Working Life in Singapore V5

alvin227
post Dec 21 2010, 09:36 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Dec 20 2010, 10:01 PM)
We followed our friend's car from JB to KL then back again.

Funniest part, the GPS led us through Malaysia customs then U-turn at the Causeway as it thinks that is the fastest way to get to City Square. Damn embarrassing.
GPS is for your reference... Do not follow blindly. I believe you won't be able to do a u turn there isn't?
crapp0
post Dec 21 2010, 09:47 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Dec 21 2010, 12:02 AM)
I'm looking for above jobs too... but so far no news yet...
Malaysians now being replaced by china counterparts, cheaper and more obedient.

Why get a malaysian when you can get a china person to do the same job for less money and less hassle.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Dec 21 2010, 09:48 AM
SUSkl87
post Dec 21 2010, 10:52 AM

390 posts

bus ticket for sale :

24/12/2010 , 5pm- this friday ,from Larkin Johor to Kuala Lumpur Bukit Jalil . Transnasional....sgd 10. org is rm31

reason to sell : my fxxking company wont let me go early -,-

anyone interested with the ticket pls pm me , hope to cod in singapore .

crapp0
post Dec 21 2010, 11:16 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Dec 21 2010, 10:52 AM)
bus ticket for sale :

24/12/2010 , 5pm- this friday ,from Larkin Johor to Kuala Lumpur Bukit Jalil . Transnasional....sgd 10. org is rm31

Hmm.. Looks like someone should have confirmed their leave b4 buying the ticket.
SUSkl87
post Dec 21 2010, 11:24 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 21 2010, 11:16 AM)
Hmm.. Looks like someone should have confirmed their leave b4 buying the ticket.
when u get some info which r wrong, wat can u do ? rclxms.gif can only say my company culture is a bit different from others, no wonder y so many ppl leave since i joined ~
crapp0
post Dec 21 2010, 11:37 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Dec 21 2010, 11:24 AM)
when u get some info which r wrong, wat can u do ? rclxms.gif can only say my company culture is a bit different from others, no wonder y so many ppl leave since i joined ~
What do you mean you get info which is wrong?

Didnt you inform your HR that your taking leave and await for their approval?
Lester1987
post Dec 21 2010, 11:39 AM

2,017 posts

bus ticket for sale :

can change the travel date?? i am going back on 23rd. haven buy bus tickets. if can change date, then i take from you la. the RM31 tickets is 27 seater bus rite?
crapp0
post Dec 21 2010, 11:45 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 21 2010, 11:39 AM)
can change the travel date?? i am going back on 23rd. haven buy bus tickets. if can change date, then i take from you la. the RM31 tickets is 27 seater bus rite?
Werent you driving back to KL?

I already got approval for my CNY holiday time since im taking more then a week off. Plus i can do some of my work online so its not so bad.
SUSkl87
post Dec 21 2010, 11:49 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 21 2010, 11:37 AM)
What do you mean you get info which is wrong?

Didnt you inform your HR that your taking leave and await for their approval?
i was told can leave early as we only work half day on christmas eve n new year eve. tongue.gif

however , the result come out is dissapointing , as the half day in my company means starting from xpm , which is extra few hours than the normal half day rclxms.gif

n i just get the confirmation on the time n date by today from the HR, as my boss mood is very changeble ~ laugh.gif wonderful culture from my company ~~~~

Added on December 21, 2010, 11:52 am
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 21 2010, 11:39 AM)
1st time i heard a bus ticket can change date .... hmm.gif mind to share how to do it ???? thx , if can i oso want to change it to few hour late....

This post has been edited by kl87: Dec 21 2010, 11:52 AM
L7Awesome
post Dec 21 2010, 01:32 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Dec 20 2010, 04:51 PM)
why not?
I mentioned before, I renew my passport, I never inform MOM or company HR, I can still come in and out using new passport + existing EP
Thanks Giorgene, there is no issue even through the Auto Gate?
Lester1987
post Dec 21 2010, 02:06 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 21 2010, 11:45 AM)
Werent you driving back to KL?

I already got approval for my CNY holiday time since im taking more then a week off. Plus i can do some of my work online so its not so bad.
I am going back KL by bus this time, then i will bring my car from KL to JB, so this is the last time i will be taking bus/public transport to KL tongue.gif

QUOTE(kl87 @ Dec 21 2010, 11:49 AM)
i was told can leave early as we only work half day on christmas eve n new year eve. tongue.gif

however , the result come out is dissapointing , as the half day in my company means starting from xpm , which is extra few hours than the normal half day rclxms.gif

n i just get the confirmation on the time n date by today from the HR, as my boss mood is very changeble laugh.gif wonderful culture from my company ~~~~

Added on December 21, 2010, 11:52 am
1st time i heard a bus ticket can change date ....  hmm.gif  mind to share how to do it ???? thx , if can i oso want to change it to few hour late....
not really sure about transnational because most of the time i will take those coach directly from SG like Aeroline. You just need to call tem up or go online, there is a section that u can change travel date and time, the 1st change is free and it must be done 1 or 3 days before the departure date if not mistaken.
SUSkl87
post Dec 21 2010, 02:16 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 21 2010, 02:06 PM)
I am going back KL by bus this time, then i will bring my car from KL to JB, so this is the last time i will be taking bus/public transport to KL tongue.gif
not really sure about transnational because most of the time i will take those coach directly from SG like Aeroline. You just need to call tem up or go online, there is a section that u can change travel date and time, the 1st change is free and it must be done 1 or 3 days before the departure date if not mistaken.
thx ~
giorgene
post Dec 21 2010, 03:37 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Dec 21 2010, 01:32 PM)
Thanks Giorgene,  there is no issue even through the Auto Gate?
No idea about the auto gate
Mackiddo
post Dec 21 2010, 04:07 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

bus ticket for sale :

