Now I am doing supersets + dropsets, so I usually grab a lot of dumbbell and barbell for my own usage, of course the gym got less ppl at that time =P
Gym Etiquette, what ticks you off in your gym?
Jan 14 2011, 12:51 AM
9,707 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Why U wana know? Status: Meditating™ |
Now I am doing supersets + dropsets, so I usually grab a lot of dumbbell and barbell for my own usage, of course the gym got less ppl at that time =P
Jan 14 2011, 01:07 AM
1,193 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(mikehuan @ Jan 13 2011, 10:59 PM) shane, any tips on telling people how to spot correctly? most of the time when i ask random people to spot me, they do half the work. i tell them less support, and they reduce their help by a fraction. bleh, totally lost my focus by then. the bigger the weights, the more force they put in! I know right , especially for shoulder presses and benchpress. Lol, can't be helped. Thats the perks of having training partners. Or just ask the biggest guy in the gym. He "should" know how to spot properly. |
Jan 14 2011, 01:15 AM
249 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: PJ |
QUOTE(chicaman @ Jan 14 2011, 12:51 AM) Now I am doing supersets + dropsets, so I usually grab a lot of dumbbell and barbell for my own usage, of course the gym got less ppl at that time =P that... understandable. ive seen this pt hog a whole range of dbs.... from 5lb - 20lb. i needed to use the 10s. =.= so had to wait. another tak tahan moment.... this was at my old gym.... i was supersetting pecdec flyes with db flyes. i just completed my 2nd set. this fella was standing nearby watching me. the moment i got off the pec dec to the bench behind it where my dbs were.... this fella hopped onto it, did one set...... and then sat there for a good period of time yakking on his handphone. =.= and you'd think he'd get the gist that i was doing two exercises back to back after watching me do the 2 sets and would need BOTH stations.... bye bye superset. |
Jan 14 2011, 01:32 AM
1,093 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(LadyVanity @ Jan 14 2011, 01:15 AM) that... understandable. same.i finished my db row immediately go for machine row,that was 1 fella waiting after i finished my set,he sat down ,and keep rowing like no tomorrow,then he rest and breathing on the rowing machine,bye bye my supersetive seen this pt hog a whole range of dbs.... from 5lb - 20lb. i needed to use the 10s. =.= so had to wait. another tak tahan moment.... this was at my old gym.... i was supersetting pecdec flyes with db flyes. i just completed my 2nd set. this fella was standing nearby watching me. the moment i got off the pec dec to the bench behind it where my dbs were.... this fella hopped onto it, did one set...... and then sat there for a good period of time yakking on his handphone. =.= and you'd think he'd get the gist that i was doing two exercises back to back after watching me do the 2 sets and would need BOTH stations.... bye bye superset. |
Jan 14 2011, 01:36 AM
QUOTE(LadyVanity @ Jan 14 2011, 01:15 AM) that... understandable. LOL, luckily gym members at Ultimate Gym is friendly enough, I might just tell them, mind letting me continue or finish off? I left X sets with a smiling face ive seen this pt hog a whole range of dbs.... from 5lb - 20lb. i needed to use the 10s. =.= so had to wait. another tak tahan moment.... this was at my old gym.... i was supersetting pecdec flyes with db flyes. i just completed my 2nd set. this fella was standing nearby watching me. the moment i got off the pec dec to the bench behind it where my dbs were.... this fella hopped onto it, did one set...... and then sat there for a good period of time yakking on his handphone. =.= and you'd think he'd get the gist that i was doing two exercises back to back after watching me do the 2 sets and would need BOTH stations.... bye bye superset. QUOTE(theCrab @ Jan 14 2011, 01:32 AM) same.i finished my db row immediately go for machine row,that was 1 fella waiting after i finished my set,he sat down ,and keep rowing like no tomorrow,then he rest and breathing on the rowing machine,bye bye my superset Stand there and ask him how many sets left? Hint him LOL! |
Jan 14 2011, 01:47 AM
6,160 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(John91 @ Jan 14 2011, 01:07 AM) I know right , especially for shoulder presses and benchpress. Lol, can't be helped. Thats the perks of having training partners. Or just ask the biggest guy in the gym. He "should" know how to spot properly. irritates me to no end. i usually take a lighter weight nowadays and do it myself. at least my last set doesnt feel like a warm up set. but usually if someone occupies some bench/machine that you need why not ask if they could share? usually people do give in. i know i would. |
Jan 14 2011, 02:07 AM
324 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
for me its weird individuals, they are:
1)this guy who brings his macbook pro into the free weights area 2)this guy on his mp3 singing like he's in the shower 3)this over promoting PT trying to sell his service while backstabbing/degrading other PTs 4)this guy who chats up every girl in the gym 5)this guy who jumps in between your set to prove he's stronger than you 6)this aunty who wears 'close to nothing' at the gym the 6 "KINGS & QUEENS " at my gym |
Jan 14 2011, 02:10 AM
lol actually this thread turned into some rant thread
but good also, it reminds us what NOT TO DO in gym |
Jan 14 2011, 02:45 AM
2,363 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
ah..about the supersetting thing..
i was doing close grip bench presses on the bench with preacher curls(tris-bis) after im done with my bench press i moved to my preachers..2 reps in and this guy hops onto the bench and starts using it(fine can share) after my set i politely told him im actually using the bench as well so do im fine with sharing it..hes reply.."NOBODY needs 2 equipments to work out at the same time" ME: since i was halfway through my routine i was like f it..took the weights from his bar and moved it to the smith machine..sigh.. |
Jan 14 2011, 10:07 AM
126 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
every member should be understandable enough to not to doing some superset or multiple equipment dropsets on peak hours.
