YTL Wimax launched?

LightningFist
post Nov 5 2010, 03:13 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Agree, Streamyx quality is bad. Don't use it anymore. What is your 4Mbps price per month?

And one cannot generalise Wireless broadband because there are all sorts or services from all sorts of companies, 3G, 3.5G, HSPA, HSPDA, GPRS, 2G, yada yada, and now supposed "4G / WiMax" and HSPA+...

And atrocious claims - e.g. UMobile has 42Mbps HSPA+ but only predicts average speeds of 3-10Mbps.
iipohbee
post Nov 5 2010, 03:23 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 5 2010, 03:13 PM)
Agree, Streamyx quality is bad. Don't use it anymore. What is your 4Mbps price per month?

And one cannot generalise Wireless broadband because there are all sorts or services from all sorts of companies, 3G, 3.5G, HSPA, HSPDA, GPRS, 2G, yada yada, and now supposed "4G / WiMax" and HSPA+...

And atrocious claims - e.g. UMobile has 42Mbps HSPA+ but only predicts average speeds of 3-10Mbps.
Even at half or a quarter of 42mbps is still impressive.
That's an average of 10mbps..

Anything faster than Streamyx 4mbps will sure enough to give TM a run for its money.
Believe a not?

If Jaring comes out with 3mbps ADSL, P1 returns with the early 10mbps Wiggy plan with more consistency or Umobile starts the 42mbps HSPA+ MIMO plan with similar prices, people will start abandoning their 4mbps Streamyx.

Even better if they include call plans/voice.

Consumers will have more options in fixed lines and start to "potong".

It's time we start to get "data only lines" into our homes.
All calls, video, and internet routed through the same "dry" line.Conventional POTs is obsolete.

MIVECburuk
post Nov 5 2010, 03:24 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 5 2010, 03:13 PM)
I lol at this one laugh.gif anyway, anybody knows what is the advertised speed for this YTL?
LightningFist
post Nov 5 2010, 04:00 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

YTL/YES has not proclaimed their speeds yet.

In fact one of their "employees" just touted the website. But you know it doesn't say anything.

I'll see if I can get some tangible info.
kaiserreich
post Nov 6 2010, 01:35 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Don't have to worry about unlimited data for YTL wimax

It won't happen.

Even if it does, you'd get capped speed when you breach a certain limit, thats the way it is for wireless stuff. Limited bandwidth with the airwaves. But I wonder if they'd give a more generous cap than the ones than 'P1 Fake 4g' is giving right now.
LightningFist
post Nov 6 2010, 02:08 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

LOL at P1 fake 4G... but we are powerless to stop it, short of a class action suit. But we are not (or at least most of us aren't) their customers anyway.

Airwaves are limited in bandwidth, base stations are limited, coverage is limited etc, but data volume is not. So a 6GB or 5GB cap is ridiculous.

I thought P1 has a 30GB cap plan (much more generous than your average 6GB plan).
vez
post Nov 6 2010, 03:13 AM

4,622 posts

www.yes.my claimed 3-5 times faster than 3G
how many times faster than HSDPA?

HSPA+ is almost here... perhaps YTL should revise their speed offer
if it is not competitive, better dont offer biggrin.gif
ocleo
post Nov 6 2010, 11:48 AM

33 posts

I hope this will work out. Malaysia needs better internet providers.
totally_skint
post Nov 6 2010, 12:07 PM

1,186 posts

YES(YTL) is suppose to be Pay-As-You-Go, so there shouldn't be any cap on downloads.
They will probably charge by per megabyte.
You use more, you pay more.

I don't like the no-sim concept though.
It would be too easy to steal account and hijack.

This post has been edited by totally_skint: Nov 6 2010, 12:08 PM
calvin_ng
post Nov 6 2010, 12:24 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

I prefer unlimited account... if I pay I cant imagene 50GB of data will come to my bill.... I will get heart attack...
towtow
post Nov 6 2010, 12:37 PM

42 posts

excited for the YES!!! hopes its really YES we can download smoothly!!! lol
-Teddy-
post Nov 6 2010, 01:09 PM

meh
1,939 posts

How it works without sim? CDMA?
LightningFist
post Nov 6 2010, 01:34 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Oh god. skint if you are right then that totally blows.
kaiserreich
post Nov 6 2010, 06:39 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Since airwaves are limited, it does not matter if you build a large amount of base station. A certain area can only support so many people, this is from my understanding anyway.

