The next USB DAC, come on guys let's guess it!, Powerful DAC in small size!

jazzy939
post Dec 17 2010, 12:27 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Heyy.. I am interested in this also! brows.gif
jazzy939
post Dec 17 2010, 02:37 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

If its not a WOLFSON, I won't buy it! laugh.gif

Since you mentioned SOIC-14, there's a few selections:
WM8501, 8521, 8725 and 8726.

Any other clues? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Dec 17 2010, 02:47 PM
jazzy939
post Dec 17 2010, 09:35 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

aiyoh, wherelah this chchyong? doh.gif

jazzy939
post Dec 17 2010, 11:40 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

What kind of an answer is that? laugh.gif
jazzy939
post Dec 17 2010, 11:49 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

ssyycc,
That Wolfson is part of my list too.
Its a matter of price now which chip is 'value for money' wink.gif
Like I said, it better be a Wolfson!
jazzy939
post Dec 17 2010, 11:56 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Got prize ah chchyong? laugh.gif
Give us the early birds some 'special' discounts is good enough for me! Right, ssyycc?
jazzy939
post Dec 18 2010, 12:12 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Whoa! Excellent! rclxm9.gif
PM sent wink.gif

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Dec 18 2010, 12:13 AM
jazzy939
post Dec 18 2010, 12:33 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

And who is that gabanyayaya? laugh.gif
jazzy939
post Dec 18 2010, 01:15 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I am just curious on this DAC especially the WOLFSON DAC.
I used to have a 'cap ayam' DVD player bought from TESCO that played audio CD with a good quality sound! It did not last long however as the CD mechanism refused to read any CDs/DVDs after a year(ie warranty expired). At 79.90 I just wanna throw it away but I did open up and have a look at the mainboard. Guess what, there lies a WOLFSON DAC!

Teddy Pardo of TeddyPardo High End Audio among the products, is selling a HIGH END DAC that costs more EURO1163, he also uses a WOLFSON DAC albeit a different unit. wink.gif
Link: http://www.teddypardo.com/
Click products then DACs.

So let's see how good this WM8501 is against my other two commercial DACs..

It's 'cheap' so what the heck!

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Dec 18 2010, 01:22 AM
jazzy939
post Dec 18 2010, 01:22 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I agree!!! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Najmods @ Dec 18 2010, 01:17 AM)
This is MUCH better than the previous PCM2704 USB DAC you bringing. I like the idea PCM2706 convert USB to I2S, then feed to WM8501 which itself don't need any opamp.

Would be better if it have RCA out though.
jazzy939
post Dec 18 2010, 01:40 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Hmmm I see where you're getting at.. wink.gif
Surely it is (electrically) possible to 'tap' the signal from the PCM2706 and port it elsewhere.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(gabanyayaya @ Dec 18 2010, 01:30 AM)
just wondering can i2s data from the on board PCM2706 be hacked to another dac..???
jazzy939
post Dec 18 2010, 02:06 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Exactly! wink.gif
jazzy939
post Dec 18 2010, 03:02 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Whoa.. nice carrots you're dangling in front of us lah chchyong!
This would make the anticipation unbearable! laugh.gif

Hoping for the best lah.. tongue.gif
jazzy939
post Dec 20 2010, 09:38 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Couple of weeks to go.. patience... laugh.gif
4 holes for what?
jazzy939
post Dec 20 2010, 09:51 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I see what you mean.. You don't have to drill themholes for a PCB stand..
I have plans for it too.. wink.gif

gabanyayaya, ya lor... too bad tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Dec 20 2010, 09:52 PM
jazzy939
post Dec 21 2010, 04:31 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

chchyong,
I think the price is justified for the DAC. Any more enhancements or features will serious jack up the prices.. and that I do not want, as I already have two commercial DACs to play with.
jazzy939
post Dec 21 2010, 04:42 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Right on bro! thumbup.gif
jazzy939
post Dec 21 2010, 07:45 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

gabanyayaya, it's affordable! wink.gif
jazzy939
post Dec 27 2010, 08:45 PM