144 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

azraeil
post Feb 22 2011, 03:00 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

PP works like a dog. But even a 5 years PP with experience can command salary in the 15-20K range in Malaysia a month. A lot of those company doing the outsourced subsurface study faced huge problems when it comes to PP. They cannot find one.

Same like Geological Modeler. Market rate for that with a 10 year experience is 35K per month on a permanent basis. Both PP and GM can command around 1500/day day rate if you're not on a contract or permanent basis.

If you're a mechanical engineer, try and get a job as a drilling engineer, another rare species in the industry. Market rate is in the 2000-3000 per day rate. This of course is when you have all the necessary experience. So for those who are with 2-3 years experience. Be patient, your value will just increase with experience.I really advise people already in O&G to get as much experience as possible (operations/Study/planning side), try and get into all of the project team as much as possible. Learn from your mentor and your senior staff. Don't be malu malu to ask questions. Tak paham, tanya ... that's the fastest way you will learn.

Okay, that's enough advice for one day.
co_upe
post Feb 22 2011, 05:16 AM

56 posts

Thanks for these replies.. smile.gif

Before this I was worried that if i go to general interview and say that i want to be a PP, they reply like " sorry, we have enough PP in our company, you're not needed. Go back home.. sweat.gif ''

I'm curious about the job scope though. Do PP have to go offshore platform and perform the MWD/LWD on the field himself or they simply sit in front of the computer doing processing and interpreting work only? i.e, does the job contain some technical works on the field or sit in front of pc only all day?

btw, work like a dog? well.. since the pay is high, i guest that's justified..

This post has been edited by co_upe: Feb 22 2011, 05:20 AM
ICDeadPeople
post Feb 22 2011, 11:58 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(co_upe @ Feb 22 2011, 05:16 AM)

Thanks for these replies.. smile.gif

Before this I was worried that if i go to general interview and say that i want to be a PP, they reply like " sorry, we have enough PP in our company, you're not needed. Go back home..  sweat.gif ''
I'm curious about the job scope though. Do PP have to go offshore platform and perform the MWD/LWD on the field himself or they simply sit in front of the computer doing processing and interpreting work only? i.e, does the job contain some technical works on the field or sit in front of pc only all day?

btw, work like a dog? well.. since the pay is high, i guest that's justified..
The thing about pp is all operators need them, but maybe just 1-2 person. Job would be very busy during a drilling campaign, where you need to evaluate, interpret and gathers data. You dont go offshore. You just sit infront of the pc and tell people in offshore what you need. You are doing a technical work indeed, but more to calculations and stuff.
Dont worry about working like a dog. Most pp that i know dont work late night every single day. Just during a drilling operation.
Im not pp, but work with pp all the time.
azraeil
post Feb 22 2011, 12:41 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Yeah but if they know you have a PP degree, you are extremely marketable. PP don't usually go to offshore but I would recommend that you do go during one of the logging operation so you get an idea what the vendors (SLB/Halliburton/Sperry Sun) are doing. It will give you a lot of hands-on knowledge and will allow you to not kena kencing by vendor. I bet you they will tell that you will need this tool lah, that tool la ... kencing semua tu.

Work like a dog during drilling operation only. Be prepared to wait for the logs at 2Am in the morning at the office (when there is drilling activity la). Once you have a lot of experience, you may be required to travel to all sorts of places for data review (That's what Petronas does to their experienced PP), go to Libya/Algeria/London/Paris to look at all the data for block acquisition.

Good Luck!
wishbone
post Feb 22 2011, 02:08 PM

:.Business as usual.:
960 posts

QUOTE(Jannie87 @ Feb 21 2011, 03:59 PM)
Hi i'm a fresh grad with a degree in accounting & finance..thought of entering O&G field for finance/account dept..any openings?and which O &G company should i apply?thanks in advance tongue.gif
O&G companies pay normal/onshore salary to non-technical personnels. If big bucks are what you are looking for, you're better off going to the accounting Big fours
Calvin871989
post Feb 22 2011, 05:16 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

want to ask, what is the future like for piping , good ? just want to know the future of piping in general as i cant give or really know how many piping fields are out there as im still very new in Oil & Gas.

i must say that im tempted of becoming a piping designer although i must know what does a piping designer do/does ? or is there something better to a piping designer ? i dont know where does a piping desinger rank on a list compared to other piping fields.

as for my status now, im working in an office (with a salary of RM500 monthly) and being provided training for 6 months on how to use autocad, together on learning piping and its piping drawings.

after the 6 months is over, ill be hired as their staff or ill be sent to any oil and gas company based in KL

im still very young and i hope this will be a good start for me to the future.

thanks smile.gif
azraeil
post Feb 22 2011, 06:17 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Piping?

