The Watch Thread v3, Affordable or not depends on individual

hanz079
post Mar 10 2011, 01:42 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Mar 10 2011, 01:37 PM)
So.. what movement is that? tongue.gif
I think the movement is Burberry001.. 8 screws and 2 hinges that can open and close as you wish...
Pretty impressive eh? tongue.gif
blinkblink88
post Mar 10 2011, 02:04 PM

Blink Pets Bakery
650 posts

QUOTE(twom @ Mar 9 2011, 08:26 PM)
I only have winder for 1, 4, and 6 watches only
Yes, I do have almost  all of CEO Canteen series.
Can you quote me the price please? thanks
hitokai
post Mar 10 2011, 02:16 PM

350 posts

http://swx.com.sg/forum/showthread.php?194...lette-Moonphase

ne1 noe where to get this instead of going to sg?
Calvin Seak
post Mar 10 2011, 04:30 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

hey guys! Check this out! I loved the video when i 1st saw it!

http://mastering-speed.tagheuer.com/
hanz079
post Mar 10 2011, 07:27 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Mar 10 2011, 04:30 PM)
hey guys! Check this out! I loved the video when i 1st saw it!

http://mastering-speed.tagheuer.com/
Woah... 360000 bph? That's 10 times faster than an el primero. rclxub.gif
patryn33
post Mar 10 2011, 08:33 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(hitokai @ Mar 10 2011, 12:28 PM)
ah this actually ... not the sinn ... sowie

http://swx.com.sg/forum/showthread.php?194...lette-Moonphase
u got to quit posting that link to sinn! You know the make and model there do not be lazy just cut and paste here! Rather than posting 3 times have you check the brand's site on ad?
hanz079
post Mar 10 2011, 11:02 PM

315 posts

Pat n ck77,
Interested in a Damasko.
I know World of Watches at OMK carry the brand but how's d pricing?
And if buying online is cheaper, any recommendations?
ck77
post Mar 10 2011, 11:12 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(hanz079 @ Mar 10 2011, 11:02 PM)
Pat n ck77,
Interested in a Damasko.
Bro, WWII is getting the stock from Gnomon Singapore.
Direct buy from Gnomon is cheaper.
http://www.gnomonwatches.com/product-view.asp?id=27
Bloody tough watch!
Calvin Seak
post Mar 10 2011, 11:21 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,447 posts

QUOTE(hanz079 @ Mar 10 2011, 07:27 PM)
And it's a new line! I thought it would be a carrera or a grand carrera, it's great tag is innovating their watches.. I hope the prices won't be above omega speed masters range biggrin.gif
patryn33
post Mar 11 2011, 01:44 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(hanz079 @ Mar 10 2011, 07:27 PM)
read with care! if the entire watch running so fast the pwr res must be low. or they must done something on the main spring. I wonder how long the watch run out of juice if we keep the chrono running!
http://mastering-speed.tagheuer.com/mikrograph
"It is comprised of a balance wheel for the watch moving at 4 hertz, 28’800 vibrations per hour, with a 42-hour power reserve ; for the stopwatch, the high frequency Swiss balance wheel oscillates at 50 hertz, 360’000 vibrations per hour, with a 90-minute power reserve, displaying this 1/100th of a second with the central chronograph hand. "

Tag still rely on Zenith for a High beat movement. lets not get too excited

Added on March 11, 2011, 1:46 am
QUOTE(hanz079 @ Mar 10 2011, 11:02 PM)
Pat n ck77,
Interested in a Damasko.
U can order direct! the pricing is clear here
http://www.damasko.de/eng/index.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Mar 11 2011, 01:46 AM
mat403
post Mar 11 2011, 04:21 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 9 2011, 09:33 PM)

what did u get?
QUOTE(hanz079 @ Mar 10 2011, 09:28 AM)
Yeah bro, what did you get? Pretty fast your shipping.
Mine reach me 2 weeks after I placed my order.
Movado quartz ..love the strap..

i am also surprised because it took only 4 days... Thanks this forum for introducing a new avenue to buy watch.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

hanz079
post Mar 11 2011, 07:34 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Mar 10 2011, 11:12 PM)
Bro, WWII is getting the stock from Gnomon Singapore.
Direct buy from Gnomon is cheaper.
http://www.gnomonwatches.com/product-view.asp?id=27
Bloody tough watch!
I see... WWII is the same gang as Gnomon... blush.gif

Added on March 11, 2011, 7:39 am
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 11 2011, 01:44 AM)
read with care! if the entire watch running so fast the pwr res must be low. or they must done something on the main spring. I wonder how long the watch run out of juice if we keep the chrono running!
http://mastering-speed.tagheuer.com/mikrograph
"It is comprised of a balance wheel for the watch moving at 4 hertz, 28’800 vibrations per hour, with a 42-hour power reserve ; for the stopwatch, the high frequency Swiss balance wheel oscillates at 50 hertz, 360’000 vibrations per hour, with a 90-minute power reserve, displaying this 1/100th of a second with the central chronograph hand. "

Tag still rely on Zenith for a High beat movement. lets not get too excited

Added on March 11, 2011, 1:46 am

U can order direct! the pricing is clear here
http://www.damasko.de/eng/index.html
Thanks for clarifying... I guess I jumped the gun a little... sweat.gif
I remember that the Tag pendulum oscillates at 48000bph? correct me if I'm wrong?
Although still in concept stage though...
When I 1st saw the link on d Tag 1/100th second mechanical chronograph, i was like damn.... Zenith recently only released the Striking 10th 1/10th second chrono... so fast kena hantam liao??

