- budget around 500
- brand? cincai..as long as not chap ba lang brand. smile.gif

very thanks for your suggestions. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ping0613: Apr 11 2011, 10:34 PM
rafieq
post Apr 12 2011, 12:55 PM

81 posts

anyone use dell soundbar?how is the sound quality??acceptable?
Racerx
post Apr 12 2011, 05:32 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(ping0613 @ Apr 11 2011, 09:26 PM)
hope that i asking in the correct thread. smile.gif
any good suggestion for LCD monitor?
my requirements:
- FULL HD
- Must have VGA and HDMI soket
- at least > 19''
- budget around 500
- brand? cincai..as long as not chap ba lang brand. smile.gif

very thanks for your suggestions.  notworthy.gif
Why do you need HDMI exactly?
Anyway,the Dell U2311H is highly recommended,it's usually RM599 from the garage sales section
There's also the LG W2343T-PF ,it's RM469 from Czone.It's not as good as the U2311H but not bad either.
Both don't have HDMI.
Kr0ll3R
post Apr 12 2011, 09:37 PM

I've Been Permanently Banned
1,051 posts

Not sure IF this has been discussed before, anyway.

Let's say u just bought a brand new RM600+ monitor, the look/design is so stunning especially the glossy clean look screen.
For sure, you would want to maintain it after month aways, so my question is?

Do you guys keep maintain it or just leave it as day goes by? If ya, how? screen protector?
jagadis
post Apr 12 2011, 09:47 PM

Aspire to Inspire before we expire
1,107 posts

my budget is 530....looking for a Lcd which has digital interface. DVi will do as the image quality doesn't differ from HDMI and my current gc only has dvi port!
My previous LCD was 22", so Im looking for at least 22 and above as anything lower than that will seem small. Design should be slim and nice.
So far I have a few models in mind but can't make up on which to choose...any1 can help?

-Dell ST2320L (HDMI, LED)
-Acer s23ihl (HDMI, LED)
-AOC 2436vw (not sure about the brand?)
-AOC 2343f (not sure of the band?)
-LG w2343t
-LG E2350t (LED, fold-able stand which makes it look nice)
-LG e2360t (LED, very slim)
-LG e2340v-pf (LED)
-viewsonic vx2450wm

help me pick 1 and suggest any other if u have. I want a reliable brand with reliable warranty.

*also......anyone heard of Envision? why is it cheap?

thx alot sifus
apiezsneo
post Apr 12 2011, 11:05 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Apr 8 2011, 07:54 AM)
How low is your brightness? Are your room well lit when you viewing your LCD?
Try lower the contrast as well? Try adjust to the RGB to warm instead?
no no if i adjust to warm it will be brighter. it's like even i toned down the brightness and contrast it still gives me extra radiation to my eyes lol.
wildwestgoh
post Apr 12 2011, 11:29 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(apiezsneo @ Apr 12 2011, 11:05 PM)
no no if i adjust to warm it will be brighter. it's like even i toned down the brightness and contrast it still gives me extra radiation to my eyes lol.
LCD has much much lower radiation over CRT any days, I'm surprise you're able to withstand a CRT while not a LCD, it just probably the light emission a bit high, especially the contrast part.
For your information, CRT rays (Gamma, UV, etc.) is way much harmful than LCD, so let just say you probably just overreacted?
Try to tone down the brightness to 0, this should give you the minimum brightness. But, I don't see anyway to work with that kind of brightness.
And lastly, make sure your room's light is well lit, if it's much dim than your monitor than lower the monitor brightness, usually your eyes should adjust accordingly when surrounding lights is brighter, giving you a slightly lower brightness feels on the monitor.
If your room's main light is very dim, then get some desk lamp, put it beside your monitor, it should give you proper well lit environment.
askm3
post Apr 13 2011, 12:15 AM

382 posts

hi guys,

recently i took out my lg flatron L1953S 19" LCD monitor from my storeroom.. previously used for my desktop, but have changed to laptop now..

it has a VGA(from LCD to CPU) and power cable(from LCD to CPU).

now i tried to pair the LCD as a secondary monitor, VGA(from LCD to Laptop VGA) and power cable(from LCD to power outlet *I've change different cable this time*)

But sadly, it won't work... isit I'm doing it in a wrong way? or I only can use it with my CPU not laptop.. layman on electronic stuffs here..

