114 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

Mechanical Keyboard Club, For gamers, and typist enthusiasts

lucidlts
post Jan 20 2011, 02:53 AM

brain powder
2,906 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jan 20 2011, 02:28 AM)
Frigging expensive too.
Infekted. laugh.gif
OCN_fssbzz
post Jan 20 2011, 09:54 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(lucidlts @ Jan 19 2011, 11:01 AM)
yea, i did. all i can say is the POM keycaps are too tight D:
not on my noppoo leh.

N1ck
post Jan 20 2011, 05:30 PM

572 posts

Moogle, can you comment on the difference between cherry brown switches and your g15? Is cherry brown switches lighter?

I was working with a dell membrane keyboard. Keys are very light and when I went back to my 7g I just could not get used to cherry blacks again. So Im looking at cherry browns now.
Fable
post Jan 20 2011, 06:01 PM

43 posts

among all mechanical keyboards within us$100 - us$150 price range, which one would you guys choose and why? also, what key cap shape and key cap label do you guys prefer?
OCN_fssbzz
post Jan 20 2011, 06:10 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(N1ck @ Jan 20 2011, 03:30 AM)
Moogle, can you comment on the difference between cherry brown switches and your g15? Is cherry brown switches lighter?

I was working with a dell membrane keyboard. Keys are very light and when I went back to my 7g I just could not get used to cherry blacks again. So Im looking at cherry browns now.
cherry mx brown compare to cherry mx black are big differents.
mx brown require way less force to press the key down for it to actuate.

BlueBerry~
post Jan 20 2011, 06:18 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

Just got my BlackWidow. Woot. Add me to the list please. It works way better than the SteelSeries 7G.
TSMoogle Stiltzkin
post Jan 20 2011, 06:25 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(N1ck @ Jan 20 2011, 05:30 PM)

G15 feels so mushy and stiff compared to the cherry mx brown.

I could immediately tell the difference, and appreciate the Cherry much more.

When i type now, the keys are actuated much smoother and i don't need to second guess if the key was actuated or not.

My typing got better as a result :}

I use my keyboard using PS2 to get NKRO. I don't feel limited at all like this.

Using the USB was fine, but i just leave it as PS2. Even after i remove the plug and put it back in, the keyboard still works. I think for PS2 it need only be plugged in when booting up, after that you can remove and put back the plug and it will still work without having to reboot the pc.

Both the G15 and the Ducky can disable the windows keys. But i like the Duckys method, press FN+F9; whereas the G15 had a stiff rubbery switch you toggle.

The ducky is also neat that i can flick between music tracks, pause/play, or mute. Works for my Foobar :}

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jan 20 2011, 06:39 PM
jasmineivan
post Jan 20 2011, 08:48 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jan 20 2011, 02:28 AM)
Frigging expensive too.
Of cause, what you did is like packing ferrari engine, merz interior, lamborghini casing into single car.

Added on January 20, 2011, 8:49 pm
QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 20 2011, 06:18 PM)
Just got my BlackWidow. Woot. Add me to the list please. It works way better than the SteelSeries 7G.
How is it better? clearer comparison?

Added on January 20, 2011, 8:51 pm
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jan 20 2011, 06:25 PM)
G15 feels so mushy and stiff compared to the cherry mx brown.

I could immediately tell the difference, and appreciate the Cherry much more.
When i type now, the keys are actuated much smoother and i don't need to second guess if the key was actuated or not.

My typing got better as a result :}
I use my keyboard using PS2 to get NKRO. I don't feel limited at all like this.

Using the USB was fine, but i just leave it as PS2. Even after i remove the plug and put it back in, the keyboard still works. I think for PS2 it need only be plugged in when booting up, after that you can remove and put back the plug and it will still work without having to reboot the pc.
Both the G15 and the Ducky can disable the windows keys. But i like the Duckys method, press FN+F9; whereas the G15 had a stiff rubbery switch you toggle.

The ducky is also neat that i can flick between music tracks, pause/play, or mute. Works for my Foobar :}
Didi you tried any MX red before?? Wondering how brown and red be differentiated. Most probably wanna get a Leopold MX red.

This post has been edited by jasmineivan: Jan 20 2011, 08:51 PM
Cyclonechuah
post Jan 20 2011, 08:57 PM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

QUOTE(jasmineivan @ Jan 20 2011, 08:48 PM)
How is it better? clearer comparison?
Blueberry got his Blackwidow from Gosu Games, which is a free keyboard =D.

But anyway, Some people may find Cherry MX blue switch are much more comfortable to type if compared with Cherry MX Black Despite the sound tongue.gif .

Anyway, For RTS games, i don't think BlackWidow is gonna be causing any kind of problem at all.
quest_5692
post Jan 20 2011, 10:22 PM

yo chick, im not buaya
853 posts

hi there, imma a newb in mechanical keyboard but am planning to buy one soon.

planning to buy from armyground taiwan online site BUT i dno which switch suites me and i dont want to spend rm400 on something i will not like -.-

i tried black widow and i dont like it. i like the clicky feel, but i realized i cannot swipe through the keys. like....swipe from 1-10. cuz it will kena block at 2. then....i like the pressing feel ya. am planning to get a filco.

would LOVE IT if someone can let me try their filco so that i can make up my mind. i live in taman tun dr ismail and can drive to your place to try it out.
jasmineivan
post Jan 20 2011, 10:48 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Jan 20 2011, 08:57 PM)
Blueberry got his Blackwidow from Gosu Games, which is a free keyboard =D.

