Gym Etiquette, what ticks you off in your gym?

John91
post Jan 12 2011, 10:43 PM

1,193 posts

Hahaha, I don't mind people not putting back the weights after usage because the ghetto gyms I go to are usually like that. I don't bother putting back the weights after I leg press too because 220kg will take forever to unrack plus I train alone.

I can't stand the skinny vain guys though, they are usually the college students who come in a group with their basketball singlets and pants with their tiny twig arms hogging the bench or doing bicep curls. Then doing a 50kg bench for 5 reps and grunting throughout while their friends stand by and cheer him on and one guy spots him (with one arm). These guys only fuel my rage to lift harder though lol.

As for the vain part, I think most of us have been like that when we just started out, newbies always want good and fast results. =) I still flex facing the mirror every couple of sets.

Added on January 12, 2011, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(Dickson91 @ Jan 12 2011, 11:39 PM)
Guys who gives the "I go to the gym not to make friends" kind-of-look.
I think I give out that look very often. I don't like people disturbing me and asking me about diet and "what exercise should I do to get big" kind of stuff, most of the time its the same generic question and it makes me lose my pump. I just on my ipod and blast away, unless I go there with my training partners then its a different story.

This post has been edited by John91: Jan 12 2011, 10:46 PM
John91
post Jan 13 2011, 02:09 PM

1,193 posts

QUOTE(zaxxshoxx @ Jan 13 2011, 12:59 PM)
huhuh. dont la sampai macam it. here in mantin i got to bare with lotsa of foreigner and i tell you the smell is sometimes cannot tahan one. most of them x bawak towel to wipe their sweat. adoiyaiii
Oh you stay in mantin? I think my uni is quite near your place, I study at Nottingham. I thought mantin is like some small town with a lot of orchards.
John91
post Jan 13 2011, 02:30 PM

1,193 posts

QUOTE(zaxxshoxx @ Jan 13 2011, 03:12 PM)
wah john where u stay? i work here in legenda college
I stay in Cheras but I'm in Semenyih half of the time.
John91
post Jan 14 2011, 01:07 AM

1,193 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Jan 13 2011, 10:59 PM)
shane, any tips on telling people how to spot correctly? most of the time when i ask random people to spot me, they do half the work. i tell them less support, and they reduce their help by a fraction. bleh, totally lost my focus by then. the bigger the weights, the more force they put in!
I know right , especially for shoulder presses and benchpress. Lol, can't be helped. Thats the perks of having training partners. Or just ask the biggest guy in the gym. He "should" know how to spot properly. hmm.gif
John91
post Jan 21 2012, 07:52 PM

1,193 posts

I don't mind both as I do both... I can't help wearing tight shorts sometimes cuz my legs are too big. And training at a ghetto gym doesn't help with the sweating hence shirt off. Dun b hatin' on the big guys. biggrin.gif
John91
post Sep 12 2012, 12:58 PM

1,193 posts

I drop all my weights for any sort of dumb bell presses except for my warmup sets, as my sets are at least 80lbs... =/

0.0218sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:58 AM