136 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

MSI Gaming Notebook, Check out Post #3! Gathering time!

joshuachew
post Aug 7 2013, 10:18 AM

Portable Master Race
1,828 posts

QUOTE(Amin Razak @ Aug 6 2013, 02:21 AM)
HAI ALL THE PEOPLE IN THIS THREAD... IS MSI GE60-2OE is worth to buy it.. any advantages or disadvantages??
What are you looking on using it for?
Amin Razak
post Aug 7 2013, 03:09 PM

QUOTE(joshuachew @ Aug 7 2013, 11:18 AM)
What are you looking on using it for?
I Love playing game and watching movie.. but i read the review said the temperature of the GE60-20E is not good enough.. Playing game will up to 90 C.. and as we know when the laptop got hotter it will reduce the life of the laptop.. icon_question.gif ..
china_dude 02
post Aug 7 2013, 05:46 PM

633 posts

guys i wanted to ask u opnion
yesterday i went shopping
wanted to buy me a new gaming lappie
saw a lenovo y500 with dual gt750 price at rm3899 , but also found
msi gx60 hitman edition that has hd8650g and 8970m
my question is whether who is better in term performance in gaming , and price based performance ?
is both can play skyrim in ultra setting + mods installed ?
Eiraku
post Aug 7 2013, 09:19 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(china_dude 02 @ Aug 7 2013, 05:46 PM)
my question is whether who is better in term performance in gaming , and price based performance ?
Well, both can't, at least not 100%. The GX60 has a slow AMD processor, and the Y500 IS faster, but has stuttering problems with SLI + Skyrim. Your best bet is something like the GT60 (Intel + 770) or the GT70 (Intel + 780) for a flawless experience in Skyrim Ultra + ENB.

For around that price, the Y500 is probably a better bet - it's MORE POWERFUL for sure, but the stuttering MIGHT (or might not) piss you off. But drivers WILL improve, while the GX60's slow processor WILL NOT. Why not stretch a LITTLE bit more and get the Y510P? At least it's running a faster Haswell processor.

Myself I'm already pushing my GE40's 760 to the limit with New Vegas + ENB - now running around 30FPS max, 20FPS avg with modded Bloom, motion blur, DOF, SMAO, SMAA AND a (slightly) higher def texture pack running. Considering it's a 2010 game, the fact that I've modded it to run as heavy as Crysis 3 on high (or the fact it CAN be modded to this point) is just LOL.

Which reminds me, we're well overdue for a NEW Fallout game now. Skyrim really ain't cutting it for me really, I prefer guns to swords and bows.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 8 2013, 09:46 AM
highwind85
post Aug 8 2013, 09:46 AM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(china_dude 02 @ Aug 7 2013, 05:46 PM)
What kind of games do you play most? As far as GX60 is concerned, MMO, RTS are not its strength..as well as game engines that relies alot on CPU calculations rather than gpu, and games that are not efficient in multithreading...

Games that i've completed on GX60 so far:

Witcher 2 - playable at max (minus ubersampling) but slight lag in town area with a lot of NPC..
XCOM: EU - playable at max
Spec Ops: the line - playable at max, minor lag here and there..
Torchlight 2: playable
DMC: playable at max all the time except lag at 1 particular area in 1 level.
Max payne 3: playable at max
Battlefield BC2: playable at max
Battlefiled 3: playable at max in SP, lag in MP

Currently playing:
Dishonored - playable, but underperform compared to i7 peers with 7970m/680m..
Tomb raider- playable at ultra with TressFX

Games that are known to not work well on GX60
-Saints row 3 and GTA4
-NFS-Most wanted
-Assassins creed 3

With all that said, GT60 with 770m is a better option than both Y500/Y510p and GX60 if you're willing to spend more...

This post has been edited by highwind85: Aug 8 2013, 10:29 AM
china_dude 02
post Aug 8 2013, 03:19 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Aug 8 2013, 09:46 AM)
What kind of games do you play most? As far as GX60 is concerned, MMO, RTS are not its strength..as well as game engines that relies alot on CPU calculations rather than gpu, and games that are not efficient in multithreading...

