126 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V3, Dark Lord going strong

Andy214
post Jan 3 2011, 12:26 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 3 2011, 11:45 AM)
that is the tough part. I guess I need to learn more w/ my 35mm  tongue.gif
thanks!  thumbup.gif
Try take outdoor under bright daylight or sufficient lighting or use flash gun for indoor, use tripod if u have, see the result when it's focus properly.
You can also try AF-C when hand held to help getting more accurate focus due to slight movement, you might notice the focus change even you move just a little.
Proper exposure also important, try to keep the ISO low to avoid noise.

QUOTE(alvinX @ Jan 3 2011, 11:48 AM)
i own a 50mm on DX, i can feel each of your words deep down in my heart. well spoke bro !!

but nice lens. Take times to master it!
Yup, its a nice lens on DX for portrait or certain situation, each range have its own purpose. It'll be nice to have all of it tongue.gif
kenji_britney
post Jan 3 2011, 12:33 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(wp188 @ Jan 3 2011, 12:25 PM)
BEST place to shot firework...Stage outside Esplanade brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
hmm the stage area is too close to the merlion, the spot i chose was just nice in the middle between merlion and marina bay sands.
General_Nic
post Jan 3 2011, 12:41 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

get 24 f/1.4, 35 f/1.4, 50 f/1.2(future release), 85 f/1.4
n u r good in all ranges laugh.gif
Andy214
post Jan 3 2011, 12:49 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Jan 3 2011, 12:25 PM)
I oso got the feeling of ditching the 35mm and grab the 50mm, coz 35mm to me is stuck in the middle, not wide not narrow, take portrait bokeh not strong enuf, take group pic now wide enuf....  sweat.gif  since the 17-50 serve me well more den enuf for walk about lens and group pic, so I thinking of letting go the 35mm and get the sigma 50mm, or mayb keeping the 35mm, see how it goes 1st, best is get both the Sigma 50mm + 35 F2D, haha.... prepares for FX in future
Yup, stuck in middle, but for indoor shot, it's more useful than 50mm most of the time, or during dinner sitting down, you don't have to move around, move to the back, etc. Espeicially tight place, you cannot go behind anymore, I face this problem even with 35mm sometimes when the people wanna take group shot while sitting down.

Anyway, I notice many pro FX owner owns or buys the 35mm f1.8G DX, even use it on their D3S.
General_Nic
post Jan 3 2011, 12:51 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jan 3 2011, 12:49 PM)
Yup, stuck in middle, but for indoor shot, it's more useful than 50mm most of the time, or during dinner sitting down, you don't have to move around, move to the back, etc. Espeicially tight place, you cannot go behind anymore, I face this problem even with 35mm sometimes when the people wanna take group shot while sitting down.

Anyway, I notice many pro FX owner owns or buys the 35mm f1.8G DX, even use it on their D3S.
cos d 35 f/1.8G on FF bodies in FX mode, d lens gives very nice vignetting, kinda lomo feel

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Jan 3 2011, 12:51 PM
stsh90
post Jan 3 2011, 12:52 PM

824 posts

QUOTE(kenji_britney @ Jan 3 2011, 12:33 PM)
hmm the stage area is too close to the merlion, the spot i chose was just nice in the middle between merlion and marina bay sands.
love ur fireworks shots. smile.gif
TSKTCY
post Jan 3 2011, 12:56 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jan 3 2011, 12:41 PM)
get 24 f/1.4, 35 f/1.4, 50 f/1.2(future release), 85 f/1.4
n u r good in all ranges  laugh.gif
24 is coming. 35, choose to forgo tongue.gif
aldosoesilo
post Jan 3 2011, 01:06 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

sad.gif cry.gif sad.gif
geekster129
post Jan 3 2011, 01:09 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 3 2011, 01:06 PM)

sad.gif  cry.gif  sad.gif
Sigma or Nikon? Looks great even on f/2.2! But color look washed out. Lens issue? hmm.gif
eddy230379
post Jan 3 2011, 01:11 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 3 2011, 01:06 PM)

sad.gif  cry.gif  sad.gif
looks sharp ... but colour a bit washed out ... auto WB ???
aldosoesilo
post Jan 3 2011, 01:14 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Jan 3 2011, 01:09 PM)
Sigma or Nikon? Looks great even on f/2.2! But color look washed out. Lens issue? hmm.gif
^ it is nikon 35mm 1.8
yep it's true it was f/2.2, anyway how could u know that? (what an amazing eye of you) *wink*
IDK why it is washed out, it thought it must because of light. isn't it?

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Jan 3 2011, 01:11 PM)
looks sharp ... but colour a bit washed out ... auto WB ???
Yeah auto WB on 0,0 (if not mistaken) tongue.gif
I don't really know how to set WB yet (I mean on what condition which WB setting and so on), any advice?

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jan 3 2011, 01:17 PM
kenji_britney
post Jan 3 2011, 01:26 PM

1,734 posts

QUOTE(stsh90 @ Jan 3 2011, 12:52 PM)
love ur fireworks shots. smile.gif
thanks biggrin.gif shall post some more later.
geekster129
post Jan 3 2011, 01:28 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jan 3 2011, 01:14 PM)
^ it is nikon 35mm 1.8
yep it's true it was f/2.2, anyway how could u know that? (what an amazing eye of you) *wink*
IDK why it is washed out, it thought it must because of light. isn't it?
Yeah auto WB on 0,0 (if not mistaken) tongue.gif
I don't really know how to set WB yet (I mean on what condition which WB setting and so on), any advice?
I haven't been doing a proper eye check-up since 2008 tongue.gif

Nah. It's a Google Chrome extension that lets me see the EXIF data when hovering my mouse over the photo. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by geekster129: Jan 3 2011, 01:28 PM
TSKTCY
post Jan 3 2011, 01:35 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

What extention you're on ? I have a few but not sure which is the best.
eddy230379
post Jan 3 2011, 01:35 PM

+]>> pL@Y bEyOnD <<[+
1,676 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Jan 3 2011, 01:28 PM)

Nah. It's a Google Chrome extension that lets me see the EXIF data when hovering my mouse over the photo. thumbup.gif
yup ... i have the same google chrome extension ... its called the EXIF viewer thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by eddy230379: Jan 3 2011, 01:39 PM
aldosoesilo
post Jan 3 2011, 01:39 PM

1,457 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Jan 3 2011, 01:28 PM)

just installed EXIF viewer and EXIF reader. looks nice!

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 3 2011, 01:35 PM)
try EXIF viewer
TSKTCY
post Jan 3 2011, 01:41 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

I have that already. Thanks. laugh.gif
In fact I got a few sweat.gif
geekster129
post Jan 3 2011, 01:45 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 3 2011, 01:35 PM)
I'm using EXIF Reader. Just a small nifty tool to let me see aperture, shutter speed, ISO. and camera brand, good enough for me.

https://chrome.google.com/extensions/detail...ljpnbfobpnljnki
jerrychoo2004
post Jan 3 2011, 02:11 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Jan 2 2011, 06:39 PM)
sigh ... i still cant find anywhere or anyone selling a Demb Flash Diffuser in KL ...
there is a seller in photomalaysia on this link
i buy from it....get the item within 2 days

http://www.photomalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?t=22042
aldosoesilo
post Jan 3 2011, 02:11 PM

1,457 posts

can someone teach me about WB?
I tried to make my own present used a very white F4 paper. but the preset color turn out to be yellowish. *hmm*

126 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:12 PM