Dell XPS Series, Discuss everything about ur XPS
trancesition
Jan 20 2011, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Jan 20 2011, 10:13 PM) I think they meant refreshing the specs coz XPS with Sandy Bridge coming out end of march.. If they have to refresh specs, they shouldn't need to discontinue ordering parts, would it? Like the backlight keyboarding, what has it got to do with processors or any other components. Clearly they are going to stop production already. Something new with updated model architecture is replacing it.
eugenechiuu
Jan 20 2011, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(trancesition @ Jan 20 2011, 10:21 PM) If they have to refresh specs, they shouldn't need to discontinue ordering parts, would it? Like the backlight keyboarding, what has it got to do with processors or any other components. Clearly they are going to stop production already. Something new with updated model architecture is replacing it. Yea, maybe got new design of the XPS system.. But that's kinda a bit early though, considering it just release 2 months ago..
twhong_91
Jan 21 2011, 03:35 PM
looks like the new version of xps 15 is coming soon. visit their website and you will know what i'm talking about. now they don't offer i7 processors anymore.
trancesition
Jan 21 2011, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Jan 21 2011, 03:35 PM) looks like the new version of xps 15 is coming soon. visit their website and you will know what i'm talking about. now they don't offer i7 processors anymore. Wow you are right, they are sure stopping inventory. I was just messing around the configuration early this morning and they still had i-7. In fact, a friend placed an order midnight last night and still took the i7. Something big is happening.
baliwesti
Jan 21 2011, 04:47 PM

QUOTE(trancesition @ Jan 21 2011, 04:42 PM) Wow you are right, they are sure stopping inventory. I was just messing around the configuration early this morning and they still had i-7. In fact, a friend placed an order midnight last night and still took the i7. Something big is happening. oh snap and my order of xps 14 just went to work in progress.. maybe just out of parts? (wishing it was the only reason they are removing it from the online store)
twhong_91
Jan 21 2011, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(baliwesti @ Jan 21 2011, 04:47 PM) oh snap and my order of xps 14 just went to work in progress.. maybe just out of parts? (wishing it was the only reason they are removing it from the online store) sorry to say but dell agent confirmed with me that they already discontinued the corei7 processors in XPS 15. Because they are launching new version with the latest new core i7 processors soon and its targeted on 15th march 2011. This post has been edited by twhong_91: Jan 24 2011, 10:24 AM
baliwesti
Jan 21 2011, 05:07 PM

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Jan 21 2011, 04:58 PM) sorry to say but dell agent confirmed with me that they already discontinue the corei7 processor in XPS 15. Because they are launching at new version with the latest new core i7 processor soon and its targeted on the 15th march 2011. yeah. just the processors are being discontinued. not the xps 14 and xps 15 itself. (which i thought was the case reading the chat log in the previous post). good news as i was not really keen on getting sandybridge atm, wanted to allow the technology to mature a bit more before getting it.
eugenechiuu
Jan 21 2011, 05:34 PM
March coming out but discontinuing 2 months earlier? What is Dell thinking?! Unless they release the SB earlier, XPS is gonna suffer much lower sales these 2 months.. Not only their competitors have much lower prices for i5-480m laptops now, XPS GpU also more inferior considering no more i7, u can't choose 435m
This post has been edited by eugenechiuu: Jan 21 2011, 05:36 PM
TSvernon91
Jan 22 2011, 10:48 PM
looks like xps series gonna be inactive for a while....lolz
janson_kaniaz
Jan 23 2011, 08:46 PM
any idea y xps 15 is so blardy popular compared to xps 14? it's selling like hot cakes!!!
shahrulz
Jan 23 2011, 10:59 PM
Errr guys... my gadget is not appear on my desktop.. right click-gadget- choose..only white small box appeared.. What happened, what should i do to get those CPU meter of the RAM meter back??
volant
Jan 24 2011, 02:26 AM
QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Jan 21 2011, 04:58 PM) sorry to say but dell agent confirmed with me that they already discontinue the corei7 processor in XPS 15. Because they are launching at new version with the latest new core i7 processor soon and its targeted on the 15th march 2011. if u guys check dell.com in usa, u can see that dell already introduce dell xps 17 with the new sandy bridge cpu as well as optional choice of 3d screen. so i hope so we can get dell xps 15 for this comming february or may be after mwc computer show in barcelona!
evsje
Jan 24 2011, 07:58 AM
QUOTE(volant @ Jan 24 2011, 02:26 AM) if u guys check dell.com in usa, u can see that dell already introduce dell xps 17 with the new sandy bridge cpu as well as optional choice of 3d screen. so i hope so we can get dell xps 15 for this comming february or may be after mwc computer show in barcelona! Please link ! I can not find it
juruteknikmuda89
Jan 24 2011, 09:41 AM

here link to the new XPS 17 from DELL USA: XPS 17baru nk order xps 15 ngn i7 da xdapat..so tunggu yg xps 17 ni lah masuk market Malaysia...hehe This post has been edited by juruteknikmuda89: Jan 24 2011, 09:43 AM
eugenechiuu
Jan 24 2011, 09:53 AM
XPS 17 not gonna come to Malaysia... It's been in USA for a long time already.. Malaysia dun have market for 17 inchers, so not gonna see it here..
evsje
Jan 24 2011, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(juruteknikmuda89 @ Jan 24 2011, 09:41 AM) here link to the new XPS 17 from DELL USA: XPS 17baru nk order xps 15 ngn i7 da xdapat..so tunggu yg xps 17 ni lah masuk market Malaysia...hehe As far is I can see this is not Sandy Bridge (i7-xxxQM and not i7-YYYYQM), and still GT 4xxM graphics (new should be 5xxs), this is the old model (l501x).
volant
Jan 24 2011, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(evsje @ Jan 24 2011, 04:37 PM) As far is I can see this is not Sandy Bridge (i7-xxxQM and not i7-YYYYQM), and still GT 4xxM graphics (new should be 5xxs), this is the old model (l501x).  sorry guys, i guess dell has change the specs since last few days coz i am certainly sure i saw intel i7 2720QM and u could upgrade it to 2820QM as well!!!! but now dell just show the 1st generation i7 for xps 17
farisiylia
Jan 25 2011, 11:09 PM

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Jan 23 2011, 08:46 PM) any idea y xps 15 is so blardy popular compared to xps 14? it's selling like hot cakes!!! obviously larger screen, FHD option, i7 processor and stuff like that. plus better GPU
SKisaGooner
Jan 26 2011, 05:33 PM

Do we really have to wait till late March for XPS with SB? I was hoping early February like the XPS 17 with SB in USA.
Maybe that's what the Dell sales person wants us to think, so that we'd be impatient and just help them clear the current XPS stock? Hmm?
eugenechiuu
Jan 26 2011, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(SKisaGooner @ Jan 26 2011, 05:33 PM) Do we really have to wait till late March for XPS with SB? I was hoping early February like the XPS 17 with SB in USA. Maybe that's what the Dell sales person wants us to think, so that we'd be impatient and just help them clear the current XPS stock? Hmm? I think it would be march at least cause Dell probably wanna refresh it when all the other high end quad and dual core SB's come out... It's reasonable also considering the current XPS only came out in November... Refreshing specs so early, they would definitely gain losses