it seems impossible, but u got some logic there
Alienware Mothership v7, waiting for M14x and M18x !
Apr 4 2011, 04:33 PM
211 posts Joined: May 2005 |
@alvinkhorfire
it seems impossible, but u got some logic there |
Apr 4 2011, 04:47 PM
214 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
afag
Allow me to explain the logic behind my opinion. Are you aware of Dell XPS, particularly Dell XPS desktop? I do not mean the current Dell XPS laptop. Dell XPS was the high-end leading-edge performance machines from Dell, dedicated to hardcore gaming. That was before the acquisition of Alienware. Back then, it was a direct competitor to Alienware, Sager and so on. In Dell Community Forum, a user mentioned that he had a high-end Dell XPS desktop, bought way before Dell acquired Alienware. Recently, the desktop malfunctioned and no amount of part replacement can revive the gaming beast. Thus, Dell Alienware provided a high-end Alienware Area 51 desktop as a replacement for him, as the warranty of Dell XPS desktop is still valid. After all, high-end Dell XPS desktops are not longer in production. The Dell XPS desktops that are still in production are just average gaming computers, ranked below Alienware computers. They are deemed not an equivalent replacement for the faulty computer, but the Alienware Area 51 desktop is. Again, I stresses that such instances are quite common in USA. Whether this can happen or not here in Malaysia, I am not sure. To all M15x owners, keep your fingers crossed, so that we may obtain a M17x-R3 or M18x in the future. This post has been edited by alvinkhorfire: Apr 4 2011, 05:05 PM |
Apr 4 2011, 05:35 PM
161 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Melbourne, Australia |
Dude, are you high?
So you plan to keep extending your warranty until your laptop dies out and hope that you get a new laptop that period when replacement is out? So if my product is like 10 years out dated but still being covered under warranty, you think they will give me a brand new spanking model? You got to be out of your mind. At most they will give you a refurbish or too bad, get yourself a new one. This is applicable in general. Like Belkin and such... Belkin, you think they will give me a new model even if it is under warranty? Heck no... they will only provide such service until it is really gone. No business man is silly enough to give you a new product in such way |
Apr 4 2011, 09:43 PM
167 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Bollinger On Bollinger Bands,Kuala Lumpur |
it will happen in USA only..their customer service is very reliable
in Malaysia just dream about it to happen. |
Apr 4 2011, 09:47 PM
211 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Yup, I believe Dell maybe will replace equivalent or lower system with m15x. Dell also has biz strategy.
But, let see what happen..if it is a real thing, i will extend my warranty to the max |
Apr 4 2011, 09:55 PM
Let it be US, Australia, Malaysia or even mars...
Noone is that stupid. If you ask, fine it is plausible when you first buy with it's initial warranty but not extension. Why the hell people buy new Dell machines when they can just extend and wait till their products phases out and get new ones... Sorry not logical. Added on April 4, 2011, 9:57 pm QUOTE(afag @ Apr 4 2011, 09:47 PM) Yup, I believe Dell maybe will replace equivalent or lower system with m15x. Dell also has biz strategy. Equivalent... Yes and that means refurbishBut, let see what happen..if it is a real thing, i will extend my warranty to the max Not new.. That's not equivalent... This post has been edited by kira-kun: Apr 4 2011, 09:57 PM |
Apr 4 2011, 11:11 PM
1,698 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: selangor,kota bharu |
i want to sell my m17x
anyone interested ? |
Apr 4 2011, 11:23 PM
