Samsung LED TV Thread, owners pls share

IvanWong1989
post Feb 5 2018, 06:25 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Feb 5 2018, 05:49 PM)
It's actually refers to peak brightness. Doesn't mean it output at that level constantly.

For LCD panel, you need high peak brightness (>1000nits) and wide color gamut to achieve True HDR
But then will be prone to backlight bleeding right ?
Haruji Sora
post Feb 5 2018, 06:29 PM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(klesk85 @ Feb 5 2018, 03:40 PM)
Thanks bro biggrin.gif

Cant afford the QLED tv, even 5k is my max budget liao...by the way, does any of u guys feel eye strained after watching on tv with high nits value like 1000 nits? I researched that MU7000 has got about 600 nits only whereas MU6300 only 300nits , wonder is it better or worst to have such high brightness tv?
HDR is basically a combination of color range (so color reproduction is more spot on) and contrast (which is difference Peak Luminescence and Low Luminescence)

So for example a Sun Flare in space, HDR really brings the "punch" by output vivid and bright highlights against the dark background.

OLED has an advantage due to the low "Luminescence" (as pixels can turn off completely), therefore they dont' really need too high nits to bring out the highlights of HDR

While LED technology compensate the HDR by outputting more peak brightness to offset the fact the panel cant achieve 0 nits on dark highlights

So basically it is all about the ability to bring out the contrast.

Of course there are scenes (like explosions) that need higher max nits to really bring out the punch.
klesk85
post Feb 5 2018, 07:37 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Feb 5 2018, 05:49 PM)
It's actually refers to peak brightness. Doesn't mean it output at that level constantly.

For LCD panel, you need high peak brightness (>1000nits) and wide color gamut to achieve True HDR
QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Feb 5 2018, 06:29 PM)
HDR is basically a combination of color range (so color reproduction is more spot on) and contrast (which is difference Peak Luminescence and Low Luminescence)

So for example a Sun Flare in space, HDR really brings the "punch" by output vivid and bright highlights against the dark background.

OLED has an advantage due to the low "Luminescence" (as pixels can turn off completely), therefore they dont' really need too high nits to bring out the highlights of HDR

While LED technology compensate the HDR by outputting more peak brightness to offset the fact the panel cant achieve 0 nits on dark highlights

So basically it is all about the ability to bring out the contrast.

Of course there are scenes (like explosions) that need higher max nits to really bring out the punch.
Thanks both sifu πŸ™ will try to look for good deal for KS7000 then considering the better hardware
IvanWong1989
post Feb 5 2018, 09:17 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

Anybody here knows how to
1. Using phone Samsung smartview to power on tv
2. Disable frame dimming?(the auto dimming based on the screen contents, not the ambient light)
tohff7
post Feb 6 2018, 08:21 AM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(klesk85 @ Feb 5 2018, 07:37 PM)
Thanks both sifu πŸ™ will try to look for good deal for KS7000 then considering the better hardware
I doubt you can find any KS7000 units in the market today.

If it's not too urgent, just wait until April/May when new 2018 models started to arrive in Malaysia. Then naturally, you will see price reduction for 2017 models
Haruji Sora
post Feb 6 2018, 10:45 AM

春治のばか?
1,704 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Feb 5 2018, 09:17 PM)
Anybody here knows how to
1. Using phone Samsung smartview to power on tv
2. Disable frame dimming?(the auto dimming based on the screen contents, not the ambient light)
I believe there is like a few option that affects dimming

1. Eco Sensor - Put to Off
2. Smart LED - Put to Off
leftspacing
post Feb 6 2018, 04:54 PM

I’m planning to get 65” tv, currently I’m in a dilemma between Samsung Curved Smart 4K UHD (UA65MU6300) vs Sharp 4K UHD Android (LC65UE630X) coz both almos da same price tag. I’m ain’t hardcore gamer jus a social for leisure, preferable watch Astro,YouTube channel for kids, surf net n possible can mirror wit iOS. Seek for ur sifu adviceπŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»

P/s: Soli for my poor englishπŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»
tohff7
post Feb 6 2018, 05:12 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(leftspacing @ Feb 6 2018, 04:54 PM)
I’m planning to get 65” tv, currently I’m in a dilemma between Samsung Curved Smart 4K UHD (UA65MU6300) vs Sharp 4K UHD Android (LC65UE630X) coz both almos da same price tag. I’m ain’t hardcore gamer jus a social for leisure, preferable watch Astro,YouTube channel for kids, surf net n possible can mirror wit iOS. Seek for ur sifu adviceπŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»

P/s: Soli for my poor englishπŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»πŸ™πŸ»
Samsung picture quality is better than Sharp and the Tizen interface is quite good.
IvanWong1989
post Feb 6 2018, 05:16 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Feb 6 2018, 10:45 AM)
I believe there is like a few option that affects dimming

1. Eco Sensor - Put to Off
2. Smart LED - Put to Off
Nope not those. Those are ambient light based. I've turned those off haha.

Frame dimming works on the same purpose as local dimming. To make blacks blacker.

isma45
post Feb 6 2018, 05:30 PM

- rocking the highway -
582 posts

hi, just want to ask opinion, im thinking of buying between these 2 tv because the price quite close. Please advise me.

1. UA55MU6300KXXM - 4k curved tv
2. UA55MU6100KXXM - 4k flat tv

Which 1 is better?

tohff7
post Feb 6 2018, 05:33 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

QUOTE(isma45 @ Feb 6 2018, 05:30 PM)
hi, just want to ask opinion, im thinking of buying between these 2 tv because the price quite close. Please advise me.