help out ya smile.gif
zerorating
post Apr 13 2011, 12:23 AM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Apr 12 2011, 11:29 PM)
LCD has much much lower radiation over CRT any days, I'm surprise you're able to withstand a CRT while not a LCD, it just probably the light emission a bit high, especially the contrast part.
For your information, CRT rays (Gamma, UV, etc.) is way much harmful than LCD, so let just say you probably just overreacted?
Try to tone down the brightness to 0, this should give you the minimum brightness. But, I don't see anyway to work with that kind of brightness.
And lastly, make sure your room's light is well lit, if it's much dim than your monitor than lower the monitor brightness, usually your eyes should adjust accordingly when surrounding lights is brighter, giving you a slightly lower brightness feels on the monitor.
If your room's main light is very dim, then get some desk lamp, put it beside your monitor, it should give you proper well lit environment.
the con of lcd was too bright (due to backlight), some eye are too sensitive with bright light (including me which using minimum brightness on any lcd devices), and yes i prefer any phosphor base display rather than lcd, actually the radiation are within the safe level,and we human are exposed to many radiation in the modern world (e.g microwave based communication). As long as your eye feels comfortable(rather it is dim or bright), its fine. As for my assumption, many eye problem happens because of too much dependent on light causing pupil(anak mata) not use to dark environment, the eye also need to practice, thats why god create night and day

This post has been edited by zerorating: Apr 13 2011, 12:30 AM
Fawkes
post Apr 13 2011, 12:28 AM

584 posts

Guys, planning to get a Dell U2311H soon. I've a problem though, I'm planning to use the mini HDMI output from my GC, which converter do I need to get?
GreenSamurai
post Apr 13 2011, 12:32 AM

The Green One
2,150 posts

QUOTE(Fawkes @ Apr 13 2011, 12:28 AM)
Guys, planning to get a Dell U2311H soon. I've a problem though, I'm planning to use the mini HDMI output from my GC, which converter do I need to get?

Display port AFAIK
zerorating
post Apr 13 2011, 12:36 AM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

use HDMI Female to Mini HDMI Male Adapter/Converter, and then use hdmi male to dvi male cable
if your pc have dvi, why dont u use dvi, u wont have any loss of image quality when using dvi compared to hdmi, and u didnt require any high speed dvi/hdmi/displayport for u2311h since the monitor doesnt support deep colour(30bit) and 120hz

jagadis
post Apr 13 2011, 12:50 AM

1,107 posts

oh yea....u 2311h....how big is the difference compared to the st2320l?the both side by side....will there be a huge difference?
Racerx
post Apr 13 2011, 12:51 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(Kr0ll3R @ Apr 12 2011, 08:37 PM)
Not sure IF this has been discussed before, anyway.

Let's say u just bought a brand new RM600+ monitor, the look/design is so stunning especially the glossy clean look screen.
For sure, you would want to maintain it after month aways, so my question is?

Do you guys keep maintain it or just leave it as day goes by? If ya, how? screen protector?
If there's dust i just wipe it with a dry/damp lint free cloth.
It's not like you touch or poke the screen,right?
QUOTE(jagadis @ Apr 12 2011, 08:47 PM)
my budget is 530....looking for a Lcd which has digital interface. DVi will do as the image quality doesn't differ from HDMI and my current gc only has dvi port!
My previous LCD was 22", so Im looking for at least 22 and above as anything lower than that will seem small. Design should be slim and nice.
So far I have a few models in mind but can't make up on which to choose...any1 can help?

-Dell ST2320L (HDMI, LED)
-Acer s23ihl (HDMI, LED)
-AOC 2436vw (not sure about the brand?)
-AOC 2343f (not sure of the band?)
-LG w2343t
-LG E2350t (LED, fold-able stand which makes it look nice)
-LG e2360t (LED, very slim)
-LG e2340v-pf (LED)
-viewsonic vx2450wm

help me pick 1 and suggest any other if u have. I want a reliable brand with reliable warranty.

*also......anyone heard of Envision? why is it cheap?

thx alot sifus
IMO,it's either the U2311H or the W2343T,others are just normal,nothing outstanding about it.These two LCDs use the function over form approach so they don't look as 'nice',it's also a matter of taste really [For example,some people say Thinkpads look butt ugly while others love the design approach]
About the warranty part,Dell's the best right now in Malaysia.