Thanks for the damasko link... guess cheaper is still direct frm Damasko. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by hanz079: Mar 11 2011, 07:41 AM
patryn33
post Mar 11 2011, 12:26 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(hanz079 @ Mar 11 2011, 07:34 AM)
Thanks for clarifying... I guess I jumped the gun a little...  sweat.gif
I remember that the Tag pendulum oscillates at 48000bph? correct me if I'm wrong?
Although still in concept stage though...
yes its at that rate, issue is magnets are sensitive to temperature! tag has not found a way to overcome that yet.
seiko spring drive quartz crystal is at going at 32,768hz, glide wheel's speed is 8hz or 57600bps

hanz079
post Mar 11 2011, 01:13 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Mar 11 2011, 12:26 PM)
yes its at that rate, issue is magnets are sensitive to temperature! tag has not found a way to overcome that yet.
seiko spring drive quartz crystal is at going at 32,768hz,  glide wheel's speed is 8hz or 57600bps
I find it weird that sometimes a watchmaker announces a movement during prototype stage and sometimes it never makes it into production.
We all salivate over the prospects of owning one just for the whole thing to get scrapped.
The funny thing is, some of these just disappear into the abyss like vapor... hence the computer term vaporware?
Anyone of you remember the Maurice Lacroix Memoire 1?
The Taq Monaco V4? Still in prototype stage?
Even the official websites is cleaned out on any information. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by hanz079: Mar 11 2011, 01:18 PM
patryn33
post Mar 12 2011, 01:42 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(hanz079 @ Mar 11 2011, 01:13 PM)
The Taq Monaco V4? Still in prototype stage?
Even the official websites is cleaned out on any information. hmm.gif
Taq Monaco V4 is in production as a LE version. only 150 of these will be made and it retails at US$80K
http://www.luxist.com/2009/09/21/tag-heuer...n-watch-80-000/
MeToo
post Mar 12 2011, 07:48 PM

9,333 posts

Went around looking for another rubber strap watch... and came across THIS...

Noticed it's based on Sellita movement (Sw200) with 26 jewels... any thoughts on this compared to say the ETA 2824-2?

Appreciate any comments/thoughts on this model in general.

Oh and anyone know of any shops in the klang valley area offering discount on Oris higher then 30%? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by MeToo: Mar 12 2011, 07:50 PM
ck77
post Mar 12 2011, 08:00 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Mar 12 2011, 07:48 PM)
Went around looking for another rubber strap watch... and came across THIS...

Noticed it's based on Sellita movement (Sw200) with 26 jewels... any thoughts on this compared to say the ETA 2824-2?

Appreciate any comments/thoughts on this model in general.

Oh and anyone know of any shops in the klang valley area offering discount on Oris higher then 30%?  notworthy.gif
Sellita is the clone movement of ETA.
ETA no longer supply its movement outside Swatch Group soon.
Thus, lot of companies are switching to Sellita movement. Including Tag Heuer.
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f25/sellita-s...ead-358081.html
patryn33
post Mar 12 2011, 08:11 PM

3,940 posts

not sure when will it happen. they said to stop in 2010. isn't today 2011?
http://www.luxist.com/2009/12/30/swatch-gr...h-movements-to/

awhile back they also threaten to stop selling movement kits. This entire movement is driven by the late Mr. Nicolas G. Hayek. With him gone I think they will just make it harder for companies outside swatch to get ETA movement.
http://watchinghorology.com/2010/02/swatch...in-to-stop.html
ck77
post Mar 12 2011, 09:09 PM

2,591 posts

Not sure, let's wait and see.
http://thewatchlounge.com/eta-withdrawal-t...ake-revolution/
hanz079
post Mar 12 2011, 09:45 PM

315 posts

The thing is it happen only when there is someone to fill in ETAs shoes...
I read that there are politicians with interests with certain brands are trying all their best to stop ETA frm doing what they're trying to do.
That's why the government step in with those anti monopoly lawsuits and enquiries and bla bla bla.
Since those movement patents have expired, as long as someone possesses the necessary tooling and machinery, they can produce movements and I doubt they will have any problem selling it if ETA were to stop supply.
Currently, the name Sellita comes up the most.

This post has been edited by hanz079: Mar 12 2011, 09:46 PM

136 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0202sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:40 AM