Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V3, Dark Lord going strong

aldosoesilo
post Jan 3 2011, 11:05 AM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 3 2011, 10:57 AM)
If you don't know what to buy, you probably need nothing tongue.gif
35mm and 50mm is different lens, totally.
yeah.. that's true.
yesterday, I did PP and almost increase the sharpness of every picture I taken with 35mm 1.8.
not really satisfy with the sharpness yet very happy with the bokeh it delivered.

is 50 on DX only good at taking picture? I mean if you want to include a little background w/o move back too much is that possible? hmm.gif
kind of confuse about the focal range.

50mm does it mean the focus is 50 millimeter from the object? where as 35mm means the focus is 35 millimeter from the object?
it's kinda confusing for me because sometimes, for 35mm I can shoot a very near/very far object and both have the focus. rclxub.gif

need some advice on here. sifu KTCY
celciuz
post Jan 3 2011, 11:08 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 3 2011, 10:48 AM)
should I sell my 35 1.8 and go for Sigma 50 1.4  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
confuse here.. anyone could give some enlightening?
value of money which one better?

Added on January 3, 2011, 10:52 amanyway upgrading Memory card (e.g from class 4 to class 10) does it give significant improvement on the image writing?
50mm f/1.4 can be used when you up to FF in future and its 1.4 compared to 1.8.

From my experience, I compared the Sandisk Extreme III 30MB/s (rated class 10) and Silicon Power class 6 before. It actually affects how many images I can burst in RAW and also when you browse your photo the speed is different.
l3iTi
post Jan 3 2011, 11:17 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(bbuser91 @ Jan 3 2011, 08:04 AM)
Original one? Test the speed d? Reasonable price
How to test the speed har?
Planning to get SanDisk SDHC Extreme Class 10 8GB...
aldosoesilo
post Jan 3 2011, 11:23 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 3 2011, 11:08 AM)
50mm f/1.4 can be used when you up to FF in future and its 1.4 compared to 1.8.

From my experience, I compared the Sandisk Extreme III 30MB/s (rated class 10) and Silicon Power class 6 before. It actually affects how many images I can burst in RAW and also when you browse your photo the speed is different.
how about the distance bro cy??
is it really different? sometimes when I snap using 35mm, I heard people yelling at me and told me not to be very near with the model (yeah amateur photographer shouldn't be that near to the model, wait till I become pro all the model want to stay near to me brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif )

ohh, if let's say I didn't do burst mode that much I should reconsider upgrade my mem.card?

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 3 2011, 11:34 AM
celciuz
post Jan 3 2011, 11:26 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 3 2011, 11:23 AM)
how about the distance bro cy??
is it really different? sometimes when I snap using 35mm, I head people yelling at me and told me not to be very near with the model (yeah amateur photographer shouldn't be that near to the model, wait till I become pro all the model want to stay near to me  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif )

ohh, if let's say I didn't do burst mode that much I should reconsider upgrade my mem.card?
Group shooting? Haha, 35mm need to so close with the model for a half body shot. Sure kena yell at la. You're blocking others. 50mm is more tele then 35mm for sure. I didn't use 50mm much, but 70mm a lot on DX back then.

Well, if you need the extra space you can consider upgrading. Else can just use that for the time being.
TSKTCY
post Jan 3 2011, 11:27 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 3 2011, 11:05 AM)
yeah.. that's true.
yesterday, I did PP and almost increase the sharpness of every picture I taken with 35mm 1.8.
not really satisfy with the sharpness yet very happy with the bokeh it delivered.

is 50 on DX only good at taking picture? I mean if you want to include a little background w/o move back too much is that possible?  hmm.gif

50mm does it mean the focus is 50 millimeter from the object? where as 35mm means the focus is 35 millimeter from the object?
it's kinda confusing for me because sometimes, for 35mm I can shoot a very near/very far object and both have the focus.  rclxub.gif

35mm MFD = 30cm
50mm MFD = 45cm.
Kent3888
post Jan 3 2011, 11:31 AM

:+: ҜễЙΨ ™ © :+:
1,333 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jan 2 2011, 10:51 PM)

happy new year everyone!
Wow Kenji....!! Nice shot as alwiz for ur Fireworks, mind to share ur setting to shoot fireworks? Mine was a fail during that night at Curve, hahaa...... can't capture so many in 1 shot, u do long exposure or wat?

Guessed u r shooting beside the Merlion rite? blush.gif

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Jan 3 2011, 11:32 AM
kenji_britney
post Jan 3 2011, 11:33 AM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jan 3 2011, 11:31 AM)
Wow Kenji....!! Nice shot as alwiz for ur Fireworks, mind to share ur setting to shoot fireworks? Mine was a fail during that night at Curve, hahaa...... can't capture so many in 1 shot, u do long exposure or wat?
lol thx. this 1 is f/22, 15s, ISO200. practise more, mine also some were hit n miss cause those 15s exposure, capture some too bright bursts. n i didn't use black card cause fish eye is almost impossible to use black card. but i think 5-10s also no problem cause the light trails die off around 5s at most. 15s capture too many fireworks, like this 1.

Added on January 3, 2011, 11:34 am
QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jan 3 2011, 11:31 AM)

Guessed u r shooting beside the Merlion rite?  blush.gif
lol nope, i was standing along the esplanade, u can see merlion on bottom right n marina bay sands on bottom left.

