now days audio manufacturer like to use a goofy names for their product...weird lah....
The next USB DAC, come on guys let's guess it!, Powerful DAC in small size!
Feb 13 2011, 06:42 PM
1,143 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
now days audio manufacturer like to use a goofy names for their product...weird lah....
Feb 14 2011, 06:17 PM
623 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Feb 14 2011, 09:43 PM
4,234 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
it works.
USB native audio drivers should be available on MAC IIRC. |
Feb 18 2011, 06:53 PM
1,801 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
Any updates on the DAC? Hope it will arrive earlier. Can't wait to try it out
Feb 18 2011, 10:17 PM
244 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Still confused
1.Can this DAC use for usb speaker/headphone? If Possible, do i need converter? Can I use this DAC with isolated usb power???? |
Feb 18 2011, 11:00 PM
122 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
i wish the board would be sexy black instead of blue color
Feb 18 2011, 11:15 PM
1,801 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(Band-Pass filter @ Feb 18 2011, 11:00 PM) It is in black colour. The blue one was something like testing unit.» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Credit goes to mengsuan for the photo This post has been edited by CoolBoy89: Feb 18 2011, 11:18 PM |
Feb 18 2011, 11:32 PM
i have a really noob question.. why does this small thingy sound is at par with X-Fi xtreme sound card.. i mean look at the component count, this small little fella has less component than it's rival and yet delivered almost the same performance as it's rival..??
This post has been edited by Band-Pass filter: Feb 18 2011, 11:33 PM |
Feb 18 2011, 11:53 PM
8,186 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Beaumont, Baile Ath Cliath, EIRE. |
"Less is more"?
QUOTE(Band-Pass filter @ Feb 18 2011, 11:32 PM) |
Feb 18 2011, 11:56 PM
244 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(edwardng @ Feb 18 2011, 10:17 PM) Still confused 1.Can this DAC use for usb speaker/headphone? If Possible, do i need converter? Can I use this DAC with isolated usb power???? QUOTE(Band-Pass filter @ Feb 18 2011, 11:32 PM) i have a really noob question.. why does this small thingy sound is at par with X-Fi xtreme sound card.. i mean look at the component count, this small little fella has less component than it's rival and yet delivered almost the same performance as it's rival..?? IMO, can someone answer these questions?I think TS need to compile a list of FAQ This post has been edited by edwardng: Feb 18 2011, 11:56 PM |
Feb 19 2011, 12:10 AM
These questions are due to lack of basic of understanding eg. what is a DAC, self powered USB equipment, 3.5mm headphone socket, RCA analogue output, SPDIF digital out.
These are the features of the DAC in question. Without basic knowledge and understanding, it can be a confusing thing to comprehend. 17 pages to read. That's not much. Then there is also 'google'... |
Feb 19 2011, 12:14 AM
1,281 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(Band-Pass filter @ Feb 18 2011, 11:32 PM) i have a really noob question.. why does this small thingy sound is at par with X-Fi xtreme sound card.. i mean look at the component count, this small little fella has less component than it's rival and yet delivered almost the same performance as it's rival..?? Because this is DIY one and so they can charge you @ a much cheaper rate... the Xi-Fi xtreme price probably includes promotion/packaging/accesories + goodwill |
Feb 19 2011, 12:17 AM
You're probably right!
Feb 19 2011, 10:58 AM
i tried to understand fundamental of DAC.. but the explanation provided by wikipedia is too technical and i can't related it to the real thing
This post has been edited by Band-Pass filter: Feb 19 2011, 10:58 AM |
Feb 19 2011, 11:28 AM
1,150 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(Band-Pass filter @ Feb 19 2011, 10:58 AM) i tried to understand fundamental of DAC.. but the explanation provided by wikipedia is too technical and i can't related it to the real thing Fundamental?DAC = Digital to Analog Converter Process all the 0 and 1 in digital to analog, so that the sound can be heard by you. The better the DAC the cleaner it can process digital to analog. |
Feb 19 2011, 11:35 AM
thanks.. but how does it handle compressed music like mp3?
Feb 19 2011, 01:32 PM
2,109 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Ipoh/Semenyih |
QUOTE(Band-Pass filter @ Feb 19 2011, 11:35 AM) mp3 is stored in memory/hdd as 0 n 1 basically..dac just function to decode it.. then thru the output.. either mini(3.5mm) or RCA.. normally,for multimedia speakers,a mini rca cable is sufficient. can get at many places,at hardware shops..or headphone shop like Jaben. Or u can get ppl to diy. there is ppl said there can hear the stock mini rca cable provided by the multimedia speaker manufacturer once they test. i am not sure bout spdif output.. |
Feb 19 2011, 01:47 PM
623 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Band-Pass filter @ Feb 18 2011, 11:32 PM) i have a really noob question.. why does this small thingy sound is at par with X-Fi xtreme sound card.. i mean look at the component count, this small little fella has less component than it's rival and yet delivered almost the same performance as it's rival..?? Let me "try" to answer this with my own opinion..Sounds better or worst is kinda personal BUT using a good DAC to process the one and zero (from yr mp3 or lossless format) to sound wave is the heart of audio processing.. It is not the "quantity" of the components that matters but the "quality" of the components when it comes to sound quality.. |
Feb 19 2011, 01:52 PM
1,271 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Sometimes here, sometimes there. |
QUOTE(Band-Pass filter @ Feb 18 2011, 11:32 PM) i have a really noob question.. why does this small thingy sound is at par with X-Fi xtreme sound card.. i mean look at the component count, this small little fella has less component than it's rival and yet delivered almost the same performance as it's rival..?? kinda like different font size .... |
Feb 19 2011, 01:53 PM
439 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(edwardng @ Feb 18 2011, 10:17 PM) Still confused By usb speaker, is it a usb powered speaker (i.e. a speaker with 3.5mm jack) or a speaker that connects to the pc with a usb cable ONLY?1.Can this DAC use for usb speaker/headphone? If Possible, do i need converter? Can I use this DAC with isolated usb power???? |
| Change to: | 0.0255sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:54 AM |