Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Dec 5 2010, 12:43 AM)
wow..very nice thumbup.gif
with new engine too?

Added on December 5, 2010, 1:09 pm
QUOTE(jackyap84 @ Dec 4 2010, 08:23 PM)
what is the reliable and performance aid spark plug for persona?
im just using bosch platinum-iridium plug + sports cable.
so far so good tongue.gif

This post has been edited by MjMax15: Dec 5 2010, 01:09 PM
TSZenGTMM
post Dec 5 2010, 01:28 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Dec 3 2010, 11:44 PM)
kena outrunned by Lancer GT aka Inspira today sad.gif
Install Dry Nitro Meth.. Guarantee u can give GTR a run for its money... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(roundedfly @ Dec 4 2010, 10:23 AM)
sorry..guys...my socket not working..can u guys teach me where's the fuse? and extra fuse to exchange??or how much per pcs if i replace outside?

thankx user posted image
Erm which socket not working?? These problem better bring to SC to repair.. Electronics stuff dont play play..

QUOTE(slater_iz @ Dec 4 2010, 11:03 AM)
i saw ZenGTMM post about the common persona problems..

have anyone discuss about shifting to gear 1?
my MT persona reli hard to shift to gear 1..few days back change gear oil oso same...hard
Hard to shift into Gear 1 as in difficult to push in the stalk or the gear not engaging?
If difficult to push into the Gear 1 position its normal. Thats the main reason i went for Auto cos the manual stick so hard and long throw. Tak shiok..

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Dec 4 2010, 12:12 PM)
Happy persona owner here. Just got it yesterday .
What fuel u all using? I'm using 95 esso
Yeah majority of us using Esso Ron95.. Thats the best we have came to so far..

QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Dec 4 2010, 04:32 PM)
what bank is that? Al-Rajhi? never heard it before.
Yeah Al-Rajhi.. Its quite a prominent bank in the middle east..
http://www.alrajhibank.com.my/

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Dec 5 2010, 12:43 AM)
Proton Espire?? There was a interactive touch screen monitor at Proton area. Can customize/configure the ride and print out in color from their epson printer there. i captured some photos of the Proton Espire that's available as one of the model that can customize. Looks like Tuah already has an official name

[attachmentid=1921121]

Added on December 5, 2010, 1:21 amuser posted image

Added on December 5, 2010, 1:25 amuser posted image
Its just a clay model.. Too bad.. Anyone manage to source where they get the LED fog lamp from?? Very interested to install in my Persona.. biggrin.gif

Does the door open indicator (the red logo) on the meter panel lights up if the boot is open?
MjMax15
post Dec 5 2010, 01:52 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

Does the door open indicator (the red logo) on the meter panel lights up if the boot is open?

--nope
Aeon_Clock
post Dec 5 2010, 01:57 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

Hi ppl, is it true the Persona stop production ady?
TSZenGTMM
post Dec 5 2010, 03:08 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Dec 5 2010, 01:57 PM)
Hi ppl, is it true the Persona stop production ady?
NOPE! Where have u been hearing such rumors? The Tuah concept is only due at earliest ext year end.
fenrir0402
post Dec 5 2010, 03:14 PM

195 posts

al-rajhi bank offer how much interest rate for 9 yrs?
xandras
post Dec 5 2010, 04:34 PM

52 posts

Guys, add me to the list.. New LYN member & new Personarian... XD
PE Bronze Garnet M-line, WUP 6**6, Setapak/W.Maju/Melawati area biggrin.gif
just got my car last week, but I've been reading the thread since V1!!

Thumbs up guys!! thumbup.gif

I love my new car..But I'm facing some problems... Mostly noise problems..

1.Cornering or simply driving on uneven road, metal knocking sound. I understand that it's the steering assembly/orifice valve thingy.

2.Dashboard rattling noises when accelerating. Really irritating, sounds like some loose screws but I'm not so sure about it.

