post Dec 9 2010, 12:10 PM

68 posts

Going-To-Be XPS 15 owner reporting in! tongue.gif
farisiylia
post Dec 10 2010, 10:14 AM

68 posts

To all of you who prefers gaming on the XPS 15, here's a youtube channel dedicated to gaming on the XPS:
Kriios's Channel
Do note that he's running the games on i7, 2gb 435M and 1080p lcd screen biggrin.gif
farisiylia
post Dec 10 2010, 09:59 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(ubeyou @ Dec 10 2010, 09:39 PM)
anyway, can i know where is the manufacturer done? China or in Malaysia?
Most likely in Penang since they have a factory there
farisiylia
post Dec 10 2010, 10:53 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 10 2010, 10:48 PM)
WTF. Seriously, wtf. If you guys go and take a look at the Dell site now, the FHD B+RGLED is not available as an option anymore. And I'm leaving for camp tomorrow. Perfect timing lah, Dell. Just when I wanted to buy it, it goes out of stock.

Damn dulan.
Well I'll be damned, it's true. Based on the replies I got from the old thread, I guess that the FHD1080p screens might delay their production, so maybe thats a reason why they took it out of the selection. Im just saying brows.gif
farisiylia
post Dec 10 2010, 11:01 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 10 2010, 10:57 PM)
I don't mind the wait, I do a lot of photo work so the B+RGLED is the closest I can get to the real RGBLED offered in the SXPS 16. Yet they HAD to take it off, and I'm leaving first thing in the morning tomorrow, so there's my hopes destroyed of being able to shave 4 days off the waiting time. Bloody hell, frustrated. Baru baru only somemore. Yesterday wanted to place the order, but not free, today wanna place order, gone.  vmad.gif  mad.gif  cry.gif
Hmm if im not mistaken, sxps 16's upgraded lcd should be better than xps 15's upgraded lcd
QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 17 2010, 11:50 PM)
Difference between SXPS and XPS 15 quite a bit.
VGA port, Speakers, Display quality (upgraded xps screen better than stock sxps screen, but upgraded sxps screen wins)
Price (XPS 15 is cheaper). Graphic card (has Dx11 on the XPS 15) Design, (imo XPS 15 much nicer) USB 3.0 ports (not really a mojor difference...)
farisiylia
post Dec 12 2010, 10:46 AM

68 posts

What about NotePal Ax? im planning to buy that one.
farisiylia
post Dec 12 2010, 07:16 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(J.J @ Dec 12 2010, 05:50 PM)
Additional fans can be purchased and fitted to any CM U1/2/3 cooler.

Here are some screenshots of startup temperature and gaming temperature for XPS 15 Core i7 and GT 435M
Please take note that I'm using CM U3 when taking these screens.

wow not much rise in temperature! would these results differ if im using a cooling pad with 1 big fan(NotePal Ax)?
farisiylia
post Dec 13 2010, 05:14 PM

68 posts

Guys i've received my xps 15, and is quite impressed with it. the nice aluminium brush finishing really looks great. but after i installed gta iv, the fan somehow revs up to a noticeable loudness. plus i can feel warm air blasting on the left side. and the left side palm rest is quite warm
farisiylia
post Dec 13 2010, 05:35 PM

68 posts

lol but its really warm. but overall, yeah im amazed with this laptop. the speakers are amazing, i can really feel the subwoofer doing its job cool.gif

Added on December 13, 2010, 6:52 pmBtw, any bloatwares that you guys might suggest me uninstalling?

