MSI Gaming Notebook, Check out Post #3! Gathering time!

storm88
post Mar 14 2013, 11:39 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(penanghomes @ Mar 14 2013, 07:57 PM)
thinking getting one msi..which model to take?
what is your budget?
storm88
post May 23 2013, 12:28 PM

5,595 posts

Well,
i got invited to MSI product launch today.

will try to bring back as much info i can smile.gif
storm88
post May 23 2013, 03:05 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(milky @ May 23 2013, 03:24 PM)
GX is AMD model right?
no, GX is Gaming series
storm88
post May 24 2013, 12:06 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(milky @ May 23 2013, 11:08 PM)
i tot GT series is gaming series no?
sory, i made mistake
you are right :)GX is AMD based gaming laptop
storm88
post May 27 2013, 05:41 PM

5,595 posts

few new model from MSI:

1. GE40C-2OC :
Haswell I7 4702MQ, GTX760M, 14" WHD (1600X900), 8G DDR3 1600, 750G 7200RPM HD) SRP RM3999

2.GE60-2OE:
Haswell I7 4702MQ, GTX760M, 15.5" FHD (19200X1080), 8G DDR3 1600, 750G 7200RPM HD) SRP RM4299

3. (update slowly, not feeling too well)

storm88
post Jul 23 2013, 01:07 PM

5,595 posts

Hi bro

i want to let go my less than 2 weeks old GX60, interested can refer here:

https://www.facebook.com/tarmory/posts/472016296227607
storm88
post Jul 23 2013, 09:01 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Zakov @ Jul 23 2013, 09:44 PM)
Hello guys, I just purchased the GE40 2nd hand from a forumer here. wink.gif

So far I'm quite happy with it, already knew what to expect since I read reviews and impressions at notebookreview and here for starters. Heat doesn't seem that bad but maybe that's because I'm coming from an old "oven" of a laptop. tongue.gif

Apart from the poor screen and mediocre cooling performance, I'm content with the laptop. Bought startisback since I couldn't stand Metro. XD

I've got a question, can we just fit in one of those universal ODD HDD Bays(12.7mm/9.5mm)?

For example, this one:

http://www.lelong.com.my/silverstone-tools...7-01-Sale-I.htm

Since I'm planning to get a 2nd 2.5 HDD for storage and I'd like to know whether I can replace the ODD drive. I'm aware that the US version of the laptop has that caddy/bay so I'd like to know whether there's a substitute for it for us local buyers.
yes you can.

btw beside that RM65 one, you may consider my product:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2600686&hl=

you can put ur removed dvd into the external case and became external dvd drive
storm88
post Jul 23 2013, 09:06 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Zakov @ Jul 23 2013, 10:04 PM)
From what I've seen there are two dimensions of these Universal bays. So is it safe to assume that both 9.5mm/12.7mm models will fit on the MSI GE40?

Thanks for the info btw.
GE40 slot is 9.5mm one, not the regular 12mm. i have both size
storm88
post Aug 9 2013, 01:01 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 9 2013, 12:50 AM)
Hello New owner og MSI GT70 - I7-4700mq /GTX 780M 4GDDR5/ 256SSD +750GB ... so.. any one kow how to turn off the intergrated GPU and use only GTX780M ?! cause this just suX.. or me.. I try setting on Nvidia menu and plug -in power still it show Intel GPU on WEI... HElp im noob with MSI,,,... hmm gosh I miss Asus G75vx alredy...
where did you get your new baby? smile.gif
storm88
post Aug 9 2013, 12:31 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 9 2013, 05:08 AM)
his seller on here... young guy or he just born small... good seller.
his bos try to sell me Extended warranty... first offer me RM600 to ad 2 year then, reduce to RM 400... (they seem to be train to dry up your money) WHY I need extend warranty? MSI bad notebook? why bother I gonna buy new one in 6 or 8 month...

x
check out my 3Dmark score
[attachmentid=3575088]
good to hear you got yourself a unit.
Btw the laptop is already 2 years warranty, why upgrade to 2 years warranty???
storm88
post Aug 9 2013, 12:32 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(china_dude 02 @ Aug 9 2013, 08:47 AM)
latest processor on y510p for what other than mmo and rts usage ?
y510p said to have different form factor for ssd
Y510P should be using mSATA instead of M.2
storm88
post Aug 11 2013, 12:31 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 9 2013, 08:06 PM)
Not sure if a 765 is a good enough match for a 17 incher, but it's CRAZY SLIM and not as hard to get as the Blade Pro which is good... But what I'm really interested in knowing about is the HEAT and BATTERY life. BUUUUUT, it's so new that even publications and sites most probably HAS JUST received their review samples so reviews will take a while.