All I know is this, my brother who had a mechanical engineer punya degree work with a small company who does design for O&G using AutoCad or those CAD programs (not necessarily piping), after a couple of years, he left and join this manpower company in Singapore and was sent to Nigeria ... now he's the engineering procurement manager in Total France ...
skinnydude
post Feb 22 2011, 08:50 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Feb 22 2011, 05:16 PM)
want to ask, what is the future like for piping , good ? just want to know the future of piping in general as i cant give or really know how many piping fields are out there as im still very new in Oil & Gas.

i must say that im tempted of becoming a piping designer although i must know what does a piping designer do/does ? or is there something better to a piping designer ? i dont know where does a piping desinger rank on a list compared to other piping fields.

as for my status now, im working in an office (with a salary of RM500 monthly) and being provided training for 6 months on how to use autocad, together on learning piping and its piping drawings.

after the 6 months is over, ill be hired as their staff or ill be sent to any oil and gas company based in KL

im still very young and i hope this will be a good start for me to the future.

thanks smile.gif
just curious bro, r u under some sort of a program? by any chance government sponsored program?

if u dont mind can u shed some light on ur training as i am interested to be in piping as well.. rclxm9.gif
Calvin871989
post Feb 22 2011, 09:36 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Feb 22 2011, 06:17 PM)
Piping?

All I know is this, my brother who had a mechanical engineer punya degree work with a small company who does design for O&G using AutoCad or those CAD programs (not necessarily piping), after a couple of years, he left and join this manpower company in Singapore and was sent to Nigeria ... now he's the engineering procurement manager in Total France ...
sounds intresting. mechanical engineer does piping as well ?

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Feb 22 2011, 08:50 PM)
just curious bro, r u under some sort of a program? by any chance government sponsored program?

if u dont mind can u shed some light on ur training as i am interested to be in piping as well..  rclxm9.gif
ive quit studying (to put it simple, i cant study) and want to start work and know all about oil and gas.
i wouldnt call it a program or goverment sponsored program. i dont even have a diploma and plan to come up in a hard way as i just have my high school cert.
so this agency that im going to, where one of my dad friend is working there and is the director for that agency, promise my dad that he'll try and get some guys in his office to help me learn piping and autocad for now.
whenever im at work now, there will be a drafter and senior drafter helping me out with the basic of autocad when simple piping drawings are given to me.
i just started my work last week. the office is very small as there less then 15 staff ?
my dad who is an electrical designer working in technip told me to go for piping instead of electrical because he said there is good future for piping.
he told me to never look back or quit the oil and gas field because one day ill regret it which i believe is very true smile.gif

kelvin_tan
post Feb 23 2011, 12:19 AM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@calvin
Not to offend you but you still have a lot to learn about the harsh reality of the working world. Those without tertiary education gets bullied all the way in terms of promotions, salary and etc.

Not to say those without degree cannot climb. I believe we have a few public figures that have achieved success without such paper qualifications. Just be informed that the road ahead is REALLY rough.
smartalec
post Feb 23 2011, 01:20 AM

43 posts

hi everyone, an aspiring grease monkey here.
i've been in the semicon industry for the past 5 yrs and is bored of it. various factors including low pay and repetitive job in an enclosed environment.

if given an opportunity would like to jump over to O&G even it it means starting all over again. any recommendations that is suitable for me? i have a degree in electronics, have experience in machine maintenance (electrical, electronics & mechanical) as well as planning.

jasontks1987
post Feb 23 2011, 03:06 AM

13 posts

hi all, following this thread for the pass few weeks. currently working as a building services consultant with 1 year experience, any recommendations or suggestions for me to join this field? i am mechanical background with second upper degree from local U.