2. UA55MU6100KXXM  - 4k flat tv

Which 1 is better?
it's actually the same panel and specs - difference just flat and curve.

really based on your preference but i said go. for flat. curve u need sit right at the center to appreciate, and the difference might not be that noticeable at 55 inch
voncrane
post Feb 6 2018, 05:58 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Feb 6 2018, 05:16 PM)
Nope not those. Those are ambient light based. I've turned those off haha.

Frame dimming works on the same purpose as local dimming. To make blacks blacker.
Since you've gone through the settings and can't seem to find it. Then perhaps it's a feature that comes with the panel and can't be modified. At least not in the usual way. With your fussiness, me thinks you really should have gotten a better TV.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(isma45 @ Feb 6 2018, 05:30 PM)

2. UA55MU6100KXXM  - 4k flat tv

Which 1 is better?
Yeah, personal preference.. For me, room styles.. especially in the Living Room? Go for Flat screens. Sure curved might look more pretty on its stand. IMO, curved screens are great when used as in PC monitors style. Cuz you sit right up close and center of the display, pretty much all the time & can take full advantage of its bend.
IvanWong1989
post Feb 6 2018, 07:45 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 6 2018, 05:58 PM)
Since you've gone through the settings and can't seem to find it. Then perhaps it's a feature that comes with the panel and can't be modified. At least not in the usual way. With your fussiness, me thinks you really should have gotten a better TV..  tongue.gif
Yeah, personal preference.. For me, room styles.. especially in the Living Room? Go for Flat screens. Sure curved might look more pretty on its stand. IMO, curved screens are great when used as in PC monitors style. Cuz you sit right up close and center of the display, pretty much all the time & can take full advantage of its bend.
Yeap. Even my friends is saying I am having TV OCD.... Everything have to be in perfect order. Lol
It'll get better the longer I own the tv. Lol.

voncrane
post Feb 6 2018, 09:58 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Feb 6 2018, 07:45 PM)
Yeap. Even my friends is saying I am having TV OCD.... Everything have to be in perfect order. Lol
It'll get better the longer I own the tv. Lol.
Oh no worries.. I understand perfectly as I was once like that. Still a bit la but now it's high-res high bitrate or meh kinda deal. With the TV, I've learnt to stop seeking ways to improve it after finding that sweet spot in the settings where playing bluray wows me every time. So now, if non-bluray content isn't as nice as can be, I simply blame the source file or my media box for not sending better signals.. laugh.gif.. In the meantime, I enjoy the TV whilst seeking comfort in the fact that my next TV will be bigger, far superior annnnddd hasn't even been made yet.. Each year, tech and software gets better and better.. nod.gif Yep, gonna head back to my spot on the sands and stick me head back inside.. laugh.gif

So find your sweet spot and relax. Enjoy your latest toy.
lamusiqa
post Feb 8 2018, 03:13 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(klesk85 @ Feb 5 2018, 03:40 PM)
Thanks bro biggrin.gif

Cant afford the QLED tv, even 5k is my max budget liao...by the way, does any of u guys feel eye strained after watching on tv with high nits value like 1000 nits? I researched that MU7000 has got about 600 nits only whereas MU6300 only 300nits , wonder is it better or worst to have such high brightness tv?
Not really. I set my backlight to max for HDR contents and the high brightness of the TV is only mildly annoying when I'm viewing a content that shows a lot of outdoor/sunny scenes while I'm watching in the dark.

UA65KS7500 user here. Just bought the TV in late Oct last year for RM8K from Ban Huat. Totally worth it! If you can still find a KS series, buy it instead of the QLED series. They both use Quantom Dot tech and KS series has higher peak brightness. Rtings.com recommended.

This post has been edited by lamusiqa: Feb 8 2018, 03:15 PM
shiru
post Feb 10 2018, 09:04 PM

45 posts

I'm looking at getting a 65" tv. Budget around 8k.
So far got 2 models look attractive
LG 65sj850t and Samseng UA65MU7000. Both around same price.
The LG is also nano cell technology but not as good as Samseng's QLED. Will it be a better bet than the MU7000?
opjust
post Feb 10 2018, 10:40 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(shiru @ Feb 10 2018, 09:04 PM)
I'm looking at getting a 65" tv. Budget around 8k.
So far got 2 models look attractive
LG 65sj850t and Samseng UA65MU7000. Both around same price.
The LG is also nano cell technology but not as good as Samseng's QLED. Will it be a better bet than the MU7000?
For your budget i’ll Suggest Sony x8500e.. decent PQ with Android.
isma45
post Feb 20 2018, 09:48 AM

- rocking the highway -
582 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Feb 6 2018, 05:33 PM)
it's actually the same panel and specs - difference just flat and curve.

really based on your preference but i said go. for flat. curve u need sit right at the center to appreciate, and the difference might not be that noticeable at 55 inch
QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 6 2018, 05:58 PM)
Since you've gone through the settings and can't seem to find it. Then perhaps it's a feature that comes with the panel and can't be modified. At least not in the usual way. With your fussiness, me thinks you really should have gotten a better TV..  tongue.gif
thanks for the advise.. i got my MU6100 55inch.. never regret it.. love the system & the simplified remote. Damn samsung really in front & above from other TV manufacturer..
voncrane
post Feb 20 2018, 03:16 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(isma45 @ Feb 20 2018, 09:48 AM)
thanks for the advise.. i got my MU6100 55inch.. never regret it.. love the system & the simplified remote. Damn samsung really in front & above from other TV manufacturer..
You are welcome..
#Victor
post Feb 20 2018, 03:27 PM

4,672 posts

I got this problem again when watching YouTube, out of sudden the screen become haywire and hang, then restart by itself rclxub.gif
Wonder this issue can claim warranty? It only happens once in a blue moon hmm.gif

245 Pages « < 239 240 241 242 243 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:27 PM