This post has been edited by farisiylia: Dec 13 2010, 06:52 PM
farisiylia
post Dec 13 2010, 07:27 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(J.J @ Dec 13 2010, 07:18 PM)
I positioned all my fans near the center to blow at the center located vents

_________

Roughly something as above.
You may uninstall software like Dell Dock, Dell Datasafe etc or even everything except drivers.
It really depends on you.
well its mainly because of the slow startup speed. after the facial recognition thing, it gets really slow
farisiylia
post Dec 13 2010, 11:16 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Dec 13 2010, 07:29 PM)
it depends on u....if u don wan to uninstall everything just make sure those blaotware don load at startup......
i used startup manager to remove all the useless bloatwares. now the only thing that starts up is mcafee, msn messenger, rocket dock and rainmeter tongue.gif
farisiylia
post Dec 13 2010, 11:39 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(AwaN87 @ Dec 13 2010, 11:38 PM)
Almost got poisoned by ASUS N43JQ but lastly i decide to stay on my path..
Ohh dear XPS 15, u r so sexy.. tongue.gif
Just order through dell website on 8 o'clock..

Can i do clean install of W7 when my XPS arrive??
i include also dvd media kit in my order..
yup, when you first run it dell will ask you to make a recovery disk

This post has been edited by farisiylia: Dec 13 2010, 11:39 PM
farisiylia
post Dec 14 2010, 09:10 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Dec 14 2010, 07:56 PM)

Added on December 14, 2010, 8:00 pm
i use msconfig to remove those...the 1st thing i uninstalled was the mcafee.....it suck too much resource on ur lappy......

is it ok to uninstall mcafee? i mean, since we already have the license for it. after uninstalling can get it back with the same license?

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Dec 14 2010, 08:27 PM)
Full hd movie decode cpu usage

Withou DXVA:

[attachmentid=1938764]
With DXVA :

[attachmentid=1938779]
nice brows.gif
farisiylia
post Dec 14 2010, 09:30 PM

68 posts

haha. which is better, mcafee or microsoft security essentials?

farisiylia
post Dec 14 2010, 10:51 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Dec 14 2010, 10:31 PM)
i dk...probably mcafee is better since it is with more feature.....i onli use eset nod32 for my XPS
ori or ehem ehem one? plus dont all antivirus eat pc resources?
farisiylia
post Dec 14 2010, 11:31 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Dec 14 2010, 10:58 PM)
haha...all my software are ahem one or freeware or open source brows.gif ....probably ppl gonna kill me now..nod32 is one of the antivirus use least resource so far i tested.
hmm nod32 sounds great. i'll give it a try soon biggrin.gif
farisiylia
post Dec 17 2010, 08:47 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 17 2010, 08:07 PM)
Unrelated to the topic discussed here, has anybody tried installing Hackintosh on this laptop?

Now I know that Hackintosh is most likely 'pirated' and 'illegal' but some of us DO have original retail DVDs, so I take it as discuss-able. So please don't start trolling around with smart-ass comments, thanks. Serious discussion.
logically speaking, i think it can be installed although no one did it yet. but finding the drivers that are compatible with mac os/snow leopard might be a handful sweat.gif

This post has been edited by farisiylia: Dec 17 2010, 08:49 PM
farisiylia
post Dec 20 2010, 01:16 PM

68 posts

anybody experience a vibrating feeling whenever they slide their hands along the outer surface?
farisiylia
post Dec 20 2010, 11:37 PM

68 posts

Well apparently i tested a few games on the XPS 15. Here are my specs:

i7 turbo boost up to 2.93ghz
Nvidia Gt435m
6gb Ram
1080p screen

So the games that i played which are quite smooth are:
Gta IV-Medium-High settings
Section 8 - High
NFS Hot Pursuit - High
MW2 and BO - Automatic-High settings
Unreal Tournament - High
SC2 - Medium-High
Transformers War For Cybertron - High
Counter-Strike Source - High
I get an average of around 30+fps from the settings above. And I ran autoCAD 2010, Microsoft Words, Adobe Photoshop CS4 all at once and apparently no lag spikes or heating whatsoever. Guess the 6gbs of ram was quite worth the money. Definitely a great mainstream laptop to whoever is thinking of purchasing it rclxms.gif
farisiylia
post Dec 21 2010, 07:00 AM

68 posts

Plus, i get bored listening to the in-game music, so most of the time i would open media player classic and make a long playlist of shows like HIMYM and Two and a half men and just minimize it and listen to it while playing games. No lag whatsoever rclxms.gif

0.0567sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:35 PM