Thanks all.
TScarloz28
post Feb 23 2011, 08:46 AM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

QUOTE(smartalec @ Feb 23 2011, 01:20 AM)
hi everyone, an aspiring grease monkey here.
i've been in the semicon industry for the past 5 yrs and is bored of it. various factors including low pay and repetitive job in an enclosed environment.

if given an opportunity would like to jump over to O&G even it it means starting all over again. any recommendations that is suitable for me? i have a degree in electronics, have experience in machine maintenance (electrical, electronics & mechanical) as well as planning.
I started out in the telco/semicon industry for 2.5 yrs before joining O&G. Never look back since.

Please tell me you are not working in Penang right now.
Calvin871989
post Feb 23 2011, 09:17 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_tan @ Feb 23 2011, 12:19 AM)
@calvin
Not to offend you but you still have a lot to learn about the harsh reality of the working world. Those without tertiary education gets bullied all the way in terms of promotions, salary and etc.

Not to say those without degree cannot climb. I believe we have a few public figures that have achieved success without such paper qualifications. Just be informed that the road ahead is REALLY rough.
like i said, im still young and i have a lot of years ahead of me. im ready to learn and take things one step at a time.

yes, the working world out there will be a harsh one but im ready to face it be it promotions, salary and etc.

being bullied is nothing new to me. ive been facing it since standard 3 up to form 6.

i know im not alone in this as the bullying still continues even today to quite many people out there in the world.

as for now, i just want to learn what i can and try to pick up quickly.
kelvin_tan
post Feb 23 2011, 10:46 AM

Passion for Pipping!
3,141 posts

@calvin
HAHAHA in the workplace its not that kind of bullying. Make your decisions wisely. You are young yes, so are those that just came out with degree's / professional qualifications (As young as 20 years old). They have a definate advantage over you. Everybody is willing to learn. What makes you special over them? food for thought.

When promoting, managerial positions usually require you to have certain level of academic achievements. You can be twice as efficient, work twice as hard and sadly they will not offer it to u.

Responsibilities that requires technical knowledge or book smarts will not be handed to u. So you will have to shine in a job that is probably boring / mundane. Even if you do, little interest will be given to you.

Consider furthering your studies. Knowledge is never wasted.
engrfeez
post Feb 23 2011, 11:30 AM

Ironman
316 posts

So many people interested to join OnG field? Did you have idea how many project left in Malaysia? Do some homeworks, it's going to the deepwater right now and the currents employee in OnG also was facing problem to find new project or company.

But for oversea it might different but the requirement to join OnG oversea about 7-10 yrs experiences.

However it all depends on your personal luck. Good luck.

azraeil
post Feb 23 2011, 12:55 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Oil price is at USD100 per barrel, Petronas and all other operators are spending money to find new oil and also to rejuvenate existing oil field. ExxonMobil is committed to invest USD4 billion in the next 10 years to rejuvenate their PM9 blocks (Seligi, Guntong, Tapis, etc). That 4 billion USd will go into subsurface studies, upgrading existing facilities and implementing new technologies.

How do I know this, I was in the team pushing Exxon to do it or we take back the fields.

That is just ExxonMobil. After 7-10 years, then you will have enough experience and skill sets to sell yourself for overseas operators (Aramco, Qatar Petroleum, Maersk, PDO Oman etc etc) where your salary package will skyrocket (tax free some more).

That is the path that a lot of people in O&G has taken. It's a path that I have taken.

My brother worked in the Auto sector, and he jumped into O&G (He had an Automotive Engineering degree some more) and he's doing fine ... another couple of years, he will have enough experience in O&G to start looking for a job overseas ...
BRC
post Feb 23 2011, 01:37 PM

555 posts

piping... thats a field for the consultants... in the operator's side. its parts of the stating team... (included piping, pigs, etc)

engrfeez,

less projects in Malaysia... yes...
but more money invested... = more jobs
still u got the rejuvenation projects that carry alot of weight...

suggest me another industry to look at...

engrfeez
post Feb 23 2011, 02:15 PM

Ironman
316 posts

i guess telco one of the industry can making money now whereby internet are widely usefull to anyone and anywhere..

OnG still the good future and salary how ever demand from people outside this range without project getting less will not benefit..i knew it because there were lot of people in this field right now are jobless..

but as i told before, no harm for trying to this field..but try also looking at others industry as well..
trd088
post Feb 23 2011, 03:14 PM

169 posts

hello...greasemonkey report in....

144 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0339sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:05 AM