3.Buzzing sound from driver side aircond vent, from what I read it seems like it can be solved by reprogramming the ECU?

4.Door panel sound from front passenger seat. It sounds like 2 pieces of leather rubbing against each other when I'm driving, but if I wind down the window just a little bit, like a few mm, the sound is gone. Anyone encountered this before? Seems like the rubber is pressing too hard on the window glass when the window is fully up.

5.Door panel sound from rear right passenger seat. I have no clue where it came from. Everytime I go over bumps, there's a noise, as if there's something IN the door panel that's loose. Sounds like 'tak' 'tak'. And, the sound is quite persistent and it happens 9 out of 10 bumps I drive over, no matter how slow I drive. I'm quite sure that the sound came from the door panel because I can hear it very near me, like right behind me. So far this is the most annoying and irritating sound in the car.

Anyone facing no. 2, 3,4 & 5? Going to CoSE tomorrow, maybe to let them find out what's wrong & where do the noises come from. Then maybe order parts & make another appointment. Hmm.. hmm.gif

Also, I'm planning to change my stock rims to 17' rims. The guy at the tyre shop suggested that I should use 215/45/17, but I'm not quite sure about that.. Will 215 be a little too wide & hit the fenders while cornering or overloading? E.G; 4-5 persons in the car.

Pls advice, sifu sifu personarians out there... tongue.gif

I seriously hope I didn't get a lemon... So far no prob with engine & all that, only noises... Loud, irritating noises..

This post has been edited by xandras: Dec 5 2010, 04:36 PM
jackyap84
post Dec 5 2010, 05:28 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Dec 5 2010, 04:34 PM)
PE Bronze Garnet M-line, WUP 6**6, Setapak/W.Maju/Melawati area  biggrin.gif

Thumbs up guys!!  thumbup.gif

1.Cornering or simply driving on uneven road, metal knocking sound. I understand that it's the steering assembly/orifice valve thingy.

2.Dashboard rattling noises when accelerating. Really irritating, sounds like some loose screws but I'm not so sure about it.

3.Buzzing sound from driver side aircond vent, from what I read it seems like it can be solved by reprogramming the ECU?

4.Door panel sound from front passenger seat. It sounds like 2 pieces of leather rubbing against each other when I'm driving, but if I wind down the window just a little bit, like a few mm, the sound is gone. Anyone encountered this before? Seems like the rubber is pressing too hard on the window glass when the window is fully up.

5.Door panel sound from rear right passenger seat. I have no clue where it came from. Everytime I go over bumps, there's a noise, as if there's something IN the door panel that's loose. Sounds like 'tak' 'tak'. And, the sound is quite persistent and it happens 9 out of 10 bumps I drive over, no matter how slow I drive. I'm quite sure that the sound came from the door panel because I can hear it very near me, like right behind me. So far this is the most annoying and irritating sound in the car.

Anyone facing no. 2, 3,4 & 5? Going to CoSE tomorrow, maybe to let them find out what's wrong & where do the noises come from. Then maybe order parts & make another appointment. Hmm..  hmm.gif

Also, I'm planning to change my stock rims to 17' rims. The guy at the tyre shop suggested that I should use 215/45/17, but I'm not quite sure about that.. Will 215 be a little too wide & hit the fenders while cornering or overloading? E.G; 4-5 persons in the car.

I seriously hope I didn't get a lemon... So far no prob with engine & all that, only noises... Loud, irritating noises..
i having the same problem with u for item 1 to 4. do update us when u solve it.
xandras
post Dec 5 2010, 05:34 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(jackyap84 @ Dec 5 2010, 05:28 PM)
i having the same problem with u for item 1 to 4. do update us when u solve it.
Jack, are ur windows tinted? If so, what kind of tint are u using?
rckh
post Dec 5 2010, 09:40 PM

Anyone facing no. 2, 3,4 & 5? Going to CoSE tomorrow, maybe to let them find out what's wrong & where do the noises come from. Then maybe order parts & make another appointment. Hmm..  hmm.gif

