
Ricky Ling
post Feb 1 2011, 03:53 AM

1,055 posts

Wow, all Sandy Bridge notebooks are affected lah, so Intel is issueing total recall among all HM65 & HM67 IC. So we have to wait 1 more quarter to get newer revision of SB notebooks.

34 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:09 AM