126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V5

kaiser_reinhard
post Feb 1 2011, 06:04 PM

61 posts

Yup. Its better to apply S-Pass in the first place. If they really rejected you, at least they will give you a chance to appeal or downgrade to WP.........

Like for my case, I applied EP for the first time. It was being rejected. So I was given a choice to downgrade to S-Pass or appeal. So I decided to appeal(its a long process.... need a lot of support letters) In the end they decided to give me EP....
rickysim84
post Feb 1 2011, 06:07 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Feb 1 2011, 06:04 PM)
should I request them to apply s pass for me? I heard that their s pass applications all got rejected. I'm confused too why they would apply EP for me while all SP already got rejected...
there is a reason why ur S pass got rejected. Mostly is because u job hop which causing u hard to get ur working pass approve, u will need to ask the HR to appeal for u rather than down grade.
mrportable
post Feb 1 2011, 06:11 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(kaiser_reinhard @ Feb 1 2011, 06:04 PM)
Yup. Its better to apply S-Pass in the first place. If they really rejected you, at least they will give you a chance to appeal or downgrade to WP.........

Like for my case, I applied EP for the first time. It was being rejected. So I was given a choice to downgrade to S-Pass or appeal. So I decided to appeal(its a long process.... need a lot of support letters) In the end they decided to give me EP....
what are the supporting documents required? i heard need testimonial from previous employers but i dont even want to let my current employer know that i'm gonna quit. and it is quite difficult for me to get my previous employer to write me the testimonial too...

Added on February 1, 2011, 6:13 pm
QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Feb 1 2011, 06:07 PM)
there is a reason why ur S pass got rejected. Mostly is because u job hop which causing u hard to get ur working pass approve, u will need to ask the HR to appeal for u rather than down grade.
I'm holding S pass and was applying for EPass and rejected. it is not s pass....

This post has been edited by mrportable: Feb 1 2011, 06:13 PM
ba5tard
post Feb 1 2011, 06:14 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Feb 1 2011, 06:07 PM)
if dis is the case den i would likely got rejected... shoot... coz i work about 1 month only... damn... i think i needa pray hard for my case...
rickysim84
post Feb 1 2011, 06:15 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Feb 1 2011, 06:11 PM)
what are the supporting documents required? i heard need testimonial from previous employers but i dont even want to let my current employer know that i'm gonna quit. and it is quite difficult for me to get my previous employer to write me the testimonial too...

Added on February 1, 2011, 6:13 pm
I'm holding S pass and was applying for EPass and rejected. it is not s pass....
My EP got rejected once because i work for 6 months and move to other company, but the HR from my new company actually come to help me appeal for my EP, which took bout 1 months to process (3 weeks fastest). I didn't pass any supporting document to the HR or anything, she just help me settle it. biggrin.gif
ba5tard
post Feb 1 2011, 06:18 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Feb 1 2011, 06:15 PM)
My EP got rejected once because i work for 6 months and move to other company, but the HR from my new company actually come to help me appeal for my EP, which took bout 1 months to process (3 weeks fastest). I didn't pass any supporting document to the HR or anything, she just help me settle it.  biggrin.gif
i actually kinda worry for my case coz i din see the hr... juz the manager & md who interview me... den they gimme those stack of document ask me to fill up and submit bak to them on monday... if fail i relly dunno how... haihz...
kaiser_reinhard
post Feb 1 2011, 06:18 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Feb 1 2011, 06:11 PM)

Yup, a testimonial from previous employers is in one of my supporting letters they needed. The rest is all depends on the reason why MOM rejected your application. Like for me I need a letter from IE Singapore as my company is not a Singapore Registered Company.....
SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 1 2011, 06:20 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Feb 1 2011, 05:44 PM)
But i thought tat someone who hold, for example e pass before should be able to hold back the same e pass right?

Also, e pass and s pass is not much diff, but s pass to work permit having some diff such as if u wanna sign a phone contract, u need to deposit a lum sum of money, where as s pass and e pass do not.
by requirements there's a big diff... e pass have 3 diff levels... if u r talking about 'p' e pass in terms of def then not much diff with s cause its an entry level thingie

i think s & e pass also need, depends on duration left on the pass?

QUOTE(mrportable @ Feb 1 2011, 05:46 PM)
i do consider to apply for PR but only after 1-2 years. will that affect much if i go for WP now?

Added on February 1, 2011, 5:50 pm
I have phone & broadband contracts already, will that cause any conflicts?

my new company offered me $2.3k but if i take WP, i think they will only write 1.8k (but still giving me 2.3k). I'm wondering will that affect my record, as 1.8k is actually lower than my current salary (2k).
i believe it will affect very much... s pass not so bad, some highly skilled ppl from the indian sub continent manage to get pr with their s pass after 3-10 years of exp.... now also change

my company hires lots of epass holders getting less than 2.5k, so i guess it still works

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Feb 1 2011, 05:50 PM)
tenkiut teniut so much for the infomation... i dun wanna risk to go ep coz the rejection rate high and my salary not even touch 2.5k... so better safe... for me i dun mind wat type of pass... most important can get the work done... coz the company give me the whole stack of application form and asked me to return on monday but some part i have difficulties filling in... lolzzzzz...
how come is high? my company's turnover is very high.. e pass holders in and out and yet no rejection so far, probably size of company does play a part as well?