1,496 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Apr 4 2011, 04:12 PM) It is quite imminent that M15x is to be discontinued in favour of M14x and M17x-R3. I am sure that many M15 owners, including I, are devastated with this news that there will not be any refresh in our beloved laptop model. Cruel it may seem to be, but there is a blessing in disguise, if you carefully consider my opinion as follow. It is a matter of turning this bad news into something advantageous for all of us. bro, u cant blame Dell, and even it come out with refresh M15x, and u gonna buy? Oh Come on guys, the refersh does not effect us ok? well, dont worry bro, the parts for XPS 1530 still available in Dell malaysia warehouse after 5 years. dell have many back up for the parts, u dont have to worry about it.Suppose that your M15x's warranty is extended to a maximum of 5 years. Assume that you are now in 4 years later, and your laptop may encounter malfunction you yourself cannot repair. Thus, you request Dell technician to be dispatched on-site to repair your laptop. Still, although Dell cannot pinpoint the source of the problem, Dell still insists certain parts to be replaced. You know that this laptop is near of its life and no matter how Dell repairs it; it may not escape the inevitable fate of complete failure. Well, your warranty guarantees you a solution within 1 business day, subject to availability of spare parts. If they cannot diagnose the problem, they have to sent you a replacement unit, as it should be according to warranty agreement. True, they may refuse to do so, but you have to be firm and demand an equivalent or better replacement for your M15x. Wait, isn't M15x being discontinued in the future? How can Dell provide you with a replacement? I am not saying that that is the main reason I extended my warranty. The main reason is to have my laptop safely secured by the warranty service. Still, there is nothing wrong of harbouring hope of this incident happening. So, for M15x owners with near-expiring warranty, what are you waiting for? Confirm a deal with Mr.Docter to extend your warranty now. You can get your laptop safely protected by warranty, as well as keeping Mr.Docter's warranty extension service thriving. It is like killing 2 birds with 1 stone. Who knows, there is a brand new M17x-R3 waiting for you 4 years later. Caution: The practice of replacing a faulty Dell computer with an equivalent or better replacement computer is practised by Dell USA and I have seen such instances happening for real. I am not quite sure whether Dell Malaysia also adopts this policy. I have heard many horror stories of Dell Malaysia refusing to provide certain part replacement, whereas anyone can easily request the very same part replacement from Dell USA. Comment and feedback are appreciated here. If I have said anything wrong, let me know. Thanks. Sometime i was wondering u guys, last time when u guys saw M15x, then u guys hope that it can be smaller and stronger, but now come out with m14x which is smaller and better, then u guys blame they discontinued m15x? what u guys wan? IT stuff always improve, IT improve everyday, what u can Blame? who u can blame? Blame Albert Einstein easier, he is the 1 who discover physic and calculation, Blame Dr. Ed Roberts who create PC, Blame Bill Gates create microsoft |
Apr 4 2011, 11:38 PM
354 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Agree with u putochips.. In my case, as long as I own an alienware laptop before, I am very satisfied lor... :-) I don't really care m11x R3, R4, R5 etc coming out stronger and faster... Come on, can we loose so much money in kept changing new model? This is my thought.:-) hope don't offend anyone
Apr 4 2011, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(kira-kun @ Apr 4 2011, 09:55 PM) Let it be US, Australia, Malaysia or even mars... then you are wrong bro, there is somebody who dont know where dell will replace them a new laptop, then they keep on extend the warranty untill 4th years. Im the 1 who extended my XPS 17 till 2009, where dell replace a new m17x with T9800 + GTX280M SLi, no all people is lucky and not all the cases is the same. where most of the people will think like u. " since the warranty so expensive, why dont i buy new laptop", that's y most of the cases didnt happend where most of the people buy new laptop.Noone is that stupid. If you ask, fine it is plausible when you first buy with it's initial warranty but not extension. Why the hell people buy new Dell machines when they can just extend and wait till their products phases out and get new ones... Sorry not logical. Added on April 4, 2011, 9:57 pm Equivalent... Yes and that means refurbish Not new.. That's not equivalent... 1 more thing, when u know ur laptop is vry old and not nice anymore, will u ever think of using it for 2 more years or 3 more years to wait for new unit replace by Dell? Last thing is, refurbish and new what different? i would like to know what are the consumer thinking? |
