144 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

xkaix
post Feb 23 2011, 05:05 PM

165 posts

i'm currently taking chemical engineering in University,may i know the field of job for chemical engineering in Oil & Gas industry?
azraeil
post Feb 23 2011, 07:55 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(xkaix @ Feb 23 2011, 12:05 PM)
i'm currently taking chemical engineering in University,may i know the field of job for chemical engineering in Oil & Gas industry?
There are a lot of jobs for chemical engineers such is in the refineries and petrochemical side of the O$G business. If you would like to venture on upstream activities, then you may want to enquire with your potential employers about the possibility of becoming a reservoir engineer. A lot of the reservoir engineers that I know comes from a chemical engineering background.
jasontks1987
post Feb 23 2011, 09:10 PM

13 posts

hi azraeil, do you know any mechanical engineers in O&G is from consulting background like i do? please advise me on the path to join this field. THanks.
a'siang
post Feb 25 2011, 02:28 AM

Hi all, grease monkey report here ^^
azraeil
post Feb 25 2011, 03:37 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(jasontks1987 @ Feb 23 2011, 04:10 PM)
hi azraeil, do you know any mechanical engineers in O&G is from consulting background like i do? please advise me on the path to join this field. THanks.
I don't see any difference between a mechanical engineer from a consulting background versus any other mechanical engineer. A lot of jobs opening now require mechanical engineer so it won't hurt to try. Again, in O&G, they would like to see you being able to work in a team environment. You'll get all the necessary exposure to what to do in O&G. Pipeline Engineers, Facilities Engineer, they all have Mechanical Engineering background.

jamaluddin4
post Feb 25 2011, 08:15 AM

236 posts

WALK IN INTERVIEW RANHILL WORLEYPARSONS

COME AND MEET US to learn more about current projects and available job opportunities at Ranhill Worley Parsons.
WE WANT TO MEET YOU!

DATE/TIME :
25 February 2011 (3:00 pm – 8:00 pm)
26 February 2011 (10:00 am – 4:00 pm)

VENUE :
Junior Ballroom, Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur (formerly Nikko Hotel), opposite Ampang Park Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

- CIVIL/STRUCTURAL ENGINEERS Req# :2119
- PROCESS DESIGN ENGINEERS (FOR UPSTREAM PROJECTS) Req # :3158
- ELECTRICAL ENGINEERS Req # :3166
- PIPING ENGINEERS (PIPING & MATERIALS) Req # :2130
- PIPE STRESS ENGINEERS Req # :2356
- ROTATING EQUIPMENT ENGINEERS Req # :2123
- INSTRUMENT ENGINEERS Req # :3170
- MECHANICAL ENGINEERS (STATIC EQUIPMENT/PACKAGE) Req # :2132
- PROJECT MANAGERS Req # :3164
- PROJECT ENGINEERS Req # :3155
- PROJECT CONTROL ENGINEERS Req # :3162
- PROPOSAL ENGINEERS Req # :3169
- QUALITY ENGINEERS Req # :2127
- PIPING DESIGNERS (PDMS) Req # :2125
* Positions are available at all levels.

Please bring along a detailed resume, academic certificates, relevant documents and a passport-sized photograph (n.r.) to the interview.

Those who are unable to attend the interview may apply online at www.worleyparsons.com/careers (select ‘Search Jobs’ and select country ‘Malaysia’). Alternatively, you may e-mail your CV to Please Login or Register to apply this job online..

For all engineering positions, candidates are required to be Registered with the Board of Engineers Malaysia (BEM).

FOR POSTER - DOWNLOAD HERE
pinkdalmation
post Feb 28 2011, 01:16 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Feb 12 2011, 09:35 PM)
hi guys, would like sum enlightenment frm ur experiences

-wats the pay for fresh and experienced mech. engineer working in arab countries? i heard the pay thr is jaw dropping hi?

-wats the chance for a fresh grad to work in dubai/qatar?

-wats the chance for mech. engineer to work offshore?

-normally hw is the working schedule? and wats the salary and allowances?
Pay might be jaw dropping high if you compare with working in a factory ...But cost of living in middle east is also damn high
Working with people from the gulf/mid east - also not easy ... you will need quite a bit of patience
Working schedule will depend on your contract, and what you are hired as ...

I spent like 260 days offshore last year, so go figure ^.^

azraeil
post Feb 28 2011, 02:34 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

As any new work experience, it takes some times to get used to it. My work is quite relaxed, the family has gotten used to living here. The school and education opportunity here is great, the pay is really nice and as for working with the locals, well, you'll get used to it.

I'm not sure about fresh grads working as an expats here. There have been cases where they will take some fresh grads but it is very unusual. At minimum, they will require you to have 7 years of working experience. There is no reason for them to take fresh grads (in the country I am working in anyway) since they have a lot of local graduates. The area where they lacked are skilled personnel.
pinkdalmation
post Mar 1 2011, 06:04 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Feb 28 2011, 02:34 PM)
As any new work experience, it takes some times to get used to it. My work is quite relaxed, the family has gotten used to living here. The school and education opportunity here is great, the pay is really nice and as for working with the locals, well, you'll get used to it.

I'm not sure about fresh grads working as an expats here. There have been cases where they will take some fresh grads but it is very unusual. At minimum, they will require you to have 7 years of working experience. There is no reason for them to take fresh grads (in the country I am working in anyway) since they have a lot of local graduates. The area where they lacked are skilled personnel.
^.^ I've been in the middle east 3 years already
azraeil
post Mar 1 2011, 01:41 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Fifth year in Middle East. The family loves it .... we travel twice a year since it's 8 hours from everything.

If you're trying to get work with a big operator, then at minimum, they will require 5 years experience. If you're working with SLB/Halliburton, Roxar etc, maybe they will require 2 years experience in the O&G.

