Asus G-Series Notebooks Thread V3, G74's Pics at Post #483 :)
riku2replica
Nov 26 2011, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(Evirober @ Nov 26 2011, 09:39 PM) jaycn67: Sweet !!! Thanks bro.. Guys/Gals : Have decided to bump up the RAM from stock 4GB to 12GB. Should be quite straight forward right ? Remove keyboard then should have 2 slots available to slot in right? Thanks. the manual says there should be 4 slots..1st slot is used factory build onto the board 4GB so leaves 3 more slots... some where on the notebook. 1 Slot below the keyboard. 2 Slots on the bottom side. One of the slot on the bottom slot is occupied.
Evirober
Nov 26 2011, 11:01 PM
DoubleU & riku2replica: Wah liaw eh... So you peeps have already upgraded it or leave it stock ??
ian913
Nov 26 2011, 11:29 PM

i oso wish to upgrade ram. btw just ask u guys opinion how much ram is considered enough for normal gaming and photo editing is 8gb enough? coz i plan to upgrade another 4gb to it
DoubleU
Nov 26 2011, 11:31 PM
8gb enough gua... video editing then maybe its just nice.
@Evirobear, mine default came with 2GB x 4 sticks.
jaycn67
Nov 26 2011, 11:36 PM
ram price drop insane now, anyone got plan to upgrade till 16gb ram?
Andy89
Nov 26 2011, 11:47 PM
im plannig to get one, the cheapest one is G53 how much now??
Volt
Nov 26 2011, 11:56 PM
To me 8gb is enough for me to open alot of project in illustrator CS5 . For ppl who use 3d/video software the large amount of ram will help but for gaming suppose - no, it doesnt help.
If you guyz planning to add another ram, occupied the slot under the keyboard first. It will run dual channel with your existing ram.
ian913
Nov 27 2011, 12:23 AM

QUOTE(jaycn67 @ Nov 26 2011, 11:36 PM) ram price drop insane now, anyone got plan to upgrade till 16gb ram? how much is the current price? as what i got here in pg is 4gb 1333mhz is rm70 how abt 8gb and 16gb?
jaycn67
Nov 27 2011, 12:26 AM
pcdepot and mostly lowyat store 8GB ddr3 1333 RM65only XD I totally crazy with the price and plan to just put 16gb to my beast ady
Evirober
Nov 27 2011, 12:40 AM
Wow you sure 8GB ddr3 1333 RM65 only??
I got quoted 4GB at 65 la
Volt: thanks for the heads up on running dual channel.
This post has been edited by Evirober: Nov 27 2011, 12:41 AM
jaycn67
Nov 27 2011, 12:43 AM
ya, sorry is 4gb rm65
Evirober
Nov 27 2011, 01:34 AM
ASUS G53JW 2nd Hard Drive Install by XOTIC PC http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ev8y8xlCdHEI think this model should be similar to the sx. Probs will upgrade 4 gb as the other memory slots are quite tricky to install. Plus then it can run dual channell.
xxxcriminal
Nov 27 2011, 01:59 AM

wow.. slot in ssd to my g53sx...damn nice....
Volt
Nov 27 2011, 02:33 AM
QUOTE(Evirober @ Nov 27 2011, 01:34 AM) ASUS G53JW 2nd Hard Drive Install by XOTIC PC http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ev8y8xlCdHEI think this model should be similar to the sx. Probs will upgrade 4 gb as the other memory slots are quite tricky to install. Plus then it can run dual channell. its not that hard, once you try it you will be surprise how easy it is
DoubleU
Nov 27 2011, 02:47 PM
hm, ram prices are gonna increase, especially hdd since the thailand floods =\
Bushido
Nov 27 2011, 06:37 PM

Just got a Corsair 1333Mhz 4GB from Lowyat today.. Costed me RM62. 8GB is more than enough for now. I'm running 7 VMs at one go, still no lags yet. Utilizing around 4-5GB of RAM. heheheheh.
Checked the price for HDDs, really naik man. Oh, and there is one non-3D G53SX at Evernew outside AllIT mall.
ian913
Nov 27 2011, 09:07 PM

QUOTE(Bushido @ Nov 27 2011, 06:37 PM) Just got a Corsair 1333Mhz 4GB from Lowyat today.. Costed me RM62. 8GB is more than enough for now. I'm running 7 VMs at one go, still no lags yet. Utilizing around 4-5GB of RAM. heheheheh. Checked the price for HDDs, really naik man. Oh, and there is one non-3D G53SX at Evernew outside AllIT mall. that is cheap man. that day sales at gadget zone quote me for rm99 for 4gb corsair told me this brand is better than kingston and that why so expensive i juz ignore them btw any soft ware to recomend for monitoring temperature and sys info?
Bushido
Nov 27 2011, 11:20 PM

Use HWMonitor for temps and also HWInfo or CPUZ for sys info.
Evirober
Nov 27 2011, 11:32 PM
Guys, I know I posted this question b4 but I cant seem to understand it.
Specs: Audio : Built-in Speakers And Microphone,EAX Advanced HD 5.0,THX TruStudio.
However there is nothing on the Control Panel nor any software to indicate this. So does this notebook actually have this feature ?
Or is it only applicable when your playing specific games that have this feature to enable it ??
ian913
Nov 27 2011, 11:35 PM

QUOTE(Evirober @ Nov 27 2011, 11:32 PM) Guys, I know I posted this question b4 but I cant seem to understand it. Specs: Audio : Built-in Speakers And Microphone,EAX Advanced HD 5.0,THX TruStudio. However there is nothing on the Control Panel nor any software to indicate this. So does this notebook actually have this feature ? Or is it only applicable when your playing specific games that have this feature to enable it ?? go to start-> creative folder-> and u can find this option i was like u when i got this laptop looking for this function