122 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership v7, waiting for M14x and M18x !

Unbreakable3131
post Apr 5 2011, 05:36 PM

30 posts

Buying my M15x from Dell malaysia's a realife nightmare.

I don't know whether it's the quality of alienware products in general or only in malaysia.
I serviced my M15x over 12times pass the year. GPU overheat, mobo burn, keyboard lighting, burnt ram, problematic display.

Also, I've purchase the complete cover warranty for my baby. And few months back I've been in an accident on genting, my car almost gone. Then my lappy luckily only bottom casing crack, I've been calling dell for almost 2months only they decided that I'm actually a worthy customer to get a replacement.

C'mon like seriously, if i were to spend that MUCH on an laptop and it's premium warranty, don't I deserve what I paid for?

Also, the call reps only will always tell you they'll call you back and leave you hanging for hours even days! For instance, there's this call rep from dell, I asked him when's my replacement part coming, he told me tomorow. Tomorow = 2weeks later.

Dell malaysia/Alienware = G.G worst time of my life.

p/s check out my banged up m15x. Also sorry for ranting that much -.-

http://forum.notebookreview.com/alienware-...-car-crash.html
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2011, 05:39 PM

24,193 posts

That's demoralizing cry.gif
I thought Dell's the best in warranty support
And your M15x survived the accident with such minimal damage only (based on your photos) thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 5 2011, 08:24 PM
SUSsoundsyst64
post Apr 5 2011, 05:51 PM

I'm No-Longer-Noobs
3,725 posts

now that is really messed up sad.gif
Unbreakable3131
post Apr 5 2011, 05:55 PM

30 posts

Don't get me wrong, those small problems like keyboard replacement ram replacement etc, dell are very good at it.

If you call, the next day they'll have an engineer over to replace your parts.

But those are under the normal Parts only warranty POW.
If you've purchased a Complete cover, the warranty service is.... horrible.
elixus
post Apr 5 2011, 06:50 PM

18 posts

Still waiting on my M17x R3 to arrive, really hoping that its all as its hyped up to be biggrin.gif

Although Unbreakable3131's rant is a bit scary O_O
putochip123
post Apr 5 2011, 06:55 PM

1,496 posts

1 more thing i had been complsining to dell is. When they change heatsink for CPU or GPU, they didnt bring extra thermal paste, so u must prepare urself in oder to prevent ur GPU or CPU overheat again
Unbreakable3131
post Apr 5 2011, 07:08 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(elixus @ Apr 5 2011, 06:50 PM)
Still waiting on my M17x R3 to arrive, really hoping that its all as its hyped up to be biggrin.gif

Although Unbreakable3131's rant is a bit scary O_O
Well, what I always say is ''Expectations lead to dissapointment''. So don't expect TOO much.
M17x R3 current probs, battery charging indicator not up. GPU overheat issue up to 100c, go check on http://forum.notebookreview.com/alienware/
If you want to keep your baby in shape, i'd suggest you to keep in touch with the other owners in that forum. It helped me ALOT!

Any problems I have i always go there, those people are guru within the gurus and their knowledge are better than the dell technical support in malaysia.

QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 5 2011, 06:55 PM)
1 more thing i had been complsining to dell is. When they change heatsink for CPU or GPU, they didnt bring extra thermal paste, so u must prepare urself in oder to prevent ur GPU or CPU overheat again
Actually, I've replaced my GPU 3times and only 1time the engineer didn't bring the thermal paste over. The other times, the engineer actually brought the paste over, they brough an 'expired' paste over.

The paste is 3-4years old. It's had even for him to squeeze out and he still wants to put that 'thing' (note that I call it a 'thing' because I don't even think its a thermal paste, more like an expired piece of dog faeces) into my lappy, I actually removed it the moment the engineer left my house and replaced it with my Artic Silver 5 paste.

In comparison of temperatures between 'Dell thermal paste' and Arctice Silver 5 :
GPU max load : 93c/85c
CPU max load : 97c/83

Results don't lie, but people do.