Games that i've completed on GX60 so far:

Witcher 2 - playable at max (minus ubersampling) but slight lag in town area with a lot of NPC..
XCOM: EU - playable at max
Spec Ops: the line - playable at max, minor lag here and there..
Torchlight 2: playable
DMC: playable at max all the time except lag at 1 particular area in 1 level.
Max payne 3: playable at max
Battlefield BC2: playable at max
Battlefiled 3: playable at max in SP, lag in MP

Currently playing:
Dishonored - playable, but underperform compared to i7 peers with 7970m/680m..
Tomb raider- playable at ultra with TressFX

Games that are known to not work well on GX60
-Saints row 3 and GTA4
-NFS-Most wanted
-Assassins creed 3

With all that said, GT60 with 770m is a better option than both Y500/Y510p and GX60 if you're willing to spend more...
well , the thing is i havent play game on pc for about 2years
the last game i play on pc was skyrim before it died on me
just play what current pc games avaible and wish to play the past year pc games and visual novel interactive kinda game
so which msi series that suppress for those 2 model i mentioned earlier ?
is it i7 + gt770 ?
Eiraku
post Aug 8 2013, 06:16 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(china_dude 02 @ Aug 8 2013, 03:19 PM)
just play what current pc games avaible and wish to play the past year pc games and visual novel interactive kinda game
is it i7 + gt770 ?
GT60 = 15inch + i7 Haswell + 770 -> RM5k+?
GT70 = 17inch + i7 Haswell + 780 -> RM6k+?

For Skyrim + Visual Novels even my GE40 (14inch + i7 + 760 - > RM3.7k) is enough (Skyrim on high + mods). But looking at your requirements you need a desktop replacement and that's something the GE40 is NOT.

If you HAVE cash to spare and NEED to play Skyrim on ultra + mods (and the latest/last year games on highest settings) = it's either the GT60 or the GT70 for you, depending on how BIG you want your laptop to be (and how much extra cash you have).

If you don't have the extra cash, the Y510P SLI will do very nicely with 750 SLI.

The Y500 SLI is also fine if you don't NEED the latest and fastest processor. It's also cheaper than the Y510P by quite a bit.

The GX60's processor is simply not fast enough IMHO for the very capable Radeon graphics chip it has. Like highwind85 said, it's going to underperform noticeably compared to an i7 setup.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 8 2013, 06:53 PM
arshad
post Aug 8 2013, 10:06 PM

Blessed
1,527 posts

I don't know whats happening to my GT780DX. The fan automatically blows on and off for few secs consistently. Any idea why? I think maybe the fan rosak lol.
highwind85
post Aug 8 2013, 10:59 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(china_dude 02 @ Aug 8 2013, 03:19 PM)
is it i7 + gt770 ?
With GX60, i would say its a mix bag and hard to predict it's performance...some games runs well, some games don't...
Games that are GPU heavy would see it performing on par with i7 setup...while GX60 may underperform compared to i7 in some games, 40 fps is still very playable to me..
i7 is more consistent...if the GPU can't handle it at that settings, it just can't and you have to lower the settings...but it is not as straight forward for GX60 as there are not many CPU related settings to tweak..
Lucky for us, next gen games are going to be GPU heavy and multithreading optimized due to weak AMD single core performance in next gen consoles..

http://playeressence.com/the-ps4-big-chall...anetside-2-dev/

This post has been edited by highwind85: Aug 8 2013, 11:02 PM
Unseen83
post Aug 8 2013, 11:50 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

Hello New owner og MSI GT70 - I7-4700mq /GTX 780M 4GDDR5/ 256SSD +750GB ... so.. any one kow how to turn off the intergrated GPU and use only GTX780M ?! cause this just suX.. or me.. I try setting on Nvidia menu and plug -in power still it show Intel GPU on WEI... HElp im noob with MSI,,,... hmm gosh I miss Asus G75vx alredy...
Riddhy
post Aug 9 2013, 12:39 AM

1,956 posts

turn it off in bios....also if nvidia optimus is enabled it will autoswitch to gtx 780m when you play games
Unseen83
post Aug 9 2013, 01:01 AM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Aug 9 2013, 12:39 AM)
turn it off in bios....also if nvidia optimus is enabled it will autoswitch to gtx 780m when you play games
thx.. try to enter bios...
storm88
post Aug 9 2013, 01:01 AM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 9 2013, 12:50 AM)
Hello New owner og MSI GT70 - I7-4700mq /GTX 780M 4GDDR5/ 256SSD +750GB ... so.. any one kow how to turn off the intergrated GPU and use only GTX780M ?! cause this just suX.. or me.. I try setting on Nvidia menu and plug -in power still it show Intel GPU on WEI... HElp im noob with MSI,,,... hmm gosh I miss Asus G75vx alredy...
where did you get your new baby? smile.gif
Unseen83
post Aug 9 2013, 01:30 AM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

Jacky his working Lowyat 2nd floor, went to Lyat.. then meet the seller he show me wat they hav in stock... smile.gif and what I can afford...
rm6,700 notebook + 256 SSD sandisk Rm600( I know other shop sell 549RM)

x
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry51904121
Eiraku
post Aug 9 2013, 03:52 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Holy flying fark, MSI seem to have QUIETLY refreshed the GE40 along with the release of the GS70.