Apr 5 2011, 06:07 AM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 4 2011, 11:50 PM) then you are wrong bro, there is somebody who dont know where dell will replace them a new laptop, then they keep on extend the warranty untill 4th years. Im the 1 who extended my XPS 17 till 2009, where dell replace a new m17x with T9800 + GTX280M SLi, no all people is lucky and not all the cases is the same. where most of the people will think like u. " since the warranty so expensive, why dont i buy new laptop", that's y most of the cases didnt happend where most of the people buy new laptop. 1 more thing, when u know ur laptop is vry old and not nice anymore, will u ever think of using it for 2 more years or 3 more years to wait for new unit replace by Dell? Last thing is, refurbish and new what different? i would like to know what are the consumer thinking? Warranty does not secure one person laptop's value. Should there be a replacement, in normal circumstances you get the equivalent item. So why would a company like Dell replace obsolete laptop that could be under warranty? It is going to the shop asking to replace an expired milk for a brand new one. Great that you managed to changed XPS 17 to an alienware M17X. What was the reason? Can't repair cause it is old? If like that everyone would get warranty for 5 years and can exchange to newer laptops right? Sorry I can't see the logic. If Dell operates as such, people can try to capitalize on that. Don't be upset if you can't get that golden treatment |
Apr 5 2011, 06:30 AM
431 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Hierarchical City of Kagutsuchi |
Reading this supposely I should wait for M14X
But Im more worry that I'm more likely using this m14x as my portable desktop laptop. Im a casual pc gamer and work mostly 3D modeling on my pc. so i was actually thinking 460gtx for m15x. after reading what you guys posted. I'm a little worry that m15x might get discontinued, a maybe hinge problem for m14x and etc. But with the 555gt for m14x, is it what i'm looking for? my budget is just around m15x, rm6k+/- or should still stick with m15x? This post has been edited by SWATwolf: Apr 5 2011, 06:36 AM |
Apr 5 2011, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Apr 5 2011, 06:30 AM) Reading this supposely I should wait for M14X well, is depends on u. if really insto gaming, GTX460M is mainly for gaming graphic card, whike GT555M is not.But Im more worry that I'm more likely using this m14x as my portable desktop laptop. Im a casual pc gamer and work mostly 3D modeling on my pc. so i was actually thinking 460gtx for m15x. after reading what you guys posted. I'm a little worry that m15x might get discontinued, a maybe hinge problem for m14x and etc. But with the 555gt for m14x, is it what i'm looking for? my budget is just around m15x, rm6k+/- or should still stick with m15x? most probably start with GTX... would be gaming series |
Apr 5 2011, 10:10 AM
723 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: PJ |
Apr 5 2011, 02:44 PM
214 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
The warranty of all Dell computers can be extended up to a maximum period of 5 years, from the date of the computer purchase. Nothing more. Based on this warranty period, your Dell computer must be working properly without any problem. Of course, this warranty does not cover damage in computers due to acts of God, natural disasters, theft and you faking an accident to damage the computer. The computer must suffer malfunction by its own, without any external influence, in order to be eligible for computer replacement. If your computer is working fine for the first 5 years and suffers malfunction on the 6th year, sorry that your computer will not be eligible for any replacement.
