126 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V9 (More than 180 owners), Jack of trades for phone

mashimarow
post Nov 25 2010, 09:26 PM

1,742 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Nov 25 2010, 08:43 PM)
Yeah, tell me about it.. That phone is for the popular crowd.
I got a friend who gradually admitted the limited functions of it. whistling.gif
Gradually....
yeah, first glance it is great phone, nice screen, quick response, ease of use, everyone using it, be outdated if you not on the iphone wagon....gradually, you found out you cannot do this, you cannot do that, you can't change theme, even your grandfather iphone using the same theme as you are, you have limited choice of music/video format, you can't view flash webpage, you can't change battery, you can't add more memory, etc...etc...
solsekuin44
post Nov 25 2010, 09:31 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(mashimarow @ Nov 25 2010, 09:26 PM)
yeah, first glance it is great phone, nice screen, quick response, ease of use, everyone using it, be outdated if you not on the iphone wagon....gradually, you found out you cannot do this, you cannot do that, you can't change theme, even your grandfather iphone using the same theme as you are, you have limited choice of music/video format, you can't view flash webpage, you can't change battery, you can't add more memory, etc...etc...
You sum it up nicely wink.gif Not jumping in the popular crowd, is not a big deal..
Cool people (geeky?) has better things to be satisfied with N900.

I'm a geek and I'm proud of it!
gyianz
post Nov 25 2010, 09:57 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 25 2010, 07:14 PM)
yay! V9 V9 biggrin.gif

Added on November 25, 2010, 6:14 pmoh yeah. what's the code to refresh the tracker cfg thing? forgot dy laugh.gif
tracker -processes -r
wypua
post Nov 25 2010, 10:11 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(meLi @ Nov 25 2010, 04:33 PM)
sure no prob who from melaka can join me will inform date and time if u free.

tq
Count me in, if i m not having my exam time ! XD

Wonder y, when even if u're using a phone worth more than iphone or more value to money than iphone, people tends to overlook it. But when u're using iphone, everybody saying "WAHH !" Discrimination XD tongue.gif
lightastral
post Nov 25 2010, 10:23 PM

220 posts

think most of the sifus/linux users know this already, just to add some info if anyone dont know it yet.

two command in xterm/linux that is really useful.

1. ls - to list files in the directory. similar to dir in DOS. use this to check if your .deb is really in that folder before dpkg

2. up key in direction keypad - toggle latest command in command prompt similar to F3 in DOS. useful indeed.

well, you can copy paste codes from the sifus/fp but then i find typing things makes you remember commands and makes you a better user.
gyianz
post Nov 25 2010, 10:37 PM

489 posts

i need some sifu help
anyone that used linux programming / linux terminal should probably know this two commands
finger
fork

I cant seem to find it in xterminal..
finger is actually kinda useful. and also fork
one1002
post Nov 25 2010, 10:46 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Nov 25 2010, 10:23 PM)
think most of the sifus/linux users know this already, just to add some info if anyone dont know it yet.

two command in xterm/linux that is really useful.

1. ls - to list files in the directory. similar to dir in DOS. use this to check if your .deb is really in that folder before dpkg

2. up key in direction keypad - toggle latest command in command prompt similar to F3 in DOS. useful indeed.

well, you can copy paste codes from the sifus/fp but then i find typing things makes you remember commands and makes you a better user.
should be ls -l (as in lower case L)
aspire2oo6
post Nov 25 2010, 11:05 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Iphone focus on simplicity and thats what make the world go crazy

Nokia N900 focus more on flexibility but required to learn so it fail to capture market share

both have pros and cons

1 good thing about iphone is u do not really need to restart your phone even after gaming u can just open another and it wont lag.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Nov 25 2010, 11:06 PM
Eiraku
post Nov 25 2010, 11:43 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 25 2010, 11:05 PM)
Iphone focus on simplicity and thats what make the world go crazy

Nokia N900 focus more on flexibility but required to learn so it fail to capture market share

both have pros and cons

1 good thing about iphone is u do not really need to restart your phone even after gaming u can just open another and it wont lag.
The N900 was never designed to capture any significant part of the market share. Nokia openly admitted themselves that the N900 was a geeky experiment-phone. AND as a geeky experiment phone, it outsold their wildest estimates.

Meego, on the other hand, should be a BIT more consumer oriented, hopefully without sacrificing the power that Meego had.

@solse: Welcome to the dark side lol. Assuming all the isheeps make up the light side now lol.

I mean, I like the iPhone and all, but the limitations that no amount of jailbreaking will cure (no model with hw keyboard, no external card slot, proprietary everything) piss me the heck off. But this will not stop me from getting one if Apple decides to make one with a proper hardware QWERTY - if not just for that wonderful screen and the apps.

But the iphone can never piss me off as much as android - which I just could never really like AT ALL (blame Dal-'effing-vik, stupid VM). Heck I like WP7 more then android lol, iphone style limitations and all.