Not much difference though so far EXCEPT:

1) 8GB in 2x4GB configuration (vs 1x8GB before) - good for instant dual-channel. BAD for people who wanna go straight to 16GB (you have to get 2x8GB now lol).

2) Intel Wireless-N combo 2230 (vs the old Azurewave combo) - The 2230 is undoubtedly better vs the crappy Azurewave. Personally I'm already running an Intel Advanced-N combo 3635 so... mmmkay.

3) STEEL SERIES KEYBOARD!!! REALLY????

4) KILLER LAN (vs the old Realtek)!!!! REALLY?????

I'm kinda thinking that 3 and 4 might be typos - BUUUUUT it's being written across a couple of vendors' descriptions already so uuuuuuhhhhh. Plus GENTECH already offers the GE40 with Killer Ethernet as stock - but I'm really skeptical that they managed to cram in a proper STEEL SERIES keyboard into the GE40 THIS TIME.

What I'm REALLY INTERESTED in (if they REALLY have refreshed the GE40) is:

1) IF they're STILL shipping it with the (completely inadequate) 90w AC adapter.
2) IF they've improved the cooling inside somehow.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Aug 9 2013, 04:12 AM
Unseen83
post Aug 9 2013, 04:08 AM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Aug 9 2013, 01:01 AM)
where did you get your new baby? smile.gif
his seller on here... young guy or he just born small... good seller.
his bos try to sell me Extended warranty... first offer me RM600 to ad 2 year then, reduce to RM 400... (they seem to be train to dry up your money) WHY I need extend warranty? MSI bad notebook? why bother I gonna buy new one in 6 or 8 month...

x
check out my 3Dmark score
[attachmentid=3575088]

This post has been edited by Unseen83: Aug 9 2013, 04:11 AM
china_dude 02
post Aug 9 2013, 07:47 AM

633 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 8 2013, 06:16 PM)
GT60 = 15inch + i7 Haswell + 770 -> RM5k+?
GT70 = 17inch + i7 Haswell + 780 -> RM6k+?

For Skyrim + Visual Novels even my GE40 (14inch + i7 + 760 - > RM3.7k) is enough (Skyrim on high + mods). But looking at your requirements you need a desktop replacement and that's something the GE40 is NOT.

If you HAVE cash to spare and NEED to play Skyrim on ultra + mods (and the latest/last year games on highest settings) = it's either the GT60 or the GT70 for you, depending on how BIG you want your laptop to be (and how much extra cash you have).

If you don't have the extra cash, the Y510P SLI will do very nicely with 750 SLI.

The Y500 SLI is also fine if you don't NEED the latest and fastest processor. It's also cheaper than the Y510P by quite a bit.

The GX60's processor is simply not fast enough IMHO for the very capable Radeon graphics chip it has. Like highwind85 said, it's going to underperform noticeably compared to an i7 setup.
latest processor on y510p for what other than mmo and rts usage ?
y510p said to have different form factor for ssd
storm88
post Aug 9 2013, 12:31 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 9 2013, 05:08 AM)
his seller on here... young guy or he just born small... good seller.
his bos try to sell me Extended warranty... first offer me RM600 to ad 2 year then, reduce to RM 400... (they seem to be train to dry up your money) WHY I need extend warranty? MSI bad notebook? why bother I gonna buy new one in 6 or 8 month...

x
check out my 3Dmark score
[attachmentid=3575088]
good to hear you got yourself a unit.
Btw the laptop is already 2 years warranty, why upgrade to 2 years warranty???
storm88
post Aug 9 2013, 12:32 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(china_dude 02 @ Aug 9 2013, 08:47 AM)
latest processor on y510p for what other than mmo and rts usage ?
y510p said to have different form factor for ssd
Y510P should be using mSATA instead of M.2
Unseen83
post Aug 9 2013, 05:25 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Aug 9 2013, 12:31 PM)
good to hear you got yourself a unit.
Btw the laptop is already 2 years warranty, why upgrade to 2 years warranty???
oh the seller bos saw i have extra money... so try his best to sell me product warranty add-on... +2... i told him no use.. i sell this in less 8 month time smile.gif

136 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0383sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:42 PM