Asus G-Series Notebooks Thread V3, G74's Pics at Post #483 :)
Volt
Dec 1 2011, 01:51 PM
@xxxcriminal and Bluzzy Is there any special procedure how to transfer the recovery partition into the ssd? Im plannning to change to ssd too but I still not sure how to copy that partition. Mind shed some light?
This post has been edited by Volt: Dec 1 2011, 01:53 PM
Evirober
Dec 1 2011, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(Volt @ Dec 1 2011, 12:51 AM) I also face that problem at the first time but i then realize that you have to slightly/gently push the ram into the connector before clipping it Dude, 3rd times a charm..and yes the RAM had to be pushed then clip. Oddly never had this sorta problems with my previous dell. Anyway.... Would like to confirm that I am running on DIMM 1 and DIMM 4. This post has been edited by Evirober: Dec 1 2011, 06:17 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
Volt
Dec 1 2011, 07:06 PM
Yea, I also wonder why this laptop a bit different. Usually I would do is just clip it and good to go but this 1 need some minor adjusting before clipping.
Saw your channel running on dual. I think everything is fine. How bout running some gaming to test it.
Bluzzy-
Dec 1 2011, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(Volt @ Dec 1 2011, 01:51 PM) @xxxcriminal and Bluzzy Is there any special procedure how to transfer the recovery partition into the ssd? Im plannning to change to ssd too but I still not sure how to copy that partition. Mind shed some light? Are you cloning your OS to the SSD? Or clean install? THIS might help you. But if you plan to clean install OS on SSD, then i don't see the point for a recovery partition. Just keep a spare Win7 Home Premium x64 disk and use the key on the sticker below your laptop. I still have the recovery partition on the HDD though. Can't seem to remove it, so i just left it there, lol.
xxxcriminal
Dec 1 2011, 07:33 PM

QUOTE(Bluzzy- @ Dec 1 2011, 07:23 PM) Are you cloning your OS to the SSD? Or clean install? THIS might help you. But if you plan to clean install OS on SSD, then i don't see the point for a recovery partition. Just keep a spare Win7 Home Premium x64 disk and use the key on the sticker below your laptop. I still have the recovery partition on the HDD though. Can't seem to remove it, so i just left it there, lol. ya....dun waste ur ssd space for recovery partition....
ian913
Dec 1 2011, 08:03 PM

hi guys just wan to confirm if we install our ram in the memory slot below the keyboard, would it allow us to run our memory channel in dual channel? as far as i know the slot under the keyboard is 4 and the default ram installed is slot 1 right?
Evirober
Dec 1 2011, 08:21 PM
ian913: Dude...read Volt's and my posting.
This post has been edited by Evirober: Dec 1 2011, 09:38 PM
Volt
Dec 1 2011, 09:17 PM
@Bluzzy and xxxcriminal so basically we dont always need the recovery partition to start up the window? Lol - silly me, I tot the recovery partition is a requirement for the bios. Dont no where i got that from. I must misread it somewhere. In that case I might join you guyz soon
Bluzzy-
Dec 1 2011, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(Volt @ Dec 1 2011, 09:17 PM) @Bluzzy and xxxcriminal so basically we dont always need the recovery partition to start up the window? Lol - silly me, I tot the recovery partition is a requirement for the bios. Dont no where i got that from. I must misread it somewhere. In that case I might join you guyz soon  Nope, the recovery partition is just a backup of the factory OS, a win7 disk can also do what it does (repair mode etc) The trouble to clean install is the drivers.. Some useful and newer ones hereThe other drivers should just get from Asus page BTW, which SSD you got?
ian913
Dec 1 2011, 09:37 PM

QUOTE(Evirober @ Dec 1 2011, 08:21 PM) ian913: Dude...read my Volt and my posting. oops soli dint notice that so our laptop can go up to how many channel? it four channel?
Volt
Dec 1 2011, 09:37 PM
Nice, thanks for sharing. That help alot
About the ssd.... Im not sure, im considering either Crucial, Corsair or Intel. Eying on 120GB at least.
Bluzzy-
Dec 1 2011, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(Volt @ Dec 1 2011, 09:37 PM) Nice, thanks for sharing. That help alot About the ssd.... Im not sure, im considering either Crucial, Corsair or Intel. Eying on 120GB at least. Crucial and Intel using different chip from Corsair.. If you have budget like <600 and want 120GB, get either Corsair or OCZ
xxxcriminal
Dec 1 2011, 10:12 PM

i use intel 160 Gb
Evirober
Dec 1 2011, 11:06 PM
Guys...those who have upgraded to SSD
how long does it take to boot up ?
Bluzzy-
Dec 1 2011, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(Evirober @ Dec 1 2011, 11:06 PM) Guys...those who have upgraded to SSD how long does it take to boot up ? 10-11 seconds
Freedom1992
Dec 2 2011, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(Bluzzy- @ Dec 1 2011, 11:16 PM) 10-11 seconds  wow, that was fast boot up..faster than normal hard disk
Kalist0
Dec 2 2011, 02:36 AM

Ok this is just stupid. Less than two weeks and my laptop cant even startup when i press the powerbutton. The keyboard lights up and then nothing happens. Whats left is the light on the top left 3 quickbuttons and the power button light. Nothing happens after that. Screen wont even show anything
riku2replica
Dec 2 2011, 07:39 AM
Freedom1992
Dec 2 2011, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(riku2replica @ Dec 2 2011, 07:39 AM) Nice
trustmeiamlegit
Dec 2 2011, 11:45 AM

Inb4 kolos ! Added on December 2, 2011, 11:48 amQUOTE(Kalist0 @ Dec 2 2011, 02:36 AM) Ok this is just stupid. Less than two weeks and my laptop cant even startup when i press the powerbutton. The keyboard lights up and then nothing happens. Whats left is the light on the top left 3 quickbuttons and the power button light. Nothing happens after that. Screen wont even show anything http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gamin...-wont-turn.htmlThis post has been edited by trustmeiamlegit: Dec 2 2011, 11:48 AM