But anyway, Some people may find Cherry MX blue switch are much more comfortable to type if compared with Cherry MX Black Despite the sound  tongue.gif .

Anyway, For RTS games, i don't think BlackWidow is gonna be causing any kind of problem at all.
Why only RTS?
Sky.Live
post Jan 20 2011, 10:59 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

U can try my ducky brown switch if you want, but I live in Cheras lol
BlueBerry~
post Jan 20 2011, 11:25 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

I got my BlackWidow straight from Razer. I'm a DotA editor at GosuGamers so its important that my keyboard feels good when I typing. Compared to the SteelSeries 7G, the BlackWidow is a better board when it comes to typing. Love the clicky sounds.

Also noticed i perform better in my game with the new keyboard. lol.
TSMoogle Stiltzkin
post Jan 21 2011, 06:06 AM

4,458 posts

@BlueBerry~

I'm not surprised. Blacks are harder than blues after all doh.gif

But still i think the 2KRO may be too limiting for gaming.

Is your bw the ultimate edition with the fancy led ? or the budget model without the lighting ?

I can tell you though, the reason why some people can live without the led lighted keyboards, is because of these beautiful vintage cherry double shot key caps. The text contrast is so good, and they never wear out.

My lamp desk suffices for lighting. Besides it's not good to leave your room totally dark as you can hurt your eyes :/

I made an extensive review of my Ducky dk-9008 with double shots here

http://geekhack.org/showwiki.php?title=Island:14092

Just updated it with pictures wub.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jan 21 2011, 06:10 AM
BlueBerry~
post Jan 21 2011, 08:20 AM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jan 21 2011, 06:06 AM)
@BlueBerry~

Is your bw the ultimate edition with the fancy led ? or the budget model without the lighting ?
I can tell you though, the reason why some people can live without the led lighted keyboards, is because of these beautiful vintage cherry double shot key caps. The text contrast is so good, and they never wear out.

My lamp desk suffices for lighting. Besides it's not good to leave your room totally dark as you can hurt your eyes :/

Just updated it with pictures  wub.gif
Ze ultimate. I probably would have bought it myself if Razer dint decide to give me one.
jasmineivan
post Jan 21 2011, 11:06 AM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 20 2011, 11:25 PM)
I got my BlackWidow straight from Razer. I'm a DotA editor at GosuGamers so its important that my keyboard feels good when I typing. Compared to the SteelSeries 7G, the BlackWidow is a better board when it comes to typing. Love the clicky sounds.

Also noticed i perform better in my game with the new keyboard. lol.
For typing, MX blue should be better choice, but I still prefer linear non-clicky switches, just waiting the Leopold bring in their red switches.

however, MX blue can improve your gaming experience? The click should has longer refresh time after every actuation.

Added on January 21, 2011, 11:09 am
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jan 21 2011, 06:06 AM)
@BlueBerry~

Just updated it with pictures  wub.gif
I think they explained about this before, they stated BW as a 2KRO keyboard just because of the ZXC failure but most of other up to 6 keys combination are working well because of the optimization effect, so probably not really notice the limitation of 2KRO unless playing SDO or O2jam.

Even though are totally dark, if you are touch typist then shouldn't be any problem to type without any fancy backlit. Some more there is a very bright LCD light.

Added on January 21, 2011, 11:11 am
QUOTE(Iphone4Lover @ Jan 21 2011, 08:01 AM)
his is bwu
btw, not everyone are a keyboard freak like you haha
razer bling bling is more beauty and important for them...
Yea true, the led just very attractive. But the glossy plastic really irritating, collect finger print will be occur every moment sad.gif

This post has been edited by jasmineivan: Jan 21 2011, 11:11 AM
Sky.Live
post Jan 21 2011, 11:22 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I am getting less bothered about the keycaps now since now my black on black printing I can hardly see anything under my living hall's yellow lighting.. touch typing has became a bother to a habit.

BlueBerry~
post Jan 21 2011, 01:00 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

QUOTE(jasmineivan @ Jan 21 2011, 11:06 AM)
For typing, MX blue should be better choice, but I still prefer linear non-clicky switches, just waiting the Leopold bring in their red switches.

however, MX blue can improve your gaming experience? The click should has longer refresh time after every actuation.
I dunno. I just notice I have a better game now with the BW. Can last hit/deny better.
jasmineivan
post Jan 21 2011, 03:22 PM

Ivan Lee
1,774 posts

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Jan 21 2011, 01:00 PM)
I dunno. I just notice I have a better game now with the BW. Can last hit/deny better.
Maybe you are too superb. Always actuate the A key at 50g precisely which cant register keystroke at 7G.

Haiz, why not Razer release BW with MX red or brown, if yes i sure will get 1 even though it sell at 500 also never mind.
evofantasy
post Jan 21 2011, 03:39 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(jasmineivan @ Jan 21 2011, 03:22 PM)
Maybe you are too superb. Always actuate the A key at 50g precisely which cant register keystroke at 7G.

Haiz, why not Razer release BW with MX red or brown, if yes i sure will get 1 even though it sell at 500 also never mind.
blue have the clicky sound thus easier to promote to 'gamers' as something new

114 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:06 AM