126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V5

Lester1987
post Feb 1 2011, 08:55 PM

2,017 posts

1 question, if we renew our workpass (mine is S pass), do i still get to keep my existing FIN number? coz my FIN number is freaking nice. G6***##*K if u understand what i am writting tongue.gif
Shinichi
post Feb 1 2011, 09:01 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Feb 1 2011, 07:58 PM)
u enter sg with white card everythin... den once u go epsc to collect ur ep u will give ur white card to them... u no need to exit sg... once u terminate ur ep, ur employer will give u 1 social visit pass letter... dat will be ur embarkation for next time once u got ur ep terminated... hope u will understand wat i say... haha...
Let me try to phrase out base on my understanding:
1. I enter SG with whitecard
2. collect my EP, they will take my white card
3. when I want to exit SG, I just use my EP to exit, without showing whitecard and passport?
ba5tard
post Feb 1 2011, 09:03 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 1 2011, 09:01 PM)
Let me try to phrase out base on my understanding:
1. I enter SG with whitecard
2. collect my EP, they will take my white card
3. when I want to exit SG, I just use my EP to exit, without showing whitecard and passport?
korek korek... when u exit juz show them ur passport and ur ep... they wont chop ur passport edi...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 1 2011, 09:05 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Feb 1 2011, 09:03 PM)
korek korek... when u exit juz show them ur passport and ur ep... they wont chop ur passport edi...
dont even need to go through the officers.... can use the machine liao... if no queue i will go to the officer cause usually most of them quite sexy brows.gif

rickysim84
post Feb 1 2011, 09:40 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Feb 1 2011, 08:55 PM)
1 question, if we renew our workpass (mine is S pass), do i still get to keep my existing FIN number? coz my FIN number is freaking nice. G6***##*K if u understand what i am writting tongue.gif
yes, i can keep that number only for a period of time, after tat the number maybe release to other people. That is why when u apply for ur working permit, there is a section which u should put in ur old FIN number.
Lester1987
post Feb 1 2011, 10:04 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Feb 1 2011, 09:40 PM)
yes, i can keep that number only for a period of time, after tat the number maybe release to other people. That is why when u apply for ur working permit, there is a section which u should put in ur old FIN number.
this even applicable to renewal of work pass? coz my pass gonna expire this november. so just curious.
rickysim84
post Feb 1 2011, 10:13 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Feb 1 2011, 10:04 PM)
this even applicable to renewal of work pass? coz my pass gonna expire this november. so just curious.
yeah, the FIN number will be the same even if u renew. smile.gif
elie3173
post Feb 2 2011, 09:48 AM

40 posts

I will be going back to Singapore after CNY via flight. I plan to carry some items i bought in M'sia with me. Will there be any GST apply when i reach airpot?
seantang
post Feb 2 2011, 10:32 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Feb 2 2011, 09:48 AM)
I will be going back to Singapore after CNY via flight. I plan to carry some items i bought in M'sia with me. Will there be any GST apply when i reach airpot?
If the quantities are not large enough to be unreasonable for personal consumption, it should be okay. But there are specific limitations on things like alcohol and tobacco, foodstuffs, currency etc. You should go through the ICA website and make sure though.

But as most people here will tell you, anything is legal as long as you don't get caught.

elie3173
post Feb 2 2011, 11:03 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 2 2011, 10:32 AM)
If the quantities are not large enough to be unreasonable for personal consumption, it should be okay. But there are specific limitations on things like alcohol and tobacco, foodstuffs, currency etc. You should go through the ICA website and make sure though.