This post has been edited by kenji_britney: Jan 3 2011, 11:34 AM
Kent3888
post Jan 3 2011, 11:35 AM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jan 3 2011, 11:33 AM)
lol thx. this 1 is f/22, 15s, ISO200. practise more, mine also some were hit n miss cause those 15s exposure, capture some too bright bursts. n i didn't use black card cause fish eye is almost impossible to use black card. but i think 5-10s also no problem cause the light trails die off around 5s at most. 15s capture too many fireworks, like this 1.

lol nope, i was standing along the esplanade, u can see merlion on bottom right n marina bay sands on bottom left.
Black card for?? haha.... <-- sorry too noob, i oni know white n grey blush.gif
kenji_britney
post Jan 3 2011, 11:37 AM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jan 3 2011, 11:35 AM)
Black card for?? haha.... <-- sorry too noob, i oni know white n grey  blush.gif
there's another technique, use black card to cover the lens when the fireworks burst so u won't get white overexposed shots of the fireworks. this 1 was lucky, but some of my other shots had a lot of white bright spots.
alvinX
post Jan 3 2011, 11:37 AM

tHe l0SeR
1,041 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jan 2 2011, 10:51 PM)

happy new year everyone!
nice pic!! i love it very much!!

keni san, seems like u camped a nice place. may i know what time u reached?
aldosoesilo
post Jan 3 2011, 11:38 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 3 2011, 11:26 AM)
Group shooting? Haha, 35mm need to so close with the model for a half body shot. Sure kena yell at la. You're blocking others. 50mm is more tele then 35mm for sure. I didn't use 50mm much, but 70mm a lot on DX back then.

Well, if you need the extra space you can consider upgrading. Else can just use that for the time being.
Not group shooting. it's universal studio's model. kind of panda in kung fu panda and etc. my bad being stubborn to use my 35mm.
70mm? well. I will consider that.
Thanks for the advice again. you are really helpful thumbup.gif

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 3 2011, 11:27 AM)
35mm MFD = 30cm
50mm MFD = 45cm.
Owwhh 15cm difference? doesn't really make difference. I mean I could move back a bit somehow. hahahaha tongue.gif
Thanks for the advice again. you are really helpful thumbup.gif
kenji_britney
post Jan 3 2011, 11:38 AM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(alvinX @ Jan 3 2011, 11:37 AM)
nice pic!! i love it very much!!

keni san, seems like u camped a nice place. may i know what time u reached?
thanks.. lol reached around 6.30 n camped there. it was a very worth while wait n fun to wait with friends.
Andy214
post Jan 3 2011, 11:43 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 3 2011, 11:05 AM)
yeah.. that's true.

is 50 on DX only good at taking picture? I mean if you want to include a little background w/o move back too much is that possible?  hmm.gif

it's kinda confusing for me because sometimes, for 35mm I can shoot a very near/very far object and both have the focus.  rclxub.gif

On DX, focal range X 1.5
35mm become 52.5mm
50mm become 75mm (telephoto)

50mm on DX good for portrait shot, but you need to stand quite far. If you sit on table and wanna take your friends, you'll wish you have wider lens. When you're in tight space, you'll feel it, even 35mm on DX can be tight in many situation, I wish I have a real 35mm range.
When taking group photo, you need move quite back, with 50mm, LoL, I think you'll be standing quite far away and taking some time to find the right spot.

My friend bought the 50mm f1.4D, went for his friend wedding dinner,then calls me asking me to bring over my 35mm...

If you focus correctly, correct exposure with proper ISO, the sharpness is good. If you off focus even just a little, the image can get .soft.

aldosoesilo
post Jan 3 2011, 11:45 AM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 3 2011, 11:43 AM)
On DX, focal range X 1.5
35mm become 52.5mm

50mm on DX good for portrait shot, but you need to stand quite far. If you sit on table and wanna take your friends, you'll wish you have wider lens. When you're in tight space, you'll feel it, even 35mm on DX can be tight in many situation, I wish I have a real 35mm range.
When taking group photo, you need move quite back, with 50mm, LoL, I think you'll be standing quite far away and taking some time to find the right spot.

My friend bought the 50mm f1.4D, went for his friend wedding dinner,then calls me asking me to bring over my 35mm...

If you focus correctly, correct exposure with proper ISO, the sharpness is good. If you off focus even just a little, the image can get .soft.
that is the tough part. I guess I need to learn more w/ my 35mm tongue.gif
thanks! thumbup.gif
alvinX
post Jan 3 2011, 11:48 AM

tHe l0SeR
1,041 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 3 2011, 11:43 AM)
On DX, focal range X 1.5
35mm become 52.5mm

i own a 50mm on DX, i can feel each of your words deep down in my heart. well spoke bro !!

but nice lens. Take times to master it!
Chuckiekey
post Jan 3 2011, 11:58 AM

Chuckie Cotton
1,502 posts

It's important to get the malaysian one.. when somthing happen to yr camera, u wont want a private person to repair it for u.
aldosoesilo
post Jan 3 2011, 12:10 PM

1,457 posts

C&C highly appreciated. rclxms.gif
Kent3888
post Jan 3 2011, 12:25 PM

1,333 posts

I oso got the feeling of ditching the 35mm and grab the 50mm, coz 35mm to me is stuck in the middle, not wide not narrow, take portrait bokeh not strong enuf, take group pic now wide enuf.... sweat.gif since the 17-50 serve me well more den enuf for walk about lens and group pic, so I thinking of letting go the 35mm and get the sigma 50mm, or mayb keeping the 35mm, see how it goes 1st, best is get both the Sigma 50mm + 35 F2D, haha.... prepares for FX in future

This post has been edited by Kent3888: Jan 3 2011, 12:28 PM
wp188
post Jan 3 2011, 12:25 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jan 3 2011, 11:33 AM)

BEST place to shot firework...Stage outside Esplanade brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

126 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:58 PM