This post has been edited by Unbreakable3131: Apr 5 2011, 07:13 PM
duabijitelur
post Apr 5 2011, 07:36 PM

iPhone 6 :D
1,951 posts

@Unbreakable3131: saw ur case last time in NBR forum... ur M15x can survive a crash .. miracle... biggrin.gif means alienware lappy very solid build XD
Unbreakable3131
post Apr 5 2011, 07:42 PM

30 posts

LOL! Urm, it's casing is durable.. But I still doubt the strength of a magnesium casing, so brittle. sad.gif
Shah.Legno
post Apr 5 2011, 07:43 PM

167 posts

ur m15x is strong..
Unbreakable3131
post Apr 5 2011, 07:46 PM

30 posts

I think to find out how strong my laptop is through a car accident is rather... risky. I won't encourage anyone else testing their lappy this way XD
[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2011, 08:43 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Unbreakable3131 @ Apr 5 2011, 07:46 PM)
I think to find out how strong my laptop is through a car accident is rather... risky. I won't encourage anyone else testing their lappy this way XD
LOL laugh.gif Good one there~
Anyway, I'm abit curious about the overheating issue... Does the stock GPU experienced overheating as well?
I thought Alienware's cooling systems are top notch? hmm.gif
duabijitelur
post Apr 5 2011, 08:46 PM

1,951 posts

M17x R3 still new ma... hehe will improvise.. i think
Lil Kiasu
post Apr 5 2011, 09:51 PM

Ok
723 posts

QUOTE(Unbreakable3131 @ Apr 5 2011, 07:42 PM)
LOL! Urm, it's casing is durable.. But I still doubt the strength of a magnesium casing, so brittle. sad.gif
But it's Magnesium Alloy~ An alloy compound should be stronger than alluminium wad~ unsure.gif
kira-kun
post Apr 5 2011, 10:16 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Apr 5 2011, 02:44 PM)

This is more like it.
Yes warranty period for 5 years and obviously if they were not able to fulfill their obligation, you obviously get compensated
No arguement there.
When this was first brought up, you did not say the warranty period and my main arguement was there is no such thing a lifetime warranty for laptops.

Not gonna comment on your intention of warranty... You have 1 year complete warranty.. you can only extend for another 4 more years based on the article you presented which is another RM 2,400 by the way...

Added on April 5, 2011, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(Unbreakable3131 @ Apr 5 2011, 05:36 PM)

Gosh sucks to be you...
Well you had your great adventure though brows.gif

This post has been edited by kira-kun: Apr 5 2011, 10:21 PM
burnt
post Apr 5 2011, 10:24 PM

is it only me or the 3d screen option has been taken off the dell malaysia website for the m17x r3 ? any info on this?
Fornaxlife
post Apr 6 2011, 12:16 AM

836 posts

any new m15x/m17x coming in for malaysia? like new specs/designs?
might be getting it soon

Added on April 6, 2011, 12:18 amand i noticed for m15x, i can crave my own name plate

but for m17x, i cant?

This post has been edited by Fornaxlife: Apr 6 2011, 12:18 AM
duabijitelur
post Apr 6 2011, 08:01 AM

1,951 posts

lol ... careful on ur nameplate... if u wan nameplate on ur laptop, pls double confirm with sales ...if not u will end up like me... i did not get the customized nameplate... sad D:

Added on April 6, 2011, 8:06 am
QUOTE(Fornaxlife @ Apr 6 2011, 12:16 AM)
any new m15x/m17x coming in for malaysia? like new specs/designs?
might be getting it soon

Added on April 6, 2011, 12:18 amand i noticed for m15x, i can crave my own name plate

but for m17x, i cant?
can crave manually?

This post has been edited by duabijitelur: Apr 6 2011, 08:06 AM
Unbreakable3131
post Apr 6 2011, 08:20 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 5 2011, 08:43 PM)
LOL  laugh.gif  Good one there~
Anyway, I'm abit curious about the overheating issue... Does the stock GPU experienced overheating as well?
I thought Alienware's cooling systems are top notch?  hmm.gif
Yeah most m15x users that are usimg gtx 260m n hd 5850 are experiencing very severe overheating issues.
And about the cooling system, don't get me wrong, it's good, but can be so much better as compared to asus. Also, dell has to seriously issue some new thermal paste to their engineer for servicing, the current one they use is a hardened piece of crap. rclxub.gif
fJok3R
post Apr 6 2011, 09:09 AM

1,419 posts

LOL, apparently Eric G from NBR forum found this pdf on dell website, got m14x and m18x rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

http://www.dell.com/downloads/emea/ecatalo...ry2011_uken.pdf

This post has been edited by fJok3R: Apr 6 2011, 09:49 AM

122 Pages « < 85 86 87 88 89 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:12 PM