Working Life in Singapore V5

giorgene
post Dec 20 2010, 04:51 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Dec 20 2010, 02:45 PM)
Wow, Lester, how long have you been working in SG?  Just a curious question, when you change your passport (renew), can you still come into SG with your renewed Passport along with the EPass like usual?  I know we have gone through this disucssion but just wanna to make sure as I do come in/out to SG like yourself :-).

So sorry to sidetrack from the main answer :-)
why not?
I mentioned before, I renew my passport, I never inform MOM or company HR, I can still come in and out using new passport + existing EP
giorgene
post Dec 21 2010, 03:37 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Dec 21 2010, 01:32 PM)
Thanks Giorgene,  there is no issue even through the Auto Gate?
No idea about the auto gate
giorgene
post Jan 11 2011, 03:00 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(mcfeemo @ Jan 9 2011, 12:39 AM)
yo add me ... dinieĀ  ... work : bugis ----- stay : admiralty
btw.. anyone want to play soccer with me? .. no gang la
Tomorrow 730-930pm I'm playing futsal at ceylon sports club, farrer park there
interested pm me

This post has been edited by giorgene: Jan 11 2011, 03:17 PM
giorgene
post Jan 21 2011, 07:30 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 20 2011, 08:06 PM)
yea, cheap labour is to singapore like crack is to a heroin addict.

My fren loves singaporean food, especially their selection of western restaurants which he says taste much better then in malaysia. I find its ok but not that fantastic.
SINGAPORE LOCAL FOOD SUCKS!
What you mentioned is just western food in Singapore not SINGAPOREAN FOOD
giorgene
post Feb 27 2011, 07:29 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Feb 25 2011, 04:36 PM)
futsal will be great, im in !
I play Futsal once a week, you all can join me if you want, or you guys organize Futsal, I'll come
giorgene
post Feb 28 2011, 12:32 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Feb 28 2011, 09:44 AM)
bro, i'll take that as an invitation.. biggrin.gif
This week we have got enough ppl, next week I'll let you know, pm me your number
giorgene
post Feb 28 2011, 05:31 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(GiNgEr^fIsH @ Feb 28 2011, 02:16 PM)
where do u guys play? im interested to join as well.
i need some sports to keep my mind away from personal matters.
Normally will play at redhill, street soccer, if cannot get the court, we will play futsal
giorgene
post Mar 4 2011, 01:18 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(elfen_lied @ Mar 4 2011, 11:34 AM)
hi guys,
one more question.. how much would I ask for hvin 7yrs exp in oil n gas consultant engineering firm... i have wrked wit worley KL and Technip KL previously but now in Brunei.. I wana make tis jump worth it.. or shud I stay in Brunei since thrs no tax here..
regards
kira
Brunei dollar = Singapore dollar, unless you got big increment to cover your tax to be paid in Singapore and the saving each month is more than what you can save in Brunei, then it's worth a jump
giorgene
post Mar 5 2011, 12:06 AM

435 posts

Guys, other than sentosa and mbs, where else I can organize a project review and lesson learnt session for 2 days 1 night, it's a company event. Any club house you all can suggest to me? Or any other idea?

Added on March 5, 2011, 12:08 am
QUOTE(lamteng82 @ Mar 4 2011, 10:39 PM)
Envylor... I should get a job in singapore..
any opening for oil and gas project engineer... i know spore mainly downstream.. sigh...
You ask for job vacancy but you never tell your experience and background?

This post has been edited by giorgene: Mar 5 2011, 12:08 AM
giorgene
post Mar 5 2011, 12:11 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 4 2011, 10:01 PM)
how old are u? wanna go on a date?  rclxms.gif
jurong point er.. i ate at kopitiam, mini steamboat very gooding..  rclxms.gif
Knn, wtf!! Buaya spotted!! Lol
giorgene
post Mar 28 2011, 01:14 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Mar 28 2011, 11:31 AM)
Hey guys , I got offered with SGD 2.3k but with 2 years bond ... It's a shipyard company ...

Personally, I am expecting atleast 2.5k which eligible for me to apply for EP . I think this employer is not going to apply EP for me given that range of salary ?

Btw, Im fresh graduate with master but only has internship as working experience.

Do you think I am underpaid given that I have to be bonded with the company for 2 years ? ...
Bond or contract for 2 years? Permanent staff? You can get good bonus if you work in shipyard
giorgene
post Mar 30 2011, 12:31 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 30 2011, 10:21 AM)
Guys, I've got a USD cheque from a US bank (BNY) which I need to bank in or encash. Have any of you done a survey of the best ways or best banks to bank that cheque in? Thanks.
If I'm not wrong, Malaysia CIMB gives the cheapest clearance charges
giorgene
post Apr 7 2011, 05:55 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Apr 7 2011, 02:57 PM)
Yesterday me and the project manager went to one fabrication workshop to check personally the progress of some items that were facing some delays due to difficulties fabricating said items.
Unfortunately this order for the custom fabricated items were done through a sub-contractor who was recommended to us by keppel fels.

Arriving at this companies workshop gave us a clear picture why there were delays since the pictures speak for themselves.

Pic 1
Pic 2
Pic 3
Pic 4
Pic 5

Im amazed that the keppel staff even had the gall to recommend this subi to us since its very reminiscent of a junkyard rather then a proper workshop.
I'm amaze that when your company awarded to the sub con, you all never did inspection/audit, although it was recommended by keppel fels, but you should have to take a look on the fab shop..
Who to blame?

This post has been edited by giorgene: Apr 7 2011, 05:56 PM

0.0411sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:32 AM