QUOTE(mrportable @ Feb 1 2011, 05:53 PM)
the employer's idea is applying for WP for me first and upgrade to S/Epass in the future
hmm.. i think better not, if those passes have a pay req only then its ok... but its not just that, unless you have a sudden upgrade in ur qualification i think better not downgrade urself...
ba5tard
post Feb 1 2011, 06:20 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(kaiser_reinhard @ Feb 1 2011, 06:18 PM)
Yup, a testimonial from previous employers is in one of my supporting letters they needed. The rest is all depends on the reason why MOM rejected your application. Like for me I need a letter from IE Singapore as my company is not a Singapore Registered Company.....
what if i do not have testimonial from previous employer?? and if they do not want to help me in that??
rickysim84
post Feb 1 2011, 06:23 PM

1,106 posts

The HR who apply the working permit for you will know the reason why your permit get rejected, from there then decide what is your next move. At least get to know the reason why it is rejected first.
kaiser_reinhard
post Feb 1 2011, 06:25 PM

61 posts

Yup, like what rickysim84 had said.
Get the reason on why your application has been rejected. Then your HR would be able to advise you on what you should prepare for the appeal process...

This post has been edited by kaiser_reinhard: Feb 1 2011, 06:26 PM
mrportable
post Feb 1 2011, 06:31 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(kaiser_reinhard @ Feb 1 2011, 06:25 PM)
Yup, like what rickysim84 had said.
Get the reason on why your application has been rejected. Then your HR would be able to advise you on what you should prepare for the appeal process...
my employer said if appeal, will need my certificate and testimonial....but it is really difficult to get testimonial...
rickysim84
post Feb 1 2011, 06:34 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Feb 1 2011, 06:31 PM)
my employer said if appeal, will need my certificate and testimonial....but it is really difficult to get testimonial...
but wat is the reason it got rejected? Your HR never stated? For me case, the reason is "inconsistency" which mean maybe the info i fill in the form while applying for EP mismatch or something. So, HR appeal to get my EP.
ba5tard
post Feb 1 2011, 06:36 PM

211 posts

okok... thanks ricky for such info... guess i should enjoy my cny 1st only start worry on monday... lolzzzz...
mrportable
post Feb 1 2011, 06:45 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Feb 1 2011, 06:34 PM)
but wat is the reason it got rejected? Your HR never stated? For me case, the reason is "inconsistency" which mean maybe the info i fill in the form while applying for EP mismatch or something. So, HR appeal to get my EP.
I see. I've asked my employer for that hopefully they will let me know. but seeing they request for my cert and testimonial, it could probably be job hop and i dont seem to be a good employee...

Thanks. I've inquired them regarding all possibility to appeal and apply for s pass, hopefully there will be a solution.
khaidani
post Feb 1 2011, 07:10 PM

385 posts

hi guys, few weeks ago I just rejected an offer to work in singapore, the reason is they offer me the same salary which I have now , and I have to bear myself all the expenses for moving to that place.

So guys, please tell me did I thrown away an opportunity and did I miss anything good there?
Shinichi
post Feb 1 2011, 07:53 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, for first time collecting EP, do we need to enter SG using passport, take EP, exit SG then go in SG again with EP?

ba5tard
post Feb 1 2011, 07:58 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 1 2011, 07:53 PM)
Hi all, for first time collecting EP, do we need to enter SG using passport, take EP, exit SG then go in SG again with EP?

u enter sg with white card everythin... den once u go epsc to collect ur ep u will give ur white card to them... u no need to exit sg... once u terminate ur ep, ur employer will give u 1 social visit pass letter... dat will be ur embarkation for next time once u got ur ep terminated... hope u will understand wat i say... haha...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 1 2011, 08:48 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(khaidani @ Feb 1 2011, 07:10 PM)
hi guys, few weeks ago I just rejected an offer to work in singapore, the reason is they offer me  the same salary which I have now , and I have to bear myself all the expenses for moving to that place.

So guys, please tell me did I thrown away an opportunity and did I miss anything good there?
same dollar to dollar or equivalent?

well, if it is a bigger company, better position then yes... if not, the depends on personal preference
ahsia80
post Feb 1 2011, 08:50 PM

989 posts

QUOTE(khaidani @ Feb 1 2011, 07:10 PM)
hi guys, few weeks ago I just rejected an offer to work in singapore, the reason is they offer me  the same salary which I have now , and I have to bear myself all the expenses for moving to that place.

same salary? after conversion?
depends on whether you are coming to Singapore for short or long term.. if long term,i would consider it as a leaping stone to more opportunity even if current salary they offered are below expectation.. that's my take la.. what field?

126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:30 AM