As such, the bandwidth cap is to, on one hand, try to reduce to amount of people using the waves at the same time, and to a certain extent, limit their expenditure on the international bandwidth. I think that is the best way people can think of to limit the use of the airwaves. The way YES is presenting the charge as you go system, it kinda sucks. Bandwidth is probably going to be expensive for the end users.

I wonder if there is a tiered charge, like the more you use, the less you pay, up to a certain limit. And after that, charge an very high amount to discourage people to go over that set limit.

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Nov 6 2010, 06:40 PM
LightningFist
post Nov 6 2010, 11:55 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

They don't even have a large enough number of base stations anyway, to saturate the entire country, or at least for major cities.

You can have different base stations together operating on different carrier frequencies, with the same signal broadcast. But yes, high frequencies limit the number of channels (different networks).

But they don't even have adequate base stations yet to cover every area, so this is moot. No use putting them too close together (if they operate on the same carrier frequency), but they should be everywhere.

Added on November 6, 2010, 11:59 pmIt is not a bandwidth cap, it is a tiny volume cap, after which they cut your bandwidth (to virtually zero).

Your "tiered charge" system may be too complex and idealistic.

Nevertheless, heavy users are disadvantaged by the majority of plans and services available, because at the moment there is no service that provides affordable, yet high speed, and higher than a few measly GBs volume internet.

This post has been edited by LightningFist: Nov 6 2010, 11:59 PM
p4n6
post Nov 7 2010, 10:34 AM

5,970 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Nov 6 2010, 03:13 AM)
www.yes.my claimed 3-5 times faster than 3G
how many times faster than HSDPA?

HSPA+ is almost here... perhaps YTL should revise their speed offer
if it is not competitive, better dont offer  biggrin.gif
I'm not sure how YTL rate the 5X because maximum throughput (based on their spectrum - to use 10Mhz configuration) is ~40Mbps.

HSPA is 14Mbps and HSPA+ is 21 Mbps (the 40Mbps claimed by U Mobile is by using multiple carrier - more frequency - it's not the tech capability).

So where is the 5X coming from?

I heard they are going to offer 11Mbps DL/1 Mbps UL with pay as you go model. So there won't be any quote/FUP.

So people can enjoy the maximum-if-available-speed of 11Mbps DL/ 1Mbps UL forever, as long as you can afford to pay.

I personally feel is a good model for those people who like to complain that they are being throttled or provide a quota that is too low based on the price they paid.

YES will be happy if people use its service to torrent or P2P, the more these group of people use, the more YES will earn.

So it's a win-win solution.

However, I feel people who tend to torrent and p2p at home, instead of going to movie theatre to pay for RM12 for a movie will be willing to pay for the service.
totally_skint
post Nov 7 2010, 12:20 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Nov 7 2010, 10:34 AM)
However, I feel people who tend to torrent and p2p at home, instead of going to movie theatre to pay for RM12 for a movie will be willing to pay for the service.
It's not the money, it's the content we can't get or get easily in a timely manner.
Many films are not screened locally.
Same for tv or is several seasons late.
fat16
post Nov 7 2010, 12:38 PM

4,582 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Nov 6 2010, 01:09 PM)
How it works without sim? CDMA?
Flash SIM just like TM EVDO modem or CDMA phone.
kaiserreich
post Nov 7 2010, 12:56 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Nov 7 2010, 10:34 AM)
I'm not sure how YTL rate the 5X because maximum throughput (based on their spectrum - to use 10Mhz configuration) is ~40Mbps.

HSPA is 14Mbps and HSPA+ is 21 Mbps (the 40Mbps claimed by U Mobile is by using multiple carrier - more frequency - it's not the tech capability).

So where is the 5X coming from?

I heard they are going to offer 11Mbps DL/1 Mbps UL with pay as you go model. So there won't be any quote/FUP.

So people can enjoy the maximum-if-available-speed of 11Mbps DL/ 1Mbps UL forever, as long as you can afford to pay.

I personally feel is a good model for those people who like to complain that they are being throttled or provide a quota that is too low based on the price they paid.

YES will be happy if people use its service to torrent or P2P, the more these group of people use, the more YES will earn.

So it's a win-win solution.

What if their pay-as-you go model charges as high as existing competitors?

i.e. the data usage for 5GB is Rm100, for example.

At any rate, wireless broadband is not meant to be unlimited. To get unlimited data, fixed line is the way to go.
mitodna
post Nov 7 2010, 01:02 PM

14,039 posts

Early adoptee will enjoy pretty good speed, just wonder if they can sustain

45 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:12 AM