If you have been following this thread since v1, then you should know what you are getting into when buying a Persona. First, I recommend you to get a set of lock nuts for your rims or else you will end up with a set of bricks. Then, get a good tire gauge so that you can inflate your tires with the ideal pressure. I feel the manufacturer's tire pressure recommendation of 31 psi (Front) & 28psi (Rear) is still a bit too high. This will cause the whole car to vibrate more hence the noises. I also think you are one of those unlucky ones having an orchestra for a car. My car is 15 mths. old & other than No. 5 (which I solved myself with electrical tape @ the folding seat) . No. 1 , non-existence, No.2 & 3 came & gone. The sound from the back seat can be very loud if left unchecked. As for the sound when you switch on the Air-con. - give it some time to run-in. As for the wider tires, they will not enhance your cars performance or your comfort, in fact the opposite. For some who has been following since v1, I don't think you are so gullible unless you have poor memory.
xandras
post Dec 6 2010, 12:09 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(rckh @ Dec 5 2010, 09:40 PM)
If you have been following this thread since v1, then you should know what you are getting into when buying a Persona. First, I recommend you to get a set of lock nuts for your rims or else you will end up with a set of bricks.  Then, get a good tire gauge so that you can inflate your tires with the ideal pressure. I feel the manufacturer's tire pressure recommendation of 31 psi (Front) & 28psi (Rear) is still a bit too high.  This will cause the whole car to vibrate more hence the noises.  I also think you are one of those unlucky ones having an orchestra for a car. My car is 15 mths. old & other than No. 5 (which I solved myself with electrical tape @ the folding seat) . No. 1 , non-existence, No.2 & 3 came & gone. The sound from the back seat can be very loud if left unchecked.  As for the sound when you switch on the Air-con. - give it some time to run-in. As for the wider tires, they will not enhance your cars performance or your comfort, in fact the opposite. For some who has been following since v1, I don't think you are so gullible unless you have poor memory.
Let me address the situations one by one.

First, I guess almost everybody in their right mind would get a proper set of lock nuts if they ever change their rims. Common sense?

Secondly, yes, I've checked my tyre pressures. And nope, 31 & 28 psi is not too high for me. The vibration came from the engine itself, not the road condition/tyre pressure, thus causing the rattling noise. I've tried it on the smoothest, newest paved road that I can find in my area, and the result is the same. If you're suggesting that I should deflate/inflate my wheels so that there would not be any vibrations, you're not offering me a solution. You're just offering a cover-up to the existing problem. If a screw is loose somewhere in that dashboard, deflating the wheels won't tighten it up, if you'd realise.

No.5 - No, the problem is not with the folding seat. I'm very sure of that, because I had someone sitting behind while I'm driving & he confirmed with me that the noises came from the door panel. As I said, as it something is inside between the door panel and the door that makes knocking sounds when I go over bumps. And, I've already took the extra step to tape the seat hook even before the seat starts making any noise.

And No.4, if it's aircond noise, I can definitely identify it because I've sat in a friend's Persona before, and the completely different sound comes from the centre aircond vent, not side. This buzzing noise that I'm hearing, even with the aircond off, it goes away a few minutes after the engine is switched off. And did you read about other forummers that had reflashed their ECU to the latest version? The buzzing sound is gone, and I'm quite sure it's the same buzzing sound that I'm sharing with them.

As for the wider wheels, I'm asking for opinions because I'm going for aesthetics rather than comfort/performance. If not, why the 17''? The thing is, I'm asking purely for opinions on tyre size. I know that most Personarians here who run on 17'' wheels sits on 205/40 or 205/45. I wanted to know if there are anyone out there right now who's running on 215, and I don't remember seeing a post on 215/45/17 wheels on Persona. Maybe there is, but I might not be able to remember that (125 pages per V x 9).