The reliability of computer generally follows the Bathtub curve. In short, computers tend suffer to malfunction either in the first year (beginning of life) or the fifth year (end of life). So, you see that Dell has been very clever in setting 5 years as the maximum warranty period. That is the time when some (not all) computers start to suffer serious malfunction. If Dell sets it as 10 years, then every computer is eligible, but that is not the case. The thing is that you pay hefty fee in extending warranty up to 5 years. If you sums the cost for 5 years, the total sum is nearly to the material cost of new computer. Probably based on this reason, Dell can afford to give a new computer as a replacement for the faulty one. It is a great way to build a sustainable long-term customer relationship and greatly reward your loyalty to Dell. ______ To sum up, if you are planning to buy a new laptop within the next 3 years, just do so. It is safer and risk-free that way, and you certainly obtain a new computer. For someone who cannot afford to procure a new laptop in the future, like me, just extend the warranty for the sake of securing the laptop. For that, you really have to commit yourself in paying the warranty up to 5 years. I mentioned before the main reason of extending the warranty is to enable the laptop remain functional for 5 years, not to hope for replacement by the end of 5 years. If somehow your computer remains functional after 5 years, then you are not eligible for the replacement. Luckily, putochip123's replacement of M17x proved that it is possible too in Malaysia. Again, I agree with putochip123 that it is judged on case-by-case basis and not everyone can get a replacement computer. Actually, I am quite envy of you guys changing laptop, say every 3 years. I am an average person, without ample financial capabilities at my disposal. Thus, I cannot immediately fork out RM 3000 at one go. A few years ago, I will not believe that I will own an Alienware laptop which is quite expensive. It was a dream came true when I managed to bought one. However, since I exhausted nearly all my money in buying the Alienware laptop, I do not think that I will be able to buy another Alienware laptop in the future. It could be my first and the only laptop I have. For that, I did the next best thing: extending the laptop warranty, hoping that it remains functional after 5 years. If it does, I am happy and grateful, although I may have slight regret that I do not get a replacement. This post has been edited by alvinkhorfire: Apr 5 2011, 03:29 PM |
Apr 5 2011, 03:10 PM
24,193 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: Perak |
Good point there, I'll always extend the warranty to at least 3 years
But I guess 5 years warranty would only be good for higher-end Alienware laptops? 5 years is a really long time, especially when it comes to technology |
Apr 5 2011, 03:26 PM
3,725 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: In /hardware/ |
extended warranty only good for barebone notebook which got capability to upgrade to newer graphics card and cpu.
Apr 5 2011, 04:26 PM
431 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Hierarchical City of Kagutsuchi |
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Apr 5 2011, 10:09 AM) well, is depends on u. if really insto gaming, GTX460M is mainly for gaming graphic card, whike GT555M is not. like i said, im casual pc gamer, which i hardly playing at all most probably start with GTX... would be gaming series im more into doing 3d work on my computer, soon later maya (3d program) will not only use proc and ram to render but also gfx already. In choice im would definitely get m15x but worry about wad you guys said part cannot be replaced even with warranty. while m14x worries me tat the gfx might not live up to what i wanted and the hinge problem you guys mentioned. |
Apr 5 2011, 04:55 PM
660 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
![]() QUOTE Christened the M14x, Alienware's newest portable rig has an Intel Core i7-2820QM 2.3 GHz CPU, up to a 750GB 7200RPM HDD, 256GB SATA2 or SATA3 SDD, a robust NVIDIA GT555M GPU, LTE or WiMAX connectivity, and your choice of 14-inch screens: either a 1366 x 768 display or a Full HD 1920 x 1080 LCD. Following its big brother's lead, the M14x also packs a pair of Klipsch speakers for hi-fi fragging. No word on when this mothership lands, but with those specs, we wouldn't mind making first contact -- would you? -Via Engadget Looks cramped up I guess this site has more pictures! My bad! http://forum.notebookreview.com/7320230-post399.html This post has been edited by dark_axl21: Apr 5 2011, 04:59 PM |
Apr 5 2011, 05:12 PM
723 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: PJ |
Hmm... M14x is for real eh~
Alienware's M14x revealed: classic middle-child overachiever, none of the simmering sibling resentment First, Alienware's M17x got a bit of spit and polish with a new Sandy Bridge CPU and a 3D display, then the M11x got Intel's speedy new silicon too. Now, the middle alien child has gotten a similar makeover. Christened the M14x, Alienware's newest portable rig has an Intel Core i7-2820QM 2.3 GHz CPU, up to a 750GB 7200RPM HDD, 256GB SATA2 or SATA3 SDD, a robust NVIDIA GT555M GPU, LTE or WiMAX connectivity, and your choice of 14-inch screens: either a 1366 x 768 display or a Full HD 1920 x 1080 LCD. Following its big brother's lead, the M14x also packs a pair of Klipsch speakers for hi-fi fragging. No word on when this mothership lands, but with those specs, we wouldn't mind making first contact -- would you? |
| Change to: | 0.0319sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:41 AM |