MSI Gaming Notebook, Check out Post #3! Gathering time!

kikiboy
post Aug 27 2013, 08:42 PM

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 27 2013, 04:19 PM)
i do not reccomend update any drive from msi smile.gif
Why is that?
Unseen83
post Aug 27 2013, 10:14 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Aug 27 2013, 05:57 PM)
is it ok if choose gs70(not msata) and upgrade it myself... msata 128gb and 8gb ram... I think cheaper rght...
u may accidentally breaking ur gs70... blush.gif
Unseen83
post Aug 27 2013, 10:16 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(zaicon @ Aug 27 2013, 05:20 PM)
Not only that, they even released rs-15 lite and amd 8790m gpu options as well  drool.gif . Also they have removed Alienware and MSI barebones options from their store. I say its a good marketing move to promote their brand  nod.gif
i don't no.... i think that one is smart move... they should leave that option alone my opinion... keep selling AW and msi / asus.... they do provide good after sale service...
@skyhawk@
post Aug 27 2013, 10:41 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(zaicon @ Aug 27 2013, 08:20 PM)
The non-ssd GS70 is already equipped with 8gb ram.
IMO If you are gonna replicate the ssd-option specs, might as well get it, and its in super raid configuration,
Try asking jacky quote you a special price  smile.gif
I mean add msata and ANOTHER 8gb...means total 16gb...

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 27 2013, 10:14 PM)
u may accidentally breaking ur gs70...  blush.gif
errr...not void warranty rght?

is it super raid 64+64msata faster than msata 128gb? hmm.gif or better swap de hdd with ssd... ~.~
Unseen83
post Aug 27 2013, 10:44 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

day on your purchase get it upgrade... smile.gif yes self open on gs70 may lead to void... on gs70
Unseen83
post Aug 28 2013, 12:07 AM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Aug 27 2013, 10:41 PM)
is it super raid 64+64msata faster than msata 128gb? hmm.gif or better swap de hdd with ssd... ~.~
better ask seller, MR Storm88 and MR, jacky is seller here so best ask them regarding inter-working of GS70
arcaloveher
post Aug 28 2013, 12:24 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Aug 27 2013, 05:57 PM)
is it ok if choose gs70(not msata) and upgrade it myself... msata 128gb and 8gb ram... I think cheaper rght...
I thought of this too since the extra rm800 for 128 gb of ssd (64+64) is kinda cut throat lol.

But if we do it ourselves I'm afraid it will be too difficult to disassemble the parts to install the components sad.gif
ThisIsBoletaria
post Aug 28 2013, 02:02 AM

108 posts

I've seen the GS70 disassembly guide. Installing the mSATA drives is as easy as taking off the back cover (11 screws or something like that) and slotting/screwing them in. Adding RAM means having to disconnect all cables for the fan, hard drive, wireless, battery and everyrhing else, and taking off thr motherboard (another 17 screws). It's doable, but you have to have a lot of confidence and couragr if you're not a techie.

This post has been edited by ThisIsBoletaria: Aug 28 2013, 02:06 AM
noorimanyosh
post Aug 28 2013, 03:20 AM

saoirse ronan :3
2,148 posts

hey guys...a question here...how much is the cheapest MSI branded gaming laptop??can recommend me one??
zaicon
post Aug 28 2013, 11:31 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Aug 27 2013, 10:41 PM)
To confirm, please contact MSI careline, they can clarify more on this.
And generally, a twin 64 msata in raid 0 configuration is faster than a single 128gb msata

QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Aug 28 2013, 03:20 AM)
hey guys...a question here...how much is the cheapest MSI branded gaming laptop??can recommend me one??
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB 15.6"
zaicon
post Aug 28 2013, 11:32 AM

14 posts

Guys, brother storm88 has just created a new thread regarding MSI notebooks. Would be great if we could start there.
storm88
post Aug 28 2013, 12:09 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(ThisIsBoletaria @ Aug 28 2013, 03:02 AM)
I've seen the GS70 disassembly guide. Installing the mSATA drives is as easy as taking off the back cover (11 screws or something like that) and slotting/screwing them in. Adding RAM means having to disconnect all cables for the fan, hard drive, wireless, battery and everyrhing else, and taking off thr motherboard (another 17 screws). It's doable, but you have to have a lot of confidence and couragr if you're not a techie.
Install mSATA is easy, but add ram is NOT EASY rclxub.gif

btw,pls continue discuss here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2939095

This post has been edited by storm88: Aug 28 2013, 12:17 PM
storm88
post Aug 28 2013, 12:18 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 26 2013, 04:50 PM)
msg for eiraku, and zicon understand it...  need to upgrade cpu for MSI GT70, illegear provide service selling and upgrade...?  yes, says PrinceJ... cost me RM1.5K I7 4900MQ ... or RM798 for I7 4800MQ ...  my pay receive today bank so.. i am celebrate merdeka in KL then maybe i give someone a call... hmmm
sorry la, no meaning of insulting. icon_rolleyes.gif
ThisIsBoletaria
post Aug 28 2013, 05:15 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Aug 28 2013, 12:09 PM)
Install mSATA is easy, but add ram is NOT EASY rclxub.gif

btw,pls continue discuss here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2939095
Yeah. Like I said, you have to disconnect basically everythong from the motherboard and take it out before you can access the RAM slots.
Xu3r
post Sep 2 2013, 09:57 PM

134 posts

anyone want to buy my GT783 with upgraded spec
Unseen83
post Sep 6 2013, 06:43 PM

TooFAT4U 2Handle!
2,337 posts

QUOTE(Xu3r @ Sep 2 2013, 09:57 PM)
new threads
DenMohd
post Oct 7 2013, 12:46 AM

QUOTE(Xu3r @ Sep 2 2013, 09:57 PM)

Pm me
gm0023
post Nov 5 2013, 07:27 PM

183 posts

Hi sifus,

I know gx60 has an unpleasing cpu, but if I add 120gb ssd and extend ram to 16gb, would it cause a challenge to gs70? If both are sold equal value, which Is worthier?
MSI-NB
post Nov 7 2013, 05:05 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(gm0023 @ Nov 5 2013, 07:27 PM)
Hi sifus,

I know gx60 has an unpleasing cpu, but if I add 120gb ssd and extend ram to 16gb, would it cause a challenge to gs70? If both are sold equal value, which Is worthier?
Hello tongue.gif try asking here MSI notebook new thread thumbup.gif

0.0239sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:59 AM