and there was funny dude who can do 1.5 bodyweight squat for 1.30 hours (rest 5mins or so every set) in my gym and do it for like 3 times a week. Funny things is he tried to explain how good is the squat workout to every persons who pass by. lol. |
Jan 14 2011, 10:09 AM
4,382 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(XP750 @ Jan 14 2011, 02:07 AM) for me its weird individuals, they are: This reminds me of something. I have a friend who came to the gym once (literally just once), did some warm ups, stretching, etc. At first I thought he was serious and would start training. Instead, he sat down and took out a PSP from his bag, and stared playing. By the time I finished my workout, he was still there, still playing. 1)this guy who brings his macbook pro into the free weights area |
Jan 14 2011, 12:00 PM
519 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(eksk @ Jan 13 2011, 10:36 PM) No 1 pissess me off no end.. i'm not your maid.. you don't have a maid following you around and cleanining after you.. put the weights back where it belongs.. on the racks.. Fitness first puts this poster right above the rack "Strong enough to carry the weight, Strong enough to put it back" unfortunately most people who go there are illiterate i think.. still leaving weights all over the place.. and as usually train without my spectacles.. i can never see where it is grr... Strange you mention FF Empire. I only went there twice and it really piss me off. You're right, the weight section is on a platform and there are time, some ******* throw the weight, it shakes the platform. Really damn inconsiderate. Once, I shouted at them, "come on"...then only they realize what they are doing is causing irritation rather than admiration.No 3 grates on me the most.. i think what you say has just said all... just to add i work out at FF empire and the weights area is on a platform.. already they had to do some thing to the weights area a few weeks back.. i wish one day the platform will collapse when one of these idiots throw down their weights and we'll see what happens.. No 4 is basically like no 1. it shows no respect to you fellow gym goers... this is not your private gym assholes... and the worse thing? all the the above being done by some of the PT working in the gym... And no joke to you, the whole weight section is filled with dumb bells on the floor. It was impossible to navigate around and finding the weight you want is a damn chore. I once told a PT there, what is all these. 60% of the floor was filled with dumb bells and he just look at me, pretending not to understand what i say. Go to FF axis or MBF...these two clubs has more professional people and they are more considerate. |
Jan 14 2011, 12:48 PM
6,160 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(-Dan @ Jan 14 2011, 10:09 AM) This reminds me of something. I have a friend who came to the gym once (literally just once), did some warm ups, stretching, etc. At first I thought he was serious and would start training. Instead, he sat down and took out a PSP from his bag, and stared playing. By the time I finished my workout, he was still there, still playing. i heard hanging around weight plates and db's makes you buffed |
Jan 14 2011, 01:18 PM
230 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
People talking to you when you're in the middle of a set.
I had a guy come up to me in the middle of cable crossovers and extend his hand to shake mine, then when I didn't respond, he waited and watched me, like really stared me in the face until I finished. He spoke to me for a good 15 mins, by this time I was totally out of the zone. Now I'm reminded about a story my mate told me. Some idiot who while doing bench press would scream 'yes, I'm an animal' then his friends/cheerleaders would say back to him 'you're an animal'. After his set he would stomp around the weights area saying to random people 'I'm an animal'. Ridiculous! serious issues. f***, you couldn't make it up. This post has been edited by CargoCult: Jan 14 2011, 01:23 PM |
Jan 14 2011, 01:42 PM
1,885 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
QUOTE(mikehuan @ Jan 14 2011, 12:59 AM) shane, any tips on telling people how to spot correctly? most of the time when i ask random people to spot me, they do half the work. i tell them less support, and they reduce their help by a fraction. bleh, totally lost my focus by then. the bigger the weights, the more force they put in! Err, when it comes to bench, I'll just tell them when I say spot only spot. .or else just stand behind. Its actually a risk doing that but it kinda works. Squats, I ask them to grab my hips (sounds homo but thats how to do it) when I say spot. You should be able to know actually when you are about to get crushed. Hope that helps |
Jan 14 2011, 02:14 PM
566 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: JB |
seriously.....
i was taught/told by a bber friend to flex after i completed my set... n yes, i am skinny...las time i was skinny, then fatty, now skinny again....LoL |
Jan 14 2011, 03:11 PM
928 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(shanecross @ Jan 14 2011, 01:42 PM) Err, when it comes to bench, I'll just tell them when I say spot only spot. .or else just stand behind. Its actually a risk doing that but it kinda works. Squats, I ask them to grab my hips (sounds homo but thats how to do it) when I say spot. You should be able to know actually when you are about to get crushed. Hope that helps i've seen people doing that for squats, looks really uncomfortable + homo. I thought you can just drop it on the safety bars ?This post has been edited by shiloong7081: Jan 14 2011, 03:27 PM |
Jan 14 2011, 04:50 PM
1,885 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
Jan 14 2011, 05:55 PM
4,382 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Jan 14 2011, 07:38 PM
1,744 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(XP750 @ Jan 14 2011, 02:07 AM) for me its weird individuals, they are: where to find no 6??1)this guy who brings his macbook pro into the free weights area 2)this guy on his mp3 singing like he's in the shower 3)this over promoting PT trying to sell his service while backstabbing/degrading other PTs 4)this guy who chats up every girl in the gym 5)this guy who jumps in between your set to prove he's stronger than you 6)this aunty who wears 'close to nothing' at the gym the 6 "KINGS & QUEENS " at my gym |
| Change to: | 0.0256sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:06 AM |