I did expected what I will get when I placed the downpayment for my Persona. I just love Persona, & the problems doesn't stop me from buying it. I'm just trying to solve them noises. And it's probably you who are lucky to get a mint Persona, because I think around 7, if not, 8 Personas out of 10 out there faces the orifice valve/steering assembly problem.

Anyway, no offense and I truly apologize if any of my words above hurt your feelings in any way, or reminded you of anyone dead or alive. Cheers. cheers.gif

This post has been edited by xandras: Dec 6 2010, 12:18 AM
TSZenGTMM
post Dec 6 2010, 12:33 AM

155 posts

Ok Prob 1 is solved.. Prob 2 can solve it by buying a bag of washers from ace hardware then unscrew a few screws in the dash and use it as dampeners between the screw and screw it back tightly but not toooo tight.. prob 3 shd be solved with the new firmware.. My car was manufactured somewhere after the mid of october and it ady had the new firmware loaded in.. Urs shd be using the latest firmware, but its no harm doing a check.. 4,5 not too sure..

As for rims i dont think it will be much of a prob using 215/45R17.. I would discourage using 40series as its rather too thin and very harsh on the ride.. Furthermore a slight hit on bigger potholes may cause rim damage. I saw a fellas car using 215/45R17 and it looks nice and it nvr hits the fender too although he takes precaution when going over humps and bumpy roads lah..
This is the Envy Persona at CoSE.

I did saw another persona in CoSE using 205/45R17 tires.. The tire wall can see its inclining inwards.. As though not offering protection for the rim.. IMO i prefer the tire wall to be straight flush against the rim lah.. Looks beefier.. But there are ppl that love to have the rims jutting out VIP style.. rclxms.gif

xandras
post Dec 6 2010, 12:40 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Dec 6 2010, 12:33 AM)
Ok Prob 1 is solved.. Prob 2 can solve it by buying a bag of washers from ace hardware then unscrew a few screws in the dash and use it as dampeners between the screw and screw it back tightly but not toooo tight..  prob 3 shd be solved with the new firmware.. My car was manufactured somewhere after the mid of october and it ady had the new firmware loaded in.. Urs shd be using the latest firmware, but its no harm doing a check.. 4,5 not too sure..

As for rims i dont think it will be much of a prob using 215/45R17.. I would discourage using 40series as its rather too thin and very harsh on the ride.. Furthermore a slight hit on bigger potholes may cause rim damage. I saw a fellas car using 215/45R17 and it looks nice and it nvr hits the fender too although he takes precaution when going over humps and bumpy roads lah..
This is the Envy Persona at CoSE.

I did saw another persona in CoSE using 205/45R17 tires.. The tire wall can see its inclining inwards.. As though not offering protection for the rim.. IMO i prefer the tire wall to be straight flush against the rim lah.. Looks beefier.. But there are ppl that love to have the rims jutting out VIP style..  rclxms.gif
Finally, proper answers to my questions. rclxms.gif

My car was manufactured in September. hmm.gif

I know, 45 is just fine, it's the width that I'm worried about. Will the front tyres hit the fenders when making a turn or a complete turn?

jackyap84
post Dec 6 2010, 12:44 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Dec 5 2010, 05:34 PM)
Jack, are ur windows tinted? If so, what kind of tint are u using?
yes, i got the CannyTint. The ultimate package, cost me about 1k+.
TSZenGTMM
post Dec 6 2010, 12:46 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Dec 6 2010, 12:40 AM)
Finally, proper answers to my questions.   rclxms.gif

My car was manufactured in September.  hmm.gif

I know, 45 is just fine, it's the width that I'm worried about. Will the front tyres hit the fenders when making a turn or a complete turn?
That was my main concerns too initially.. I asked the fella and he said he didnt notice any tire scrapping noise but he was not too sure himself... If it indeed do scrape the inside wall of the arch then maybe can add spacers to push out the rims.. Btw the turning radius of Persona very large lah.. Most of the time have to reverse and drive when doing illegal u turn.. mad.gif So i dont think its gonna hit the inside wall..