I'm just glad Meego is coming really. At least then I can get tablets that don't run that darned retarded green robot

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 25 2010, 11:53 PM
jananan
post Nov 26 2010, 12:03 AM

Android
1,513 posts

anyone having luck installing the fdisk tool on N900 ?

sfdisk interface is.... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
zdentws
post Nov 26 2010, 12:07 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 25 2010, 06:24 PM)
where is that sifu?
melaka lah.... SIFU notworthy.gif bile nk dtg cni ??
Patent
post Nov 26 2010, 12:15 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 26 2010, 12:03 AM)

sfdisk interface is....  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
what kind of problem do you have ?

do not install the deb, extract the deb instead with dpkg -x and find fdisk in the extract package.
jananan
post Nov 26 2010, 12:36 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 26 2010, 12:15 AM)
what kind of problem do you have ?

do not install the deb, extract the deb instead with dpkg -x and find fdisk in the extract package.
yeah... got it now...

the download must have been corrupted...

i downloaded again from computer and copied to n900 - working... stupid P1 Wimax - corrupting downloads...

but i am not setting it up like the guide...

i am setting up like this

26gb for my docs and only 1.9gb for nitdroid....
aspire2oo6
post Nov 26 2010, 12:37 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 25 2010, 11:43 PM)
The N900 was never designed to capture any significant part of the market share. Nokia openly admitted themselves that the N900 was a geeky experiment-phone. AND as a geeky experiment phone, it outsold their wildest estimates.

Meego, on the other hand, should be a BIT more consumer oriented, hopefully without sacrificing the power that Meego had.

@solse: Welcome to the dark side lol. Assuming all the isheeps make up the light side now lol.

I mean, I like the iPhone and all, but the limitations that no amount of jailbreaking will cure (no model with hw keyboard, no external card slot, proprietary everything) piss me the heck off. But this will not stop me from getting one if Apple decides to make one with a proper hardware QWERTY - if not just for that wonderful screen and  the apps.

But the iphone can never piss me off as much as android - which I just could never really like AT ALL (blame Dal-'effing-vik, stupid VM). Heck I like WP7 more then android lol, iphone style limitations and all.

I'm just glad Meego is coming really. At least then I can get tablets that don't run that darned retarded green robot
but all i can say the game are bloody addictive. Except those yea but the game still so addictive lol. Now i am addicted to NFS Hot pursuit lol now.
I am getting my ipad next week will test it out is it really so bloody good. My conclusion of iphone after u bored of games its a bloody boring device

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Nov 26 2010, 12:42 AM
one1002
post Nov 26 2010, 12:41 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 26 2010, 12:03 AM)

sfdisk interface is....  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
CODE
mkdir -p /home/user/util-linux /home/us
wget http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/main/u/util-linux/util-linux_2.13.1.1-1_armel.deb
dpkg-deb -x util-linux_2.13.1.1-1_armel.deb root
cp root/sbin/fdisk /home/user/bin/
cd ..
rm -rf util-linux

note that the cd .., there's a space between "cd" and ".."

also, AFAIK, if u want to partition the microSD or eMMC, you have to do it via CLI...no GUI..unless you do it via GParted..
No0KieF
post Nov 26 2010, 12:45 AM

235 posts

just wanted to recommend bluemaemo apps as i didnt see it on the list of recommended apps.
downloaded it from extras-devel.

what it does : acts as a mouse and keyboard ( among others ) to your pc, perfect for those who uses extra pc as their media centre.

works well on win7 32 bit, havent tested it on other OSes.

------------------------edit --------------------------------------------------------------

and thanks for the 1st page of this v9. it is freaking resourceful. thanks a lot.

and a question about "(1) (Howto) use MSN, AIM, ICQ, Yahoo Messenger etc on the Nokia N900 "

i followed what the video guides me through, but when i checked my yahoo messenger status, it always appear as "not signed in".
what did i do wrong? or a much better question, what exactly the plugin does? is it the same as the skype one comes preinstalled ( always appear online )? thanks in advance

This post has been edited by No0KieF: Nov 26 2010, 12:49 AM
jananan
post Nov 26 2010, 12:46 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(one1002 @ Nov 26 2010, 12:41 AM)
CODE
mkdir -p /home/user/util-linux /home/us
wget http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/main/u/util-linux/util-linux_2.13.1.1-1_armel.deb
dpkg-deb -x util-linux_2.13.1.1-1_armel.deb root
cp root/sbin/fdisk /home/user/bin/
cd ..
rm -rf util-linux

note that the cd .., there's a space between "cd" and ".."

also, AFAIK, if u want to partition the microSD or eMMC, you have to do it via CLI...no GUI..unless you do it via GParted..
nah... fdisk i am familiar..... just sfdisk...

Added on November 26, 2010, 12:50 amok done....

nitdroid in mmcblk0px (emmc)

not in mmcblk1p1 anymore... (sd card)

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 26 2010, 12:50 AM
aspire2oo6
post Nov 26 2010, 12:51 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(zdentws @ Nov 26 2010, 12:07 AM)
melaka lah....  SIFU  notworthy.gif  bile nk dtg cni ??
when u free to bring me and my special companion lor?
zdentws
post Nov 26 2010, 01:06 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 26 2010, 12:51 AM)
when u free to bring me and my special companion lor?
sifu MeLi comin ma... sifu u come oso la.. ;p
jananan
post Nov 26 2010, 01:16 AM

Android
1,513 posts

nitdroid in emmc not much faster than the class 10 microsd....

you guys better wait for nitdroid 0.0.9....

Added on November 26, 2010, 1:27 ami can say maybe....

NITdroid in eMMC@700Mhz = NITdroid in class 10 microSD@805Mhz++

thats about it...

haven't tried 805Mhz on NITdroid@eMMC though....

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 26 2010, 01:27 AM

126 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0181sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:18 AM