24th Dec is like super-duper-peak period. really can't choose a worst time to cross the causeway. I also initially planned to go back on 24th but after much consideration, changed the plan to 22nd, at least still can countdown to Xmas in KL rclxms.gif
wlcling
post Dec 21 2010, 04:21 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

hehe i also got some bus tickets this weekend that i may not be able to use

first coach between novena and bandar utama

depart to BU - 25 Dec 8am
return to novena - 26 Dec 11am
SUSkl87
post Dec 21 2010, 04:29 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 21 2010, 04:07 PM)
24th Dec is like super-duper-peak period. really can't choose a worst time to cross the causeway. I also initially planned to go back on 24th but after much consideration, changed the plan to 22nd, at least still can countdown to Xmas in KL  rclxms.gif
i knw the situation too, but stil under probation period, if take leave it will be an unpaid leave tongue.gif

everything counted in,the bus is 5pm, it is an extra 4 hour to reach larkin from singapore (if normal half day work) . i oso ready to stuck in traffic jam when going back to KL (i dun really celebrate christmas , jus to go home to meet my family)

the only thing i didnt think of is the half day in my company means going back xhour late than the usual half day notworthy.gif
TSwashabushi
post Dec 21 2010, 04:29 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

guys need some help...
I'm currently holding class 3 driving license
do i need to take BTT again if i wan to take class 2b?

and do u think it is a good idea to get a bike here?
pros - save time as im working odd hours, staying fernvale working tanjong pagar
cons - $$$ / safety??
crapp0
post Dec 21 2010, 04:30 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 21 2010, 04:07 PM)
24th Dec is like super-duper-peak period. really can't choose a worst time to cross the causeway. I also initially planned to go back on 24th but after much consideration, changed the plan to 22nd, at least still can countdown to Xmas in KL  rclxms.gif
Damn true, eve of any public holiday = pure nightmare of human traffic proportions.

Lester1987
post Dec 21 2010, 05:06 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 21 2010, 04:29 PM)
guys need some help...
I'm currently holding class 3 driving license
do i need to take BTT again if i wan to take class 2b?

and do u think it is a good idea to get a bike here?
pros - save time as im working odd hours, staying fernvale working tanjong pagar
cons - $$$ / safety??
not sure about Singapore Driving license. But riding a bike in Singapore is rather safe compare to KL, if u rode a bike in KL before, you will feel that riding in Singapore is a lot more comfortable, their roads doesn't have those manhole in the middle and bike can ride at the middle on the road if you are going a fast enough. and on the $$ wise, its expensive if u stay in SG because u need to pay $0.65 daily just to park your bike at the HDB car park. Road tax is expensive as well. The other day when i am jaming in the causeway, there is a uncle riding a Singapore bike similar to mine, he asked me how much i bought mine, i bought mine at RM8k so i asked him back about his bike, he said he bought his bike $8k. and his roadtax is $200+ yearly while i am only paying RM30 road tax and RM100+ insurance. I doubt his insurance gonna be cheap though. And when we park our bike back in Malaysia, we don't have to pay car park. So my suggestion, if u are planning to buy a bike, why not stay in JB and get a Malaysian bike, even after calculating the $4 daily VEP, it is still cheaper to get a Malaysian bike compare to SG bike unless you are talking about long term (at least 3 years and above). Who know ur company gonna transfer you to another country or you getting tired of SG and wanna go back to where u are from, by then you are on the losing end. And since u work odd hours, then you don't have to worry about the traffic jam in the causeway as well. as long as you go and do the biometric identification for biker (free), then you definitely can cross the causeway in less than 10 mins (avoid 5am-9am JB-SG and 5pm-9pm SG-JB).
L7Awesome
post Dec 21 2010, 06:20 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 21 2010, 05:06 PM)
not sure about Singapore Driving license. But riding a bike in Singapore is rather safe compare to KL, if u rode a bike in KL before, you will feel that riding in Singapore is a lot more comfortable, their roads doesn't have those manhole in the middle and bike can ride at the middle on the road if you are going a fast enough. and on the $$ wise, its expensive if u stay in SG because u need to pay $0.65 daily just to park your bike at the HDB car park. Road tax is expensive as well. The other day when i am jaming in the causeway, there is a uncle riding a Singapore bike similar to mine, he asked me how much i bought mine, i bought mine at RM8k so i asked him back about his bike, he said he bought his bike $8k. and his roadtax is $200+ yearly while i am only paying RM30 road tax and RM100+ insurance. I doubt his insurance gonna be cheap though. And when we park our bike back in Malaysia, we don't have to pay car park. So my suggestion, if u are planning to buy a bike, why not stay in JB and get a Malaysian bike, even after calculating the $4 daily VEP, it is still cheaper to get a Malaysian bike compare to SG bike unless you are talking about long term (at least 3 years and above). Who know ur company gonna transfer you to another country or you getting tired of SG and wanna go back to where u are from, by then you are on the losing end. And since u work odd hours, then you don't have to worry about the traffic jam in the causeway as well. as long as you go and do the biometric identification for biker (free), then you definitely can cross the causeway in less than 10 mins (avoid 5am-9am JB-SG and 5pm-9pm SG-JB).
Just curious, since I have only been travelling from JB-SG for less than one month, do the traffic/bus crowd after 7am be the same during school days and school holiday? What about when getting back to JB in the evening? Very curious...

126 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:53 PM