But as most people here will tell you, anything is legal as long as you don't get caught.
thanks for the info...
i will carry 30kg luggage with me bcos i just moved to singapore..
all these are my belongings like clothes, books, toiletries etc...
at first i plan to do shipment but sg govt wanna charge me for GST...
so i choose carry all the items myself...
rickysim84
post Feb 2 2011, 11:24 AM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Feb 2 2011, 11:03 AM)
thanks for the info...
wow, some of the items can actually bought at singapore like toiletries, why have to go through the hassle bringing all?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 2 2011, 11:58 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

thanks for the info...
make sure u open all the packaging and leave only basic wrappings... no bak kua ok flex.gif

http://www.ava.gov.sg/InformationForTravel...gFood/index.htm

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Feb 2 2011, 11:24 AM)
wow, some of the items can actually bought at singapore like toiletries, why have to go through the hassle bringing all?
can save some $$$ maybe enough to even buy a bowl of mee thumbup.gif
elie3173
post Feb 2 2011, 01:39 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Feb 2 2011, 11:24 AM)
bcos those are my beauty/comestics products which I have not finished it and it costs few hundred bucks per bottle...so i think it is a waste if i just left it in malaysia...
Lester1987
post Feb 2 2011, 01:40 PM

2,017 posts

hm.. any idea where can we get food tonight?? still working lo... need to find place makan tonight.... all kopitiam is closed sad.gif
elie3173
post Feb 2 2011, 01:44 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 2 2011, 11:58 AM)
make sure u open all the packaging and leave only basic wrappings... no bak kua ok  flex.gif

http://www.ava.gov.sg/InformationForTravel...gFood/index.htm
can save some $$$ maybe enough to even buy a bowl of mee  thumbup.gif
oh...thanks for the info...i will not carry any food...except some vitamins pills and powders...

haha...my toiletries means skin care...may be i have used the wrong word to elaborate.... tongue.gif

just wonder in what circumstances the officer will request to check my baggage? i mean if i do not carry any illegal items...

This post has been edited by elie3173: Feb 2 2011, 01:46 PM
seantang
post Feb 2 2011, 02:20 PM

6,624 posts

Just went to my favourite moneychanger in Ipoh to exchange some cash at 2.34 (+0.01 above their board rate). Feeling curious, I logged onto Maybank2U.sg and for Regionlink transfer to Maybank MY accounts, they are giving a rate of 2.369. So I immediately transferred again online. Transaction fee is a flat S$15 and max amount is S$20K. Same day credit into Maybank MY account. Looks like Maybank has a pretty good deal right now.

Added on February 2, 2011, 2:22 pm
Should be okay, especially if you can easily show them that the stuff is not new or used. Your new EP or WP is solid evidence that you're moving to Singapore, hence transporting a lot of personal belongings.

This post has been edited by seantang: Feb 2 2011, 02:22 PM
Shinichi
post Feb 2 2011, 04:21 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

For room rental in SG, normally we need to pay for 1 month deposit right? So we will need to pay 2x for first month rental?
Also what is the available payment method for room rental? Do they accept credit card?

Wishing everyone here Happy Chinese New Year! smile.gif
TSwashabushi
post Feb 2 2011, 04:36 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 2 2011, 04:21 PM)
For room rental in SG, normally we need to pay for 1 month deposit right? So we will need to pay 2x for first month rental?
Also what is the available payment method for room rental? Do they accept credit card?

Wishing everyone here Happy Chinese New Year! smile.gif
only accept cash...unless u r going to rent some high end room...they will accept check
Shinichi
post Feb 2 2011, 04:49 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Feb 2 2011, 04:36 PM)
only accept cash...unless u r going to rent some high end room...they will accept check
Hmm, mean for first month in SG I'll need to bring lotsa cash sweat.gif
So for first month most probably I'll need to pay 2 months rental or 2.5 months rental which includes agent fee? Is it possible for us to avoid paying agent fee if we search for rooms online?
seantang
post Feb 2 2011, 05:01 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 2 2011, 04:21 PM)
I don't think banks issue credit card facilities to the average flat owner.

Some higher end places are fully managed by real estate agencies who collect rental on behalf of the property owners. In this case, you probably can pay the real estate agency by card. But since you're talking about renting a room... I'd bring lots of cash. You could also ask your employer in SG for a salary advance or a straight out signing or relocation bonus.

126 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:39 PM