I'll be the first to drool in jealousy if MSI decides to do a GS40 though, especially if it comes in black brushed aluminum.
GTX765m doesnt direct relate to the screen size, but resolution smile.gif But yea, it's only 2.2cm which is very slim and sleek
storm88
post Aug 11 2013, 12:38 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 9 2013, 11:31 PM)
hmm but SLIM is the key words for GS70...Ā  lolĀ  blush.gifĀ   by way any one know Honest dealer ? i m looking DDR3 L ram 8 GB ?
i doesn't understand what the mean of DDR3 L for MSI laptop. But they are just normal low wattage sodimm memory! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by storm88: Aug 11 2013, 12:39 AM
storm88
post Aug 15 2013, 11:15 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 14 2013, 11:25 PM)
hmm sorry to bud in... but i think bagpack from MSI don't feel high standard... quality (i use to own ASUS g75vx their bagpack made by Targus.. feel well made bag)
For me i feel the backpack is better than Lenovo laugh.gif
anyhow, it's quite comfortable for what i would say.
storm88
post Aug 15 2013, 11:21 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Cimo @ Aug 14 2013, 11:14 PM)
How's the quality of free bag?
the freebag of GS70 is made by cotton. I felt the material abit thick, not bad i would say (ngam my taste blush.gif )
storm88
post Aug 16 2013, 06:09 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 16 2013, 02:20 PM)
MSI OWNER...  msi come with 2 year warranty... right so if  notebook faulty  they fix for you with no charge right?? hmm  sorry i am a bit stupid what do you understand by reading this email?

x
[attachmentid=3585034]

this is kelana service center... and one on batu pahat johor wanna charge me  dun care if  under warranty or not lol....  so after 3 month if notebook faulty on it own...  i have to pay labor/service charge  maybe even hardware... wow i miss ASUS!! Global 2 year with no labor/service charge or upgrade charge dor 2 year... FREE...
any service center for any brand, unless your unit is really a hardware failure, then they won't charge you anything. Regardless your laptop got warranty or not.

Checking up is not in part of the warranty term
storm88
post Aug 17 2013, 01:03 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 17 2013, 01:44 PM)
ASUS no charge... help u upgrade notebook or re-apply thermal paste with no CHARGE... i know i done it i own Asus G75vx(sold)/ Asus N45SF(my bathroom)/ Asus N55SF(kitchen notebook)... MSI don't want to help u upgrade... that for sure... i got recording my conversation with tech in Low yat service center lol (yes im creepy like that)

Edit: dell also no charge... they even change notebook just to make me happy.. without meĀ  intimidate them... i am impress with DELL... lol
u didn't get my point. Again i said, Checking up your unit if it's faulty is not FOC, unless it's really faulty

I don't know what "upgrade" you refer to sweat.gif

This post has been edited by storm88: Aug 17 2013, 01:05 PM
storm88
post Aug 17 2013, 11:27 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(zzloo @ Aug 18 2013, 12:05 AM)
photo lo..
why ur msata no screw one? u bought this at lowyat?
storm88
post Aug 18 2013, 08:24 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Cimo @ Aug 18 2013, 06:19 AM)
Where's the RAM located? Is it soldered or what?
ram slot is beneath of keyboard. u need to remove the board only you can access to ram. Btw it's not soldered on.
storm88
post Aug 18 2013, 08:25 PM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Aug 18 2013, 05:40 AM)
rclxms.gif  i got spare screw if u want... "have to buy this in October..." how much u pay?  seller offer me RM5,100.00 for 128SSD+750GB  and RM4,400 no SSD... smile.gif
GS70 weaker than your GT70 leh. why u go lower spec one?

0.0568sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:11 PM