Added on April 13, 2011, 12:53 am
QUOTE(jagadis @ Apr 12 2011, 11:50 PM)
oh yea....u 2311h....how big is the difference compared to the st2320l?the both side by side....will there be a huge difference?
Based on reviews [one's that are done properly of course] the ST2320L can't even hold a candle in front of the U2311H in terms of contrast,colour gamut and accuracy.I've also seen the ST2320L before IRL,but not sitting side by side with a U2311H though.It's just meh....

This post has been edited by Racerx: Apr 13 2011, 12:53 AM
everling
post Apr 13 2011, 01:11 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(Kr0ll3R @ Apr 12 2011, 09:37 PM)
I don't like screen protectors as they dull the colours. Generally I would just leave it. If there are stains, I would use damp toilet paper to gently wipe away any stains.

QUOTE(zerorating @ Apr 13 2011, 12:23 AM)
the con of lcd was too bright (due to backlight), some eye are too sensitive with bright light (including me which using minimum brightness on any lcd devices), and yes i prefer any phosphor base display rather than lcd, actually the radiation are within the safe level,and we human are exposed to many radiation in the modern world (e.g microwave based communication).
Using a CRT for a year gives 3.3 times more radiation than living within 80km of a coal power plant for a year.

And using a CRT for a year gives 11.1 times more radiation than living within 80km of a nuclear power plant for a year.

Yes, coal power plants working normally produces 3.3 times more radiation than a nuclear power plant working normally.

Source: http://xkcd.com/radiation/

D-SUB < DVI < HDMI < DP

Also, all of the cables above are sufficient for 1080p displays. You only need to find a good cable to avoid noise.
Racerx
post Apr 13 2011, 01:22 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Apr 13 2011, 12:11 AM)
I don't like screen protectors as they dull the colours. Generally I would just leave it. If there are stains, I would use damp toilet paper to gently wipe away any stains.
Using a CRT for a year gives 3.3 times more radiation than living within 80km of a coal power plant for a year.

And using a CRT for a year gives 11.1 times more radiation than living within 80km of a nuclear power plant for a year.

Yes, coal power plants working normally produces 3.3 times more radiation than a nuclear power plant working normally.

Source: http://xkcd.com/radiation/
D-SUB < DVI < HDMI < DP

Also, all of the cables above are sufficient for 1080p displays. You only need to find a good cable to avoid noise.
Any idea where can i get HDMI cables that are cheap and have none of the nonsense braiding shakehead.gif ?
Last time i saw you were searching for HDMI cables so i thought i'll ask you. sweat.gif
jagadis
post Apr 13 2011, 01:32 AM

1,107 posts

whats special about the W2343T?
because the u2331h is around 600 while the W2343T is only 465...
even the 2341t is 599?
Racerx
post Apr 13 2011, 01:40 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(jagadis @ Apr 13 2011, 12:32 AM)
whats special about the W2343T?
because the u2331h is around 600 while the W2343T is only 465...
even the 2341t is 599?
This is done with my eyes only since i don't have a colorimeter or anything but the blacks on the W2343T is good,so does skin tone [which means it's relatively accurate].The U2311H is in a class of it's own though. brows.gif
One more thingit's the cheapest 23" LCD you can find.

This post has been edited by Racerx: Apr 13 2011, 01:42 AM
everling
post Apr 13 2011, 06:12 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Apr 13 2011, 01:22 AM)
Any idea where can i get HDMI cables that are cheap and have none of the nonsense braiding shakehead.gif ?
Last time i saw you were searching for HDMI cables so i thought i'll ask you. sweat.gif
Sorry, I had gotten sidetracked and haven't gotten around to checking out the information from my topic yet. It was rather low on my list of priorities. I'm currently using a D-SUB for my 1920x1200. thumbup.gif laugh.gif
apecorp
post Apr 13 2011, 11:51 AM

480 posts

I've been using Dell U2311h for 3 weeks now, and i have to say dis; WOW jst WOW. If dis U2311h is available in retail outlets like places in LYP plaza,
those other 23' brands/models monitors can go TAPAO!!!. i mean serioulsy dis is the best bang for buck 23' monitor. PERIOD. Here are some poison for future buyers:

Great color reproduction. note:(pic here colors r differs from real world colors)

Good viewing angle. brows.gif

This post has been edited by apecorp: Apr 13 2011, 11:54 AM

124 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0348sec    2.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:27 AM