YTL Wimax launched?
SUSGenY
Nov 9 2010, 09:44 PM

YTL is big and respectable. Today, my phone is without dial tone and I can't go online - I've lost count of the times I encountered this problem during my 10 years as a customer of you-know-who. So, Yes, I'm eager to jump ship and I've registered, got myself auspicious numbers
totally_skint
Nov 9 2010, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(chron3z @ Nov 9 2010, 09:29 PM) should i sign up for a 018 number? cause it asked for my ic not sure if it's okay to do so since (call me one of them frogs under the coconut shell but) i've never heard of ytl before YTL is Malaysia's largest listed non-GLC company. The Star Biz
LightningFist
Nov 10 2010, 11:03 AM
Minion of the Damned
So they are not funded by the government?
We shall see how good the service is and whether that matters.
Slekerz
Nov 13 2010, 01:32 AM
I clueless about their internet package and will wait after official launch to see how good their service.
totally_skint
Nov 13 2010, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(Slekerz @ Nov 13 2010, 01:32 AM) I clueless about their internet package and will wait after official launch to see how good their service.  Everyone's clueless too. Just have to wait till next Friday.
mochachoke
Nov 13 2010, 01:19 PM
I dont care about their speed and what so ever but i need an internet at least 512kbps and UNLIMITED..... an unlimited mobile broadband im searching for.... most of our mobile broadbang cap at unreasonable speed such as 64kbps and 128kbps.... the hell  at this rate, loading lowyat webpage takes 2min...damn.......
ks98
Nov 13 2010, 05:00 PM
I will give YTL a try on next Fri after so long with Digi BB (who turned me down recently)... but, personally i don't put a very high expectation on the service quality as i still haven't see any guarantee speed yet... (if anyone see that kindly let me know).
I'm 110% willing to pay whatever i use but the quality must be consistently maintain at >=512kbps/256kbps ul at all the time.
p4n6
Nov 13 2010, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(ks98 @ Nov 13 2010, 05:00 PM) I will give YTL a try on next Fri after so long with Digi BB (who turned me down recently)... but, personally i don't put a very high expectation on the service quality as i still haven't see any guarantee speed yet... (if anyone see that kindly let me know). I'm 110% willing to pay whatever i use but the quality must be consistently maintain at >=512kbps/256kbps ul at all the time. I think YTL WiMAX is your cup of tea, it's pay-per-use model ... so I will say not many people will dare to use it to P2P or heavy usage. So their basestation will not go congest easily. Since you are willing to pay, I think shouldn't be a problem.
adhoc
Nov 14 2010, 01:17 AM
I heard some of them already started using the service. Can anyone verify this?
LightningFist
Nov 14 2010, 01:43 AM
Minion of the Damned
Well, 512kbps = 64kBps, so still an ok speed, not great for downloading. But if it was stable, then good. I highly doubt this will be the minimum speed.
coolstore
Nov 14 2010, 12:54 PM
so still no details yet? ytl even going setup a large booth at KL sentral which close tho the exit to sentral plaza.... and p1 / maxis just got a small booth at centre...
ks98
Nov 14 2010, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 14 2010, 01:43 AM) Well, 512kbps = 64kBps, so still an ok speed, not great for downloading. But if it was stable, then good. I highly doubt this will be the minimum speed. Yes, i'm not a heavy downloader. I use broadband mainly for surfing, conference (audio), some movie streaming (~10% of the time). And so far, i've never finished my Digi BB monthly quota (average about 60% only of the 3GB quota). That's why, to me, stable and reliable speed are much more important than the big monthly quota. This post has been edited by ks98: Nov 14 2010, 02:19 PM
prole
Nov 14 2010, 03:08 PM

-
This post has been edited by prole: Sep 30 2024, 09:11 PM
[revolution]
Nov 16 2010, 12:17 AM
Today got info from 1 of their promoters in front lot10... they quote their minimum speed would be 7Mbps!!
ks98
Nov 16 2010, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(revolution @ Nov 16 2010, 12:17 AM) Today got info from 1 of their promoters in front lot10... they quote their minimum speed would be 7Mbps!! i'd prefer to wait until the full info reveal to public... base on my personal experience, some time the promoter would give me a wrong info on what their service can do... for example, when i subscribed to Digi last time, got one promoter even told me that Digi BB can go up to 14.4Mbps... but, I know this is just the total speed what HSPA can give and it's impossible for user to get that kind of speed... This post has been edited by ks98: Nov 16 2010, 08:40 AM
debbierowe
Nov 16 2010, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(revolution @ Nov 16 2010, 12:17 AM) Today got info from 1 of their promoters in front lot10... they quote their minimum speed would be 7Mbps!! wow, how many money registered edi... lets c wat happen this friday
totally_skint
Nov 16 2010, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(debbierowe @ Nov 16 2010, 09:08 AM) wow, how many money registered edi... lets c wat happen this fridayThis is the longest week. sigh...
p4n6
Nov 17 2010, 08:10 AM
QUOTE(revolution @ Nov 16 2010, 12:17 AM) Today got info from 1 of their promoters in front lot10... they quote their minimum speed would be 7Mbps!! Bullshit lah. Minimum 7 Mbps is theoretically not possible for WiMAX. No ISP will dare to guarantee minimum speed for wireless broadband.
mochachoke
Nov 17 2010, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(p4n6 @ Nov 17 2010, 08:10 AM) Bullshit lah. Minimum 7 Mbps is theoretically not possible for WiMAX. No ISP will dare to guarantee minimum speed for wireless broadband. yeah i also go visit their booth at Rawang and they say the same thing...
pur er
Nov 17 2010, 07:09 PM
Went shopping at low yat plaza today. Notice there are banners promoting YES service with
9 sen = 3mb or 9 sen = 1min or 9 sen = 1 sms
Go figure it out whether it value for money.