Anyways for ur info on calculating u do a full lock turn and park ur car, get down and measure the gap of the tire edge to ur sidewall.. Then later when choosing the rims u see lah which has more offset.. IF IM NOT MISTAKEN the Persona rim offset is +46. So choose something like +50 and below if available.. Definitely will be safe enough to fit 215tires.. Dont go too much offset as it will cause unnecessary stress on ur wheel bolt and alignment will be more difficult. Driving dynamics and turning radius will be altered too..

As for tire pressuire i go for 235kpa in front and 220kpa at the back.. I normally used 225kpa at the back but i realised that the tire do lock up quite easily when the car has no passengers.. 220kpa now doesnt give me that problem so far..

This post has been edited by ZenGTMM: Dec 6 2010, 01:14 AM
xandras
post Dec 6 2010, 01:06 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(jackyap84 @ Dec 6 2010, 12:44 AM)
yes, i got the CannyTint. The ultimate package, cost me about 1k+.
I'm beginning to think that it's the tint that's too thick that caused the rubber noise. Cos mine is security film from TintMaster, and it's kinda thick, to me.

That was my main concerns too initially.. I asked the fella and he said he didnt notice any tire scrapping noise but he was not too sure himself... If it indeed do scrape the inside wall of the arch then maybe can add spacers to push out the rims.. Btw the turning radius of Persona very small lah.. Most of the time have to reverse and drive when doing illegal u turn..  So i dont think its gonna hit the inside wall..

Anyways for ur info on calculating u do a full lock turn and park ur car, get down and measure the gap of the tire edge to ur sidewall.. Then later when choosing the rims u see lah which has more offset.. IF IM NOT MISTAKEN the Persona rim offset is +46. So choose something like +50 and below if available.. Definitely will be safe enough to fit 215tires.. Dont go too much offset as it will cause unnecessary stress on ur wheel bolt and alignment will be more difficult. Driving dynamics and turning radius will be altered too..

As for tire pressuire i go for 235kpa in front and 220kpa at the back.. I normally used 225kpa at the back but i realised that the tire do lock up quite easily when the car has no passengers.. 220kpa now doesnt give me that problem so far..

Are you running on stock rims? Erm... I thought turning radius small = easier & smaller area needed for complete turn?

Anyway, do you have the complete info on CoSE's operating hours, etc? I can't find it on Proton's website.. & I'm on wireless, it's bloody slow.. shocking.gif
TSZenGTMM
post Dec 6 2010, 01:14 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(xandras @ Dec 6 2010, 01:06 AM)
I'm beginning to think that it's the tint that's too thick that caused the rubber noise. Cos mine is security film from TintMaster, and it's kinda thick, to me.
Are you running on stock rims? Erm... I thought turning radius small = easier & smaller area needed for complete turn?

Anyway, do you have the complete info on CoSE's operating hours, etc? I can't find it on Proton's website.. & I'm on wireless, it's bloody slow..  shocking.gif
Oh sorry.. Left out 1 word.. Its not very small.. tongue.gif

8.30am would be a safe bet.. But i recommend u to go earlier as u didnt make an appointment with them and they are quite packed most of time..
xandras
post Dec 6 2010, 01:33 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Dec 6 2010, 01:14 AM)
Oh sorry.. Left out 1 word.. Its not very small.. tongue.gif

8.30am would be a safe bet.. But i recommend u to go earlier as u didnt make an appointment with them and they are quite packed most of time..
LoL. Ok.. Anyway, even if they do not have time to attend to me, I'll just make an appointment on the spot for another day, & they can just get the parts ready for me & change it later...XD
TSZenGTMM
post Dec 6 2010, 01:44 AM

155 posts

Anybody interested to join??

http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=135140506541776

Dyno Run Party wei.. haha.. I will be there..
xandras
post Dec 6 2010, 01:46 AM

52 posts

....Dyno run? My stock car... Nah... I'd be disappointingly shocked by the results.. LoL.

125 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:06 AM