Whatever it is, it doesn't hurt to try. You have nothing to lose and a lot to gain. I'd say go for it.
lonelyhouse
post Mar 1 2011, 04:04 PM

163 posts

Do a mechanical engineer having a higher chances in O&G company if compare to a mechatronic engginer?

P/S : if both of them having same CGPA, standard or whatever.
cyang
post Mar 3 2011, 05:45 PM

528 posts

Hi all.. just want to ask, do offshore field require geophysicist?
i dont feel like staying in the office analyze or process or interpret the data forever!!!
max_cruz
post Mar 3 2011, 07:19 PM

QUOTE(azraeil @ Feb 20 2011, 12:36 PM)
Try looking at the OP and it has all the necessary list of O&G companies.

If you're experienced (not necessarily in O&G), you may want to register with worldwideworker.com as they are like Global jobstreet for O&G with.

Added on February 20, 2011, 12:56 pm
Are you kidding me? Petrophysicist are a dying breed in O&G industry. MNCs will step over each other to try and get you to work for them. It's one of the hardest skill sets to hire because, it's very rare that you get a petrophysics degree (I don't they have any in any uni) so mostly, the O&G companies will spend the first 3-5 years training science grads to be petrophysicist.

Apply for all Operators, they will hire you.
Are you sure like 100% ten out of 10 sure? Out of my classmate only 1/3 end up as geophysicist/geologist, another 1/3 when to another field while another 1/3 die trying to enter the field. trust me, i am in the last category.

I did heard from my lecturer last time that the industry really need talent (but then they forgot to mention the experience part), and yeah i know because i apply many times.

So if they really need talent, grab one here whistling.gif (me) brows.gif that ready to be oil and gas slave sweat.gif anytime.

Regards.
azraeil
post Mar 3 2011, 08:19 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

max_cruz, we're talking about Petrophysicist here, for Geology and Geophysicist, it's a different story.

This is what I know Petronas will do with Fresh Geoscience grads, if you're a Mechanical Engineer, your GPA needs to be 3.5 if you want to get hired. If you're a Petroleum Engineer, they lower it to 3.0, if you're a Geologist/Geophysicist, as long as you have a degree, you will get an interview and most likely you will be hired. Mind you this was 5 years ago when demand for young geologist/geophysicist is at all time high. The E&P VP at that time (now the CEO of Petronas) mentioned that it's not easy to find Geologist/Geophy coz not a lot of students like to take the degree and it's 4 years of looking at rocks ... it'll drive you insane ... so if you can get through 4 years of looking at rocks, you're good to go.
hitokai
post Mar 4 2011, 01:14 AM

350 posts

hurm ... i guess finance and business studies are not quite the much sought after job in O&G since not much reply on those related post ... anyway ... im a business admin student ( finish my degree this year ) trying my luck into those O&G company ... does O&G companies post higher standard and pay? FYI im currently holding a job with >5k pay ( studying part time ) just wondering if i could get a higher quality if life with O&G ... or all the big buck are going to the techies ONLY? non technical personnel or sales personnel are not getting good pay? and how do you define good pay? im 22 atm with at least 7k pay ( 2 working experience ) shud i stick to my current job or there a better road ahead ... tq yo ... ^^ hope i dun post in the wrong section ...

This post has been edited by hitokai: Mar 4 2011, 01:15 AM
max_cruz
post Mar 4 2011, 07:22 PM

QUOTE(azraeil @ Mar 3 2011, 08:19 PM)
max_cruz, we're talking about Petrophysicist here, for Geology and Geophysicist, it's a different story.

This is what I know Petronas will do with Fresh Geoscience grads, if you're a Mechanical Engineer, your GPA needs to be 3.5 if you want to get hired. If you're a Petroleum Engineer, they lower it to 3.0, if you're a Geologist/Geophysicist, as long as you have a degree, you will get an interview and most likely you will be hired. Mind you this was 5 years ago when demand for young geologist/geophysicist is at all time high. The E&P VP at that time (now the CEO of Petronas) mentioned that it's not easy to find Geologist/Geophy coz not a lot of students like to take the degree and it's 4 years of looking at rocks ... it'll drive you insane ... so if you can get through 4 years of looking at rocks, you're good to go.
am graduated as geophysics student, but still even my friend with higher cgpa than me choose to go to work in other field. seems we all stop trying to go into the field, but hey i would take an offer from them anytime.

but considering everything u say, i guess i'll try and visit this year usm career fair again.
Musicholizz
post Mar 4 2011, 08:45 PM

34 posts

Does anyone know how much (and benefit) paid by Schlumberger for Logistic Specialist/ Procurement Specialist?

Saw the vacancy, is penang based position for fresh graduate. Intend to apply, but Autocity is very far from my home, which mean the traveling cost is high.

Heard many said that the pay of schlumbeger is very high for technical position.

Anyone work in the company can share abit of the experience?
chyen
post Mar 4 2011, 09:08 PM

128 posts

Hello,

Can someone lists some OnG related companies those are located in east coast area? I am from kuantan and curious about how big of OnG industry in east coast. So far I only know Exxon Mobil, Petronas.
lamteng82
post Mar 4 2011, 09:33 PM

east cost - peninsular malaysia - other than exxon n petronas, probably murphy, talisman, new field.. carigali hess...

east malaysia - Shell, nippon, murphy..
azraeil
post Mar 4 2011, 10:26 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Max, try and send your cv to all the big operators. As I always say in this thread, get as much experience as you can and once you get passed the 7 years experience, your Market value will skyrocket. Geology and Geophysics are really technical skills that the industry lives on so once you are considered experienced, then you really have a lot if options.

Good Luck

144 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:16 PM